Steps need to be taken to acheive peace in Karachi

bankalalookheti

1. The de-weaponization of Karachi should be the utmost priority.

2. We should curb illegal immigration. Millions of illegal immigrants from many South Asian countries, especially from Bangaldesh and India are living in Karachi and many of them have acquired NICs illegally. All these illegal immigrants should be gradually deported.

3. More intra-country immigration to Karachi should be discouraged.

4. Land-grabbing also seems to be on of the biggest problem this city is facing right now. All big parties are involved in land-grabbing and MQM is also leading in this competition by a big margin. Proper steps should be taken to stop land-grabbing.

4. Whoever comes to Karachi can build a houses wherever he finds an empty place. This kind of practice should be made impossible.

5. last but not least, the militant wing of MQM should be annihilated, even if another military operation is needed. The militant wing of MQM has been involved in the killing of the not only poor Pathans and Sindhis but also the police, lawyers and judiciary have been regularly threatened or even murdered by the goons of MQM. As long as the MQM militant wing is intact, the lives of these people and the peace of this city will always remain in danger.

If we want to see peace and calm prevail in Karachi these five steps should be taken immediately, otherwise target-killing, land-grabbing and the ethnic disharmony will soon reach to an uncontrollable stage and then it will be already too late to do anything and the dream of a peaceful Karachi will remain a dream forever.

khipk

1. The de-weaponization of Karachi should be the utmost priority.
Agreed

2. We should curb illegal immigration. Millions of illegal immigrants from many South Asian countries, especially from Bangaldesh and India are living in Karachi and many of them have acquired NICs illegally. All these illegal immigrants should be gradually deported.
90% of Immigrants (illegal ones) in Karachi are from Afghanistanistan and Tajikistan.

3. More intra-country immigration to Karachi should be discouraged.
100 % agreed, other way round immigration from KArachi to near by cities should be encouraged (to all ethnicities), but to do that we need good commutation system so that people from other cities main come to work here.

4. Land-grabbing also seems to be on of the biggest problem this city is facing right now. All big parties are involved in land-grabbing and MQM is also leading in this competition by a big margin. Proper steps should be taken to stop land-grabbing.
Highly distorted fact, around 1-2 Km radius around Karachi has been illegally occupied by ANP dominated areas, from Sohrab goth to Sabzi mandi (around 4 Km), around 6 km long mountain range between North Nazimabad, nazimabad and orangi, and many other like these, MQM has only support and control over inner city, and there is no land within the city to grab, because majority of these areas had been stablished around 30-40 years ago.

4. Whoever comes to Karachi can build a houses wherever he finds an empty place. This kind of practice should be made impossible.
101 % Agreed, that is the reason why Swat refugees were discouraged from comming here.

5. last but not least, the militant wing of MQM should be annihilated, even if another military operation is needed. The militant wing of MQM has been involved in the killing of the not only poor Pathans and Sindhis but also the police, lawyers and judiciary have been regularly threatened or even murdered by the goons of MQM. As long as the MQM militant wing is intact, the lives of these people and the peace of this city will always remain in danger.
highly highly highly biased and distorted opinion. stop taking news from shaam ka akhbar type medias. MQM is down on grass root level with people, people of Karachi are happy with MQM, if this was the case like you suggested then MQM wouldnt have any support in public.
What i do agree is that there is a millitant wing, which is there with every party, MQM evolved against JI and IJT in Karachi during 80s so to counter their millitant unit the weapon was necessary. Right now the biggest millitant unit is of ANP in Karachi, for Gods sake they have Gunman posts over captured areas, like Rabia City and surrounding buildings which were captured by ANP goons and most of the residents had to leave that complex. Key word Millitant Posts (Morchay), on top of buildings. while in MQM dominated areas you wont see any such things.

If we want to see peace and calm prevail in Karachi these five steps should be taken immediately, otherwise target-killing, land-grabbing and the ethnic disharmony will soon reach to an uncontrollable stage and then it will be already too late to do anything and the dream of a peaceful Karachi will remain a dream forever.
Partially agreed

Hammad Shah

sab se aham MQM ki Karachi se be-dakhli hay......... jab tk Karachi MQM se paak nahi ho ga peaceful nahi ho skta.................... i think...................

moodali

yeh khuwab le ke kitne aye kitne chale gaye leiking mqm apni jagha pe qayem hai
sab se aham MQM ki Karachi se be-dakhli hay......... jab tk Karachi MQM se paak nahi ho ga peaceful nahi ho skta.................... i think...................

