Indian IT companies act as US immigration Agents : Infosys Founder (ache din:)

Narayana Murthy: Indian IT companies act as immigration agents

51712841.jpg

HYDERABAD: US Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump now has an ally in India in the form of N R Narayana Murthy. Trump, who has been vehemently opposing outsourcing of US jobs to countries like India and China, among others, has found support from Infosys founder Murthy, who on Tuesday said that the Indian software industry has been acting as 'immigration agents' for its employees. He said it was imperative for the IT companies to create local jobs as it was their responsibility to do so.

"My belief was that a corporation that has global aspiration has to be fair to its global employees. All Indian companies guarantee visas, they guarantee green cards. The whole exercise has become as if they are immigration agents. I am sorry to say that. Indian companies behave as if they are agents for their employees to cross the Atlantic," Murthy said at the Indian School of Business (ISB), where he was conferred the ISB Honorary Distinguished Fellowship.

The debate on outsourcing has raised concerns among industry leaders and economists in India as a massive chunk of Indian exports comes from the export of IT services to the North American market.

"My concern is that Donald Trump, in last debate, said that H1B, whatever it is, I use it but I don't like it. I want to scrap all H1Bs. That's very worrying for export-led growth going forward," chief economic advisor Arvind Subramanian had recently said at the Advancing Asia Conference co-hosted by India and IMF.

Meanwhile, Murthy, who is known for his simple living, said the rich and the powerful in the country must exercise self-restraint in allocating power and richness to themselves.

"In India, capitalism is at a very nascent stage. Therefore you (the students) have to be evangelist. You have to lead simple lives. We need compassionate capitalism which is about treating every employee with respect and dignity," he added.

Last month, the Republican presidential front-runner Donald Trump has said that the H-1B visa programme he uses to employ highly-skilled foreign workers at his own businesses should end as it is "very unfair" for American workers and has been taking away their jobs.

IT professionals from India and major Indian IT companies are major beneficiary of H-1B, a non-immigrant visa in the US which allows US employers to temporarily employ foreign workers in speciality occupations.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...s-immigration-agents/articleshow/51711547.cms

what is this ?? ....h1-b visas have been hogged for a long time ...we need to bar the people who abuse this facility and not punish other countries in lieu of what some fraudsters are doing !

lurker

How much I wished if some Pakistani company started acting like Immigration agents for Pakistanis. Atleast Infosys is helping their own countrymen. :P

helping ?? ..How about screwing up a working visa for ALL other countries so much that the US is now considering banning it for everyone else too including the indians! . I dont think you want Pakistan to be responsible for taking food of the table for other countries do you including themselves ??

Please use your brains !

How much I wished if some Pakistani company started acting like Immigration agents for Pakistanis. Atleast Infosys is helping their own countrymen. :P

lurker

helping ?? ..How about screwing up a working visa for ALL other countries so much that the US is now considering banning it for everyone else too. I dont think you want Pakistan to be responsible for taking food of the table for other countries do you ??

Please use your brains !
I want Pakistan to do something for Pakistanis above all. I want Pakistan to take the food off the table of other countries and give it to its Pakistanis. Just like how India has been doing for its citizens for so long. Indians har jaga ghus chukay hain because their government knows how to make things happen. Ek hamari government hai bekaar tareen. Instead of making our entrance easy, they make it more and more hard. More power to Infosys for helping their own countrymen over the backs of the rest of the world I say.

dude do you understand english ?? ..THE US government is considering BANNING H1-B visas because of ABUSE by Indian companies !. What this means is that this was not legitimate job creation BUT these companies STOLE jobs for americans at the "low cost" interest for their Indian employees, resulting in only benefitting the rich owners and NO ONE ELSE.

That is the reason the US is banning this ABUSE. Which is why narayan the co-founder of INfosys is speaking out against this practice. Do you in your right mind advocate ABUSE ??..Well for your info, this ACT by these companies is EXACTLY the reason why you dont have jobs for Pakistanis because all these H1-b visas have been hogged BY FRAUD.

You have already blown your indian cover now go fool someone else !

