State of Pakistan's Economy - Update from State Bank of Pakistan - in Video format

AsifAmeer

399086-rupess-1340650013-477-640x480.jpg

Every time I start a new thread on the topic of Economy of Pakistan, this website suggests previous economic thread.. almost all started by me.. Guys, can I have a partner in crime here? Help me out..

Anyways, watch this

Its a summary of the report found at
http://www.sbp.org.pk/reports/quarterly/fy12/Third/qtr-index-eng.htm
If you think this report looks bad, wait for the Q4 report to come out... yeah.. Q3 would look like a paradise!

And watch this one
There was NO SURPLUS DOLLAR IN THE MARKET last year. Pakistan got loan money from World bank. This money will have to be paid back with interest in the future... If there was excess dollar in 2011 than how did the dollar go from Rs84 in April 2011 to Rs90 in Dec2011?
Plus from their own report, here's what SBP is saying
"the centralbank remained a net seller of US$ 828.8 million in the FX market during Jul-Mar FY12"
http://www.sbp.org.pk/reports/quarterly/fy12/Third/Ch-5.pdf pg4

The State Bank is trying to PROP UP the rupee. This produces structural deficits in the economy and further weakening the Rupee. SBP is continuing to artificially support the rupee using its reserves. Its like trying to continue to drive a BMW after you have lost ur job.... Will make u go bankrupt!
Another way to understand is if you went to Germany and borrowed Euro to do some shopping. Came back to Pakistan where you earn in Rupees while continuing to pay off the Shopping bill in Euro. Every time Rupee depreciates, bigger and bigger portion of your income starts going to pay off your European Shopping spree. With this in mind, I will share an article which will back my argument

State Bank of Pakistan's net income is being eaten because of its "net seller" of US dollar position.
http://tribune.com.pk/story/399086/mcleod-road-mammoth-state-bank-profits-down-10-over-two-years/22/

ISLAMABAD: Despite rising government borrowing and high interest rates, profits at the State Bank of Pakistan have been declining for the last two years, largely due to a decline in non-interest income, declining by 10% over two years.

In an audit report of the central banks financial statements up to fiscal year 2011, auditors observed that the SBPs net income declined, even though interest income kept rising. Net profits in 2011 declined by 3.1% even though interest income [the biggest source of revenue] went up 16.4%, observed report issued by the Auditor General of Pakistans office.

Despite the drop, the State Bank of Pakistan remains the single most profitable entity in the country public or private with a net income totalling Rs181 billion in 2011, down 3.1% from the Rs187 billion it earned in 2010 and 10% from the Rs202 billion it earned in 2009.

The main source of the central banks revenues is the monetisation of the national debt: the government asks the SBP to simply print money and then buy up treasury bills issued by the finance ministry to cover the federal governments fiscal deficit. The government then pays interest on those bills that the State Bank bought simply by printing money, virtually out of thin air, a process that economists agree is highly inflationary.

In other words, higher profitability at the State Bank is a bad thing and lower profitability is a good thing. Higher profitability means that the government is financing too much of its deficit by printing money and causing inflation, which means higher interest rates, and thus higher income for the SBP. Yet in a twisted financial loop, the government also uses the State Banks profits to lower its fiscal deficit, by as much as 1% of the total size of the economy every year.

The auditors, however, appear to have drawn attention to the fact that it is not interest income that is declining, but rather non-interest income, on things such as foreign currency dealings, where the State Banks income is down almost 84% to just Rs1.9 billion, compared to Rs11.7 billion two years ago. The State Banks interest payments on its own debts also rose 38% over that same period to Rs13.3 billion, also contributing to the decline in net income.

These are not healthy signs for the profitability of the Bank and required corrective measures, observed the audit department.

In 2011, the SBPs gross income rose by Rs30.4 billion, or 16.4% to Rs216 billion. However, the banks operating income the profits its gains from such heads as the Banking Services Corporation and other activities went from a profit of Rs10.5 billion in 2010 to a loss of Rs11.6 billion in 2011.

