lotaa

The success of the mega rich lies is ensuring that they keep making money off the while ensuring the poor remain fiercely loyal to them. Regardless of colour creed or ethnicity, the pattern of mega rich being defended by the poor and disillusioned middle classes gets played out around the world. Be it the US, where the Tea Party, an ultra conservative off shoot of the Republican party is dedicated to cutting down taxes and challenging big government while running on financial donations from some of the richest people within the US such as the Koch Brothers or our very own version of that, the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf that harbors similar sentiments and is backed by big money from the likes of Abdul Aleem Khan, Jehangir Tareen and Co.

In both instances the core issue is the same; there prevails a culture of privilege and hypocrisy that is covered by layers of upon layers of fanatics who are taught never to question and only to follow. It is these layers of nave fanatics that provide the legitemacy required by the mega rich to push forward their agendas. In the US, the Koch Brothers along with their friends like Casino Magnate Sheldon Adelson, dumped millions in political campaigns and practically created the Tea Party using funds from Super PACs. In case of Pakistan, the Mega Rich found a vehicle for their agendas in the form of Imran Khan’s PTI which for the longest time was trying to be the third force. But while the PTI much like the Tea Party in the US, talks about making things better for the poor through social justice and a less intrusive Federal Government, both tend to turn a blind eye to facts about their own financiers.

In the last 30 days alone, Imran Khan’s party has been caught off guard twice. First it was the revelation by none other than the Federal Board of Revenue that the President of the PTI’s Youth Wing, popular ‘young’ singer Abrar Ul Haq, has no concept of Income Tax and has not paid a single rupee in that regard within the last 3 to 4 years. One would assume that a party that has trained its supporters to throw mud at others and bash everyone else for not paying taxes would have at least checked their upper leadership to see if all of them are taxpaying citizens of Pakistan. I mean, this is basic due diligence. But apparently due diligence is something alien to a party that wishes to fix corruption in 90 days.

Instead of accepting the fact that they have been duped by their own Youth Wing President, the PTI’s support base did what it does best, denied it flat out and blamed the PML-N. More recently it was reported that the PTI’s key financier, Jehnagir Tareen has been rewriting the rule book on corporate governance whereby his household staff are on the Board of Directors of his companies for tax and control purposes. Again the exact same thing happened, the PTI’s nave fanatic fan base flatly refused to believe something that had been investigated by a respectable publication and found to be true. To top it off, the best part was Jehangir Tareen did not even bother denying it to be untrue. Instead, what he did was simply repeat what their party’s stance on everything is … Blame PML-N!

The problem is this is what PTI does. 3 months ago, Khawaja Asif did a press conference and told the world that funds fromSKMH were being used to play investment games abroad. At that point, PTI and its allies bashed the PML-N for going after a nonprofit institution. Thing is, what Khawaja Asif said was not untrue. It turned out to be a fact that money was lost due to fraudulent investments done through shady characters on behalf of the SKMH trust. So while the PTI and its sympathizers were going on and on about how bad PML-N was their own people were admitting that money was lost due to bad investments abroad.

This is a pattern that keeps repeating itself with regards to the PTI. The underlying problem is simple; the party is run in a dictatorial style of management coupled with an elitist mind set. At every level of the party this mindset of elitism and entitlement is evident be it their field operations and online operations. Fact is, in the last 3 to 4 months multiple cases of discrepancies have come to light with regards to PTI. In each instance all these cases have been hushed up or simply buried by the PTI. PTI’s actions are in complete contradiction to what their narrative and massage is. Even if the world was to ignore the sort of financial discrepancies and governance models that are coming up as scandals, the fact remains that this is a party that has gone back on its words so many times that people now use ‘Going PTI’ as a term when referring to someone who backs out of everything. Be it the ‘Long Drive to Waziristan’ which eventually turned out to be till DI Khan or the promised Intra Party Elections that were delayed 4 times and eventually when Islamabad did have them, multiple reports of electoral discrepancies were pointed out.

Imran Khan needs to figure out what is going on in his party. Fact is Imran Khan does not really have a grip on the ground realities of his party any more. While he remains the Cult Leader, the actual running of things is with elitist characters whose primary concern is to improve their public profile and play along with the PPP driven script of attacking just the PML-N. It is unfortunate what has become of a party that at one point had actual promise but none of this is going to get fixed by blaming the PML-N.