I want Pakistan to do something for Pakistanis above all. I want Pakistan to take the food off the table of other countries and give it to its Pakistanis. Just like how India has been doing for its citizens for so long. Indians har jaga ghus chukay hain because their government knows how to make things happen. Ek hamari government hai bekaar tareen. Instead of making our entrance easy, they make it more and more hard. More power to Infosys for helping their own countrymen over the backs of the rest of the world I say.

i would advise you too go lick some manuwadis *** and ask them to accept you ...for you are so blindly in love even with their fraud [hilar]

I have a suggestion for you :

1. come to the Indian border from Pakistan and ask for the media to cover this act.
2. Polish the boot of the border guards and then BEG For acceptance

I assure you, your call will be heard [hilar][hilar] , you have ALL the prerequistes !

lurker

What are you talking about. I have witnessed Indian families completely migrating to the US based on H1B visas. Is there abuse? Sure there is. Not just in H1B Visas. Pakistanis do paper marriages. Indians do the same. Many abuse Amnesty schemes. Many file for Asylums. I've seen it all. I've been in all. So I speak from First hand experience. There is abuse of all avenues of Immigration. The point is People want to live better lives. Pakistanis want a better life than what they have in Pakistan. The Indian companies like Infosys have been providing their Indians a better life - fraud or no fraud - that is irrelevant to the millions who are there now. Meanwhile our Pakistani companies aren't good enough to even warrant doing fraud I guess. All the fraud our pakistani companies can do is fake greencard petitions via gas stations, workshops, 7/11s. This is the Pakistani level of fraud.

Then our useless Pakistani embassy in Washington DC. You try going to them for help, they won't even lift a finger.

dude do you understand english ?? ..THE US government is considering BANNING H1-B visas because of ABUSE by Indian companies !. What this means is that this was not legitimate job creation BUT these companies STOLE jobs for americans at the "low cost" interest for their Indian employees, resulting in only benefitting the rich owners and NO ONE ELSE.

That is the reason the US is banning this ABUSE. Which is why narayan the co-founder of INfosys is speaking out against this practice. Do you in your right mind advocate ABUSE ??..Well for your info, this ACT by these companies is EXACTLY the reason why you dont have jobs for Pakistanis because all these H1-b visas have been hogged BY FRAUD.

You have already blown your indian cover now go fool someone else !

jatta

chela of laal topi modern.fakir returns ...............[hilar][hilar][hilar]

lagta hai iski tashrif bhi laal ho gayi kisi middle east nation me 1000 chabuk kha kar .:lol:

Yes, many Indian familie will migrate BECAUSE they HOGGED the entire process right ??....If they hadnt done that then MAYBE some Pakistani families may have had the opportunity to do the same. But thats not the POINT>

Tell me why isnt US mentioning Pakistan or even china or even russia for h1-b banning ??..Dont all other countries have to put food on the table ??

Why arent all other countries party to this FRAUD ??

You know why ?? - because good people dont advocate fraud only FRAUDSTERS like you and these guys who ruin lives of people by profiting on penny paid indian labour and profiteer off of them.

Yes a few families with connections do get green cards BUT otherwise most of the cheap labour is sent back .

I talk from experience too...go fool someone else !

What are you talking about. I have witnessed Indian families completely migrating to the US based on H1B visas. Is there abuse? Sure there is. Not just in H1B Visas. Pakistanis do paper marriages. Indians do the same. Many abuse Amnesty schemes. Many file for Asylums. I've seen it all. I've been in all. So I speak from First hand experience. There is abuse of all avenues of Immigration. The point is People want to live better lives. Pakistanis want a better life than what they have in Pakistan. The Indian companies like Infosys have been providing their Indians a better life - fraud or no fraud - that is irrelevant to the millions who are there now. Meanwhile our Pakistani companies aren't good enough to even warrant doing fraud I guess. All the fraud our pakistani companies can do is fake greencard petitions via gas stations, workshops, 7/11s. This is the Pakistani level of fraud.

Then our useless Pakistani embassy in Washington DC. You try going to them for help, they won't even lift a finger.

Here you go mate .. families also end up in jail for fraud :lol:
Indian American Brothers Convicted in H1B Visa Fraud Case

World | Press Trust of India | Updated: November 14, 2015 15:12 IST

WASHINGTON: Two Indian-American brothers have been convicted on charges of H-1B visa fraud and will face a maximum of 20 years of imprisonment and a fine of USD 250,000, the Department of Justice has said.

Atul Nanda, 46, and his brother, Jiten "Jay" Nanda, 44, were each convicted on one count of conspiracy to commit visa fraud, one count of conspiracy to harbor illegal aliens, and four counts of wire fraud.

The two brothers faces a maximum of 20 years of imprisonment and USD 250,000 in fine. A sentencing date has not been set. Atul Nanda and Jiten Nanda are owners of Dibon Solutions, an information technology consulting company located in Texas.

During the six-day trial, federal prosecutors presented evidence at trial that as part of their scheme, the Nanda brothers recruited foreign workers with expertise who wanted to work in the US.

They sponsored the workers' H-1B visa with the stated purpose of working at Dibon headquarters in Carrolton, Texas but, in fact, did not have an actual position at the time they were recruited and knew the workers would ultimately provide consulting services to third-party companies located throughout the US.

Contrary to representations made to the workers (and the government), Jay and Atul Nanda directed that the workers only be paid for time spent working at a third-party company and only if the third-party company actually first paid Dibon for the workers' services.

