Pakistan's Project of Renewal: Zardari

zardarifan

Pakistan's Project of Renewal
Wall Street Journal August 11, 2010
By ASIF ALI ZARDARI

Pakistan, a nation beset by political tragedies for generations, now faces a new test of its national character: a natural calamity unprecedented in our history. Millions have been displaced and thousands have died in floods caused by unabated rain. The monsoons are destroying villages and exposing thousands to illnesses including cholera and dysentery.

Apart from organizing immediate rescue and relief operations, our people and our government also face the challenges of rehabilitation and reconstruction.

As the floods hit the country, I faced a dilemma as head of state. I could stay in Pakistan and support the prime minister in our response to the floods, or I could continue with a scheduled visit abroad. I chose to use my travels to mobilize foreign assistancemoney, supplies, food, tents, medical care, engineers, clean water and medicinefor our people. Some have criticized my decision, saying it represented aloofness, but I felt that I had to choose substance over symbolism.

As a result of my meetings with French President Nicolas Sarkozy and British Prime Minister David Cameron, the plight of Pakistan's flood victims is receiving full international attention. The British government pledged $24 million in aid. The U.S. government, with which I was in touch by telephone, has pledged $35 million in relief funds and made helicopters available for rescue efforts. The NATO coalition, at war in neighboring Afghanistan, has also offered help, as have major European nations and Japan.

My visit to Britain, an important ally in fighting terrorism, also helped defuse potential political friction over Mr. Cameron's remarks in India ostensibly criticizing past Pakistani policy on jihadist militancy. And it allowed me to reaffirm to the relatively new British government Pakistan's commitment to fighting all terrorist groups.

After a decade of suffering the political, economic and social abuses of military dictatorship, Pakistan has spent the last two years re-establishing our democratic infrastructure and rebuilding our national character and cohesiveness.

Our project of national renewal is even more difficult because we are on the front lines of the battle against international terrorism. In particular, we live with the effects of the historical errors of the 1980s that have come back to haunt the world. The use of jihad in Afghanistan as the blunt instrument to destroy the Soviet Union certainly had short-term benefits. But the decision to empower the most radical elements of the mujahideenand then to abandon Afghanistan economically, politically and militarily after 1989set the stage for the dreaded clash of civilizations that has plagued the world since.

Whatever horror the Western world has faced at the hands of extremists acting in the name of Islam pales in comparison to the nightmare endured by the people and government of Pakistan. Terrorists have killed more Pakistani soldiers than NATO coalition troops fighting in Afghanistan. Pakistan has lost 2,000 police in the war on terror, more than all other countries combined. And we have lost almost 6,000 civilians, twice the number who died in the World Trade Center.

We have also lost our country's greatest recent political leadermy wife, Benazir Bhutto. My wife's death was even more shocking than the United States losing a president or Britain its prime minister, because she defined our democratic consciousness in the face of dictatorship. She was a symbol of hope to tens of millions in my countryand hundreds of millions around the worldthat there could be a better future ahead for our children.

As I return to Pakistan, I bring back tangible results that will help the flood victims in the short run and lay the foundations for national recovery in the long run. I might have benefitted personally from the political symbolism of being in the country at the time of natural disaster. But hungry people can't eat symbols. The situation demanded action, and I acted to mobilize the world.

Now the work must continue. I call on the generous people of the United States to rise to this occasion as they have countless times over the last two centuries. Pakistan welcomes your contributions, as individuals and by your government.

enigma_1357

The British government pledged $24 million in aid. The U.S. government, with which I was in touch by telephone, has pledged $35 million in relief funds and made helicopters available for rescue efforts.

aghar woh telephone per american say rabtay say 35 millions la saktey hey phir to uk visit say sirf naqsaan hi howa hey kyoon keh itna kharcha bhi kia aur laya bhi sirf 24 millions?

c4cheema

this money will be redirected to Swiss account very soon
How can you expect from a person who is not loyal with his family/wife ++++

armani

A natural calamity unprecedented in our history was the moment when he took oath as a president of the country. Calamities like flood, anarchy and killing in the country are the after shocks of the previous calamity.
He is talking plain BS. These politician were also talking about building a new city in Muzafarabad after earth quick. They collected billions of dollars for that purpose but even after 5 years to the incident the roads are still broken.

yhdil

this money will be redirected to Swiss account very soon
How can you expect from a person who is not loyal with his family/wife ++++

Shame on u boy. Our president is trying all his honest and hard to raise the help for his citizens and you are praising him with such baseless allegations!

You should rather be appreciating his hard work which speak for itself, if you imagine that how much fund raising pledges has been made after his tour.

Zardari Khapyee
Pakistan Khapee
PPP Khapee

omerkashmiri

61510818-zardari.jpg

http://allvoices.com/people/Asif_Ali_Zardari/image/61510818
61510459-zardari.jpg

http://www.allvoices.com/people/Asif_Ali_Zardari/image/61510459

armani

Shame on u boy. Our president is trying all his honest and hard to raise the help for his citizens and you are praising him with such baseless allegations!

