Do you have an answer? Why was Choudhary Rehmat Ali exiled from Pakistan in 1948?

Why was Choudhary Rehmat Ali exiled from Pakistan in 1948?

ali.jpg

Desi_Action

Yes because he used abusive language against Jinnah - Quaid e azam of Pakistani people, so it was inevitable to flee. That's why non of Pakistani government was ever interested to bring his body back to Pakistan. In the days of Ch. Shujaat being prime minister, there was little try on that behalf to bring his body back and bury in Manto Park near Minar - Pakistan, but it turned out to be a huge controversy and Chaudhry Rehmat Ali is buried in Oxford to this date.

Prime Minister Liaquat Ali put a ban on his body to bring back to Pakistan and bury, back in 1951.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_3-8-2005_pg3_1

msmirza007

While Choudhry Rahmat Ali was a leading figure for the conception of Pakistan, he lived most of his adult life in England. He had been voicing his dissatisfaction with the creation of Pakistan ever since his arrival in Lahore on April 6, 1948. He was unhappy over a Smaller Pakistan than the one he had conceived in his 1933 pamphlet Now Or Never.[SUP][26][/SUP]
After the creation of Pakistan he returned to Pakistan in April 1948, planning to stay in this country, but he was ordered by the then Prime Minister Liaqat Ali Khan to leave the country. His belongings were confiscated, and he left empty-handed for England in October 1948.[SUP][27][/SUP]
He died in February 1951 and was buried on 20 February at Newmarket Road Cemetery, Cambridge, UK. Emmanuel College's Master, who had been Rahmat Ali's Tutor, himself arranged the burial in Cambridge on 20 February 1951.[SUP][28[/SUP]

aq.inqalabi

"Textbooks have always identified him as the man who coined the name of the country: Pakistan. The claim was disputed quite early but no one was prepared to listen. In any case, Chaudhry Sahib’s claim that it was formed by putting together the first letters of the regions included in Pakistan has always been shaky. When the West Pakistanis began talking too much about the origin of the name, intellectuals from East Pakistan challenged them to show where the “B” of Bengal was in the country’s name. It was bad policy to put the episode in the textbooks in the first place."

"
There was also the more embarrassing matter of Chaudhry Rehmat Ali having abused MA Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan and its Quaid-i-Azam, in writing. Chaudhry Sahib was a great pamphleteer but he was essentially a loner. His extreme views about how to give Hindu majority areas in India to Muslims as Pakistan were defeated by what the Quaid-i-Azam finally achieved. He couldn’t take this with good grace and the prime minister, Liaquat Ali Khan, recognising what had happened, politely refused to accept him back into Pakistan."

this all is right but what was the demand of Ch. Rehmat Ali???why jinnah was not ready to face him and listen his arguements or criticism. i feel from the fed back of some people that they believe Jinnah as a prophet who could not be challenged because of his innocense. please clarify me why do they do so???

sailor6463

this all is right but what was the demand of Ch. Rehmat Ali???why jinnah was not ready to face him and listen his arguements or criticism. i feel from the fed back of some people that they believe Jinnah as a prophet who could not be challenged because of his innocense. please clarify me why do they do so???

Dear Faseehuddin sb....I just saw your query and replying. Not sure if this forum is still alive and you will read my reply. Ch. Rehmat sb was surely a short tempered person (specially when it came to defending cause of Indian muslims) but I sincerely doubt that he would ever use abusive language against Jinnah sb. The major conflict was that he wanted larger Pakistan that included the entire Kahsmir, Bengal, Parts of UP and entire Hyderabad Deccan. However, Jinnah sb was not well and suffering from TB that was kept secret from everyone, including his sisters. According to his Dr., Jinnah sb's life was not more than a year. Therefore, Jinnah sb settled with whatever he could convince the British Raj for the creation of Pakistan. He knew after him there was no one else that could really create homeland for Muslims (Wallah Alam). Having said this, I strongly believe that we as a nation has done great injustice to Ch. Rehmat Ali. He was a national hero but we portrayed him as a villain. What a shame indeed!!! I belong to Urdu Speaking family that migrated to Pakistan from UP and Hyderabad Deccan and this version came from my late father who became fighter pilot with PAF. JazakAllah Khair....