I do not see any reason Iran and Saudi Arabia should have hostile policies towards each other. We ca

shaikh

Iran’s Zarif sees possibility to work with KSA over Syria, Yemen

ARAB NEWS | Published — Wednesday 18 January 2017

zarif_davos.jpg

Iran’s foreign minister says there is no reason why his country cannot work with Saudi Arabia to help end regional conflicts, despite the “grievances” between the two nations.

Iran backs destabilizing forces in the region, such as the Houthis in Yemen, Hezbollah in Lebanon and the Assad regime which has resulted in the deaths of hundreds of thousands of Syrians since 2011.

But Mohammad Javad Zarif told the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting in Davos that closer ties between the two powers could benefit the region as a whole.

“I do not see any reason Iran and Saudi Arabia should have hostile policies towards each other. We can in fact cooperate for future stability of our region. We can in fact work together in order to put an end to the miserable condition of the people in Syria, Yemen and Bahrain and elsewhere in the region,” Zarif said.

The minister pointed to the recent election of Michel Aoun as president of Lebanon as an example of a “success story” of Tehran-Riyadh relations. Aoun is a close ally of the Iran-backed Hezbollah, but made Saudi Arabia his first foreign visit after being elected.

“Iran and Saudi Arabia were able to actually stop impeding the process of the presidential election in Lebanon. We have a success story. And neither Iran nor Saudi Arabia lost in this process. So we do not need to have zero-sum games,” Zarif said.

“I do not see any reason Iran and Saudi Arabia cannot work together,” he added.

The Iranian minister did however go on to specify some “grievances” between the two countries, pointing to the 2015 stampede during Hajj in which hundreds of Iranian pilgrims died. Zarif said that this incident was due, at least, to “negligence”.

Adel Al-Jubeir, Saudi Arabia’s foreign minister, on Tuesday highlighted concerns over Iran in his address to the Davos forum.

The minister said that Tehran should be held responsible for its “support of terrorism”.

“Iran has been single-handedly the most important supporter of terrorism in the region,” Al-Jubeir said. “I find it interesting that virtually every country in the world has been attacked by Al-Qaeda and Daesh, except Iran. Why?”

Zarif gave an apparent answer to that question on Wednesday, when he described the accusation that Iran is somehow responsible for Daesh as “the joke of the century.”

“Nobody can derive any benefits, even temporary benefits, from supporting extremism and terrorism and sectarianism,” Zarif said.

Presidential elections are being held in Iran later this year, but Zarif said there will be “continuity” in Tehran’s international policies no matter who wins.

“Iran, because of its geographic location, is interested in stability and tranquility in the region. And I believe that is an element in our policy that will continue regardless of who is elected,” he said.

He gave a studied diplomatic answer when asked his view of the incoming government of US President-elect Donald Trump, saying that “we need to wait for the administration to take office before we start passing judgements.”

But Zarif was a little less guarded when asked how it might be viewed by his country’s citizens. “From the perspective of the Iranian people, the policies of the United States have never been positive,” he said.
Zarif said there are “modest” expectations over the upcoming Syria peace talks in Astana.

“What we need to do at the international level is to help the Syrians reach this stage of starting to talk to each other. And I believe the first step has been taken, by Iran, Russia and Turkey.”

Source : http://www.arabnews.com/node/1040731/middle-east

PappuChikna

He is clearly lying and deceiving but atleast it shows their willingness to talk and resolve matter. I hope Saudis accept the offer and work over it.

the whole yemen issue was created by iran at the boundaries of saudia.

All this is so much similar to the story of Ali, Mawia and Khowarij.
Its like history repeating itself in its smallest details.
and yet we dont learn.

khan_sultan

You can put either one. Does'nt matter.

but if I were to pick one, I would pick Ali as saudia.

وہ نجدی جو معاویہ کے پیروکار ہوں اور یزید کو اپنا امیر المومنین مانتے ہوں وہ تماری نظر میں علی والے ہیں شاوا بھی شاوا تیری عقل توں علی والے وہ ہیں جو کے مولاے کائنات کو خلیفہ بلا فصل مانتے ہوں اور علی کی بیعت نہ کرنے والے کو باغی گمراہ مانتے ہوں

Xiggs

You can put either one. Does'nt matter.

but if I were to pick one, I would pick Ali as saudia.