You will always find some Eskimos ( Like Bankalalookheti) ready to instruct the Congolese ( People of Urben sindh) on how to cope with heat waves.

Spartacus( One of the Congolese) ....:)

bankalalookheti

90% of Immigrants (illegal ones) in Karachi are from Afghanistanistan and Tajikistan.

And you will also provide a substantial evidence to back up your claim. Always back up your claims with reliable, neutral and undisputed sources.

http://migration.ucdavis.edu/mn/more.php?id=804_0_5_0
Illegal immigrants make up about 16 percent of Karachi's 12 million inhabitants. About 80 percent of the immigrants are from Bangladesh. Illegal immigrants make up about 16 percent of Karachi's 12 million inhabitants. About 80 percent of the immigrants are from Bangladesh.

Highly distorted fact, around 1-2 Km radius around Karachi has been illegally occupied by ANP dominated areas, from Sohrab goth to Sabzi mandi (around 4 Km), around 6 km long mountain range between North Nazimabad, nazimabad and orangi, and many other like these, MQM has only support and control over inner city, and there is no land within the city to grab, because majority of these areas had been stablished around 30-40 years ago.

It cannot be ruled out that ANP backed Pathan community is involved in land-grabbing. But again, can you present us any proof again to back up your claim? I have posted enough articles already to prove that MQM is involved at the highest level in the land-grabbing contest in Karachi. Please no bogus claims of MQM workers.

101 % Agreed, that is the reason why Swat refugees were discouraged from comming here.

Wrong. They were discouraged on the premise that alongwith the IDPs some Taliban elements might have infiltrated the city. A very bogus claim, as if the Talibans couldn't enter into Karachi by other means. The MQM was against the coming of IDPs to Karachi because that might further tilt the demographic balance in the favour of Pathans.

highly highly highly biased and distorted opinion. stop taking news from shaam ka akhbar type medias. MQM is down on grass root level with people, people of Karachi are happy with MQM, if this was the case like you suggested then MQM wouldnt have any support in public.
What i do agree is that there is a millitant wing, which is there with every party, MQM evolved against JI and IJT in Karachi during 80s so to counter their millitant unit the weapon was necessary. Right now the biggest millitant unit is of ANP in Karachi, for Gods sake they have Gunman posts over captured areas, like Rabia City and surrounding buildings which were captured by ANP goons and most of the residents had to leave that complex. Key word Millitant Posts (Morchay), on top of buildings. while in MQM dominated areas you wont see any such things.

Neither do I read any evening newspapers nor I attend any meeting of "saathis" at any MQM unit where fools are taken for a ride.
When Zia created MQM he had also allowed MQM to form a militant wing and ever since the army is tolerating the militant wing of MQM which is ofern used by them to destabilize the Sindh or the central governments.
Other parties may also have a cadre of armed men on their payroll (the only other party that has an organized militant wing was Jamaatis) but hardly any other political party has such an organized militant group as that of MQM.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/FA17Df07.html
Pakistan's Punjabi-dominated military assiduously promoted the Mohajirs to counter rising ethno-nationalism among Sindhis. In 1972, a Mohajir taxi driver in the United States, Altaf Hussain, was persuaded by the army to return to Pakistan and float the Mohajir Qaumi Movement (MQM). Keen on dividing Sindh on ethnic lines, General Zia ul-Haq allowed the MQM to form a network of professional militant bands with a hand in the drug trade of Karachi. In 1988, the city was rocked by unprecedented violence orchestrated by the army using the MQM in order to oust Benazir Bhutto from power.

saliaz

I, born to muhajir parents in Lahore, dont belong or support any political party but its merely a personal observation, they always blame on anything and everyone else, only excuses (to kill and burn) but no action and no results!.

Now everyone will see loads of responses from so many innocent muhajirs (from Karachi) victim of every type & shape of discriminations in the world describing their political parties/views and cursing & forgetting us, people in rest of Pakistan, also face similar problems in various forms as well.

Please at least start calling yourself Pakistani instead of pathan, muhajir, Punjabi, balochi etc!

Compaq

Jis ko jo right hy us ko do. Agar 90% MQM representative Karachi sy hain ur un ko un ka ye haq milna chaie. Local body election should be given to MQM and police should be under it. Karachi police must be consist of local people not punjabi police.

This is man reason for peace. dhons dhamki ya Karachi main qabza khoab apne ganday zahin sy nikal do. Ham mar sakte hain likin jhok ni sakte.

