Porn Will Not Be Banned In India, Says Chief Justice HL Dattu

Geek

dattu.jpg

Declining a plea to pass an interim order to block porn websites in India, the Supreme Court on Wednesday said it cannot stop an adult from exercising his fundamental right to personal liberty to watch porn within the privacy of his room.

“Such interim orders cannot be passed by this court. Somebody may come to the court and say look I am above 18 and how can you stop me from watching it within the four walls of my room. It is a violation of Article 21 [right to personal liberty],” Chief Justice H.L. Dattu observed orally.

The Chief Justice was hearing a PIL petition filed by advocate Kamlesh Vashwani to block porn websites in India.

Mr. Vashwani had complained that the government is yet to file a response, and the court should step in now and pass some interim order which would take these sites off the Internet.

Though denying immediate relief, the Chief Justice’s Bench acknowledged the seriousness of the issue.

“The issue is definitely serious and some steps need to be taken. The Centre is expected to take a stand…let us see what stand the Centre will take,” Chief Justice Dattu observed, directing the government to reply in four weeks.

In one of the previous hearings on the PIL in August 2014, the Supreme Court had termed Internet porn “hydra-headed,” while the Centre had acknowle-dged that websites were getting too unwieldy to handle and were affecting ordinary households.

Mr. Vashwani said there are 4 crore porn websites operating in the country.

The government had then said that it was mostly helpless in implementing the law to locate and shut down the websites. It had submitted to the court that these sites were well-masked, with servers located outside the country and based on high-end technology difficult to catch up with.

The government had informed the court that it was working on an internet security policy and has taken the matter seriously with the Cyber Regulations Advisory Committee.

Keywords: Porn websites, Supreme Court, right to personal liberty.

Source

جج صاب نے سہی کہا
غیر ملکی پورن پر پابندی اور خالص بھارتی غلاظت کو کاما سترا کی تعلیم قرار دے کر فروغ دیا جائیگا .

آخر تعلیم تو عام ہونی چاہیے نا

M.Sami.R

اسلامی جمہوریہ پاکستان زندہ باد، یہاں پورن سائٹس بلاک ہونے کے باوجود ہر سال پورن سرچ میں پاکستان پہلے نمبر پر ہوتا ہے،آخر کسی میدان میں تو انڈیا کو پیچھے چھوڑا۔

​yeh judge khood fundamental right ke mutabiq honaay walay rape ke nateejay mai paida huwa lagta hai Malik quyum ki trah

lurker

Good Verdict. I wish we in Pakistan also don't promote our government to be our Chacha Mama and let them decide what we can consume and what we cannot. Who is the State of Pakistan to tell me what I can watch and what I cannot? Pehle hi Youtube ban ker rakha hai because of "deeni komzori" awaam ki... aur baki sab Pakistanis have to suffer because of these people. The Internet should be free and unrestricted. Let every man and woman decide for themselves what they want to consume. Don't try to be their Abba.

yasir18

Pornography is unacceptable in Islam and also in many other religions. But India is a secular country by constitution which has no relation to any religion in state affairs. I think this verdict is based on the secular constitution of India which is understandable.

Humi

I think people in this thread should be more concerned about pornography availability in their own country!

only_truths

quote: "There is much more that can be said about porn. And much more that could be studied. More research has been done on the possible negative consequences of porn than on what determines its use in the first place. And yet, it is this type of research that eventually may elucidate why some people are attracted to porn while others are not, and why some people seem to lose control over their desires for it. Empirical research cannot provide answers to the question of whether porn, imagined or on tape, in a book or on the Internet, in itself is bad or wrong. But history teaches us not only that it is not likely to vanish, but also that we can learn more about ourselves from giving porn and its uses a closer look."
unquote: source:
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/porn/special/why.html

lurker

Why this comparison to show "Abba" in bad light ?
What does an "Abba" do? He chastises his son/daughter from doing wrong. In Pakistan we Pakistanis have elevated our Government to be our Collective Abba Huzoor. Even on this forum you will find a lot of Abba. lol.

RAW007

I think people in this thread should be more concerned about pornography availability in their own country!

islamic jamhuria pakistan should ban animal porn watched by pakistanis which happens daily on streets . [hilar][hilar][hilar]

Ak0fG9rCAAE51GC.jpg

kakamana

I think you are referring to that bus which has been driving to street while a girl was being raped in it. Mind you that street was not of Pakistan it was Delhi aka. rapistan

RAW007

I think you are referring to that bus which has been driving to street while a girl was being raped in it. Mind you that street was not of Pakistan it was Delhi aka. rapistan

no that bus belongs to pir wadhai bus stand where 90 percent children are available for sodomy . bachchabazi .