The report may well become fodder for other government organisations such as the finance ministry to begin criticising the central bank which has always had a structure independent of the rest of the government for what are perceived to be higher benefits for its employees. Insiders at the SBP, however, argue that the central bank needs to lure talent away from the lucrative financial services sector that it regulates, and hence needs higher salaries and benefit packages.
The central banks leverage ratio the ratio of companys debt to its equity is also worsening. The leverage ratio has deteriorated by 1.6%, according to the audit report. The audit also warned the central bank to make efforts for minimizing its credit risk over non-interest bearing financial instruments.
Published in The Express Tribune, June 26[SUP]th[/SUP], 2012.

Joker

Meray Chanda

Whatever economics you studied is completely Bullsh!t. We Muslims never dependent on economy in the history. Our metrics of greatness is only Imaan. History proved that great economies were always conquered by peniless Armies.

AsifAmeer

You dont have to believe in gravity to be affected by it.. Similarly financial gravity doesnt care if you go to a Masjid, Synagogue or a temple

>>History proved that great economies are always conquered by peniless Armies
Ottoman empire was defeated by the "Infidels". Maybe God favored infidels over the "Emaan wale"?
Japan was defeated by US. You sure about the "penniless" argument?

Meray Chanda

Whatever economics you studied is completely Bullsh!t. We Muslims never dependent on economy in the history. Our metrics of greatness is only Imaan. History proved that great economies are always conquered by peniless Armies.

[MENTION=4936]Adeel[/MENTION] [MENTION=10205]Waseem[/MENTION] Yaar i dont know why this thread was moved to the Siasi videos. Coz its the article+videos+my comments i wanted to share... Requesting a move back to the Siasi Discussion

thanks.

Sedqal

@ AsifAmeer

1- What can be the worst case scenario?
2- Any time frame till this worst case scenario is realized?
3- I am currently a student in a foreign country with my income generating from Pk in rupees, what would you suggest I do in this scenario?
4- Nightmare scenario for me is that Govt. prohibits transfer of money outside of Pk, is that a possibility?

Joker

You dont have to believe in gravity to be affected by it.. Similarly financial gravity doesnt care if you go to a Masjid, Synagogue or a temple

Ottoman empire was defeated by the "Infidels". Maybe God favored infidels over the "Emaan wale"?

thanks.

I am sure 100 % about penniless argument.Start from Gazwa-Badar. Then defeat of great Persian empire by Arab Muslims , then Sultan.Mahmmod Gaznavi attacks on Hindustan , then Defeat of great british empires by Afghans , Defeat of Soviet empire by Mujahideens , then Defeat of Greatest Nato + US empire by Taliban.

Kiya Samjhay, lolipop khao gay ;)

modern.fakir

The ottoman empire was never defeated militarily in a one to one fight. It disintegrated due to fake arab nationalism and inflighting. Even at their demise their love for the Prophet Pbuh and Allah swt were commendable at best.

@Adeel @Waseem Yaar i dont know why this thread was moved to the Siasi videos. Coz its the article+videos+my comments i wanted to share... Requesting a move back to the Siasi Discussion

thanks.

rahail

@Joker @modern.fakir

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.... Don't try to sabotage an intelligent discussion by Asif Ameer. Joker is a low life non educated bullshit who tries to bring religion into everything..

Allah has given us brains and that brain hatches plans and develop techniques. If we had to live entirely on our emaan then joker would be dead before he was born....!

FACT is PML.N and PPP did this to our economy... They are solely responsible for it.... Irony is that Joker is defending his master's illegal looted money and the state of Pakistan's economy during the "delightful" reign of Zardari and Shareefs...

Allah never stops us to strengthen our economies... And for the matter of fact... Joker's comment is nonsense and in no related context. He is just f**king around..