FlyHigh

Very valid points and concerns. But this will never happen, MQM will never allow it because this is the only way these goons can control. Think about it, if these guys can stop Imran Khan who is without a doubt a patriotic Pakistan, from coming to Karachi, why can't they stop the random killings in Karachi. You know why, because they themselves are invovled. Also note that when such uncertaintly occurs in Karachi, there leaders disappear. Kinda a make yo wonder?

khipk

And you will also provide a substantial evidence to back up your claim. Always back up your claims with reliable, neutral and undisputed sources.

http://migration.ucdavis.edu/mn/more.php?id=804_0_5_0
Illegal immigrants make up about 16 percent of Karachi's 12 million inhabitants. About 80 percent of the immigrants are from Bangladesh. Illegal immigrants make up about 16 percent of Karachi's 12 million inhabitants. About 80 percent of the immigrants are from Bangladesh.

http://www.bahriatown.biz/index.php...-areas-of-city&catid=1:latest-news&Itemid=142
Sind Govt reports 3 million illegal immigrants in Karachi that makes up about 16-17 % of Karachis Population (estimated to be 18 Million). I dont consider Bengalis as illegal because 90% of them came here when BEngal was east Pakistan.
anyways, there are about 1 million Afghan living illegally, and around 50000 registered foriegnors (logically also illegal) in Karachi.
-------------------------------------------------------------

It cannot be ruled out that ANP backed Pathan community is involved in land-grabbing. But again, can you present us any proof again to back up your claim? I have posted enough articles already to prove that MQM is involved at the highest level in the land-grabbing contest in Karachi. Please no bogus claims of MQM workers.
I can show you on google map, I saw your post on the other thread I wanted to comment on it, but the thread was closed. I live in one of the areas you mentioned, F.B.Area, you say park lands have been occupied in blok 16 F.B.Area, a/c to me right now around 30-40% of the whole block 16 is covered by two parks. There no chance any land being grabbed there.
In Nazimabad, orignally lots of Ground were present which have been occupied mostly by Afghans, and some by others (urdu speakings, Sindhis Punjabis etc) and all these were occupied before MQM came in power. And like so others. Except for Gulistan-e-Jauhar, where I do suspect Land grabbing. But there also all the parties are doing. I agree with that. (PPP, MQM, ANP), the problem is that ANP focibly occupies not just lands, but also developed Complexes, and kicks out the residents. This has happened in Rabia City, and surrounding buildings, which started from Pehlwan Goth.
Nonetheless the area occupied from Sohrab Goth to the end, is more than the whole of Gulastan-e-Johar, or Nazimabad. It stretches from Sohrab Goth to DHA2, University (after teacher society) and Norht Karachi at the other end.
I can show this from Google map also, (but will post it next month, right now cant make it cause of exams).
There have been incursions in other areas too, shown on TV, where operation have been launched.
Apart from this theres huge incursion around Qauidabad to steel mill, but cant give you estimate on that area because I dont live in that area. And by the way your neutral source is JI , so i wouldnt call it neutral.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wrong. They were discouraged on the premise that alongwith the IDPs some Taliban elements might have infiltrated the city. A very bogus claim, as if the Talibans couldn't enter into Karachi by other means. The MQM was against the coming of IDPs to Karachi because that might further tilt the demographic balance in the favour of Pathans.
My dear friend, There is no extra built land in Karachi, If they would have come in such large number then 100% they would have got place on the highway (illegaly occupying the area), since the Land MAfia there only support Ethnic Pathans and aghans, and dont allow even police or ranger to enter the area, they would have found it easier to settle there, without knowing that they are actually occupying someone elses land.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neither do I read any evening newspapers nor I attend any meeting of "saathis" at any MQM unit where fools are taken for a ride.
When Zia created MQM he had also allowed MQM to form a militant wing and ever since the army is tolerating the militant wing of MQM which is ofern used by them to destabilize the Sindh or the central governments.
Other parties may also have a cadre of armed men on their payroll (the only other party that has an organized militant wing was Jamaatis) but hardly any other political party has such an organized militant group as that of MQM.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/FA17Df07.html
Pakistan's Punjabi-dominated military assiduously promoted the Mohajirs to counter rising ethno-nationalism among Sindhis. In 1972, a Mohajir taxi driver in the United States, Altaf Hussain, was persuaded by the army to return to Pakistan and float the Mohajir Qaumi Movement (MQM). Keen on dividing Sindh on ethnic lines, General Zia ul-Haq allowed the MQM to form a network of professional militant bands with a hand in the drug trade of Karachi. In 1988, the city was rocked by unprecedented violence orchestrated by the army using the MQM in order to oust Benazir Bhutto from power.

