"HE WAS RIGHT!" - US Senator Lindsey Graham admits that Imran Khan was right in his stance

Geek

Republican Senator Lindsey Graham said on Sunday President Donald Trump should meet Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan as soon as possible to reset long-difficult U.S. relations with Pakistan and push for a peaceful settlement in Afghanistan.

The comments, which add to growing signs of improved relations between Islamabad and Washington, come amid efforts to press on with talks between the Taliban and the United States aimed at an agreement to end 17 years of war in Afghanistan.

"I've seen things change here and all in a positive direction," Graham, a member of the Senate Armed Services Committee who has generally been a staunch supporter of Trump, told a news conference in Islamabad.

He said a meeting with Khan, who has declared strong support for a peace agreement in Afghanistan, would leave Trump "far more enthusiastic about the region than he is today".

"With Prime Minister Khan we have a unique opportunity to change our relationship," he said. A previously transactional relationship, based on rewards for services rendered, should be replaced by "strategic engagement", including a free trade agreement, he said.

U.S. relations with Pakistan have long been dogged by suspicions that elements in the Pakistani establishment were aiding the Taliban, a charge Islamabad strongly denies. However, relations have appeared to improve in recent months amid efforts to push the Taliban towards a peace deal.

Trump, who has in the past argued for the United States to withdraw from Afghanistan, has made it clear he wants to see a peace accord reached rapidly although the Taliban have so far refused to talk directly with the Afghan government.

Graham's trip to Pakistan coincided with a visit by Zalmay Khalilzad, the U.S. special envoy for peace in Afghanistan, and top military commanders including General Joseph Votel, commander of U.S. Central Command.

Khalilzad left Islamabad without announcing a new date for talks with Taliban representatives, who have refused further meetings until the U.S. side agrees to discuss a timetable for withdrawing its forces. (this the main reason for Graham to reach out to Pakistan)

The uncertainty has been increased by reports that Trump is prepared to order more than 5,000 U.S. troops out of Afghanistan, a move that would represent a sharp change in course from Washington's previous policy of stepping up military action against the Taliban.

With Afghan forces suffering thousands of casualties a year and struggling to hold back the Taliban insurgency, the reports have caused alarm in Kabul, prompting many close to the government to question the U.S. commitment to Afghanistan.

Asked whether there had been confusion over the U.S. message, Graham, who has called for a Senate hearing on Trump's plans to withdraw U.S. troops from Syria and Afghanistan, said "without a doubt" but added that he did not believe Washington would stand by and allow a Taliban victory.

"The world's not going to let the Taliban take Afghanistan over by force of arms. That would be unconscionable," he told Reuters. "Any president who let that happen would go down in history very poorly."

https://www.nytimes.com/reuters/2019/01/20/world/asia/20reuters-usa-pakistan-afghanistan.html

HIDDEN

طالبان نے ایسا لٹایا ہے کہ پاکستان کو ایف سولہ پیسے دینے کے باوجود نہ دینے والوں نے پاکستان کی مدد کے عوض فری ٹریڈ تک کی آفر کردی ہے

الله ایسی رسوائی کسی کو نہ دے جیسی آج کل یونائیٹڈ سٹیٹس آف امریکا کے حصّے میں آرہی ہے

JohnSnow

طالبان نے ایسا لٹایا ہے کہ پاکستان کو ایف سولہ پیسے دینے کے باوجود نہ دینے والوں نے پاکستان کی مدد کے عوض فری ٹریڈ تک کی آفر کردی ہے

الله ایسی رسوائی کسی کو نہ دے جیسی آج کل یونائیٹڈ سٹیٹس آف امریکا کے حصّے میں آرہی ہے

Same Taliban rejected to hold talks in Islamabad yesterday. You are taking too much credit on this.

Here are the details. Feel free to read.

https://www.jpost.com/Middle-East/Afghan-Taliban-refuse-to-hold-talks-with-US-in-Pakistan-577935

Masud Javed

Senator Lindsey Graham is the disgraceful senator from south who supported Donald Trump as President after advocating "grabbing women by the Pu$$y"

of-course he will find Imran Khan as man of "strengths" and Youtias will consider his comments as "words of wisdom"

#FactsOnly

haha desperate patwari

right now he is representing super power

you just look like an idiot posting this

JohnSnow

Is this same Lindsey Graham who criticized Trump 3 days ago? Doesn't sound like he is close to Trump as claimed by our side on twitter.

Londoner/Lahori

Mr. Geek
Why are you giving fits to some by posting this kind of material,
This will become a reality.
But some would prefer to live in the state of denial.

sab_tamasha_hai

Same Taliban rejected to hold talks in Islamabad yesterday. You are taking too much credit on this.

https://www.jpost.com/Middle-East/Afghan-Taliban-refuse-to-hold-talks-with-US-in-Pakistan-577935
Bro they refused to hold talk with Afghan Government, since they think they are stoges of US. Both Afghanistan and US is lauding role of Pakistan in bringing them to table for talks.

It is the first time in years that we are at least getting some positive press.

LeezaKhan

Dear Youtias,

Senator Lindsey Graham is the disgraceful senator from south who supported Donald Trump as President after advocating "grabbing women by the Pu$$y"

of-course he will find Imran Khan as man of "strengths" and Youtias will consider his comments as "words of wisdom"

#FactsOnly

I was waiting that when PATWARI/NOONI TOONS are gonna start targeting Senator Graham and viola .... here you go. Wish they weren't that predictable.

Passion76

Is this same Lindsey Graham who criticized Trump 3 days ago? Doesn't sound like he is close to Trump as claimed by our side on twitter.

Killed by MOSSAD, CIA to stop Trump from leaving Syria.
This act has political ramifications.. America leaves Middle East.. Jews gone.

Xiggs

Don't take the bait Khan sahib, don't fall for that....Lindsey Graham is a outright neocon and master of deception...he can't be trusted.

NasNY

Dear Youtias,

#FactsOnly

61hlIY%2BLUlL._SX355_.jpg

Salman Mughal

Dear Youtias,

#FactsOnly

LOLU Jalan toh boht ho rahi hogi aaaaaaj