Try to be rational.....! Instead of hijacking Asif Ameer's thread.. GET A LIFE !!!

AsifAmeer

@ AsifAmeer

1- What can be the worst case scenario?
2- Any time frame till this worst case scenario is realized?
3- I am currently a student in a foreign country with my income generating from Pk in rupees, what would you suggest I do in this scenario?
4- Nightmare scenario for me is that Govt. prohibits transfer of money outside of Pk, is that a possibility?

hmm... See if you were a large company I could have arrange a "Currency swap" . You are in the exact situation where companies find themselves when they are manufacturing goods that uses imported raw materials.

Kher... here is what I would do if I were you. Suppose you have Rs1 million in savings. Either convert that currency in dollar. And put those $100 bills in a security deposit, NOT in a foreign currency bank account. Because sooner or later, these accounts will be frozen even by the commercial banks. And if you are concerned about security of your savings. Move the money to Dubai.

And if you do not want to move your capital offshore. Talk to some Stock broker in Pakistan and find out how to hedge your savings against Rupee devaluation by shorting the Rupee against the dollar. So when the rupee depreciates, you will lose money on your savings but you will make money on your short Rupee positions. This is almost like buying the dollar BUT without the risk of getting your dollars ceased by the Govt! And this isnt something I would recommend to a novice. Moving money to Dubai may be cheaper and simpler.

I am glad you were able to understand this very very technical info I have shared on this thread. Pat yourself on the back, you arent from the average readers!

Feel free if you have any further questions.
-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

Have a Look at this why its not in our Media ?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...rovokes-ire-by-building-personal-helipad.html

Sorry I cant post any thread because I have Stolen a Buffaloo of this Ajeeb-o-Ghareeb Admin who never replied to me and never allowed me to start a thread....
Kya kahoun mein Saad.... I bet this PM's dad is his SAGA Mamu as well!
-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x

I am sure 100 % about penniless argument.Start from Gazwa-Badar. Then defeat of great Persian empire by Arab Muslims , then Sultan.Mahmmod Gaznavi attacks on Hindustan , then Defeat of great british empires by Afghans , Defeat of Soviet empire by Mujahideens , then Defeat of Greatest Nato + US empire by Taliban.
Kiya Samjhay, lolipop khao gay ;)
Mujhe ye samajh aya hai k tum mujhe apni brand ka manjan baych rahay ho. You know what would help? if you didnt have as many broken teeth.. Maybe you should stop "biting" on lolipop and start sucking on them... maybe?
All the best with your version of History. All the very best. God's got a weird way of cleaning the human gene pool. Heck... rather be you than me! Once again, all the best!

AsifAmeer

Rahail... Thank you!

I am glad that rational folks like you fighting retardation on this forum. Keep it up!

@Joker @modern.fakir

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.... Don't try to sabotage an intelligent discussion by Asif Ameer. Joker is a low life non educated bullshit who tries to bring religion into everything..

Allah has given us brains and that brain hatches plans and develop techniques. If we had to live entirely on our emaan then joker would be dead before he was born....!

Try to be rational.....! Instead of hijacking Asif Ameer's thread.. GET A LIFE !!!

modern.fakir

Take it easy dude ...you seem more disturbed than everyone else combined !...No one is sabotaging anything ...this is a forum and everyone has a right to comment. If one starts a fight then its regretable, but at this point ...were only passing comments and that also to give our opinions on proper history. Making an adverse comment is not sabotage.

A great saint once said that before correcting others please correct yourself and you starting off by calling anyone "non educated bullshit"...doesnt help spread peace and tranquility!

So take a chill pill dude ...continue on with your "intelligent discussion" ...we only mean to drop a passing comment where we see fit.

@Joker @modern.fakir

Joker

Rahail... Thank you!

I am glad that rational folks like you fighting retardation on this forum. Keep it up!

Equation is simple dear ,You dont need a Harvard degree to understand this.