Additionally, in Dibon's visa paperwork, the Nanda brothers falsely represented that the workers had full-time positions and were paid an annual salary, as required by regulation to secure the visas, federal prosecutors alleged.

Federal prosecutors alleged that the scheme was profitable because it required minimal overhead and Dibon could charge significant hourly rates for a computer consultant's services.

"Thus, the Nandas, as Dibon's owners, earned a substantial profit margin when a consultant was assigned to a project and incurred few costs when a worker was without billable work. This scheme is known as "benching". Dibon actively recruited H-1B workers for the "bench," they said.

http://www.ndtv.com/world-news/indian-american-brothers-convicted-in-h1b-visa-fraud-case-1243337

jatta

what is this ?? ....h1-b visas have been hogged for a long time ...we need to bar the people who abuse this facility and not punish other countries in lieu of what some fraudsters are doing !

modern fakir your cover is blown away ,you have been expelled from greece

Illegal immigrants: 208 Pakistanis deported every day since 2009

By Zahid Gishkori
Published: January 8, 2014

130SHARES
SHARE TWEET EMAIL

656301-immigrantsAFP-1389159419-110-640x480.jpg
Thousands of immigrants to Greece, mainly from Pakistan gather at Athens central Syntagma square on August 24, 2012, during their protest rally against the recent violent attacks on immigrants by ultra nationalist groups and the police operations in order to arrest undocumented immigrants. PHOTO: AFP

ISLAMABAD: Labourer Ghulam Farid’s dreams of greener pastures seemed to momentarily come true when he landed in the United Arab Emirates to earn a better living. But the rude awakening came when he was expelled from the country for illegal entry.

“I did not have a single penny to feed my four kids after being deported from the UAE,” the 34-year-old told The Express Tribune. “My agent cheated me and now I have nowhere to go.”
Farid is just one of over 380,000 Pakistanis who have been deported from 54 countries since 2009. According to the official figures obtained by The Express Tribune, the average deportation of Pakistanis during the five-year period amounts to 208 per day.
“No one helped us. We packed up and were sent home in a special plane arranged by the UAE government, which dropped us at Karachi’s Jinnah International Airport,” Farid said, recalling the days when the Gulf states started a crackdown against illegal immigrants last year.
19_zpsc00ed69f.jpg

“Before leaving Pakistan, I had handed over all my savings to an agent, Farid of Ward Sheikha Wala, Layyah, for documentation. But it was all a fraud — we were ultimately sent back to Pakistan as our documents were found to be forged,” he said.
While these figures are startling, Pakistan itself has handed over an estimated 25,712 illegal immigrants to some two dozen countries during the last five years.
Over 259,000 (67% of the total figure) Pakistanis were deported from four brotherly countries, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Iran and Oman. Saudi Arabia deported more than 122,000 Pakistanis during the last five years. Around 60,000 in 2013; 17,000 in 2012; 15,667 in 2011; 15,231 in 2010; and 14,878 Pakistanis were deported in 2009.
Over 63,000 Pakistanis were deported from the UAE between 2009 and 2013.
The Iranian immigration staff has sent back around 43,000 Pakistanis in the last five years. Tehran handed over some 9,000 illegal immigrants to Pakistan’s border authorities at the Taftan border in Balochistan in 2013.
Similarly, the United States sent some 600 Pakistanis home in the last five years, with 90 deported in 2013. The United Kingdom has deported some 9,000 Pakistanis since 2008 on the grounds that they were living there without proper documentation. Around 2,100 Pakistanis were expelled in 2013.
Over 31,000 Pakistanis were deported from Oman in the last five years, with 6,123 in 2013 alone. Over these five years, as many as 14,280 Pakistanis were deported from Greece, with 2,564 illegal immigrants sent home just last year.
More than 6,500 Pakistanis were deported from Turkey in the last five years, with 1,345 illegal immigrants sent back in 2013. Almost 6,500 Pakistanis were deported from Serbia.
South Africa sent home around 2,000 Pakistanis in the last five years while some 27 Pakistanis were deported from Afghanistan. While 12 were deported from China, Canada saw 79 deportations with France expelling 575 Pakistanis in the last five years.
A senior official associated with an Anti-Human Trafficking Circle under the Federal Investigation Agency told The Express Tribune that there are two reasons behind this mass deportation. In the first instance, deportees deliberately misplaced their documents to prolong their illegal stay. Some migrants managed to gain entry of other countries on the basis of forged documents usually prepared by their agents or human traffickers, he added.
Published in The Express Tribune, January 8[SUP]th[/SUP], 2014.