Abrar and Tareen are just two examples of what PTI really is like; Elitist driven group that thrives on disillusioned fanatics who are trying to desperately believe in a pre-processed message without actually putting the effort in to thinking for themselves and making up their own minds. Because if they could think for themselves, they would have found an answer to the question how come every single PTI leader related financial scandal never turns out to be wrong even though it’s hushed under the rug… how come it is never wrong?

khanaman

Call me a disillusioned fanatic or anyting you may like, but the article is based on half facts and half fiction. Also it would be nice if the same criteria is also applied on the other big parties. There is no doubt you need money to be in contention in our political system, or any political system for that matter and for that you will need financers. Most big parties in Pakistan are financed by "private financers" who have their own vested interests in doing so. PTI is in fact the only party which is atleast attempting to break this norm by generating funds through public memberships and funding dinners overseas. This has not been done by the others. Secondly, whereas the other parties have played in the hands of vested interests of their investors, PTI is yet to be tested in this regard and in fact has not compromised its policies in any respect.

Out of the specific cases mentioned only Abrar's merits any sort of discourse. If Abrar is in fact guilty he should be taken to task by the party. In the case of Tareen, he is one of the biggest tax payers in the country, his company is listed and is the top performing sugar company applauded for its performance. The SKMH case is now subjudice as Kh. Asif has been taken to court. In any case the decision to invest whether good or bad had nothing to do with IK and was taken by the board of which IK was not a part. The investment in fact is hedged and there is no loss on it. The Waziristan march happened as planned and was a big success on all counts, painting it negatively is unfair. Same is the case with party elections. It is a revolutionary step which is happening now. Giving it a negative flavour displays the bias of the author.

yasiny

although few critics r fact in this article but all the other things like skmh investments and party elections and party being used for others vested interest in totall nonsense and show how bias the author is

umair ahmed

Lets go to SKMH first , i think that if a person that u named Kh asif has done a presser during RAMAZAN to show the world of how the money was lost and that too from the accounts of SKMH which is on website , tells me something else , the very plan of PML-N to use the very institution for their purpose was ballooned out that later night in Capital Talk when Dr Faisal Sultan came and replied to every question which Kh Asif asked and above all even the worst critics of IK supported him on this issue . .the likes of Fahad hussain , Talat Hussain , Daud munir of ET , Babbar Sattar , Nadeem Malik , Dr moid and many others . .In the end it was nothing but the Endowment Fund used by the Investment Board and as the author used the word FRAUDULANT really shows his biased , the money was never lost , the shares of SKMH were raised and money gauaranteed . . .The very Fact that the presser of Ch Nisar the next day says it all and above all Khawaja Asif himself has not peeped a word against SKMH now . .The case has already been taken Islamabad High court . .

Than Came Abrar-ul-haq , its simple as a Pie , if he is Guilty than he he should be thrown in jail but as by the author himself is biased he only sees abrar , there are many BIG NAMES in other parties which he doesnt find but lets remain to the point . .

Wazaristan march was a huge Success and covered by the international Media and gave the positive sign to all specially the name Waziristan was declared as a terror name and thousands of people went there without any fear with the hope of Peace in their minds helps alot . .yes y can disagree with IK speech but if Imran hasnt gone their why not any other Leader takes the initiative which IK has done ??? why ??? it was the first time Waziristan was named in a positive way. .and as said by Talat Hussain and Ansar Abbasi those liberals who were criticising the peace march really exposed themselves . .

And last Jahangir Tareen himself . .LOL . .Its very funny bcoz the author gave the sample of an ET article but not what JKT replied . .Its funny because a Company run by gardeners and cooks is the LARGEST REVENUE GENERATOR IN THE COUNTRY . .LOL this itself explains everything . .

Forgot Intra Party Elections , when someone with the likes of Najam Sethi is praising IK for these elections than that menas Judgement Day is near . . .this is a huge step taken in Pakistan and if there are few discripenses than for i ahve no problem for it . .853 contested and 5 women made objection its like no objections and those fake stories in the mane of Nafeesa Khattak were blasted apart by her through presser but again if u have a Problem with PTI elections why not call the other parties of doing it. . .Heard in one party VOTES ARE CASTED BY RAISING HANDS . . .

Zoaib

About Abrar and his alleged tax-fraud, it's quite simple. PTI is not an investigating agency to check each and every particular about their members or leaders. They've made a condition that anyone who contests election from PTI will have to declare assets including tax returns or there would be no ticket. The top leadership has already done so on PTI's website. How many parties have done that I ask?

