No Foreign Direct Investment in KPK in PTI's 3.5 years

Renegade

PESHAWAR: The flow of foreign direct investment into Khyber Pakhtunkhwa remained zero during the last three and a half years tenure of the PTI-led government as the province relied on loans, foreign assistance and federal receipts.

Adviser to the chief minister on information Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani told a news conference here on Wednesday that FDI didn’t come to the province during the last three and a half years due to the delicate security situation and bad governance.

“The security situation and bad governance during the previous government discouraged foreign investors,” he said when asked about the inflow of FDI in the provincial economy during the PTI’s tenure.

The adviser however said the situation had improved.

Govt blames it on delicate security situation, bad governance

“We expect investment from abroad in different sectors,” he said.

Mr. Ghani said Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, who was in China, would invite Chinese investors to put money in different sectors of the province.

He said the CM was likely to sign three agreements in China and that would be the first FDI in the province.

Before forming government in the province, the PTI had claimed that foreigners were ready to invest billions of dollars in the province.

The adviser said the provincial government is negotiating with Chinese investors to build circular railway line to link Peshawar with Nowshera, Mardan, Swabi and Charsadda, execute 1200MW hydel generation projects, and build roads.

He said the government’s initiatives, especially steps for the eradication of corruption, had boosted the confidence of local and foreign investors, who were willing to put money in different sectors of the province.

Highlighting the achievements of the PTI-led ruling coalition, Mr. Ghani said the provincial government had performed well in all sectors of economy.

He said the total outlay of the annual development programme for financial year 2016-17 was Rs505 billion.

The adviser said Rs276.114 billion had been released to different sectors during the last six months and Rs167.804 billion of them had been spent on various projects.

“The ADP spending ratio remained 61 per cent during the last six months,” he said.

Mr. Ghani claimed that the government had invested in human resource development instead of spending budget on other sectors.

He said the assembly had passed a total of 135 bills during the last three years.

The adviser said the construction of 41 colleges was in progress, while 17 new colleges for boys and girls were included in the 2015-16 ADP.

He said public libraries and universities were being established across the province.

Mr. Ghani said Rs33 billion had been allocated for district governments in the current budget.

He said the establishment of Knowledge City was in the pipeline with Rs10 million already allocated for the project’s feasibility study.

The adviser said work on the rapid bus service project for Peshawar would be completed by Dec 2017 at a cost of Rs20 billion.

He said the government had yet to begin work on the project. Mr. Ghani said the Rs34 billion Swat Expressway would be in place by the end of 2017.

He said the government had planned the construction of a road from Margalla Hills to Changla Gali at a cost of Rs670 million, while flyovers would be constructed in Abbottabad, Haripur, Mansehra and Kohat.

The advisor said a large number of doctors, nurses and paramedics were appointed to the government’s health facilities in the province to improve health delivery system besides increasing the salary of medics and members of the allied staff.

He also said Rs20 billion were being spent on the provision of free emergency services to patients in government hospitals of the province.

Published in Dawn, December 29th, 2016

Shahid Abassi

What do you expect when total FDI in whole Pakistan is less than 600 million USD. And most of it has gone in to telecom and wind energy. Both the sectors have nothing to do with KPK.

Abbasi sahib this is the earning of IK and PTI. Let me explain what I want to say.
You are 100 % right, overall investment in Pakistan was down and it affected KPK in same way. Unfortunately the PTI-ens have played it so rough in last three years (without realizing the actual reasons). Now they are going to be beaten by same stick which they used to beat NS. The propaganda war and the war of disinformation is about to start at right time. You will see more and more of this in coming days. It will get intensified closer to elections. Unfortunate part is that the public in Pakistan is immune to what IK says beause they habe heard him too much. Now they will start listening to what Noorey say, because that will be new.
Believe me the seed of Zakaat chori and IKs corruption perception has produced the sapling in some minds. Closer to election if it will not be a tree but it will become a sizable plant at least.
Whether you agree or not but i will say NS had started very polite politics this time. But they have pulled him into what he is master at. How IK and PTI will react when NS erupts ?? I dont see too good on horizon.

What do you expect when total FDI in whole Pakistan is less than 600 million USD. And most of it has gone in to telecom and wind energy. Both the sectors have nothing to do with KPK.

arafay

lolz. people were running out of kpk in 2013-2014 when weekly 1 blast was happening. Then APS blast happened which made news headlines worldwide. I think it will take another 5-10 years before international investment comes to kpk.

یہ تھریڈ بھی کسی پٹوار خانے سے برآمد ہوا ہے۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔۔ جب سارے ملک میں انسوٹمنٹ نہیں آرہی ہے تو کے پی میں کہا سے آئے؟ جب ملک میں بجلی اور سیکیوریٹی نہ ہو تو کہاں کی انسوٹمنٹ اور ٹائریکٹ انسوٹمنٹ بھی وفاق سے ہوتی ہوئی آتی ہے۔ پچھلی 3 سالوں سے تو وفاقی کسی انوسٹر کو کے پی میں آئل ریفائنری کے لیے این او سی دینے کے لیے تیار نہیں تھے تو انسوٹمنٹ کہا سے آئے؟

ویسے پٹواری صاحب یہ مندرجہ خبر بھی پڑھ لے۔

http://www.dawn.com/news/1310653/

Shahid Abassi

Propaganda outlets are in the hands of sitting government. It is them who distribute billions of rupee state ads to these news outlets. And then how many of the journalists are on their pay list? You may be right that people of some specific segments are immune to what IK says. The reason for that is lack of capability among PTI policy makers to understand what people want to listen and how they want it to be said. I do not agree with Imran's way of doing politics which lacks giving solutions. He only criticizes but never show dreams of a better life. For many neutral people, he is an irritant. But looking at KPK and looking at what others have to offer I will go with him at any time.
I know, the international sponsors and the establishment will never never have him wining the elections and he will never be a prime minister but his mere presence in Pakistan politics has changed people's perception and understanding of need to eradicate corruption and nepotism at the highest level.
You may be opposed to IK, but can you negate the fact that corruption is eating up our nation? Can you see the future where India grows at 8% per annum and we use 47.5% of our budget to repay and service our debt while 5000 billion rupees are annually going in corrupt accounts in Dubai and else where.
You may believe that IK wouldn't be able to eradicate corruption, you may say he is incapable but let me ask, what are the choices if you and me are sure that Sharifs and Zardaris are eating it up? Is it better to let it be or is it better to try the untried?

Abbasi sahib this is the earning of IK and PTI. Let me explain what I want to say.
You are 100 % right, overall investment in Pakistan was down and it affected KPK in same way. Unfortunately the PTI-ens have played it so rough in last three years (without realizing the actual reasons). Now they are going to be beaten by same stick which they used to beat NS. The propaganda war and the war of disinformation is about to start at right time. You will see more and more of this in coming days. It will get intensified closer to elections. Unfortunate part is that the public in Pakistan is immune to what IK says beause they habe heard him too much. Now they will start listening to what Noorey say, because that will be new.
Believe me the seed of Zakaat chori and IKs corruption perception has produced the sapling in some minds. Closer to election if it will not be a tree but it will become a sizable plant at least.
Whether you agree or not but i will say NS had started very polite politics this time. But they have pulled him into what he is master at. How IK and PTI will react when NS erupts ?? I dont see too good on horizon.

leo_pk

Ganjas wont give NOC to anyone.. dirty below the belt players those ganjass

I am in the same boat in which you are. I was the big fan of IK but I got disappointed with him during the dhurna time. I had his posture in my mind as a very wise, honest and man or honer but the way he has exposed his lust for the power really pulled me away from him. The 2013 elections results were exactly as it was being predicted. I remember when NS did his victory speech I was already in the state sadness of a looser because he had won with clear majority. But later when IK termed it as a signal to ROs to start doing dhandli to give him 2/3 majority. I was shocked because I knew this is not right. His Umpires Ungli was a clear cut confession of his deal with the army. He was so confident of it. The way he maligned Iftikhar Chaudhry because he told him to come though proper channel was quite low of him and I was very much able to understand that. His rant on 35 Puncture & Najam Sethi was another one. I literally said "Dur Fitey munh" when he was asked about the details of 35 constituencies and he added the seats out of punjab as well in which Najam Sethis could not have done any thing. (Now he does not have any character to accept that it was all jhoot which he picked up from the mouth of Dr Shahid Maseed). And it all was proved in the commission in which Person like Shareef Ud beedn perzada was turned into just a lame duck as he had nothing to say.
So to me he emerged as chronic lair after his dhurna stunt. You may have a different opinion. Now as you said there is no other choise. I see his performance in KPK is actually nill. To me he lakes capabilities to lead, he has nothing to show other than a few refined administrative controls in schools and police. So to me he is one of the evils, but of different kind. He may not be corrupt in financial terms but he is morally corrupt like everyone else. And on top of it I dont see him with any solutions or the way forward to go.

Propaganda outlets are in the hands of sitting government. It is them who distribute billions of rupee state ads to these news outlets. And then how many of the journalists are on their pay list? You may be right that people of some specific segments are immune to what IK says. The reason for that is lack of capability among PTI policy makers to understand what people want to listen and how they want it to be said. I do not agree with Imran's way of doing politics which lacks giving solutions. He only criticizes but never show dreams of a better life. For many neutral people, he is an irritant. But looking at KPK and looking at what others have to offer I will go with him at any time.
I know, the international sponsors and the establishment will never never have him wining the elections and he will never be a prime minister but his mere presence in Pakistan politics has changed people's perception and understanding of need to eradicate corruption and nepotism at the highest level.
You may be opposed to IK, but can you negate the fact that corruption is eating up our nation? Can you see the future where India grows at 8% per annum and we use 47.5% of our budget to repay and service our debt while 5000 billion rupees are annually going in corrupt accounts in Dubai and else where.
You may believe that IK wouldn't be able to eradicate corruption, you may say he is incapable but let me ask, what are the choices if you and me are sure that Sharifs and Zardaris are eating it up? Is it better to let it be or is it better to try the untried?

I am in the same boat in which you are. I was the big fan of IK but I got disappointed with him during the dhurna time. I had his posture in my mind as a very wise, honest and man or honer but the way he has exposed his lust for the power really pulled me away from him. The 2013 elections results were exactly as it was being predicted. I remember when NS did his victory speech I was already in the state sadness of a looser because he had won with clear majority. But later when IK termed it as a signal to ROs to start doing dhandli to give him 2/3 majority. I was shocked because I knew this is not right. His Umpires Ungli was a clear cut confession of his deal with the army. He was so confident of it. The way he maligned Iftikhar Chaudhry because he told him to come though proper channel was quite low of him and I was very much able to understand that. His rant on 35 Puncture & Najam Sethi was another one. I literally said "Dur Fitey munh" when he was asked about the details of 35 constituencies and he added the seats out of punjab as well in which Najam Sethis could not have done any thing. (Now he does not have any character to accept that it was all jhoot which he picked up from the mouth of Dr Shahid Maseed). And it all was proved in the commission in which Person like Shareef Ud beedn perzada was turned into just a lame duck as he had nothing to say.
So to me he emerged as chronic lair after his dhurna stunt. You may have a different opinion. Now as you said there is no other choise. I see his performance in KPK is actually nill. To me he lakes capabilities to lead, he has nothing to show other than a few refined administrative controls in schools and police. So to me he is one of the evils, but of different kind. He may not be corrupt in financial terms but he is morally corrupt like everyone else. And on top of it I dont see him with any solutions or the way forward to go.
So you did the next best thing and became a Noora ? Talk about talk about jumping from the frying pan into the fire. I can point by point re-debunk all your tired already de-bunked a million rhetoric smeared through out your post. But what is the point of beating a dead horse but just for example. N.S in his 1st tenure already offered IK a ministry, Mushy offered to make him PM, he did not become CM of KPK when he could have easily. If he really lusted only after power than why has he been rejecting it for the past 20 plus years ?

I'm sorry but these I am an ex-IK supporter but because of XYZ.....posts have become very old lame and tired. And how come every ex IK supporter only becomes a Noora ? :lol:

True You dont have to beat me the "dead horse". Yes ex-IK'ers do become nooni because they find it as best available option. If you deny this fact you can but I dont know why you people always keep your eyes closed on the elections that took after 2013 and the way PTI performed in them. It says quite a bit but you have choice not to learn anything from it. I Guess Camera in jalsas keeps fooling you. However, personally I like Shehbaz Shareef due to his dynamic and energetic approach towards progress.
Now you can go ahead and fill five pages of this thread with photoshops against chota Gunja but will it change the ground reality ???? I think it will not. And I think it is going to hit hard to you people in near future.

So you did the next best thing and became a Noora ? Talk about talk about jumping from the frying pan into the fire. I can point by point re-debunk all your tired already de-bunked a million rhetoric smeared through out your post. But what is the point of beating a dead horse but just for example. N.S in his 1st tenure already offered IK a ministry, Mushy offered to make him PM, he did not become CM of KPK when he could have easily. If he really lusted only after power than why has he been rejecting it for the past 20 plus years ?

I'm sorry but these I am an ex-IK supporter but because of XYZ.....posts have become very old lame and tired. And how come every ex IK supporter only becomes a Noora ? :lol:

True You dont have to beat me the "dead horse". Yes ex-IK'ers do become nooni because they find it as best available option. If you deny this fact you can but I dont know why you people always keep your eyes closed on the elections that took after 2013 and the way PTI performed in them. It says quite a bit but you have choice not to learn anything from it. I Guess Camera in jalsas keeps fooling you. However, personally I like Shehbaz Shareef due to his dynamic and energetic approach towards progress.
Now you can go ahead and fill five pages of this thread with photoshops against chota Gunja but will it change the ground reality ???? I think it will not. And I think it is going to hit hard to you people in near future.
So noora is the "best available option". Either that's a cheap cop out or you have just plain given up and resigned yourself to a horrible fate, if you think these treacherous thieving bast@rds are the best available option for Pakistan.

And why are you worried about election results? Or you just always want to be on the winning team, is thats the only thing that matters to you? People have been supporting IK since even before he had won a single seat and I and million others will keep supporting even if ever a time comes when he can't win a single seat again, because its not his seat winning ability we are concerned with, but rather his vision for Pakistan, his honesty and genuine concern for Pakistan and Pakistanis, to make it a better place for all of us to live in, where there is rule of law, justice and accountability, where the rich and elite don't reign supreme and the poor man is entitled to the same rights and privileges as everyone else. Get it!

So you are most welcomed to your clan of criminals, but in my book supporting such thieves is nothing short of treason against the Republic Of Pakistan.

A Good Day To You Sir

I dont really see much need to get into this discussion with you, but since you are talking with quite mannerly, so I can express myself. Just one question for you is that. Am I objecting on your support to IK? Why are you so much furious on my choice?
I dont disagree with you at all on the problems of injustice and inequality but I would have been standing besides you if I had seen it eliminated in KPK. If you can claim that all is heavens over there than let me know. I am looking at IK' behavior over the blames of fiddling with the Zakaat fund and investing it overseas and his case on Bani Gala and frauds in the Party fund. Is he coming clean with these blames or he is running and hiding? Does he have character enough to accept his lies on 35 Puncture, Iftikhar Chaudhary, justice Rumdey, Justice Kiyani and recently on Javed Saddiq.
To me if a person does not carry enough character to accept his own words than he is not a trust worthy. I see the same characters in him which noory own. There is no difference between two. So my choice is the economical prosperity of the nation first and then everything else. And unfortunately does not have a clue how to achieve it. If he had any we had seen it in KPK.
Anyways you please have to accept it as I have right to live the way I want. And unfortunate news for you is that I am not alone who thinks this way. There is majority who support PMLN, and most of them cannot express themselves on the social media (who you call them as unpurh & Jahils awam) and once who can, you call them as Mootoo Gang menbers and Marium's paid patwari. But is this attitude giving you anything other than frustration????

So noora is the "best available option". Either that's a cheap cop out or you have just plain given up and resigned yourself to a horrible fate, if you think these treacherous thieving bast@rds are the best available option for Pakistan.

And why are you worried about election results? Or you just always want to be on the winning team, is thats the only thing that matters to you? People have been supporting IK since even before he had won a single seat and I and million others will keep supporting even if ever a time comes when he can't win a single seat again, because its not his seat winning ability we are concerned with, but rather his vision for Pakistan, his honesty and genuine concern for Pakistan and Pakistanis, to make it a better place for all of us to live in, where there is rule of law, justice and accountability, where the rich and elite don't reign supreme and the poor man is entitled to the same rights and privileges as everyone else. Get it!

So you are most welcomed to your clan of criminals, but in my book supporting such thieves is nothing short of treason against the Republic Of Pakistan.

A Good Day To You Sir

I dont really see much need to get into this discussion with you, but since you are talking with quite mannerly, so I can express myself. Just one question for you is that. Am I objecting on your support to IK? Why are you so much furious on my choice?
I dont disagree with you at all on the problems of injustice and inequality but I would have been standing besides you if I had seen it eliminated in KPK. If you can claim that all is heavens over there than let me know. I am looking at IK' behavior over the blames of fiddling with the Zakaat fund and investing it overseas and his case on Bani Gala and frauds in the Party fund. Is he coming clean with these blames or he is running and hiding? Does he have character enough to accept his lies on 35 Puncture, Iftikhar Chaudhary, justice Rumdey, Justice Kiyani and recently on Javed Saddiq.
To me if a person does not carry enough character to accept his own words than he is not a trust worthy. I see the same characters in him which noory own. There is no difference between two. So my choice is the economical prosperity of the nation first and then everything else. And unfortunately does not have a clue how to achieve it. If he had any we had seen it in KPK.
Anyways you please have to accept it as I have right to live the way I want. And unfortunate news for you is that I am not alone who thinks this way. There is majority who support PMLN, and most of them cannot express themselves on the social media (who you call them as unpurh & Jahils awam) and once who can, you call them as Mootoo Gang menbers and Marium's paid patwari. But is this attitude giving you anything other than frustration????
Chalo at least you accept they are thieves and corrupt, I don't know how anyone with a clear consicence can side with know thieves anyways I've already said you are free to support anyone you feel like.

Once again your entire post is filled with already a million times over debunked rhetoric. Nawaz Sharif has been trying to dig up dirt on Ik for over 20 years now and all these issues have been addressed a million times by now by IK himself and many other representatives. Be it bani gala or misappropriation of funds i,e beating a dead horse.

My question to you is why does NS's govt just keep on leveling accusations, they are in govt, countries entire investigative machinery is under their command, they should investigate and prosecute IK for anywrong doing. Hukumat ka kaam illzaam lagana nai, iqdaam kerna hota hai. And if they are willingly not prosecuting IK then they are themselves self guilty of obstruction of justice. The two cases that have reached the ECP the govt team did not even attend the hearings and it was dismissed because of that, and the other one is on going and IK attends every hearing so how is he running away from this, he has given countless interviews and been grilled by all anchors on all these issues. How many times has NS or anyone from his family attended any hearing ?

To me if a person does not carry enough character to accept his own words than he is not a trust worthy

So this does not apply to your leader and his entire family and extended family ???? How many lies has NS & Co been caught telling just in this one matter of the London properties, they have piled a 8 mile high mountain of lies, Father, brother, Daughter, Sons, nephews, son in law all have been spewing lies for the last 8 months non stop, one after the other. That does not bother you one bit? But some alleged lies of IK bother you sooo much that from be a stauch supporter of his you turned coats and joined the N camp ??? See this where the hypocrisy of most most N supporters come in.

Also what economic prosperity you are talking about ? You mean burning away then entire budget of a province on a few vote grabbing and mega corruption prone projects, or the fudged figures of Ishaq Dollar who has already cost the Nation a huge chunk of money in penalties from the IMF for presenting such fudged figures. Or the flight of capital and business from Pakistan or three to four ( maybe even more ) fold increase in National Debt, dragging the country further down the hole of debt, or the undisclosed contracts to the Qataris, own business partners. If this is what you call economic growth then no thank you.

As for KPK, its there for everyone to see and to think that 60s yrs of looting, corruption and misgovernance can be reversed in just a few years is a fools dream. But we can all see the sweeping reforms made in many sectors such as police, healthcare and education, so much so even IK staunchest detractors have been forced to admit to the huge progress made. His emphasis is on human development not vote and headline grabbing mega projects and all this even when the N govt is out in full force to sabotage IK govts.

P.S : FFS mate whats up with the big *** red fonts, can't you just write like a normal person. Shouting will not add weight to your argument!

Govt is not party in any of the cases agaist IK. There involvement is only on the political level. And IK is not comming clean in these cases. Jusg remember the recent case in EC on foreign funding. I dont have to go in details. Only one thing i should admit that I should wait for the results as the cases are in proceeding. And I am waiting.
And Why dont you understand when i say that I see no differene between IK & NS when it comes to moral bankrupcy.
And if you think the development projects are not working. You can keep thinking. But let me give you just one example. In my city metro has brought such an ease to the life of common man. The 2.5 hour long one way khujal khwari is rediced to 40 minutes comfortable travel. And result is that PTI was just wiped out in local bodies election after this service was inagurated. And remember one seat belongs to IK and other to Sheikh Rasheed.
I am not shouting when i change the font and colour. It is just my style.