You need to worry about your STUDENT VISA FRAUD and hundreds of thousands of deportations first idiot [hilar][hilar][hilar]

[h=1]Indians held in US college-visa sting, hundreds face deportation[/h]

• Yashwant Raj, Hindustan Times, Washington |
  • Updated: Apr 06, 2016 07:35 IST

h-1b-visas_101b09f0-baa7-11e5-a7d6-da9f15ff8fbb.jpg

Authorities are cancelling non-immigrant student visas of foreign nationals who benefitted from the racket, and, if applicable, arrest them and start deportation proceedings against them. (Representative image)

US authorities announced on Tuesday the arrest of 10 people from India and 11 from China for alleged visa fraud involving college admission and likely deportation of hundreds of Indian students.
The accused used a phony university in New Jersey to grant certification needed for legitimate student and work visas but were not aware it was run by federal agents investigating them.
Authorities said defendants helped over 1,000 foreign students stay in the US legally with papers provided to them from this phony institution, University of Northern New Jersey (UNNJ).
The accused are charged with visa fraud and making false statements, each carries a sentence of five years, and H-1B visa fraud and harboring aliens, each carrying 10 years.
Authorities are cancelling non-immigrant student visas of foreign nationals who benefitted from the racket, and, if applicable, arrest them and start deportation proceedings against them.
Read | American dream turns nightmare for Telugu students
The Indian Embassy in Washington is in touch with the US government about Indians among these students — around 370 and 380 according to official sources — seeking fair treatment for them.
The embassy has requested the US government to not arrest or deport them. And given them a chance, instead, to keep their student visa by transferring to another university.
“This has been done before in the case of Tri-Valley (a fake California university busted by authorities in 2011 for running a pay-to-stay student visa racket),” said an official in Delhi.
The embassy is also awaiting consular access to those among the arrested who hold Indian passports — going by their names, 10 of them seemed to be Indian or of Indian descent.
Read | Deportation row: Why is US turning back Indian students?
Students from India have been found enrolled in vast numbers in almost every fake university busted in recent years — Tri-Valley in 2011 and University of Northern Virginia in 2013.
Late 2015, US authorities deported hundreds of Indian students headed for two California universities from the airport itself, San Francisco, and in some cases from their stop-overs.
Most of these universities operate as fronts from pay-to-stay operations, selling I-20s —“Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status - for Academic and Language Students — needed to get a student F-1 visa.
This time agents of Homeland Security Investigations (a wing of the Department of Homeland Security, which oversees immigration) started one as part of a sting operation.
Set up in 2013, UNNJ had no instructors or educators, no curriculum, and conducted no classes or education activities, said a statement from the office of US attorney for New Jersey.
Read | Indian tourists, businessmen also deported from US
The university, which “operated solely as a storefront location with small offices staffed by federal agents posing as school administrators”, could issue I-20s, however.
That brought them the defendants, recruiting companies, brokers and business entities located from all over the country — New Jersey, California, Illinois, New York, and Virginia.
Everyone involved — recruiting agents and their clients, mostly from India and China — knew UNNJ was a phony university, as perhaps like the others they had heard of.
Only, this one was being run by undercover federal agents.
Read | Deportations fail to curb US dream of Hyderabad students
Defendants are charged with producing false documents to facilitate their clients’ enrolment at UNNJ and also arrange for H-1B visas meant for highly skilled foreign workers.
Beneficiaries were mostly those already in the US on valid visas. Enrolment and work permit through UNNJ allowed them to continue staying, legally but through illegal means.

By Zahid Gishkori

130SHARES
SHARE TWEET EMAIL

Thousands of immigrants to Greece, mainly from Pakistan gather at Athens central Syntagma square on August 24, 2012, during their protest rally against the recent violent attacks on immigrants by ultra nationalist groups and the police operations in order to arrest undocumented immigrants. PHOTO: AFP

ISLAMABAD: Labourer Ghulam Farid’s dreams of greener pastures seemed to momentarily come true when he landed in the United Arab Emirates to earn a better living. But the rude awakening came when he was expelled from the country for illegal entry.

“I did not have a single penny to feed my four kids after being deported from the UAE,” the 34-year-old told The Express Tribune. “My agent cheated me and now I have nowhere to go.”
Farid is just one of over 380,000 Pakistanis who have been deported from 54 countries since 2009. According to the official figures obtained by The Express Tribune, the average deportation of Pakistanis during the five-year period amounts to 208 per day.
“No one helped us. We packed up and were sent home in a special plane arranged by the UAE government, which dropped us at Karachi’s Jinnah International Airport,” Farid said, recalling the days when the Gulf states started a crackdown against illegal immigrants last year.
19_zpsc00ed69f.jpg

