'Ground Zero' Mosque approved !!!

Knowledge Seeker

'Ground Zero' mosque approved
2010840834938734_5.jpg

Michael Bloomberg called the project a symbol of Americans' commitment to religious freedom [AFP]

US authorities have approved the building of an Islamic culture centre and mosque in New York City, despite tensions over it being located near the site of the September 11 attacks in 2001.

The Landmarks Preservation Commission voted unanimously on Tuesday to deny landmark status to a building two blocks from the World Trade Center site that developers want to tear down and convert into an Islamic community centre that will include a mosque.

The panel said the 152-year-old lower Manhattan building is not distinctive enough to be considered a landmark.

The decision drew praise from Mayor Michael Bloomberg, who called the project a key test of Americans' commitment to religious freedom.

"The World Trade Center site will forever hold a special place in our city, in our hearts," Bloomberg said.

"But we would be untrue to the best part of ourselves, and who we are as New Yorkers and Americans, if we said no to a mosque in lower Manhattan."

The vote was a setback for opponents of the mosque, who say it disrespects the memory of those killed on September 11.

Controversial issue

Building of an Islamic cultural centre near New York's 'Ground Zero' is approved

The American Center for Law and Justice, a conservative advocacy group founded by the Rev. Pat Robertson, announced it would challenge the panel's decision in a state court on Wednesday.

The proposed mosque has emerged as a national political issue, with prominent members of the Republican party like vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin to former House of Representatives Speaker Newt Gingrich voicing their opposition.

The mosque is being developed by a group called the Cordoba Initiative.

The group says on its website that its goal is to foster a better relationship between the Muslim world and the West, "steering the world back to the course of mutual recognition and respect and away from heightened tensions".

A partner in the project, SoHo Properties, bought the property for nearly $5 million.

Early plans are aiming a 13-storey, $100 million Islamic centre.

http://english.aljazeera.net/news/americas/2010/08/20108323348309300.html

LeftBrain

Masjid to bana di pal bhar main, imaan ki hararat waalon ney
Man apna purana paapi hey, barson main namazi ban na saka

still a good work, kaash Allah apna reham farma dey musalmaanon par or ham deen ko samajhney waaley or us par amal karney waaley bhi ban jaayen.
and by the way it is MASJID, not mosque

rana14801

my hats off to mayor of Newyork.this type of decisions can change US position and US can gain respect instead of hate among Muslims.it is a good news to all Muslims and all Muslim countries.we must appreciate it.thank u America.

LeftBrain

we hate America and their people and their policies and their every thing (and die to get a US visa and a green card at the same time!!!!!) but just think about it.

The great Pakistani muslims attacked a religious center of a minority community (Ahmadi) and killed two christians with out any proof against them, on presumption of blasphamy, and we are still the better people.

The kafir Americans unanimously backed a masjid in NewYork, authorities are praising this decision, and they are still bad people.

and we still dont understand why we are so much hated around the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fatabiroo ya oolai-y-al-absaar
Aey aankhon waalo, dekho or ibrat pakro

ac112233

Now i am wondering ...when will we see a church in Saudia Arabia....*cough* or respect for even muslims from other countries..!!!

molson4u

Wish we have smae freedom to muslims in Pakistan for religious expressions. That day will come insallah

Asif Ali

I think the Muslim who are managing this should NOT allow the mosque to be built at this particular spot because:

1) It would signify or speak of "Muslim terrorism" in the minds of American citizens who are much dumber than the rest of the world
2) This would also means a sort of "YES" WE DD THIS
3) This placement would be highly propagated to the rest of the world in the negative sense.

M

Maria99

Mosque near ground zero

President Barack Obama on 13 August 2010 forcefully endorsed allowing a mosque near ground zero, saying the country's founding principles demanded no less.

"As a citizen, and as president, I believe that Muslims have the same right to practice their religion as everyone else in this country,"

mehwish_ali

President Barack Obama on 13 August 2010 forcefully endorsed allowing a mosque near ground zero, saying the country's founding principles demanded no less.

"As a citizen, and as president, I believe that Muslims have the same right to practice their religion as everyone else in this country,"

I don't think many would give any good opinion about US.

I wish, JUSTICE should be double sided and we could also see Non Muslims allowed to open their worship places in Pakistan and other Islamic Countries without any threat by extremists.

Also Non Muslims should also get the equal right to preach their respective religion as Muslims are allowed to preach Islam in Europe/US.