Your 100 Billion dollars in the bank cannot save you from 100 Rs Bullet.

AsifAmeer

Open up a new thread and discuss your version of the history. This thread is about the Economy of Pakistan, conditions of its commercial banks and the Portfolio risk the SBP has on its balance sheet. You got anything useful to contribute in this regard?

Take it easy dude ...you seem more disturbed than everyone else combined !...No one is sabotaging anything ...this is a forum and everyone has a right to comment. If one starts a fight then its regretable, but at this point ...were only passing comments and that also to give our opinions on proper history. Making an adverse comment is not sabotage.

A great saint once said that before correcting others please correct yourself and you starting off by calling anyone "non educated bullshit"...doesnt help spread peace and tranquility!

So take a chill pill dude ...continue on with your "intelligent discussion" ...we only mean to drop a passing comment where we see fit.

modern.fakir

I got a question for you ...you said in one of your earlier posts that by keeping money in a security deposit and using a short you can make money when the rupee depreciates ...but what happens if the dollar depreciates in the mean time ?

Open up a new thread and discuss your version of the history. This thread is about the Economy of Pakistan, conditions of its commercial banks and the Portfolio risk the SBP has on its balance sheet. You got anything useful to contribute in this regard?

Joker

Yes... Human life is THAT cheap only in a MUSLIM country.

And Human life is respected in the capitalist countries because they need humans to sell cosmetics, ipads, cameras , underwears , bikinis ,sun blocks etc :(

Aleph

Partner in crime?? Dude, you have the towering and Pedagogical influence of [MENTION=12943]crankthskunk[/MENTION] here! He has owned you everytime you have opened your Zionist-loving mouth :P

In any case, Muzammil Aslam did his Hajj in 2008 and grew a beard thereafter. I really like him and I was doing Hajj too in that year and had the good luck of meeting him. Nice guy, May Allah bless him.

399086-rupess-1340650013-477-640x480.jpg

Every time I start a new thread on the topic of Economy of Pakistan, this website suggests previous economic thread.. almost all started by me.. Guys, can I have a partner in crime here? Help me out..

Anyways, watch this

Its a summary of the report found at
http://www.sbp.org.pk/reports/quarterly/fy12/Third/qtr-index-eng.htm
If you think this report looks bad, wait for the Q4 report to come out... yeah.. Q3 would look like a paradise!

And watch this one
There was NO SURPLUS DOLLAR IN THE MARKET last year. Pakistan got loan money from World bank. This money will have to be paid back with interest in the future... If there was excess dollar in 2011 than how did the dollar go from Rs84 in April 2011 to Rs90 in Dec2011?
Plus from their own report, here's what SBP is saying
"the centralbank remained a net seller of US$ 828.8 million in the FX market during Jul-Mar FY12"
http://www.sbp.org.pk/reports/quarterly/fy12/Third/Ch-5.pdf pg4

The State Bank is trying to PROP UP the rupee. This produces structural deficits in the economy and further weakening the Rupee. SBP is continuing to artificially support the rupee using its reserves. Its like trying to continue to drive a BMW after you have lost ur job.... Will make u go bankrupt!
Another way to understand is if you went to Germany and borrowed Euro to do some shopping. Came back to Pakistan where you earn in Rupees while continuing to pay off the Shopping bill in Euro. Every time Rupee depreciates, bigger and bigger portion of your income starts going to pay off your European Shopping spree. With this in mind, I will share an article which will back my argument

State Bank of Pakistan's net income is being eaten because of its "net seller" of US dollar position.
http://tribune.com.pk/story/399086/mcleod-road-mammoth-state-bank-profits-down-10-over-two-years/22/

ISLAMABAD: Despite rising government borrowing and high interest rates, profits at the State Bank of Pakistan have been declining for the last two years, largely due to a decline in non-interest income, declining by 10% over two years.