“Before leaving Pakistan, I had handed over all my savings to an agent, Farid of Ward Sheikha Wala, Layyah, for documentation. But it was all a fraud — we were ultimately sent back to Pakistan as our documents were found to be forged,” he said.
While these figures are startling, Pakistan itself has handed over an estimated 25,712 illegal immigrants to some two dozen countries during the last five years.
Over 259,000 (67% of the total figure) Pakistanis were deported from four brotherly countries, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Iran and Oman. Saudi Arabia deported more than 122,000 Pakistanis during the last five years. Around 60,000 in 2013; 17,000 in 2012; 15,667 in 2011; 15,231 in 2010; and 14,878 Pakistanis were deported in 2009.
The Iranian immigration staff has sent back around 43,000 Pakistanis in the last five years. Tehran handed over some 9,000 illegal immigrants to Pakistan’s border authorities at the Taftan border in Balochistan in 2013.
Similarly, the United States sent some 600 Pakistanis home in the last five years, with 90 deported in 2013. The United Kingdom has deported some 9,000 Pakistanis since 2008 on the grounds that they were living there without proper documentation. Around 2,100 Pakistanis were expelled in 2013.
Over 31,000 Pakistanis were deported from Oman in the last five years, with 6,123 in 2013 alone. Over these five years, as many as 14,280 Pakistanis were deported from Greece, with 2,564 illegal immigrants sent home just last year.
More than 6,500 Pakistanis were deported from Turkey in the last five years, with 1,345 illegal immigrants sent back in 2013. Almost 6,500 Pakistanis were deported from Serbia.
South Africa sent home around 2,000 Pakistanis in the last five years while some 27 Pakistanis were deported from Afghanistan. While 12 were deported from China, Canada saw 79 deportations with France expelling 575 Pakistanis in the last five years.
A senior official associated with an Anti-Human Trafficking Circle under the Federal Investigation Agency told The Express Tribune that there are two reasons behind this mass deportation. In the first instance, deportees deliberately misplaced their documents to prolong their illegal stay. Some migrants managed to gain entry of other countries on the basis of forged documents usually prepared by their agents or human traffickers, he added.

jatta

helping ?? ..How about screwing up a working visa for ALL other countries so much that the US is now considering banning it for everyone else too including the indians! . I dont think you want Pakistan to be responsible for taking food of the table for other countries do you including themselves ??

Please use your brains !

beta modern fakir tashrif laal karwa kar wapas a gaya ? ha ha ha.............:lol::lol::lol:

donald trump kya bolta hai .

WASHINGTON: Republican presidential front-runner Donald Trump has said that Indian students can stay in the United States as they are 'smart people' and the US needs them, reported Hindustan Times on Tuesday.
“We educate a lot of people, very smart people. We need those people in the country,” Trump told Fox News in an interview.
Also Read: New US visa rules for international students
Trump, who has openly called for a temporary ban on Muslim immigration in US, was of the view that Indian students come and get themselves enrolled in institutions like Harvard, study and then go back to India where they set-up companies and 'employ lots of people'.
Regarding Indians who have US H1B visas, he said that many of them want to stay in US.
The US H1B visa is a non-immigrant visa that allows US companies to employ foreign workers in specialty occupations that require theoretical or technical expertise in specialised fields such as architecture, engineering, mathematics, science, and medicine.
Trump, during his campaign for White House, has repeatedly criticised the H1-B visa programmaintaining that it has taken away jobs from American workers.
Also Read: Scale of Donald Trump’s discrimination debases currency of democracy

Here your being kicked out of Europe as well [hilar][hilar][hilar]

[h=1]Indians among those to be deported from UK if not earning 35,000 a yr[/h]

• Prasun Sonwalkar, Hindustan Times, London |
  • Updated: Mar 12, 2016 20:43 IST

britain-india-diplomacy_81f171a2-e862-11e5-872f-c4e2863eb78d.jpg

Nearly 40,000 Indian and other non-EU professionals face deportation from the UK along with their families unless they earn a minimum of 35,000 a year. (AFP File Photo)