Hazrat Ali A.S. as Saudia?? that means Iran is Muawiya and I'm cent percent sure you aren't fond of Iran which means you don't like Muawiya either?...NICE!

shaikh

Xiggs;433029s party is Ali's party said:
Ali was a first rate warrior , a semijurist and philosopher and a good writer , there is no post of amir ul momineen of whole universe in present day , Muslims have one prophet leader appointed by Allah , Muhammed is the name , all others including Ali or be they other caliphs are human selected appointments . Ali was not able to maintain unity of Ummah as he was not fit for politics and semi monarchial environment to which Arabia in his time was reverting to . His search for better warriors and shifting Capital to kufa was capitalized by his opponents . I doubt he would be happy at seeing self immolation of shias and huge priesthood type structure of his followers who take his name but do not study him deep .

PappuChikna

Hazrat Ali A.S. as Saudia?? that means Iran is Muawiya and I'm cent percent sure you aren't fond of Iran which means you don't like Muawiya either?...NICE!

aap aqeeday kee ainak se history ko dekhtay hein.

mein nazroo kee ainak se history ko dekhta hoon.

iss liyay.

PappuChikna

وہ نجدی جو معاویہ کے پیروکار ہوں اور یزید کو اپنا امیر المومنین مانتے ہوں وہ تماری نظر میں علی والے ہیں شاوا بھی شاوا تیری عقل توں علی والے وہ ہیں جو کے مولاے کائنات کو خلیفہ بلا فصل مانتے ہوں اور علی کی بیعت نہ کرنے والے کو باغی گمراہ مانتے ہوں
aqeeday kee ainak side mein rakhein which I know is not possible.

Ali was the legal khaleefa and mawia wanted to encroach upon his legitimacy.
Saudia is a legal country and Iran was funding yemeni houthi and iraqi at saudi border.

Mawia wanted to expand his rule outside shaam to the whole arab and muslims lands.
Irani inquilaabi want to do the same and been exporting their inquilaab through their proxies in iraq, sham, falastine etc

Ali worked with khowarij and wanted to use them against mawia and in the end khowaraj turned against ali.
Saudia worked with terrorists and wanted to use them against iran but terrorists have turned against saudia and they did'nt really attack or fought against iran within iran.

and so on...

razi allah alaihum.

khan_sultan

aqeeday kee ainak side mein rakhein which I know is not possible.

Ali was the legal khaleefa and mawia wanted to encroach upon his legitimacy.
Saudia is a legal country and Iran was funding yemeni houthi and iraqi at saudi border.

Mawia wanted to expand his rule outside shaam to the whole arab and muslims lands.
Irani inquilaabi want to do the same and been exporting their inquilaab through their proxies in iraq, sham, falastine etc

Ali worked with khowarij and wanted to use them against mawia and in the end khowaraj turned against ali.
Saudia worked with terrorists and wanted to use them against iran but terrorists have turned against saudia and they did'nt really attack or fought against iran within iran.

and so on...

razi allah alaihum.
جناب ایک لبرل ہونے کے باوجود بھی آپ نے تعصب کی عینک کو خود پہنے رکھا اور مشورہ مجھے دے رہے ہیں ؟ پوری دنیا میں جو اسلام کے نام پر دہشتگردی ہو رہی ہے وہ کون ملک اور اس کے اتحادی کروا رہے ہیں ؟ یہی آپ کے سعودی ہیں جنکو آپ علی والا کہ رہے ہیں آپ ان کو دہشتگردوں کی پشت پناہی والا مانیں یا نہ مانیں پر علی والا نہیں کہ سکتے ؟ کیوں کے یہ میں بھی جانتا ہوں اور سب جانتے ہیں کے وہ خلافت علی کی بجاے غریب شام کے ماننے والے ہیں اور ان کے بیٹے حسین کے قاتل یزید کو حق پر مانتے ہیں یہ آپ کو اس فورم پر رہتے ہوے بھی اندازہ نہیں ہوا حیرت ہے ؟
اگر ہوتیوں کی حمایت کا الزام لگانے سے پہلے آپ کو پاکستان یاد آ جاتا جدھر لکھ سے اوپر لوگ ان کے بنے ہوے دہشت گردوں کے ہاتھوں مارے گئے ہیں یا یمن میں مداخلت نظر آ جاتی جو اے روز نہتے یمنیوں کو مار رہا ہے یا بحرین کو تو چھوڑ ہی دیں ان کو جتنا مرضی کوئی مارے کسی کو پرواہ نہیں ہے مصر ہو یا لیبیا سرے ملکوں میں کون مداخلت کرتا ہے ؟ ایران یا سعودی ؟ شام میں کس نے دہشت گرد بھیجے کیا وہ آپ کو نظر نہیں آیا ؟

