Pakistani Media: Creating mess since 2002

karachi

Ever since I started watching Pakistani news channels, especially GEO News, there has never been a day that made me proud of the media. Their childish reporters have completely modified the concept of a news channel. Most (or all) of their talk shows are about politics, and all of them end without a conclusion, leaving the viewers think like retarded fools. The media has brought a big change in the country, and most of the people think that its a positive change, but not me. People have totally lost their power to bring fresh thoughts and theyre just relying on the media.
I remember watching PTV News as a kid and that channel always made me feel proud of my country. PTV always used to show a positive side of the country and never forced the viewers to have any negative thoughts about their country. Since I dont watch PTV anymore, I cant give much comments on its current quality.
The only news channel that has impressed me is DAWNNEWS. Theres no other news channel of this quality in Pakistan. It doesnt only show a positive side of Pakistan, but also makes its viewers realize about the increasing threat of Global Warming. It has proved to be a lot different than other Pakistani channels. Most of the Pakistani news channels have this habit of getting over-excited when breaking a very important news, and thankfully, DAWNNEWS doesnt have this silly habit.

I hope that someday, the Pakistani media realizes that it is creating more tensions rather than reducing them, and that day will be one of the best in the history of the world.
:pakistan-flag-wavin

Ever since I started watching Pakistani news channels, especially GEO News, there has never been a day that made me proud of the media. Their childish reporters have completely modified the concept of a news channel. Most (or all) of their talk shows are about politics, and all of them end without a conclusion, leaving the viewers think like retarded fools. The media has brought a big change in the country, and most of the people think that it’s a positive change, but not me. People have totally lost their power to bring fresh thoughts and they’re just relying on the media.
I remember watching PTV News as a kid and that channel always made me feel proud of my country. PTV always used to show a positive side of the country and never forced the viewers to have any negative thoughts about their country. Since I don’t watch PTV anymore, I can’t give much comments on its current quality.
The only news channel that has impressed me is DAWNNEWS. There’s no other news channel of this quality in Pakistan. It doesn’t only show a positive side of Pakistan, but also makes its viewers realize about the increasing threat of Global Warming. It has proved to be a lot different than other Pakistani channels. Most of the Pakistani news channels have this habit of getting over-excited when breaking a very important news, and thankfully, DAWNNEWS doesn’t have this silly habit.

I hope that someday, the Pakistani media realizes that it is creating more tensions rather than reducing them, and that day will be one of the best in the history of the world.
:pakistan-flag-wavin

To be the best there is a steep learning curve. Thankfully we have started the journey of free media and hopefully soon enough we will get to a point where channels will become more professional and content oriented rather than just tabloid journalism.
Howvere just watching TV for the sake of getting a positive image of the country is not really a very objective way of watching. There are a lot of problems in our country and the general outlook is bleak as it is. So if the media showed 'all is well' it would be actually lies. I dont think that would be a very positive use of freedom of expression.

rajakhanmd

Free Media is inevitable and is a need of the hour. Its importance can never be questioned. Lots of good stuff happening in media but I am somewhat skeptical to our Media as a whole.

All over the world, the dependency of the Media on sponsors limits their freedom and sometimes, also determines their agenda. And, that is true in Pakistan as well.

We have a seen a parallel image created by US or Indian media about terrorism or their countries, and, then selling that image to the whole world. We are fine with that, rather we quote it with pride but we want only TRUTH from the Pakistani media, even if it hurts us as a Nation.

Our media needs to understand their responsibility in the same way that they understand their power. Otherwise, it would slowly transform into a power hungry Mafia. Taking court orders to avoid paying their taxes and the fact that they are also above accountability are not good indicators for me. I hope they will grow out of these issues in the near future.

mrcritic

To be the best there is a steep learning curve. Thankfully we have started the journey of free media and hopefully soon enough we will get to a point where channels will become more professional and content oriented rather than just tabloid journalism.
Howvere just watching TV for the sake of getting a positive image of the country is not really a very objective way of watching. There are a lot of problems in our country and the general outlook is bleak as it is. So if the media showed 'all is well' it would be actually lies. I dont think that would be a very positive use of freedom of expression.

A few points from me:

Do you think Media is Free and Fair in the USA? Do you know there are 2 completely different versions of CNN? One CNN is for USA only and the other CNN is for the rest of the world to see.

Media ki Azaadi should not turn to Media ki Awaargi!

Geo, Aaj, Hum, ARY shamelessly promote indian movies,bollywood culture. If they start promoting our own local talent, I honeslty belive the industry will flourish it self rather than relying on Bolly.

Does anyone watch PTV now? It's so laughable[hilar] - What PTV says is what PPP wants them to say - Musla hi koi nahi ji Pakistan mein - sab kuch theek thaak hai!! The classic line:
"something something kay liye THOS IKDAMAT liyay jayegey" It makes me LOL each time they say that.