Nearly 40,000 Indian and other non-EU professionals face deportation from the UK along with their families unless they earn a minimum of 35,000 a year in their jobs, when a new rule intended to reduce the number of foreign workers and encourage local employment comes into effect on April 6.
The rule, announced in 2012, affects those who came to Britain in 2011 and later. Previously, Indian and other non-EU professionals could stay permanently after five years of continuous employment; there was no salary threshold.
The rule severs the link between five years of work and permanent residency.
The rule would have affected over 1,200 Indian nurses working in the National Health Service, whose annual salaries do not rise to 35,000 over five years, but they were given a reprieve in October when faced with a health crisis nursing was moved to the “shortage occupation list”.
Mumbai-origin Shwetal Shah, 21, who came to Scotland as a student in 2013, volunteered and worked in the charity sector, organised a TEDx event, and now works as a consultant for a London-based IT company, is one of many Indians affected by the new rule.
“None of my classmates got a job here. I was lucky enough to get the visa but my luck stops here because my company, like many SMEs who sponsor international talent, are too small to pay 35,000,” she told Hindustan Times.
“Getting rid of us is not the solution to migrant problems, we bring in new jobs and keep the money flowing, the strong cultural exchange between us and the locals keeps the place thriving.”
Shah said her experience was putting off her sister and some of her friends from coming to Britain to study.
Campaign group Stop 35K has asked the home office to delay implementing the rule until research calculates industry-specific pay thresholds. It said many Indians were among the non-EU professionals affected, but precise figures were unavailable.
A petition to scrap the threshold got over 100,000 signatures, leading to a parliamentary debate last week. The David Cameron government admitted the rule would make a “modest” contribution to reducing migration, but refused to scrap it. The petition estimates that 40,000 people will be affected by the rule.
“We do not believe there should be an automatic link between coming to work in the UK temporarily and staying permanently. The 35,000 threshold was set following advice from the migration advisory committee, an independent advisory body consisting of expert labour market economists,” a home office spokesman said.
“Those individuals were aware when they entered that new settlement rules would apply to them. Employers have had since 2011 to prepare for the possibility that their non-European Economic Area workers may not meet the required salary threshold to remain permanently.”
“These reforms will ensure that businesses are able to attract the skilled migrants they need, but we also want them to get far better at recruiting and training UK workers first.”

By Zahid Gishkori

130SHARES
SHARE TWEET EMAIL

19_zpsc00ed69f.jpg

BUT remember how australians slapped and kicked you out ?? ...remember ?? [hilar][hilar][hilar][hilar][hilar]

[h=1]Why are Indian students being attacked in Australia?[/h]Soutik Biswas | 10:13 UK time, Tuesday, 12 January 2010

4e052e215b6696eff167fd0e82769adc6ea2989b.jpg
What is happening to Indian students in Australia? Why have they been mugged, knifed, set alight, and murdered, mostly, in Melbourne, Australia's proud multi-racial melting pot city where, according to my colleague Nick Bryant, people from 140 nations live side-by-side?
Nearly a year after the attacks began, nobody is quite sure. Already, in the new year, two Indians have been attacked - one murdered; and the otherallegedly set on fire in Melbourne. What we know for sure is that the number of Indian students wanting to study in Australia has slumped by almost 50%, diplomatic relations between the two countries have soured and grim travel advisories have been issued by the Indian government to students in Australia.
People here say they still don't know why Indians are being targeted. Have the attacks followed a pattern? Do the victims have some kind of a common profile or background? How do the number of attacks on Indians compare with attacks on other expatriate groups? Are the attacks concentrated in a specific area? How many of these attacks could have had a racist motive?
Australian police have said the attacks appear to be random with no evidence they were racially motivated.
In the absence of any clarity - I have not read a single major investigation into these attacks in the Australian media, or the outcome of any official probe - the shrill sections of the Indian media, especially TV news networks, have gone ballistic.
Every other night, we have news presenters telling us over on-screen captions like 'Indian Burnt In Australia' that Australia is a racist country, and that Melbourne is the most racist city of all. An Indian newspaper cartoon even portrayed the Australian police as the Ku Klux Klan.
Nobody contests the fact that Indians have the right to feel worried, very worried, about the spate of attacks. More than 70,000 Indians are studying in Australia; nearly a fifth of the international enrolments are from the subcontinent. There have been reports that a number of the victims have enrolled in vocational courses, and live in poorer neighbourhoods to save money.
Australia has reason to worry about the attacks too. Education is the country's biggest export - after coal and iron ore - and international students contribute $13bn to the Australian economy every year. Australia, by one estimate, could easily lose $70m because of the attacks.
It's a no-brainer that Australian authorities need to investigate each of these attacks thoroughly to come to a considered and precise explanation as to why they happened and quell the growing mistrust between the two countries.
If Australians believe that sections of the Indian media are hyperventilating over the attacks and behaving irresponsibly, Indians believe that there is not enough information coming out from the Australian authorities over the attacks. They - and Indian student groups in Australia - feel the Australian media isn't doing enough to highlight the issue.
3dfb669c18e19d44591478b178aa1350db212226.jpg

Many Indians I have spoken to find the discourse in the Australian media on the spate of attacks superficial. Tim Colebatch, an editor at Melbourne Age, writes that such incidents happen "because human beings are imperfect creatures. They can be selfish, they can be hateful, they can enjoying hurting, even killing, other humans. It happens here, it happens in India, it happens everywhere."
Mr Colebatch then tries to offer some clues to why Indians may have been attacked. One of the victims, Nitin Garg, was taking a short cut through a park when he was murdered, while Australians "instinctively know that their parks are not safe at night, and avoid using them as short cuts". And so, he writes, Mr Garg has "become another victim of our epidemic of alcohol abuse, our tolerance of extreme violence in films and screen games - and yes, of the Romper Stomper racism that seems to live on among teenagers in the western suburbs, now directed against Indians instead of Vietnamese."
Alcohol abuse and exposure to violent films can hardly be a problem with Australian youth alone. And fringe racism exists in many countries in the world. Mr Colebatch's interesting observations notwithstanding, Indians feel that they are in the dark about the spate of attacks.

