PM Nawaz signs off on Diamer-Bhasha dam financing plan

Sohail Shuja

PM Nawaz signs off on Diamer-Bhasha dam financing plan

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Monday approved, in principle, the financing plan for the Diamer-Bhasha dam and ordered the secretary of water and power to start physical work on the dam before the end of 2017.

Secretary Ministry of Water and Power Mohammad Younus Dagha presented the dam's financial proposal to the prime minister today, Radio-Pakistan reported.

The prime minister instructed Younus Dagha and the secretary of planning and finance to expedite the completion of the financial process and begin the physical process before the end of next year.

This financial plan, made on a self-reliance basis, proposes that construction of the dam will receive a portion of the required funding from allocations made by the Public Sector Development Programme and from resources generated by Water and Power Development Authority (Wapda).

The rest of the financing for the dam will be arranged on a commercial basis by the Ministry of Water and Power either through Wapda or through leasing its existing projects.

The construction of Diamer-Bhasha dam has been considerably delayed. The project was originally scheduled for completion in 2016, and then 2019, when a decision about its construction was taken by the military government of Gen Pervez Musharraf, but work on the project did not progress at all during his rule.

Source link: http://www.dawn.com/news/print/1300622

Shamyl Sheheryar

There is no dam in actual, they are only bringing inflatable tubs filled with water and advertising them as dams for illiterate an parh jahil voters who vote for pmln for qeema naans

hang on, did i say voters of pmln? oh but nobody votes for them? do i sound cocained enough here? buhahahahahahaha

sensible

نواز شریف نے اتنا کچھ پپیرز پر بنا ڈالنا ہے کے اگر زمین پر بن گیا تو زمین کم پڑ جائے گی.

There is no dam in actual, they are only bringing inflatable tubs filled with water and advertising them as dams for illiterate an parh jahil voters who vote for pmln for qeema naans

hang on, did i say voters of pmln? oh but nobody votes for them? do i sound cocained enough here? buhahahahahahaha

Not sure if you are aware of the ground realities surrounding Bhasha Dam, and its relationship to Dasu Dam.

This project was supposed to begin before Dasu Dam, owing to the fact that Dasu Dam is downstream. Now that Dasu Dam is under construction, this will severely affect the productivity of Bhasha Dam. It may very well bring Bhasha's production down to less than 50% of what was originally slated, when it is completed.

Secondly, after failing to get Bhasha financed by international investors, Sharif is now claiming that the govt and Wapda will finance it. Last I checked, both were running heavy deficits, and in no position to finance a dam, so naturally speaking, it is a 'truck ki batti' announcement that Sharif made in order to find some dignity.

I really hope both the dams are completed though, to their full capacity...but sadly, the current govt is more interested in headlines and photosessions than anything else.

Jub ki awam mein debate aur jaghra shuru kerna to distract from some other issue, tau bhasha dam ka subject cherd do, ka SC ki date hai, is se dehan hata ne ke liye Bhasha dam ki mamla cherd dala ganjuu ne

mubarik Shah

11112811_430766887100512_7624277025352692786_n.jpg

Aalif

Dear Participants of the discussion, it is humbly requested to kindly maintain the decorum of public speech and carry on with a healthy and fruitful debate, please.

Thank you.

Shamyl Sheheryar

But for whom the truck ke batti is in place? Voters? PMLN has no voters as per you and your leader. Us? the paid workers on social media? We simply get paid per post and so the last person left is YOU the inqilabis and I don't think you have more room for a batti after the whole lightning glow by bani gala

it is a 'truck ki batti' announcement that Sharif made in order to find some dignity.

But for whom the truck ke batti is in place? Voters? PMLN has no voters as per you and your leader. Us? the paid workers on social media? We simply get paid per post and so the last person left is YOU the inqilabis and I don't think you have more room for a batti after the whole lightning glow by bani gala

Do you have a viable, logical, or debatable response to anything, based on facts? Or are you just here to blabber, curse, taunt and joke around?

At times you claim you will produce expense receipts for PM house....at times you claim Maryam is the next thing since sliced bread.....koi sar payr ki baat kiya haro. Neither Imran, nor Sharif are gods. Talk with proper references and logic. Or dont start a debate at all.

They are not gods, and that doesnt automatically mean they are devils. They are humans, and are accountable.

Now answer my original question before you go on tangents again. Where are the receipts you so arrogantly claimed you could produce? Either state that you were lying, or produce the receipts and be done with it. Else dont waste my time.