Quaid e Azam views about the Film Industry

Gup_Shup

496489-mohammadalijinnah-1358658171-401-640x480.jpg

496489-EndorsementphotoTughralYamin-1358629026-464-640x480.JPG

Karachi: Where successive Pakistani governments have subjected the countrys once prosperous film industry to official neglect, a recently discovered letter penned by Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah reveals the countrys founder gave seminal importance to the industry.I am in receipt of your letter of December 30th 1944, and I wish more Mussalmans would enter into this realm of film industry, and I shall always be glad to do all I can to help it. I have noted that Mr Mahboob is producing a historical picture Humayun, and if I have an opportunity of seeing it I might be able to express my opinion about it, but generally I do wish that more Mussalmans would enter this line, as there is plenty of scope for them in the film industry, reads the Quaids letter, dated January 6, 1945.
The type-written letter clearly bears his personal monogram and is neatly signed by his own hand.
The letter was written in response to a letter by Mohammad Masud, then a young political activist, who sought the Quaids opinion on the role of Indian Muslims in the sub-continents film industry.
Now in his 80s, Masud resides in Karachi with his grandchildren. While he has never been particularly talkative, many an eager ear has been mesmerised by his narration of pre-partition experiences. From his youth to his old age, Masud has also cultivated a penchant for writing letters to the countrys leaders, past and present. The Quaid was among the few who got back to him.
Pakistani film industry today is exemplified by mustachioed men with gandasas staring down plus-sized women as they dance.
4411.jpg

Cinemas themselves are dominated by Bollywood and Hollywood. The industry has been on the verge of demise ever since the separation of East Pakistan (and with it, its film industry), and the advent of the VCR.
The state, meanwhile, has had bigger concerns, leaving an industry, which once provided much revenue and was a means of promoting a softer image, in shambles. No government has tried to restore Pakistani cinema to its former glory the state does not even acknowledge it as an industry. Similarly, little official attention has been given to film education not a single state-funded film school exists in the country.
Quaids letter could not have been uncovered at a more apt time. It shows the level of enthusiasm a person who represented the entire Muslim population of India at the time possessed, even as he replied to someone as inconsequential as a young admirer that too at a time when the entire region was embroiled in a crisis much graver than cultivating a film industry.
Masud still pens letters to the countrys present day leaders, often reminding them of their duty to the nation. Most never bother to reply. Only Jinnah had the courtesy and the vision to respond to each letter he received. One can only wish we could have another leader like that.
The author is the nephew of Mohammad Masud and a retired brigadier who teaches strategy at the National Defence University, Islamabad
Published in The Express Tribune, January 20[SUP]th[/SUP], 2013.

Mehrushka

Re: Quaid e azam and Bollywood: more muslim should work in films

lets see what bollywood haters have to say now...(bigsmile) you just beat me to this thread,was about to post it:)

salaudin

What does this has to do with Bollywood ? He was encouraging for movie industry, not Bollywood. So, Bollywood is still a lot of trouble for us as it is a media-warfare-tool for India.

alimohsan52

lets see what bollywood haters have to say now...(bigsmile) you just beat me to this thread,was about to post it:)

Are you suggesting that Quaid E Azam would have approved of Bollywood movies which abuse Pakistan?

Rehmani

گپ شاپ بھائی ، اس خط کو غور سے پڑھیں ، اس میں ہمایوں جیسی تاریخی فلموں کا ذ کر ہے جن سے اسلامک ہسٹری کے روشن پہلو اجاگر ہوتے ہوں ، شاہ رخ یا کترینہ کیف کے اس لچر اور ننگے بالی وڈ کا ذکر کہیں نہیں جسے ذہن میں رکھتے ہوۓ آپ نے یہ تھریڈ اوپن کیا ہے ، قائداعظم جیسے عظیم لیڈر کی کردار کشی کرنے سے پہلے اپنے تئیں گریبان میں جھانک لیا کریں اور ہو سکے تو پھر سے واپس پہلی جماعت میں داخلہ لے لیں

Are you suggesting that Quaid E Azam would have approved of Bollywood movies which abuse Pakistan?

Bollywood or Hollywood is not a " person ". Close to thousand films are made.