beta modern fakir tashrif laal karwa kar wapas a gaya ? ha ha ha.............:lol::lol::lol:

WASHINGTON: Republican presidential front-runner Donald Trump has said that Indian students can stay in the United States as they are 'smart people' and the US needs them, reported Hindustan Times on Tuesday.
“We educate a lot of people, very smart people. We need those people in the country,” Trump told Fox News in an interview.
Trump, who has openly called for a temporary ban on Muslim immigration in US, was of the view that Indian students come and get themselves enrolled in institutions like Harvard, study and then go back to India where they set-up companies and 'employ lots of people'.
Regarding Indians who have US H1B visas, he said that many of them want to stay in US.
The US H1B visa is a non-immigrant visa that allows US companies to employ foreign workers in specialty occupations that require theoretical or technical expertise in specialised fields such as architecture, engineering, mathematics, science, and medicine.
Trump, during his campaign for White House, has repeatedly criticised the H1-B visa programmaintaining that it has taken away jobs from American workers.

Fraudsters cant be students ...everyone knows that you go to US to work ODD jobs which is why you then get kicked out [hilar][hilar][hilar]

6,500 Indian students deported from Australia due to Visa irregularities

Ishani Duttagupta, ET BureauOct 30, 2011, 12.40am IST
pixel.gif

pixel.gif

Tags:

• [*=center]

A recent report in Australian media about the cancellation of a whopping 15,066 visas of foreign students has caused a flutter in India. The largest number of students — around 6,500 — who now face deportation, are Indian.
While the media report, which appeared in Australia's The Daily Telegraph, is based partly on annual figures for 2010-11 published by the Australian government's Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC), educational consultants and experts in India are not pressing the panic button yet.

pixel.gif

Most of them feel that genuine Indian students who comply with the requirements of their visa have no reason to be concerned about deportation. The crackdown by the Australian government, which resulted in a 37% increase in student visa cancellations over the previous year, are part of series of steps being taken to benefit international students and weed out low-quality education service providers.
Many Cases of Visa Expiry
"The visa cancellations have primarily hit Indian students in vocational education training [VET] in Australia who have violated their student visa terms. In some cases, the visas had expired rather than being cancelled. Many Indians joined courses only as a means of getting permanent residence in Australia and were not genuine students," says Harmeet Pental, regional director (South Asia), IDP Education, the largest organisation representing Australian universities.
It appears that around 8,000 of the cancelled student visas were cases of visa expiry when the time period ran out.
"Students need to ensure they don't get into such a situation. Among the visas which were genuinely cancelled by DIAC, over 2,200 occurred because the students withdrew from their courses," Pental adds.
Even as the DIAC is trying to spruce up the student-immigration process, reforms are also targeted at making things smooth for genuine students. A recent review by former New South Wales minister Michael Knight focuses on a easier visa policy for foreign students.
The Australian government has accepted all the recommendations of the Knight panel that will kick in from the first half of 2012. These include the end of mandatory cancellation of student visas for unsatisfactory attendance, unsatisfactory progress and working in excess of hours allowed. This will allow DIAC to decide cases on individual merit.

Indians Hard Hit
photo.cms

While the cancellation of student visas for the last financial year seems to have hit Indians the hardest, this is also seen as a fall-out of a sudden hike in numbers of people who went to Australia from India in the two previous years.
"A large number of non-students entered Australia on student visas, largely through VET courses, looking for residence options. Now with the Australian government stepping up vigilance, many have been caught on the wrong foot.
This will lead to a cleansing of the system. In fact, those going to the degree and university courses will now have post-study work options ranging from two to four years.
The Australian government is also likely to review the visa norms for the vocational educational sector sometime next year and provide some benefits," says Ravi Lochan Singh, MD of educational consultancy Global Reach and president of Association of Australian Education Representatives in India.