PappuChikna

جناب ایک لبرل ہونے کے باوجود بھی آپ نے تعصب کی عینک کو خود پہنے رکھا اور مشورہ مجھے دے رہے ہیں ؟ پوری دنیا میں جو اسلام کے نام پر دہشتگردی ہو رہی ہے وہ کون ملک اور اس کے اتحادی کروا رہے ہیں ؟ یہی آپ کے سعودی ہیں جنکو آپ علی والا کہ رہے ہیں آپ ان کو دہشتگردوں کی پشت پناہی والا مانیں یا نہ مانیں پر علی والا نہیں کہ سکتے ؟ کیوں کے یہ میں بھی جانتا ہوں اور سب جانتے ہیں کے وہ خلافت علی کی بجاے غریب شام کے ماننے والے ہیں اور ان کے بیٹے حسین کے قاتل یزید کو حق پر مانتے ہیں یہ آپ کو اس فورم پر رہتے ہوے بھی اندازہ نہیں ہوا حیرت ہے ؟
اگر ہوتیوں کی حمایت کا الزام لگانے سے پہلے آپ کو پاکستان یاد آ جاتا جدھر لکھ سے اوپر لوگ ان کے بنے ہوے دہشت گردوں کے ہاتھوں مارے گئے ہیں یا یمن میں مداخلت نظر آ جاتی جو اے روز نہتے یمنیوں کو مار رہا ہے یا بحرین کو تو چھوڑ ہی دیں ان کو جتنا مرضی کوئی مارے کسی کو پرواہ نہیں ہے مصر ہو یا لیبیا سرے ملکوں میں کون مداخلت کرتا ہے ؟ ایران یا سعودی ؟ شام میں کس نے دہشت گرد بھیجے کیا وہ آپ کو نظر نہیں آیا ؟

bhayya mein kisi ali walay ko nahi jaanta yeh kis bla ka naam hai, though I know what you are referring to.

Again, you are reading my posts from aqeeda point of view where I am just drawing parallels between what happened about 1300 years ago and now.

Its true that both countries are running proxy wars in pakistan and its mostly shia people who are mazloom. lekin I am not talking about shia sunni at all.

SEcondly, behreen waghaira mein they are acting like khwariji except this time they are supported by iran.

Its Iran who is going outside of its boundaries to other country's boundaries to destabilize and expand.
Iraq pay qabza, sham pay qabza, gaza pay qabza, north afghanistan pay qabza. sponsoring khowarij in bahrain and inside saudia. sponsoring houthi at saudi border. They are all out against saudia. aapay se bahar.

khowarij kee yahee qismat hai. sometimes they are used by one and sometimes by others and in the end they are the ones that get killed and then who knows what allah is going to do with them..probably not a nice treatment.

baqi saudia bhi karr raha hai. they sponsored dehshatgard in shaam etc lekin iqdaam iran ne hee kia.

PappuChikna

bhayya, mein ali aur mawiya ka mama lagta hoon? who am I the one to like or dislike?
my task is to read fatiha for all muslims and pray for their maghfirat and prophets and sahaba.

baqi aap logoo kee marzi hai. You can keep fighting and hating each other for the personalities that died over 1000 years ago.
You can keep getting angry if someone says anything against Iran or Saudia as if Irani aur Saudi care about you.
Know one thing and this applies to all religions. All those who rally people in the name of religion and mess with other countries, do so for their lust of power and not the religion. They may distort religion to justify their lust and greed but its their lust and greed for power thats the driving force.

PappuChikna

and you think Iran and Saudia are fighting the wars of mawia and ali? seriously brother. kuch aqal se kaam lo.
bhayya aap aur aap kay dost full tunn program mein mast hein aur suppliers yaheen donoo countries hein.

shaikh

Iran's defeat in this war is highly desirable for maintaining overall peace in muslim world as otherwise its onward march till kabba will mean massacres all over sunni world of minorities and trouble for decades to come as 90% of the muslim world is sunni .

Helping Saudis is meant to avoid more widespread confrontation.

Many sunnis do not regard shiaism as a sect of Islam or an form of fiqa of Islam and this number is increasing for two reason , firstly sudden deterioration in shia sunni relations after fall of shah and secondly some developments in Iraqi shia reilgious establishments or more so in political establishments which can further modify shia beliefs and possibly take it out of realm of islam altogether as such danger always exist in faiths where priests predominate such as shiasm .