Import of cheap Indian stents exposed in govt, private hospitals

abhay

Import of cheap Indian stents exposed in govt, private hospitals

Last Updated On 01 February,2017 11:32 am

Lead19.jpg

Doctors import cheap stents from India and sale them on higher rates.

LAHORE (Dunya News) The new revelations in stents scandal have even boggled the minds of investigators who have found out that some government and private doctors import cheap stents from India and sale them on higher rates.

As per details, Indian stents are the cheapest stents in the world, and some doctors sale them by packing the stents with fake barcode and international labels after importing them from India.

The Indian stent that costs 25 to 28 thousand rupees was being sold for three to three and half lac rupees by the doctors in this filthy act. Moreover, the Indian stent worth thirteen thousand rupees was also available in different hospitals of Pakistan with fake name.

According to sources, the investigation teams have demanded the record of barcodes of stents from the hospitals, as every stent has a unique barcode which doctors are bound to keep in their records. The details of stent and its company can be traced through the barcode.

Two types of stents are being imported from India at the moment. In one type, blood does not clot, and in other type, it clots. The stents in which there are chance of blood clotting are used more frequently due to cheaper rate.

Moreover, some doctors put stents in patients even if there is no need of that just to fulfil their greed for money.

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/373126-Import-of-cheap-Indian-stents-exposed-in-govt-pri

abhay

I have a question to my pakistani friends, Why don't you legally import them from India?

It will be a great help to poor people who are being exhorted by these evil in the disguise of doctors.

regards

cheetah

I am sure if you dig out the root there must be some big company whose interests are offended by some cheap stents and now they are organizing this campaign in the name of the patients.

lonewolf

we don't have verified information,but this is serious as it is about life and death of patients.serious diseases walay patients ko to bakhsh do mafia walo
I am sure if you dig out the root there must be some big company whose interests are offended by some cheap stents and now they are organizing this campaign in the name of the patients.

abhay

Pakistani government should import them from India and put a price control on it so that poor can get benefit from it.

Indian govt has put a price control on it to make it available for poor paitents.

cheetah

Life and death matters only for those who go to Europe or America for treatment hope you got the message
we don't have verified information,but this is serious as it is about life and death of patients.serious diseases walay patients ko to bakhsh do mafia walo

abhay

[h=1]In India

Finally, Cardiac Stents Come Under Price Control List, Hospitals Can't Charge You A Bomb[/h]The much-awaited green signal from the pharmaceuticals’ department allows to fix prices of stent, which doesn’t sport MRP
ARUSHI BEDI
cardiac.jpg

The department of pharmaceuticals has ordered to place cardiac stents of all makes in the price control list, five months after the government announced its decision.
The much-awaited green signal from the department allows the National Pharmaceutical Pricing Authority to fix prices for stents, which will now be included in the schedule 1 of the National List of Essential Medicines, also known as price control list.

Outlook’s cover story last week, Heart for Marts sake, reported that strong opposition from the stent manufacturing lobby was holding up the order to place life-saving stents in price control list despite the government announcing its decision in June 2016.

More than 80% of the stent manufacturers in India comprises international players who mark up prices and monopolise sales by bribing doctors. The high mark-up and lack of maximum retail price allow hospitals to sell stents at prices which are 300-700% more than the actual cost.

Without a cap on retail prices, hospitals could charge anywhere between Rs 50,000 to 1.5 lakh for each stent inserted. This is in addition to the cost of the procedure, which ranges from Rs 60,000 to 2.5 lakh.

Though the pharmaceutical department’s order is yet to mention a ceiling price for the stents, it says that all drug eluting and biodegradable have been brought under a singular umbrella of price control.

The order comes on the eve of the second hearing of a public interest litigation filed by Birender Sanghwan in the Delhi High Court on fixing a ceiling price and MRP for stents.
Sanghwan’s third PIL questioned why drug manufacturing companies did not show a maximum retail price along with a ceiling price for all stents.

Sanghwan is positive that despite the order, there will be further resistance from the stent manufacturing lobby. “While this is a win for us, the lack of a ceiling price will possibly lead to manufacturers asking for a high ceiling price.”

Under the central government health scheme, the price of stents has been fixed at Rs 23,625. The government’s decision to bring all types of stents under one price ceiling has left the door ajar for stent manufactures to bargain for a higher ceiling price.

“If the government sets the prices higher than the CGHS price, I will file another case,” he says.

Stent manufacturing companies justify the high prices by citing technological advancements in different types of stents, which include drug eluting and bio degradable stents.
However a report by an expert committee of 17 cardiologists from top government institutions punches holes in the claim. The report says sub-categorisation of currently available drug eluting stents was not possible as there was no published data establishing the superiority of any drug eluting stents over others in terms.

http://www.outlookindia.com/website...ntrol-list-hospitals-cant-charge-you-a/297529

I think pakistan government should replicate this step there as well.

lonewolf

because in subcontinent there are many mafias in medical field also,govt's don't enforce laws...
I have a question to my pakistani friends, Why don't you legally import them from India?

It will be a great help to poor people who are being exhorted by these evil in the disguise of doctors.

regards

abhay

because in subcontinent there are many mafias in medical field also,govt's don't enforce laws...

But in India govt has put a price regulation on these and other medical supplies and medicines and they have even started their dedicated stores in the premise of major govt. hospitals where one can buy these supplies with a authorised prescription.

You can read that in the article I posted above

I wish pakistan government also do the same.

lonewolf

is that in comparatively developed urban centres or areas in backward states have been paid attention also? politicians used to tell that farmers in india receive concession in electricity bills and they are provided subsidized seed but recently news came of thousands of farmers suicides,sunn kr dukha hua whaan bhi yehi haal hai,if govt there has has put a price regulation on these and other medical supplies and medicines then this is very good step..
But in India govt has put a price regulation on these and other medical supplies and medicines and they have even started their dedicated stores in the premise of major govt. hospitals where one can buy these supplies with a authorised prescription.

You can read that in the article I posted above

I wish pakistan government also do the same.