While a lot of the visa offences have been in the vocational training sector, not everyone believes that VET is not a good option for Indian students. "VET courses in Australia are the best in the world. The training and further education institutions of Australia, in fact, offer degree courses," says Dipen Rughani, president of Australia India Business Council's New South Wales chapter.
The Federation of Indian Students of Australia has, meanwhile, raised questions on the larger implications of the visa cancellations of Indian students. "Most of these students are innocent victims of an unfair system. In 2009-10, following immigration reforms by the Australian government, more than 200 colleges collapsed.
Many Indian students were victims of these fraud institutions. The government of India should intervene to help them to remain in this country and get a return on their huge investments," says Gautam Gupta, founder of FISA.

nirbhaya r@pists cant be students ....they can only be deported fraudsters ....smart in what r@ping ??[hilar][hilar][hilar] or pulling out intestines ??

beta modern fakir tashrif laal karwa kar wapas a gaya ? ha ha ha............

jatta

i would advise you too go lick some manuwadis *** and ask them to accept you ...for you are so blindly in love even with their fraud [hilar]

go lick some syrian con artist shoes and procure syrian passport and get asylum in germany .(bigsmile)

[h=1]As EU begins deportations, Pakistanis and other migrants call for help[/h]
Written by VOANews on April 5, 2016 in Europe - Comments Off on As EU begins deportations, Pakistanis and other migrants call for help

Pakistani-travelers-protest-deportations-photo-Heather-Murdock-VOA-604x272.jpg
[h=3]Share this:[/h]

Around 10 a.m. Monday, Agma — a Pakistani electrician in a tiny tent city on a rocky Greek beach — got a call from two of his friends. They had been swept up in the systematic deportation of hundreds of people, mostly Pakistanis, from Lesbos Island.
The deportees came from Moria, a locked-down camp housing thousands of people. Surrounded by fences and barbed wire, they were not allowed to leave.
With one European Union soldier for every deportee, the travelers quietly boarded ships at daybreak. Some later arrived where many had started their harrowing journey to Europe: Izmir, Turkey.
Farak and Amjad, Agma’s friends on the phone, said that after they docked, they registered with the Turkish police. They expected to be detained again, and have not been heard from since Monday afternoon.
“We are afraid they will arrest us, too,” Agma told VOA at the No Borders Kitchen, Lesbos’ last “free” camp where anyone can stay, and no one is locked in.
According to residents, police say the shantytown on the beach needs to be evacuated by Wednesday.
When asked where they plan to go, residents insist they will not willingly go to a camp they call a prison. “I don’t know,” said Mohammad, who is from Morocco. “I guess we will go to the hills.”
‘Road of Death’
With the camp’s closing looming and nowhere to go but the forest or a detention center, Agma and others in the camp say they have moved beyond fear and into panic.
“Every day we are scared,” said Amir, a 25-year-old Algerian. “The police are coming. The army is coming to scare us.”
Beyond fear is utter despair.
The road to Europe from Turkey is sometimes called “The Road of Death” because so many people die. Those who survive but are caught can be sent back, and become trapped in Turkey — penniless and despised by a public tired of bearing the brunt of the refugee crisis.
“You see that dog?” asked Younis, a young Moroccan man, pointing to one of Lesbos’ many street dogs. “That dog has more rights than me.”
A few young men gather around, some angry, wondering what crime refugees and migrants committed to deserve to be locked up or shipped away without even having the chance to apply for asylum.
One young man wonders if part of the plan is to throw people into the sea. Another speculates that the deportations are intended to support Islamic State militants.
“The people deported now have no money, so maybe they will go to Syria to fight with Islamic State,” he said bitterly, miming a machine gun in his hands. “Boom, boom, boom!”
About an hour later, what was a small group of young Pakistani men holding signs saying “We want asylum” and “We’d rather die here than get deported to Turkey,” broke out in chants.
“We are human!” they shouted, before one man collapsed in the sun. Aid workers pulled him aside while the group continued to chant. Pakistanis here say they cannot go to the hospital, lest they be arrested.
Legal rights
Many travelers do not want to apply for asylum in Greece, a country that was facing financial woes even before the refugee influx. But at this small protest, Pakistanis say they want to stay in Greece but aren’t being given the chance to apply for asylum.
And despite a common misconception, international law gives them the right to apply for asylum.
The law does not define a refugee exclusively as a person running from a war. However, it is more likely that a person running from war is entitled to legal refugee status because “owing to a well-founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion” they left their country and don’t want to return.
Agma, the electrician, says he left Pakistan because he was being targeted by extremist groups as a religious-freedom activist. Others among the protesters say they were businessmen, blackmailed by gangsters who threatened to kill them and their families. And other young men freely admit to leaving home because they were poor, and they heard there might be a future in Europe.
Greece says everyone is welcome to submit their applications. But Pakistanis, who make up the vast majority of the recent deportees, say they are not given the chance to exercise that right.
“If I go to the office to apply there, they will arrest me there and maybe the next day they will deport me,” said Farham, a Pakistani.
Additionally, written information about asylum is distributed to newcomers in Arabic and Greek, not Urdu or English, their native and second languages.
“All the people in the European Union are not against refugees,” Agma said. “Please help us.”
Source: VOANews.com