I also wish that Ulama of today should do Ijtehaad and look once again at the old ruling of killing all those Muslims who change their religion (Murtad). That ruling belonged to that time when Kuffar also didn't allow any Kafir to become Muslim. But today the world has changed. Non Muslim countries are allowing their citizens to accept Islam, and thus Ijtehaad should be done upon this old Ruling (same like Ijtehaad was done against the Slavery and old ruling was overruled while in todays conditions of World, there is no place of slavery).

Horseman

1. You need to see through what that mosque stands for.

2. If you look at the Islamic history, you will find that whenever they conquered a land, they would convert important building or other places of worship eg. churches, to mosques.
This is a sign of imperialism.

3. Best example is Hagia Sophia in Constantinople, present day Istanbul.

4. There is malice here, i.e. the ground zero mosque.

5. Consider this my friends, they get funding from countries which expressly forbid construction of non muslim places of worship and expressly forbid conversions from islam and expressly treat normal people i.e. non muslims as second class citizens...

I don't think many would give any good opinion about US.

I wish, JUSTICE should be double sided and we could also see Non Muslims allowed to open their worship places in Pakistan and other Islamic Countries without any threat by extremists.

Also Non Muslims should also get the equal right to preach their respective religion as Muslims are allowed to preach Islam in Europe/US.

I also wish that Ulama of today should do Ijtehaad and look once again at the old ruling of killing all those Muslims who change their religion (Murtad). That ruling belonged to that time when Kuffar also didn't allow any Kafir to become Muslim. But today the world has changed. Non Muslim countries are allowing their citizens to accept Islam, and thus Ijtehaad should be done upon this old Ruling (same like Ijtehaad was done against the Slavery and old ruling was overruled while in todays conditions of World, there is no place of slavery).

First of all dont forget that Pakistan is an islamic state not peoples republic ..and USA is a secular state with complete rights to any religious sects. so comparing USA and othere european countries policies with Pakistan or other declared islamic states cannot be justified.
2ndly Islam is the only true religion with complete tolerance of religious freedom but it doesnt mean that any other religion practioners can be allowed to impress innocent and less knowledgable muslims to their religion. those muslims who dont have enough knowledge about islam can easily be attracted to kufr. and islam protects with strict rules after accepting islam as a religion to make sure the person can avoid the fire of jahannum.
so i strictly oppose your comments with freedom for other religion practioners to preach their kufr in muslim society.
and dont forget these are importants and defined rules of shariah and someone who opposes on any shariah rule may lead him/her to kufr..
Wallah-o-aalamo bissawaab...

Horseman

2ndly Islam is the only true religion with complete tolerance of religious freedom but it doesnt mean that any other religion practioners can be allowed to impress innocent and less knowledgable muslims to their religion. those muslims who dont have enough knowledge about islam can easily be attracted to kufr. and islam protects with strict rules after accepting islam as a religion to make sure the person can avoid the fire of jahannum.

1. Thankyou. These are the kind of statements that i want to hear.

2. This gentleman, Mr. Malik495 is not ashamed of or in denial of what Islam teaches its followers. I respect Mr. Malik.
Brother atleast you are not a hypocrite.

3. Ms. Mehwish on the other hand is either practicing Taqiyya or is not knowledgeable enough. Your Prophet clearly states that all other religions are false, and Islam needs to dominate the world.
Since this is the situation, if you are a truly islamic country, you cannot allow new churches or other such places of worship.

4. Either you should agree with your Prophet and follow his commands or leave the religion he propagated if you don't agree with him.

mehwish_ali

First of all dont forget that Pakistan is an islamic state not peoples republic ..and USA is a secular state with complete rights to any religious sects. so comparing USA and othere european countries policies with Pakistan or other declared islamic states cannot be justified.
so i strictly oppose your comments with freedom for other religion practioners to preach their kufr in muslim society.
and dont forget these are importants and defined rules of shariah and someone who opposes on any shariah rule may lead him/her to kufr..
Wallah-o-aalamo bissawaab...

It makes no Difference if Pakistan is an Islamic Country and US is not.

The relationship between TWO countries, or all countries of world are based upon "Mutual Contracts" with each other.

Sharia has two parts:

1. The Personal Law

2. The State Law

Personal Laws could not be changed and they are between Allah and his slaves. These consist of praying to Allah and doing other worships.