Since these allegations are out now, they will be considered by the parliamentary board and action taken if found true. In any case, Abrar's position is temporary as are others in PTI since intra party elections are being held. If the members have problems they can vote him out or challenge his nomination in front of PTI Election Commission.

Zulfi Khan

My answer is simple that I do not read any article against Imran Khan or PTI
because I trust Imran Khan,so my vote is for PTI only inshallah.

Justice.Yes

AOA
My 'brother' from another Mother I 'salute' you on your 'answer' couldn't have said it any better. This is how it is done, without 'name' calling & 'profanity' and yet it only took a few lines to counter such a lengthy piece of work; must have taken all night working on it, poor Noora Slaves.

Call me a disillusioned fanatic or anyting you may like, but the article is based on half facts and half fiction. Also it would be nice if the same criteria is also applied on the other big parties. There is no doubt you need money to be in contention in our political system, or any political system for that matter and for that you will need financers. Most big parties in Pakistan are financed by "private financers" who have their own vested interests in doing so. PTI is in fact the only party which is atleast attempting to break this norm by generating funds through public memberships and funding dinners overseas. This has not been done by the others. Secondly, whereas the other parties have played in the hands of vested interests of their investors, PTI is yet to be tested in this regard and in fact has not compromised its policies in any respect.

Out of the specific cases mentioned only Abrar's merits any sort of discourse. If Abrar is in fact guilty he should be taken to task by the party. In the case of Tareen, he is one of the biggest tax payers in the country, his company is listed and is the top performing sugar company applauded for its performance. The SKMH case is now subjudice as Kh. Asif has been taken to court. In any case the decision to invest whether good or bad had nothing to do with IK and was taken by the board of which IK was not a part. The investment in fact is hedged and there is no loss on it. The Waziristan march happened as planned and was a big success on all counts, painting it negatively is unfair. Same is the case with party elections. It is a revolutionary step which is happening now. Giving it a negative flavour displays the bias of the author.

Hazrat

Nawaz Sharif .............we know you are very cunning and spending money on many fronts. You will not get my vote ever.

You people are blaming IK and SKMH because he is causing a big threat to all Nooras otherwise SKMH is there since 1992 and IK since 1970 but you must must remember that we don't listen your craps anymore and we will vote IK and PTI whatsoever, even if IK sells out all Pakistan, we will Vote him. Now use some Burnol.

Dark Angel

Buhat jhoot boltay hain yae PTI walay..""
Kasum say..!! Buhat buray hain..!!

Vote is only for PTI,
No matter what !!

Now you can go to HELL.

jeelu

Post likhnay Wale aisay hein jinko Na finance ka ilm hai Na accounting ka Na auditing ka Na taxation ka
If abrar is guilty we will not support him take him to court
Khawaja sahib got a slap from public and ik by taking him to court
Simple logic hai if they were wrong they wouldnt and if u want to go into detail
I can explain u the investment steps taken and prove u there was nothing wrong with it
Tareen is paying highst taxes assests are public his firm is in top 25 firms in Pakistan accounts are audited
And yes if he is wrong take him to court one party is in Center gov other is in federation
So please cut the crap we know what you are trying to do and are failing miserably

Hikmat Khan

@Author: You have worked really hard and you will be in regular contact with Maryam Apa while you were preparing it, but I say one thing to you that we are really brain washed by PTI. We see all anti-PTI words as biased even if thats true. Imran Khan may be a bad leader but PML-N leadership is worst without any doubt. Vote Imran Khan ka hai chahe kuch b ho jaye. Aur mai qasmiya kehtha hu k aise posts dekne k badh hum mazeed daat jathe hai.

Mr Sane

Anti Imran post serves as motivation to biased PTI supporters.

PTI supporters are brain washed, they do not want to listen a word against PTI.

There Love for Credit worthy Khan and PTIs credible Team is entirely blind

They only beleive that Khan is the only best deserving leader and No Nawaz, no Zardari this time

Hence I HATE THEM and therefore i hate myself as well being a strong PTI supporter

InsafianPTI

what?????????????you seem a bit confused? or was it just a pure sarcasm?

Anti Imran post serves as motivation to biased PTI supporters.

PTI supporters are brain washed, they do not want to listen a word against PTI.

There Love for Credit worthy Khan and PTIs credible Team is entirely blind

They only beleive that Khan is the only best deserving leader and No Nawaz, no Zardari this time

Hence I HATE THEM and therefore i hate myself as well being a strong PTI supporter