Fun at the cost of privacy!

Waseem

Staff member
Tuesday, July 06, 2010
Islamabad, July 5, 2010: I cant face my family, said Ms. Sana, a newly-wed girl and a victim of internet social networking Facebook. She had an account on Facebook to share her memories of life and day to day happenings. She had added all family members, within the country and abroad. She had also uploaded her wedding ceremony pictures on her Facebook profile.

One day, while chatting with her sister, the account automatically closed without her signing it out. She tried to sign-in again but could not succeed. Assuming that server might be down she became involved in day-to-day household work.

The very next day, she came to know that her Facebook account had been hacked. That person picked her pictures and some information from it, and made a new account on Facebook using her name, pictures and other information. He threatened her and uploading nude pictures, using her name, on You-Tube another social networking site.

Her family members added as friends on her account saw all that rubbish, making her a stigma for the whole family. This thwarting situation was not only faced by both the family members (parents and in-laws) but also by her sisters in-laws who broke the engagement as soon as they got to know about it. It was an awful moment for Sanas sister who is still unable to recover from the shock of his life. Besides, Sana is also striving hard to avoid the divorce stressed hard by her in-laws.

Our society is replete with such incidents, of which, a majority is not reported, at all. The sharing of our beautiful memories through different social networks has now the potential to raze to the ground every possibility of social networking. The way it is affecting the concept of social networking, is going to end all hopes people do have in such sort of websites and community networking groups. Fake identity, blasphemous material and the like are going to kill all the charm people might presently have left with.

Facebook as a social forum is a very interesting concept, however when it comes to stalking and lifting of information from it, it becomes a very serious issue, says Ms. Salma Malik, working as assistant professor at Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad.

In her opinion, the solution is not in the banning of the website, but primarily making the security settings and the administration policies a lot more stringent and better.

To tackle this problem, the government authorities have already established National Response Centre (NR3C) for cyber crimes to curb such crimes of cyber-stalking and criminal access to data. However, only 56 cases have been reported one year after establishment of this institution. A proper reporting can help to track down such cases. Public can report such cases to the cyber wing through the website: http://www.nr3c.gov.pk/ , fax No. 926666435 and cell number: 0336-6006060.

Cyber stalking and criminal data access are well defined laws under PECO 2009 and knowing the seriousness of criminal intent and power of cyber stalking; heavy punishment has been kept for this crime, founder of NR3C Ammar Hussain said.

The state authority, despite using the control mechanisms, seems failing to combat cyber crimes in Pakistan. However, the problem lies at the end of citizens too, who do not dare report it. Media can also play a great role in creating awareness against cyber crimes. INFN

Source

Knowledge Seeker

Jazak Allah for sharing an alarming Article.

It is very shocking incident. We really need to be very careful in sharing personal information on Internet.

Well we are reactive society , we do not act to prevent but we always act after we are bitten.
To me facebook and other networks make no sence at all , and its just me

adnan78692

cyber crime is a very very serious issue for this age of globalization through internet... as a Muslim society and culture, we cant afford this type of cyber crimes.. as we know about our Muslims family culture.. jesa k sana k sath ye incident huwa... hamari muslim elite class main to ye social networking k name pe sab kch share kya jata hai. chalo apni family ki had tak ho to b hai... ye to pooray all over the world har kisi k samnay aap ki pics aapki family friends parents sab ki pics share hoti hai... to yahi hona hai phir... .. islam ne jitna aurat ko "parday" main rehne ka hukam diya hai.. Parday ko aurat ka tahafuz aur izzat kaha hai... utna he hamari so called muslim society is se avoid kar rahi hai... to yahi result he nikalna hai na... islam ko chooor k ham aghiaar ko follow kartay hain.. to ye hona b chahiey....

Aagey hamari Muslim Khwateen aur marad khud samajhdaar hain...

forzeb

i can only say it is said but you have to see the settings while signing on to such sites

Ammad Hafeez

Gang of website hackers busted

computer-AP.jpg

Pakistani authorities arrested five members of a group of hackers known by the name "Pak-bugs".

Authorities said on Thursday they had traced a gang of hackers and arrested five suspects involved in defacing thousands of domestic and international websites and online fraud.

The internationally-known hackers have been picked up in an operation spanning the country over the past few weeks, Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) senior officer Mian Idrees told AFP. We have unearthed notorious hackers group Pakbugs and arrested five members of this group, he said.

Authorities seized computers and other equipment involved in various cyber crimes, he said. The FIA said in a statement the group was involved in hacking or defacing thousands of websites belonging to government, non-government and international organisations. They were also involved in credit card jacking and usage of stolen credit cards, it said.