But State Laws (or dealing among Parties) are not STATIC. They could be changed according to the situation.

For example, Islam dislike Slavery, but had to continue with it due to certain situation of that time. But when those situation changed, then Islam allowed that Ulama do Ijtehaad according to the new situation and Islamic States were allowed to make a CONTRACT Internationally that slavery should come to an end.

These Mutual Contracts between TWO States get Temporarily precedence upon the Normal State Laws as described in Islamic Sharia.

There is No Compulsion in Deen

Secondly, your assumption is wrong that ISLAM "COMPELS" any one to come into the Deen or to stay into the Deen.

If you believe that "Jahanum Theory" (as mentioned above), then Islam should have taken all the freedom from other Religions to practice their Deen and would have compelled to enter Islam. And all the new born children of Kuffar should have also been made Muslims by force and would have not been allowed to become Kuffar upon becoming adult.

But it is not like this. Islam does not follow "Jahanum Theory", but it gives choice to Human being to choice the right path.

Thirdly, your theory is totally against the "JUSTICE" of Allah.

What when Kuffar and Other Religions also come up with same theory like you and ban Islam from their Countries while Muslim Preachers make the minds of their youth poisonous as they know nothing etc. ?

Well, if Muslims keep on sticking to these Double Standards, then this will only increase hatred against Islam and the Extremist Kuffar and others will get more and more Power in their respective Countries and ultimately banning Muslims too from Preaching their Religion.

There is no Rocket Science involved to see the clear fact that this is true Double Standard and true Injustice. You are presenting the Deen of Allah as a Deen of Injustice and Double Standards towards the whole world, which will only cause harm to Islam.

We should not be afraid of Preachers of other Deen. If they send 10 preachers, why not they you sent 100 Preachers to counter them?

bankalalookheti

lo ji ban gai ek aur masjid...ummat ko is mega masjid se koi fayda to hona nahin...koi haspatal ya school hi bana letey bhai...

masjid to bana li pal bhar men eeman ki hararat walon ne
you know the rest

Night_Hawk

Barack Obama backs Ground Zero mosque

President Barack Obama has offered strong support for plans to build a mosque and Muslim community centre near the Ground Zero site in New York where Islamic terrorists destroyed the World Trade Centre.

By Philip Sherwell in New York
Published: 8:23AM BST 14 Aug 2010

Mr Obama made his first public remarks on the proposals on Friday night after weeks avoiding comment on a controversial issue that has dominated headlines.

At a dinner celebrating the holy month of Ramadan, he declared "as a citizen, and as president, I believe that Muslims have the same right to practice their religion as anyone else in this country".

In remarks prepared for the annual White House sunset meal breaking the fast, he said: "I understand the emotions that this issue engenders. Ground Zero is, indeed, hallowed ground."

But, he continued, "this is America, and our commitment to religious freedom must be unshakable. The principle that people of all faiths are welcome in this country, and will not be treated differently by their government, is essential to who we are."
Robert Gibbs, his press secretary, said last week that the president did not want to "get involved in local decision-making" as controversy grew when New York city authorities removed the last planning hurdle to the project.
But Obama aides said the White House simply did not want to become involved while the city was delivering its verdict on the proposed Muslim complex two blocks from the site of the Sept 11, 2001, attacks on the Twin Towers.
Mayor Michael Bloomberg is a strong supporters of the community centre scheme, arguing that it reflects the American principles of religious freedom and choice that were attacked by the 9/11 terrorists.
But the plans have provoked a national uproar over Islam and freedom of religion amid campaigning for crucial mid-term congressional elections in November.
Saran Palin, the former Republican vice-presidential candidate, has led the objections. She called the project "an unnecessary provocation" and urged "peace-seeking Muslims" to reject it.
To the outrage of some liberal Jewish groups, the Anti-Defamation League, a Jewish organization, has also opposed the centre.
Rick Lazio, the Republican candidate for New York governor, said: "With over 100 mosques in New York City, this is not an issue of religion, but one of safety and security."
Mr Obama's intervention will put him at the centre of one of America's most sensitive political and cultural debates.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newsvideo/7945544/Obama-backs-Ground-Zero-mosque.html

@mehwish Ali
so it means you are in favour of allowing Qadiyanis, christians jews and other unislamic sects to preach their religious beliefs among all declared islamic societies including Saudi Arabia and Pakistan...?