In an audit report of the central bank’s financial statements up to fiscal year 2011, auditors observed that the SBP’s net income declined, even though interest income kept rising. “Net profits in 2011 declined by 3.1% even though interest income [the biggest source of revenue] went up 16.4%,” observed report issued by the Auditor General of Pakistan’s office.

Despite the drop, the State Bank of Pakistan remains the single most profitable entity in the country – public or private – with a net income totalling Rs181 billion in 2011, down 3.1% from the Rs187 billion it earned in 2010 and 10% from the Rs202 billion it earned in 2009.

The main source of the central bank’s revenues is the monetisation of the national debt: the government asks the SBP to simply print money and then buy up treasury bills issued by the finance ministry to cover the federal government’s fiscal deficit. The government then pays interest on those bills that the State Bank bought simply by printing money, virtually out of thin air, a process that economists agree is highly inflationary.

In other words, higher profitability at the State Bank is a bad thing and lower profitability is a good thing. Higher profitability means that the government is financing too much of its deficit by printing money and causing inflation, which means higher interest rates, and thus higher income for the SBP. Yet in a twisted financial loop, the government also uses the State Bank’s profits to lower its fiscal deficit, by as much as 1% of the total size of the economy every year.

The auditors, however, appear to have drawn attention to the fact that it is not interest income that is declining, but rather non-interest income, on things such as foreign currency dealings, where the State Bank’s income is down almost 84% to just Rs1.9 billion, compared to Rs11.7 billion two years ago. The State Bank’s interest payments on its own debts also rose 38% over that same period to Rs13.3 billion, also contributing to the decline in net income.

“These are not healthy signs for the profitability of the Bank and required corrective measures,” observed the audit department.

In 2011, the SBP’s gross income rose by Rs30.4 billion, or 16.4% to Rs216 billion. However, the bank’s operating income – the profits its gains from such heads as the Banking Services Corporation and other activities – went from a profit of Rs10.5 billion in 2010 to a loss of Rs11.6 billion in 2011.

The report may well become fodder for other government organisations such as the finance ministry to begin criticising the central bank – which has always had a structure independent of the rest of the government – for what are perceived to be higher benefits for its employees. Insiders at the SBP, however, argue that the central bank needs to lure talent away from the lucrative financial services sector that it regulates, and hence needs higher salaries and benefit packages.
The central bank’s leverage ratio – the ratio of company’s debt to its equity – is also worsening. The leverage ratio has deteriorated by 1.6%, according to the audit report. The audit also warned the central bank to make efforts for minimizing its credit risk over non-interest bearing financial instruments.
Published in The Express Tribune, June 26[SUP]th[/SUP], 2012.

AsifAmeer

Now thats a bit more intelligent. And I always appreciate questions like these.

If you study this 1 simple diagram called the Exter's Pyramid, you'd see that there wasnt enough money (even paper dollar) to begin with
exter-inverse-pyramid.jpg

See the "Paper Money"? Foreign central banks use dollar instead of Gold as the base of the pyramid. There is a HUGE shortage of dollar in the global markets. India's short, Brazil is short, Pakistan is short... There is alot of debt - sovereign debt, thats gonna go sour very soon.. Dollar were to go down if there was excess money printing on a global scale. If the US Federal Reserve were printing dollar for Australia, India, Pakistan, Egypt.... and having dollar to them for free, you would see the dollar fall. Lekin thats not the case.

If 10 - 2 = 20, then dollar will go down. definitely!

I got a question for you ...you said in one of your earlier posts that by keeping money in a security deposit and using a short you can make money when the rupee depreciates ...but what happens if the dollar depreciates in the mean time ?

rfarooqi

Every time I start a new thread on the topic of Economy of Pakistan, this website suggests previous economic thread.. almost all started by me.. Guys, can I have a partner in crime here? Help me out.

I may not respond to your posts but I do appreciate and read almost all of them. Keep it up.