Pakbugs founder Jawad Ehsan, alias Humza, remains at large and is believed to be based in Saudi Arabia, the statement said. But it said co-founder Hassan Khan has been detained in the northwest Pakistani city of Peshawar, along with other members in Lahore, Bannu and Rawalpindi.

Idrees ruled out the hackers involvement in terrorism and said the men had been charged only with electronic crimes.

Pakistan, fighting terrorism and high-tech offences, in 2008 declared cyber-terrorism a capital crime, while electronic fraud is punishable by a prison term of seven to ten years.

Source

The girl Sana, and others like her, have paid for their stupidities. Why did she have to 'share' her personal pics and family story on an 'all open for grab' site anyway? All social networks have been designed by Americans to get information out of people instead of obtaining warrant and perform a search of your house.

Not too long ago, I read that the major stake holder in facebook, google, youtube, paypal, and such is none other than the CIA. And how easy has it become for them to grab your information including pics of your wedding, family, information about your job, your political views etc.
Thru paypal the CIA keeps track of transfer of money, sender (their address) and the recipients.

In this context, I only blame Sana for her demise for being so stupid to 'share' her information.

Another major purpose behind dis-social network is to keep us glued to the monitors and keeping succumbing to the push by the advertisers, and keep gaining weight.

I, also, created a FB account after years just so I could hear or read Zaid Hamid. I still have the account but seldom I go there. I stopped using after the recent anti-blasphemy tahreek.

hassam

One thing that we alway ignore in all the incidents of such genre that happen in our society is that we as a whole always act to victimize the women who is a victime her self. Whether it is a rape of a poor girl, a broken marriage and entrapment in a scandal or molesting or harrasement. Our behavior as a society is always counter productive. Instead of helping the victim we make her life a hell on earth. All this comes from a society that claims that it gives a very high regard to women. The fact of the matter is we only give high regard to our immediate family women and for that they have to pay a very heavy price tag in terms of their liberaty to think and decide at their own.

Our hypocrite society always enjoy promoting and gossiping about such incidents that happen to women of our society that do not belong to us. If muslim men are our brothers then women are our sisters and we only take it literally. Do not act on it. Rather than killing the evil we adhere to lament the act that led to the failure of our social system. In the above scenario Facebook is not a culprit. The real culprit is our society and the immediate family members of the girl whom she cannot face. With all the years that she has spent with them this is the level of trust that they had with her that just by mere hacking of an account she has lost all her creditbility.

In our hypocrite society if a man or a husband caught cheating or showing a conduct of misdemeanour, he is either ignored or fogiven, but we have different set of standards for women. Can any one tell me what would have happend if a male member of her family had to go through the same situation? nothing right. If say women is bound to make more mistakes then why not for the sake of nature we tend to forgive them more. It is the men who should be punished for every slight misconduct becuase he claims that he is better and more perfect.

As I have said in many many posts. There is a satan in all of us and we do not want to admit. We need to fight that evil to regain our morality and strenght. Unless we do that no matter how careful we are the evil will prevail.

Daman bacha kar chalna is a good act, but daman chura kar rah-e-farar ikhtiyar karna is an act of cowardice. All these people will be answerable on the day of judegement specially the immediate family members becuase they rejected the sanctity of a momin without enough evidence.

One thing that we alway ignore in all the incidents of such genre that happen in our society is that we as a whole always act to victimize the women who is a victime her self. Whether it is a rape of a poor girl, a broken marriage and entrapment in a scandal or molesting or harrasement. Our behavior as a society is always counter productive. Instead of helping the victim we make her life a hell on earth. All this comes from a society that claims that it gives a very high regard to women. The fact of the matter is we only give high regard to our immediate family women and for that they have to pay a very heavy price tag in terms of their liberaty to think and decide at their own.

Our hypocrite society always enjoy promoting and gossiping about such incidents that happen to women of our society that do not belong to us. If muslim men are our brothers then women are our sisters and we only take it literally. Do not act on it. Rather than killing the evil we adhere to lament the act that led to the failure of our social system. In the above scenario Facebook is not a culprit. The real culprit is our society and the immediate family members of the girl whom she cannot face. With all the years that she has spent with them this is the level of trust that they had with her that just by mere hacking of an account she has lost all her creditbility.

In our hypocrite society if a man or a husband caught cheating or showing a conduct of misdemeanour, he is either ignored or fogiven, but we have different set of standards for women. Can any one tell me what would have happend if a male member of her family had to go through the same situation? nothing right. If say women is bound to make more mistakes then why not for the sake of nature we tend to forgive them more. It is the men who should be punished for every slight misconduct becuase he claims that he is better and more perfect.

As I have said in many many posts. There is a satan in all of us and we do not want to admit. We need to fight that evil to regain our morality and strenght. Unless we do that no matter how careful we are the evil will prevail.

Daman bacha kar chalna is a good act, but daman chura kar rah-e-farar ikhtiyar karna is an act of cowardice. All these people will be answerable on the day of judegement specially the immediate family members becuase they rejected the sanctity of a momin without enough evidence.

your post full of sympathy for a woman who is stupid enough to post all her personal info on the FB. No body is bashing her due to her gender but due to her stupidity.

If you put your hand in front of a snake, he is bound to bite you, which will be your stupidity, the snake cannot be blamed.

I truly believe that sympathizing with a someone who does a stupid act is promoting other people to commit the act stupidity. Allow me to give you a hypothetical example, which actually does happen on a daily basis here.

A family has 4 teen age girls. One goes out on a date and gets pregnant. she announces the pregnancy and the parents say 'oh poor baby, you need help'. They provide all moral and financial support to the girl and take her thru the pregnancy and play with their grand baby.

Now you tell me, would have condemned or helped that girl, remembering that pregnancy was a result of carelessness, and no act of rape was involved. If you do not condemn that girl, you are ACTUALLY ENDORSING her stupidity and signaling the other girls to do the same. This is how the entire north America has mostly bastard kids.

On the other hand if the parents had condemned the girl, and the girl had aborted the unwanted child, the three other girls would have taken lessons and stay away from illicit sex.

Always kill the vice at its birth. That's the reason Islam forbids mix-up of unmarried men/women to prevent future problems. :)

hassam

your post full of sympathy for a woman who is stupid enough to post all her personal info on the FB. No body is bashing her due to her gender but due to her stupidity.

If you put your hand in front of a snake, he is bound to bite you, which will be your stupidity, the snake cannot be blamed.

I truly believe that sympathizing with a someone who does a stupid act is promoting other people to commit the act stupidity. Allow me to give you a hypothetical example, which actually does happen on a daily basis here.

A family has 4 teen age girls. One goes out on a date and gets pregnant. she announces the pregnancy and the parents say 'oh poor baby, you need help'. They provide all moral and financial support to the girl and take her thru the pregnancy and play with their grand baby.

Now you tell me, would have condemned or helped that girl, remembering that pregnancy was a result of carelessness, and no act of rape was involved. If you do not condemn that girl, you are ACTUALLY ENDORSING her stupidity and signaling the other girls to do the same. This is how the entire north America has mostly bastard kids.

On the other hand if the parents had condemned the girl, and the girl had aborted the unwanted child, the three other girls would have taken lessons and stay away from illicit sex.

Always kill the vice at its birth. That's the reason Islam forbids mix-up of unmarried men/women to prevent future problems. :)

I am surprised to see that our uncle missed the point and gave an example that does not hold any rationale against the points that I made in my post. Please read my post again with the issue at hand. If that still does not satisfy you, let me know and I will try to be more precise and explicit.

i understood your post very well, you didn't get my point. I beleeve in eliminating problems from their roots. I am not a bleeding heart liberal. i think rationally and logically. good day

hassam

i understood your post very well, you didn't get my point. I beleeve in eliminating problems from their roots. I am not a bleeding heart liberal. i think rationally and logically. good day

It means you did not understand my point.

In my post I made a point that in our society women gets the blame and insult even if she is the victim. In the case on hand, note that that lady never shared her user ID and password. She was also only sharing her activities with those she knew and some body else actually "Hacked" her account and victimized her. In that case her family and society should be supportive, but they behaved they way they always do, "victimize the victim". What was her stupidity here? Is she the only person in the while world that shares her stuff with the world? Even if it is a stupidity, the pusnishment of stupidity in Islam is repentance and forgiveness. The punishment is for sins only. Those that you do knowingly.

The example that you gave was irrelevant here. In your example the girl deliberately indulge herself into worng doing, that was not the case in this story and most of the stories in our country.

Your attitude of niping in the bud the act rather than the crime is precautionary but not preventitive. With the kind of precautionary measure that you believe in we will prevent women from doing anything. She cannot go to college, to job and so on so forth. Condeming the behaviour of the criminal and supporting the victim on the other hand is productive and help ward off the evil. If all the people of our society grow such tendency of taking unnecessary percautions for avoiding the problem and not to directly attacking the issue and the criminal it will support the cause of such hateful acts in society.

Many many women in our society do not share the harasement they receive at the hands of the neighbours and other guys in the area they live in with their parents and family becuase they know it is going to put more restrictions on them. Becuase their family believe the solution is to make the girl stay at home. Try to understand my point. I agree with nipping in the bud, but in this case it is our attitude towards women that should be nipped. The victim needed support from the family but she did not becuase we have assumed that she should not have done that in the first place.