Sasti Rotti Project

Hamza

May be people won't agree with me on this point.

Party Affiliation: don't care

I want to criticize the spendings on "sasti rotti" project (scheme) in the Punjab. I heard different figures from different sources that around ~50 Lacs they are spending on this project each day. I ask what we are gaining at the end, to me nothing. People are still committing suicides, parents still can't afford their children, ...

My point is, if we spend this money in creating job opportunities in different sectors, like in creating small scale industries (coping from china) then think how many people becomes able to honorably support their families. Not only this, with this spending we can develop healthy industries in our country and that becomes a continuous source of revenue for us in long term.

May be this discussion brings some thing fruitful. Thanks

Looking Forwards

msmirza007

these are just cheap ways to get popularity in masses, and then they wil out of the govt they ca say that in our regime sasti roti was accessible to every one. its all wastage of money.

Nas

Well.... commenting on the situation, incidents or in this case "Sasti Roti" scheme might be one side of the picture since comment can't re-place the analysis. Let’s be realistic and try to review the both sides of the picture. Where I see this scheme without any long term goal, at the same time even 50% of the money is well spent where it's going to the bottom line and from that I mean really deserving people, then it's still beneficial knowing the overall turmoil in the country.

Now what we have said above is one-sided story and we all have heard too many arguments and debates about the scheme but the other vital part of overall system which affects any initiative in our country is the politics without any principles and truly patriotic agenda. Major political parties can’t hold on to any essence of true politics which never favours the poor people of our loving country (more than 80% of population living below par). Thus all of results into a systematic disorder and we all hear everyday people cursing the system. In current scenario I see PPP or PML (N) or any other so called political parties going nowhere.

Bottom line, we should all think about the change and that can only happen when we think outside of the box. The only hope I see is to support one of the better in all out there which in my opinion is PTI.

Personally, I always thought PML (N) can make the difference but lacking the leadership because of unknown associated personal interests.

Cheers!

May be people won't agree with me on this point.

Party Affiliation: don't care

I want to criticize the spendings on "sasti rotti" project (scheme) in the Punjab. I heard different figures from different sources that around ~50 Lacs they are spending on this project each day. I ask what we are gaining at the end, to me nothing. People are still committing suicides, parents still can't afford their children, ...

My point is, if we spend this money in creating job opportunities in different sectors, like in creating small scale industries (coping from china) then think how many people becomes able to honorably support their families. Not only this, with this spending we can develop healthy industries in our country and that becomes a continuous source of revenue for us in long term.

May be this discussion brings some thing fruitful. Thanks

Looking Forwards

Hamza

I dont know if you are old enough to remember, ZABhutto did the same thing and the scheme fell flat on the ground.

When he adopted the slogan of ROTI KAPRA AUR MAKAN in 70, Pakistanis thought he would create jobs and people will be able to afford basic necessities.

Then after he was elected and EP became Bangladseh, he took his slogan literally either on his own or upon his adviser's stupidity.

Instead of creating jobs, he started selling pre-cooked chapatis and people were taken aback on his joke with the nation. he happily announced: I promised you roti, I gave you...

Punjab may or may not be doing just for cheap popularity, but their scheme sure is going to be shortlived. But he may also be doing it sincerely and out of desperation because PPP has pushed the country into bankruptcy just to keep themselves in power and keep looting the country.

If PPP looses in next election, they will simply pack up and fly out with perhaps several $billion in overseas accounts and we will be stuck with bills from IMF. I hope you remember F. Marcos of Phillipines, or Shah of Iran

Only Patriots can save Pakistan. May Allah find me ways to do it for he is the best planner, Ameen

What have stupid people got themselves into. If they had only used their little head instead of emotions on that stupid murdered corrupt woman.

aftabshah

Its better than nothing and good actions should be appreciated even from enemies.

Its not possible to invest that money to creat jobs as the industry is suffering from electricity and other issues. Only we need a good leadership otherwise no chance to grow, no chance to creat job oppertunities.

We need a good leader.

Some of possible good leaders may be;

Dr. Tahir al Qadri
Zaid Hamid
Musharraf

Night_Hawk

Its better than nothing and good actions should be appreciated even from enemies.

Its not possible to invest that money to creat jobs as the industry is suffering from electricity and other issues. Only we need a good leadership otherwise no chance to grow, no chance to creat job oppertunities.

We need a good leader.

Zaid Hamid
/QUOTE]
I agree with you

rakeem

We need a good leader.

Zaid Hamid
/QUOTE]
I agree with you

Well Punjab Govt. is running awful deficits due to this scheme[which won't sustain] and is cutting funds from its funds aimed towards development project even the ones that had been approved, planned and initiated in Musharraf era like Ring Road project. About govt.'s iinability to solve power crisis due to lack of funds is bogus. Pakistan was offered cheap electricity by countries like Tajikistan[1000 MW] and Iran[on the 7 pc/unit;rite now average Karachiite is paying KESC 17 pc/unit or Rs.13-14 per unit], but PAkistani politicians refused as there is not much commission here they can earn. REal problem of Pakistan is lack of will and lack of dignity in these jamhuri benefactors.
Pakistan's problems are'nt Pakistan's real problems. Pakistan has the capacity to not only finish the electricity deficit by itself given an unprecedented overhaul and reform in govt machinery could be done.
There are electricity generators all located in PAkistan that have gone obsolete amounting to more than 4500+ MW which need maintainance and replacement of worn out turbines.
PAkistan's problems are these kan*ar politicians who stand in the way between development and awam begging,borrowing and stealing for their own share.

ali_ravian

We need a good leader.

Some of possible good leaders may be;

Dr. Tahir al Qadri
Zaid Hamid
Musharraf

i guess it is possible to invest this money to generate electricity rather burning it into the TNADOOR..................