My friend I can show you thousand of websites that supports MQM.
Firstly I have never been to any of the unit office of MQM.

Secondly Zia did not create MQM, Zia's right party was JI, MQM came against JI. Its proven that JI's student wing IJT brought Arms in University in early 80s. In order to survive and face IJT and JI, one requires arms, otherwise be butchered.
During Zias era all Pakistani Political parties were persecuted along with MQM, Altaf Hussain was jailed during Zias Era.

Sindh was already divided along ethnic lines during Bhuttos Era, when first Ethnic voilvence errupted in Karachi. (Although I hate Zia to the core, but he was not responsible for dividing Sindh on ethnic bias). Z.A.Bhutto's govt was responsible for this, who officially divided whole of Sindh on Linguistic basis, Rural and Urban Sindh. Completely alienating people of Urban Sindh from Govt. And jobs, because everything was nationalised by Bhutto, and his governemnt refused to give jobs to KArachhite or people from Hyderabad or Sukhur.Sindhis were able to get Domicile from interior Sindh, Punjabis from Punjab, But the urdu Speaking minorities (Behari, Memon, Gujrati, UP, Lucknawi, Dehlvi and others) were despite having high merits were kept away from Jobs. (If you look at Pakistan economy, this also marked the decline for Pakistan, uptil 1970 PAkistan was the most indrustrialised Nation of Asia, but the murder of merit by Bhuttos Sahab the great destroyed it all)

khipk

I, born to muhajir parents in Lahore, dont belong or support any political party but its merely a personal observation, they always blame on anything and everyone else, only excuses (to kill and burn) but no action and no results!.

Now everyone will see loads of responses from so many innocent muhajirs (from Karachi) victim of every type & shape of discriminations in the world describing their political parties/views and cursing & forgetting us, people in rest of Pakistan, also face similar problems in various forms as well.

Please at least start calling yourself Pakistani instead of pathan, muhajir, Punjabi, balochi etc!

I Agree. .

khipk

Very valid points and concerns. But this will never happen, MQM will never allow it because this is the only way these goons can control. Think about it, if these guys can stop Imran Khan who is without a doubt a patriotic Pakistan, from coming to Karachi, why can't they stop the random killings in Karachi. You know why, because they themselves are invovled. Also note that when such uncertaintly occurs in Karachi, there leaders disappear. Kinda a make yo wonder?

Imran Khan as I have proved in one of my previous post has been misguided about Karachi, or he is too stubborn to admit it. For detialed comment on it please refer to my post
http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthre...one-s-take-on-that-please&p=203311#post203311 and follow up there.

Muhammad Ikhlaq Siddiqui

ypp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bankalalookheti!

Your analysis and idea are very legitimate and well thought of. Also allow me to tell you that every Pakistani would agree with you for most part.

Problem is not that Pakistanis do not have ideas or know-how to eliminate terror, its people who are in a position to do something but are coward and selfish.

Who will do it?

PPP will not take any action against MQM and ANP because their govt is surviving because of MQM coalition in parliament. MQM has got PPP in their total control, so much so that they cant even think of calling army.

They can not attack ANP (or its Pathan supporters) fearing backlash in all of Pakistan in form of all spread out killing and suicide bombings, which no body wants.

The only people or party can do it is the govt of party that is not a minority or in coalition with any other party - in that a completely independent party.

The best suited person for this situation is MYSELF - for I shall hang them all regardless. All I would have to do is hang few of them IN PUBLIC and carry it live on TV's, as prescribed in Qur'an. But I am not in power and dont even have party registered.

Second capable person is Zaid Hamid. Him being a Pakhtoon himself, would carry a lotta weight with Pathans and also being a shola bayan, others would like him too. But he is not interested in party bazi.

With me and ZH out, the only logical person left, who is also independent is Imran Khan. But much to my dismay, I do not see him taking oath in Islamabad. Even if his party is elected, it will be a minority, again in coalition with MQM and /or PML-N. Coalition with PML-N MAY NOT be as bad but if they end up with the MQM, I can guarantee you people will be killed for another 5 year term.

The ruling party should hire ME as Chairman of Karachi Normalization Commission. But I must have full power to arrest, prosecute, and eventually hang if convicted. But it will never happen that any govt would farm out its prestige and ego to some one else outside of the party.

Only Allah can help, Ameen

furry87

i nearly bursted into laughter after reading this topic...lol you guys want peace in karachi? throw the pathans and muhajirs out karachi will be peacefull ,they must be thrown out simultaneously to avoid another dispute on who should be kicked out first

Is that how ya ended up outsida karachi? :lol: