Man sues airlines for Rs5.6 million

simple_and_peacefull

http://tribune.com.pk/story/128328/man-sues-airlines-for-rs5-6-million/

By Rana Yasif
Published: March 6, 2011

plane-128328-640x480.jpg

Says he missed an intl conference because of airlines negligence

LAHORE: A consumer court on Saturday issued notices to PIAs managing director and its station manager at the Allama Iqbal International Airport Lahore for March 29.

The complainant has sued the national carrier for an amount of Rs5.6 million in damages, for allegedly providing poor service.
Attiqur Rehman told the court that he had suffered mental anguish as a direct result of the negligence of the airport authorities who misplaced his luggage including a bag containing important documents. Rehman was invited to the 41st Union World Conference on Lung Health in Berlin. On November 9, 2010 the complainant travelled via PIA from Lahore to Paris to attend the conference.
He said that when he reached Paris, he waited for his luggage but learnt finally that it had been misplaced by the airlines. It was really cold, he told the court, and he was running a fever by the time he reached his hotel after spending six hours at the airport.
Rehman told the court that he could not attend the conference after his research paper and other documents went missing. He told the court that he had to spend 500 euros on clothes and other essential articles while waiting in Paris for the airline to locate his luggage, 1,750 euros on food and hotel, 3,000 euros on medical treatment, 200 euros on local transport and 500 euros as registration fee for the conference. On the seventh day the airlines returned his lost baggage but it was already too late as the conference had ended.
He prayed the court to direct the respondents to pay Rs5.6 million in damages. The court has summoned the respondents for March 29.
Mashhood Tajwar, a spokesperson for PIA, said that he was unaware of the matter. He said that it would be premature to comment on the issue but added, Only if the same thing happened to all the passengers on the flight, will it be fair to say that it was PIAs fault. PIA public relations manager in Lahore, Mrs Haroon, said that the PIA would probe the matter and compensate the passenger, if it concluded that its staff had been at fault.
Published in The Express Tribune, March 6th, 2011

DOSE ANYBODY WIN THIS KIND OF THEIR CASE IN PAKISTAN.....IF HE WIN , WILL HE WILL GET THIS MONEY.....

ishwaq

I dint know if some one won this kind of case in past but i am pretty sure this person is in big trouble as he will spend all his life around the courts and may be his grandchildren get some compensation after he gone from this world.

QaiserMirza

باکمال لوگ لاجواب پرواز
پی ائی اے قومی ائر لائنز قوم کی خدمت کے لیے

these are common cases in pakistani civil courts which take decades to no one knows abt them
http://tribune.com.pk/story/128328/man-sues-airlines-for-rs5-6-million/

By Rana Yasif
Published: March 6, 2011

plane-128328-640x480.jpg

Says he missed an int’l conference because of airlines’ negligence

LAHORE: A consumer court on Saturday issued notices to PIA’s managing director and its station manager at the Allama Iqbal International Airport Lahore for March 29.

The complainant has sued the national carrier for an amount of Rs5.6 million in damages, for allegedly providing poor service.
Attiqur Rehman told the court that he had suffered mental anguish as a direct result of the negligence of the airport authorities who misplaced his luggage including a bag containing important documents. Rehman was invited to the 41st Union World Conference on Lung Health in Berlin. On November 9, 2010 the complainant travelled via PIA from Lahore to Paris to attend the conference.
He said that when he reached Paris, he waited for his luggage but learnt finally that it had been misplaced by the airlines. It was really cold, he told the court, and he was running a fever by the time he reached his hotel after spending six hours at the airport.
Rehman told the court that he could not attend the conference after his research paper and other documents went missing. He told the court that he had to spend 500 euros on clothes and other essential articles while waiting in Paris for the airline to locate his luggage, 1,750 euros on food and hotel, 3,000 euros on medical treatment, 200 euros on local transport and 500 euros as registration fee for the conference. On the seventh day the airlines returned his lost baggage but it was already too late as the conference had ended.
He prayed the court to direct the respondents to pay Rs5.6 million in damages. The court has summoned the respondents for March 29.
Mashhood Tajwar, a spokesperson for PIA, said that he was unaware of the matter. He said that it would be premature to comment on the issue but added, “Only if the same thing happened to all the passengers on the flight, will it be fair to say that it was PIA’s fault.” PIA public relations manager in Lahore, Mrs Haroon, said that the PIA would probe the matter and compensate the passenger, if it concluded that its staff had been at fault.
Published in The Express Tribune, March 6th, 2011

DOSE ANYBODY WIN THIS KIND OF THEIR CASE IN PAKISTAN.....IF HE WIN , WILL HE WILL GET THIS MONEY.....

khattaksahib

I have my case in labor court since last two years. I am given only next date. The judge favors the owner of the company for being influential but I will fight this case till end. Inshallah.

Pakistan_1st

It definatly is PIA staff, Guys i am going to share 2 incidents at Islamabad Airport with you. one of Friend went Pakistan in August Last Year from Birmingham. When He arrived Islambad Airport, When He Collected his Luggage he realised that One of his Bag was ripped from the corner, so he quickly had a look and he thought that all the stuff was there, but he was also unaware what was suppose to be in the bag as his wife packed it up. It contained Few Mobile Phones, A digital Camera and also some cash in envolops give by his Family & Friends for their love ones back home.
when he got home people came to meet him and when they asked about their stuff which the belived was handed to him by their relatives in U.K. he opened his bags and start looking for things by checking names on them, but he couldn`t find anything else apart from clothes.
So he said to people to come back another time so he could check properly,and also check with his family just incase he left anything in U.K. but his wife told him she packed everything and she is sure everything was put in the bag, thats when he got know that his been robbed by the Airport staff, So he had to pay from his own pocket to the people whoz stuff went missing becuase he thought apart from his own family whoz gonna belive him that his luggage went missing.. When he told me all this i said to him to back at the Airport & speak to airport management he laughed and said " BRO this is Pakistan not U.K.. nothing would happen if i go there "

And Guess what just about 3 weeks ago my Uncle went Pakistan & He became victim of samething but becuase i had warned him about what happend to my mate, he knew it straight awyay that some1 has been through his luggage, so he created scene at the airport, he opened his luggage and alot of things were missing so he started to scream and asked for airport manager, and he explained everything to him & said im not gonna leave airport untill he gets my stuff back, they all start saying things like " Buzurgo kaar jao, apna te sada waqt zaya na karo, tawada saman kithay rastay wich hi dig gaya hona handling de doran" " aasi chor nai aa, tusi kaar ja kar aaram, nai te jao bahir police station jaa k sade khilaaf parcha katao" lol these was the remarks airport staff gave...

My Uncle said one thing " Jis mulk ka sadar Zardari ho, waha banada insaaf ki kiya umeed rakhay, khao khao aur Haram khao, aur apni aulaad ko apny se bara ****** banao, zardari se bhi bara. " and he left the airport.

I dont know how many other been through same trouble, please share if you or any1 you know has been through all this...........