Londoner's Diary: Zacs new Khan problem is his bro-in-law Imran

صحرائی

With the mayoral election coming closer you can forgive the candidates for piling up the celebrity endorsements. Tory candidate Zac Goldsmith will therefore have been thrilled to have earned the approval of Imran Khan — cricketer, politician and his ex-brother-in-law — but he might not have thanked him yesterday when protesters showed up at his mother Lady Annabel Goldsmith’s house.

zacg.jpg

The placard-wavers representing the London chapter of Pakistan’s ruling PML-N party arrived at the gates of the Richmond mansion to allege that Khan had not been playing fair in Pakistani politics. Khan was in the house with his ex-wife Jemima.

Protesters claimed that the PTI party, of which Khan is chairman, raised funds via the Imran Khan Foundation for building houses for those in flood-hit regions of the country but funnelled the cash elsewhere. But that’s the least of Zac’s worries: the protest was the latest opportunity to hear whispers of discontent, connecting Goldsmith with extremism.

Labour rival Sadiq Khan has come under fire for sharing platforms with extremists in his earlier career as a human-rights barrister. Imran Khan struggles with similar claims back home, where he faces accusations of being a “Pakistani Taliban apologist”.

Imran has defended his position in the past, saying last year that “in any society, where there’s injustice, there’ll be turmoil... This is a deliberate attempt to make two camps, either you’re anti-Taliban or you’re pro-Taliban. It’s just such a nave way of looking at a very complicated issue which I understand more than others.”

Perhaps Sadiq should quote his fellow Khan when fighting off Zac’s attacks.
-----
When heading to the IMAX on the South Bank, who else to consult about which movie to choose than Sinn Fin leader Gerry Adams? This weekend he tweeted about a recent visit to the cinema, providing a mini-review of a new Disney adaptation. “Went 2 see new Jungle Book. Amazing film,” he wrote. “But it scared the life outta me.” Surely after the struggle in Ireland and meetings with the

Rev Ian Paisley, a maneating tiger pales in comparison?

Beard bewares Romans bearing gifts

Rug merchant Luke Irwin has found what seems to be a Roman villa under his garden in Wiltshire. Irwin is no ordinary rug merchant: he is married to Alice Elliot, niece of Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall.

But what about the find? Yesterday The Londoner saw Cambridge classics prof Mary Beard pshawing it. “I wouldn’t believe all you hear about this new Roman villa,” she wrote. “Oyster shells as indications of a plutocratic family? Err, no!”

Beard advises against premature celebrations, saying historians simply “hold our horses on excitement till we know more”. We asked if she might like a jaunt down to Wiltshire see it but she said best not join the fray. Though, she added, “I think his [Luke’s] rugs are really wonderful but a bit pricey for me.”

Fashion sense is just child's play

A flock of mini-mes showed up at Harrods yesterday for what we hope was a booze-free brunch, marking the launch of the store’s Mini Superbrands department. Guests included make-up artist Jemma Wellesley, ne Kidd, and her husband Arthur Wellesley, the Marquess of Douro, whose three children were on their best behaviour. The new part of the Knightsbridge style destination offers a place for children to fill their wardrobe with the latest pieces from Dior, Gucci and Fendi. They’ll look swish at the school gates but what happens when grass stains get on this season’s Dolce & Gabbana?

Ruth’s pillow isn’t the public’s affair

Actress Ruth Wilson lamented to The Londoner about her admiring fans’ propensity to ask for selfies at the most inopportune times, even when in the bedding department of John Lewis.
“It’s getting worse,” the star of The Affair, pictured, said. “People expect you to offer up photos either when you’re eating dinner with friends or you’re on the Tube or you’re in John Lewis buying a pillow — you don’t really want to be looking your worst, it’s a bit invasive.”

Is there ever a good time? “There was a group of girls in Tate Modern, they were all about 14 and they probably hadn’t seen The Affair but probably saw me in Luther or Jane Eyre and they all were like, ‘You’re on TV — give me a photo’. Then I started asking them about the Alexander Calder exhibition and why they were there and they were like, ‘Whaaat? — we want a photo’. I was quite intimidated,” she recalls.

But isn’t this sort of intrusion one of the perils of fame?

“When you’re on your own in tracksuit bottoms or choosing a towel in John Lewis ... I don’t want anyone to know what towel I’m choosing.

“I’m not really a selfie person. I mean, if I’m on my own somewhere and I’m in a beautiful location I will take a selfie to prove that I was there but they are always terrible photos.”

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/lond...n-problem-is-his-broinlaw-imran-a3227871.html

صحرائی

مانی مینٹل ایک بیگج بن گیا ہے ، پاکستان میں جس امیدوار کے لیے جلسہ کرتا ہے وہ ہار جاتا ہے ، اب زیک کے لیے بھی مسائل بنا گیا ہے

:lol:

mercedesbenz

کیا خبر لگائی یار اس نے؟؟مگر افسوس سے کہنا پڑتا ھے کہ گدھا اس جیسے جاھل سے کافی بہتر ھے جس پر ایک دفعہ اینٹیں لاد کر تعمیری جگہ پر پہنچاؤ تو دوسری دفع وہ خود بخود ھی وہاں دوبارہ پہنچ جاتا ھے۔۔۔

pablo

منحوس آدمی جس کی حمایت کرتا ہے.... وہ بھی ہار جاتا ہے
:)آفریدی کو بھی اس پر بہت غصہ ہے

chandaa

Standard a third class local evening newspaper :lol: Mian Manhoos Sharif kabb aa raha hai London se?

zaheer2003

Ab london Mayor ka election phatwarioon k lye buht important ho gya...
qn k baat imran khan sy related hy na...

Shaitaan ko bhi support krain gye Phatwaari Imran Khan k against...

Ohh sorry shaitaan Nooray ko support tu kr rhy hain....

Anonymous Paki

مانی مینٹل ایک بیگج بن گیا ہے ، پاکستان میں جس امیدوار کے لیے جلسہ کرتا ہے وہ ہار جاتا ہے ، اب زیک کے لیے بھی مسائل بنا گیا ہے

:lol:

Welcome back paid patwari