Dam Damn

ZS_Devil

Why these dam are being built in Punjab if they are built at Mancher lake it would be less costly and take less time to be built why not go to make cheaper dam instead of making expensive one's and beg from others

images

LovePK-or-LeavePK

Because Punjab has earthquake safe zone, unlike north which is sitting on trip-tonic plates which can collapse anytime.

Even Bhasha dam is a risk. Remember how attabad lake was formed after the earthquake.

Kalabagh is the cheapest and safest option for dam. We need open debate on that asap.

Sindh will become desert if we do not build damns, someone need to go and tell that to Sindhi people. Wake them up and let them have control over Kalabagh, but must be built.

Arfeen

The closer to the source the better, less water is wasted , and floods can be controlled, how would you prevent flood if dam is at the tail of the country.

No dam is built like a tub, usually mega dams are in mountainous range so that mountains function as walls on maximum area and rest is built with concrete etc, at munchar you would raise a structure which will be a time bomb during earth quakes etc and it wont last long either

in short, a small dam could be made for drinking water supply and some agriculture, but a mega dam like Bhasha cant be made there

LovePK-or-LeavePK

The closer to the source the better, less water is wasted , and floods can be controlled, how would you prevent flood if dam is at the tail of the country.

No dam is built like a tub, usually mega dams are in mountainous range so that mountains function as walls on maximum area and rest is built with concrete etc, at munchar you would raise a structure which will be a time bomb during earth quakes etc and it wont last long either

in short, a small dam could be made for drinking water supply and some agriculture, but a mega dam like Bhasha cant be made there

Any place which is safe and viable should be used for man-made lakes. Even if you don't build a dam or generate power, there is plenty of recreational things you can offer to public with such body of water. Fishing has huge potential if we have such mega-lakes. Hotel industry can also benefit.

So build lakes anywhere and everywhere possible if you can afford it.

akinternational

dam zaroor banna chahiye.....lekin paisa in choron se wusul karo...."saudi formula"....sab dakuon ke passport cancel, ECL, ek jail men band, inki haram khane wali aulad ko bhi giraftar.....aur checkon per sign...paisa wapas.........ye CJ qom ko truck ki batti ke piche laga raha hai aur PM bhi....ye refereances, paisiyan, tarikh pe tarikh, choron ko bahar jane ki ijazat, sab bakwas.....band karo ye tamasha qom ko jazbati black mail mat karo......ham zaroor chanda den ge magar pehle zardai, sharifs aur in ghaddaron se paisa nikalwao.....

Iconoclast

Because Punjab has earthquake safe zone, unlike north which is sitting on trip-tonic plates which can collapse anytime.

Even Bhasha dam is a risk. Remember how attabad lake was formed after the earthquake.

Kalabagh is the cheapest and safest option for dam. We need open debate on that asap.

Sindh will become desert if we do not build damns, someone need to go and tell that to Sindhi people. Wake them up and let them have control over Kalabagh, but must be built.
Correction, Tectonic. Actually it's too close to a couple of fault zones at least.

Liberal 000

You are right!

What if Bhasha dam collapses in a quake, such a large body of water will inundate entire Pakistan along river Sindh from Northern Mountains to the sea.

People of KPK s won't even have a warning time to evacuate and in mountainous areas water flow will be horribly devastating!

Leave earthquake aside what if India strikes it citing the reason it's on a disputed land

Liberal 000

Kalabag is a best option but Sindhi and Pushtuni ego lol these people will destroy Pakistan just to undermine Punjab

LovePK-or-LeavePK

You are right! What if Bhasha dam collapses in a quake, such a large body of water will inundate entire Pakistan along river Sindh from Northern Mountains to the sea. People of KPK s won't even have a warning time to evacuate and the in mountainous areas water flow will be horribly devastating!

Leave earthquake aside what if India strikes it citing the reason it's on a disputed land

Well let's not overplay this. I am sure they have done studies on this before they will put such money in the ground. Bhasha dam study was actually done by World Bank and it's all up to International standards.

Also it is easier for Pakistan to destroy Krishanganga anytime than India to reach all the way to Bhasha Dam

Thirdly, India barks a lot but they can't afford any conflict or war with Pakistan. After all India has a lot more to loose.

All that western investments in to india fly away like snow flakes if they come to find out that India Pakistan are going on war.

Loss will be unbearable for India. Plus, this is not like old times. If India start such adventure, Pakistan will finish it for good. They know it and therefore they will never commit such stupidity.

Liberal 000

Well let's not overplay this. I am sure they have done studies on this before they will put such money in the ground.

Also it is easier for Pakistan to destroy Krishanganga anytime than India to reach all the way to Bhasha Dam

Thirdly, India barks a lot but they can't afford any conflict or war with Pakistan. After all India has a lot more to loose.

All that western investments in to india fly away like snow flakes if they come to find out that India Pakistan are going on war.

Loss will be unbearable for India.

Striking Krishganga will be like strike on Pakistan itself... all the water will be destroying Pakistani Punjab!

EngrHaseebShahid

For thread starter : ek tou hr lallu panju mou utha kr shuru ho jata hai...agr punjab mai bana rahay hain tou definitely according to feasibility report bana rahay hain

LovePK-or-LeavePK

Striking Krishganga will be like strike on Pakistan itself... all the water will be destroying Pakistani Punjab!

I think you leave that to the Air Force, I guess they will plan well if necessary. Also Pakistani rivers don't really run all year long, there will be plenty of capacity to accomodate such.

Other option is to hit is partially so the operation there will halt and seepage starts but flooding will never even happen.