You should rather be appreciating his hard work which speak for itself, if you imagine that how much fund raising pledges has been made after his tour.

Zardari Khapyee
Pakistan Khapee
PPP Khapee

He is a billionaire in dollars. If he was so sincere to people and was in such a love with the country, don't you think he could have donated a billion dollars from his account. This is how he could have saved his and nation's self respect by not begging to other nations and also could have built the country. He is elder of the nation. He is the President. Elders always sacrifice. The bigger the challenge the bigger the sacrifice. A billion dollars out of his account would not have made him poor by any means and would have built the nation with out the notion of him being a beggar president.

c4cheema

yhdil; said:
Originally Posted by yhdil Shame on u boy. Our president is trying all his honest and hard to raise the help for his citizens and you are praising him with such baseless allegations!

Zardari Khapyee
Pakistan Khapee
PPP Khapee

He is a billionaire in dollars. If he was so sincere to people and was in such a love with the country, don't you think he could have donated a billion dollars from his account. This is how he could have saved his and nation's self respect by not begging to other nations and also could have built the country. He is elder of the nation. He is the President. Elders always sacrifice. The bigger the challenge the bigger the sacrifice. A billion dollars out of his account would not have made him poor by any means and would have built the nation with out the notion of him being a beggar president.

totally agreed with armani .
One of the richest person of world and do not spending money for the nation.
Defiantly he earned that money by killing pplz (++++Banazeer ...+++) and he is trying to get more as ppl are still dying

yhdil

totally agreed with armani .
One of the richest person of world and do not spending money for the nation.
Defiantly he earned that money by killing pplz (++++Banazeer ...+++) and he is trying to get more as ppl are still dying

He has donated 3.2 million dollar kids. Who else donated that much?

Chaudhry_1960

Friends, Zardari has been misunderstood.

Zardari's target is to beat Bill Gates and bring the title of "Richest man on Earth" to Pakistan because we haven't won a real world championship Title since Cricket world cup 1992.

Please help him bring this respectable Title home.

Super123

Corrupt have always supported corrupt, no wonder, this is nothing new, just check this.................Zardari is the Mafia head, they all are benifucaries !!!!

http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/about_us/history/maturing_saf/v03n03_history.html

On 26 Mar 1991, Singapore Airlines Airbus flight SQ 117 took off from Subang Airport in Kuala Lumpur with 129 passengers and crew onboard at 1815 hrs. Four passengers who claimed to be Pakistanis took control of the plane when it was enroute to Singapore. The plane landed and parked at Changi Airport's Runway One at 2215 hrs.

Even as the plane arrived, an Executive Group of high-ranking officials from various organisations including MINDEF, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Information and the Arts, the Singapore Airlines and a negotiating team were activated.

Demands

The hijackers claimed to be members of the Pakistan People's Party. They wanted the release of former Pakistan Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto's husband and other PPP members detained in Pakistani jails. They also wanted the plane refuelled so that they could fly to Australia.

On 27 Mar 91 at 0230 hrs, the plane was moved to an outer tarmac. The hijackers pushed two SIA stewards out of the plane, injuring them. The injured stewards provided vital information, which assisted the eventual storming of the plane.

Countdown and Rescue

The hijackers issued a five-minute deadline at 0645 hrs after which they threatened to kill one passenger every ten minutes if their demands were not acceded to.

On the countdown to three minutes, the order was given to storm the plane. Elite Commandos stormed the plane, killing four Pakistani hijackers and freeing all 118 passengers and 9 crew. The rescue of SQ 117 was over in just 30 seconds and ended at 0650 hrs. None of the passengers and crew were hurt.

mrcritic

What he said and what he actually meant:

ZARDARI:" I chose to use my travels to mobilize foreign assistance—money, supplies, food, tents, medical care, engineers, clean water and medicine—for our people."

means:

I chose to use my travels to mobilize foreign DOLLARS, EUROS, more dollars, more euros for ME ME ME ME ME.

Apparently Zardari has has donated 25 Lakh rupees, Nawaz sharif has donated 1 crore rupees. Both of them have heaps more than that they could donate..

اپنی زنانی کے قاتل کو

Pakistan's Project of Renewal
Wall Street Journal August 11, 2010
By ASIF ALI ZARDARI

Pakistan, a nation beset by political tragedies for generations, now faces a new test of its national character: a natural calamity unprecedented in our history. Millions have been displaced and thousands have died in floods caused by unabated rain. The monsoons are destroying villages and exposing thousands to illnesses including cholera and dysentery.

..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................nt.

پہلے یہ پتا کرواؤ کہ اس غلیظ، جاہل، حرام حور، اور اپنی زنانی کے قاتل کو یہ آرٹیکل کس نے لکھ کر دیا ہے-
خود تو یہ ١٠٠ بار بھی پیدا ہو جے تو نہیں لکھ سکتا - اگر لکھنے والا مل جائے تو اسے گولی مار دو