Three weeks ago I along with the family saw Talash and liked it. Last week me and wife saw Zero Dark Thirty and liked it there were couple of F words in it.

Films like the one mentioned in his letter. This doesn't mean he would have approved crap found in most movies these days.

Yes I agree some what to " Most Movies " part not as a blanket statement.

sajjad.ahmad

I think, ignoring the silver screen was a big and (somehow criminal) mistake, officially and first time committed by General Zia. Which resulted into the mass influx of illegal videos of bollywood into the Pakistani market. I remember it was my earlier school days. There used to be a movie on PTV every thursday night and then the PTV was not allowed to run Pakistani movie and a series of long play Drama 84 started. Being a child we missed to watch the rangeela, Nannah and Waheed Murad.

Suddenly the VCR came into market, our the people used watch 4/5 movies on thursday night with the VCR bringing under cover ... etc.

The point what I want to make that this unwise decision of Gen. Zia to restrict the people from entertainment, led the whole nation to unintentionally/intentionally to watch the Indian movies because every family didn't go to cinema and hence gradually the industry started dying and now its breathing its last.

If you read the article on the wikipedia about lollywood, you will see that in 70s and early the competition of bollywood was not a big difference. But now its like zero and hero.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinema_of_Pakistan

Also if you watch videos on youtube, when the whole lollywood gave a warm welcome to the Islamic conference with the songs in the voice of Madam Noor Jehan, this is heart touching.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvxTZ9T6Kno

These type on unwise decision cause a great losses. If you close the doors of basic entertainment, public will find the alternate way for it.
This thing resulted into the cultural attacks on our society from Indian industry.

Further, what is quite clear is the silver screen is also a big tool of intelligentsia to achieve their objectives in the other nations. Which you can see US and India are very successful in these objectives.

chaand se parda kijiye.......kahin chura na le ................. ;)

Chaudhry_1960

I think it's more important to know what Islam says about movie making and acting rather than what Quaide Azam thought.

A.G.Uddin

I guess he would have appreciated movies like Mughal-e-Azam,Bol,A Wednesday,Chandni Bar,Shatranj(1977),and Naseeruddin Shah type movies that are not just superb but never leave touch of reality and real life issues.I bet Quaid-e-Azam would never have asked Muslims to act in a movies where

- A hero and heroine sing and dance in rain during night time, and commit adultery by the end of the song.
- A single man with his powerful dialogues beat up hundreds of people and cops come in the end.
- Hero chasing his girlfriend around a tree.

or same old crap.

It's a fact that Jinnah was interested in becoming a stage actor while studying in London and was very fond of Shakespeare. William Shakespeare is a different case altogether.

A.G.Uddin

گپ شاپ بھائی ، اس خط کو غور سے پڑھیں ، اس میں ہمایوں [HI]جیسی تاریخی فلموں کا ذ کر ہے جن سے اسلامک ہسٹری کے روشن پہلو اجاگر ہوتے ہوں [/HI]، شاہ رخ یا کترینہ کیف کے اس لچر اور ننگے بالی وڈ کا ذکر کہیں نہیں جسے ذہن میں رکھتے ہوۓ آپ نے یہ تھریڈ اوپن کیا ہے ، قائداعظم جیسے عظیم لیڈر کی کردار کشی کرنے سے پہلے اپنے تئیں گریبان میں جھانک لیا کریں اور ہو سکے توپھر سے واپس پہلی جماعت میں داخلہ لے لیں

Islamic history? Buddy, if you listen to Zaid Hamid or read our bias textbooks then these type of myths would definitely become beliefs. Yaar Hassan Nisar ke saamne yeh sab mat boldena.Ghusse mein zaroorat se zyada he daant deinge. Yeh maskh shuda tareekh hai,sharam nahi aati aisi baatein apne bachoun ko padhate hue?Aisa he kuch boleinge. Plus, Islam reached Subcontinent not due to invasions by Muslim kings but Sufis,Mashaikhs and/or traders.
It's even said that India got introduced to the light of Islam during the regime of Hazrat Omar Farooq Razi Allahu Anhu not due to Hajjaj Bin Yousaf or Mohammad Bin Qasim. There are actually columns by Salman Rashid if you would like to read.

http://tribune.com.pk/author/827/salman-rashid/