Cash-strapped K-P govt amends law to borrow from itself

khyber_pukhthunkhwa_logo_-_pukhtoogle.jpg

PESHAWAR:

The Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) government on Wednesday issued an ordinance to amend the Hydel Development Fund (HDF) Act to allow it to reallocate money from the fund.
The cash-strapped K-P government is set to borrow Rs15 billion from the fund to finance budget items. It claims the money would be returned in the next fiscal year, said an official privy to the development.

Sources say that the K-P Energy and Power department has an estimated Rs30 billion in the fund.

However, Section-3(4) of law proscribes the government from using the fund for any apart other than hydel energy development.
The amount contributed to the fund shall be exclusively utilised for the development of hydel electricity in the province, Section-3(4) states.

To remove this barrier, the government issued an ordinance on March 7 to amend the aforementioned section as well as other sections in the law.

Under the ordinance, the government can utilise the funds for any other purpose subject to the approval of the HDF board.

The board is comprised of the chief minister, chief secretary, additional chief secretary, the finance minister and secretary, the energy minister and secretary, the Bank of Khyber managing director, and the Pakhtunkhwa Energy Development Organization managing director.

The nomenclature of the HDF has been revised to the Energy Development Fund.

The change means the K-P Energy and Power Department can also use the fund to develop other energy sources including solar and wind energy.

In April 2016, the provincial government furnished the very same ordinance, titled, The K-P Energy Development Ordinance 2016.

The regime had to borrow Rs15 billion from the fund in order to support the weak financial health of the province.
Last year, the finance department returned the amount in time and we expect them to return it again after completing its requirements, said a senior official dealing with the matter.

In February 2017, the summary to promulgate the ordinance was moved and the government pushed to amend the law via an ordinance.

Although it was in session at that time, the matter was not raised in the K-P Assembly.
The aim was to do the job silently and quickly. The opposition members would have caused an uproar in the assembly if the amendments were sent in the form of a legislative bill, the official added while explicating the motive behind the issuance of an ordinance.

Efforts to raise funds

The regime has desperately been endeavouring to arrange the amount within its means to meet its expenditures in the current fiscal year.

It has tried to borrow Rs17 billion from the pension and general provident fund.
Nevertheless, the deal could not materialise due to the board members of these funds demanding high-interest rates from the government.

Similarly, K-P government tried to get the money from the World Bank, but once again that effort was also unsuccessful, said a senior official in the finance department.

Dismal financial performance
Conversely, the government is struggling to meet its revenue targets for the current year.
Fiscal operations details issued by the federal finance ministry show that the K-P government has only received Rs7.04 billion in provincial tax receipts, while Rs17.4 billion has been received in non-tax receipts in the first six months of this fiscal year.

The non-tax receipts include Rs13.8 billion of the hydroelectricity profit transfers from the federal government.
The K-P governments own non-tax receipts are only Rs3.6 billion.

The provincial government had set a target for tax receipts at Rs18.17 billion and Rs31.3 billion for non-tax receipts.
Both figures now seem highly optimistic.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/1355842/cash-strapped-k-p-govt-amends-law-borrow/

پنجابی کی کہاوت ہے جتھے ساڈا نور جمال کھوتا کھرکا سب ہلال ----- پنجاب حکومت نے یہاں سے فنڈ نکال کر وہاں لگا دیے - وہاں سے نکال کر یہاں لگا دیے - یہ کر دیا وہ کر دیا
جب خود کو پتا چلا کہ وسائل کی کمی میں ایسا کرنا پڑتا ہے تو اب بل کے بجاۓ اورڈینینس کے ذریے میز کے نیچے نیچے ہی کرنے کے پروگرام
منافقت زندہ باد

خٹک صاحب نے کہا
او مڑا وفاقی حکومت کر رہی ہے نا بجلی پر کام ہم نے کیا پٹ لینا ہے اتنے بڑے کام ہمرے بس کی بات نہیں - چلو کھاؤ پیسے اس فنڈ میں سے

پنجابی کی کہاوت ہے جتھے ساڈا نور جمال کھوتا کھرکا سب ہلال ----- پنجاب حکومت نے یہاں سے فنڈ نکال کر وہاں لگا دیے - وہاں سے نکال کر یہاں لگا دیے - یہ کر دیا وہ کر دیا
جب خود کو پتا چلا کہ وسائل کی کمی میں ایسا کرنا پڑتا ہے تو اب بل کے بجاۓ اورڈینینس کے ذریے میز کے نیچے نیچے ہی کرنے کے پروگرام
منافقت زندہ باد
You see, every time you open a thread, you 'crowd' it with absurd comments and replies of your own. And when someone comes in and gives you facts and figures, you promptly 'announce the closure' of the thread, and dart off. Bus itni si phook hai?

Do you have any idea what the original post that you quoted is about?
Do you realize how much the fed still owes to KPK in arrears, and why they were forced to borrow?
Do you realize that despite being the source of the power, KPK residents pay the same rate as those in Punjab/Sindh/Baluchistan?
Do you realize that CPEC was always meant to incorporate smaller provinces, and the original plan was to establish economic freezones on the western route in order to encourage investors?

Arent you the least bit ashamed of comparing an impoverished, historically terrorism and crime riddled province like KPK with the affluent and cash rich Punjab?
Arent you bothered at all while comparing a 4th year CM with a 23rd year CM?

values

مرکز نے سی پیک کے دو سو ارب روپے اورینج ٹرین میں جھونک ڈالے مگر کے پی کے کو اس کا اپنا حصہ بھی نہ دیا .
یہ لٹیرے بدمعاش اپنے چہرے پر کالک مل کر کہتے ہیں کہ ترقی ہو رہی ہے مگر صوبوں کو ان کے بقایا جات نہیں دیتے
یہ خدائی خوار گدھے پر سوار ہیں

And you always flood it with your "state of art" facts this and facts that. examples this and examples that.
And quite successfully turn the topic. If you just look at the highlighted parts, you by yourself will understand what I am talking about.

What I have pointed out has nothing to do with the Arrears
Nothing to do with KPK residents pay rate compared to punjab.
Nothing to do with CPEC and smaller provinces.

Please will bite dont drag it under the shadow of your tree of wisdom.
Stay on the topic of Munafiqat which i pointed out here.
I have not objected on the act of borrowing from different heads. I have objected on how you people and your leader behave when same is done by Punjab Govt.

You see, every time you open a thread, you 'crowd' it with absurd comments and replies of your own. And when someone comes in and gives you facts and figures, you promptly 'announce the closure' of the thread, and dart off. Bus itni si phook hai?

Do you have any idea what the original post that you quoted is about?
Do you realize how much the fed still owes to KPK in arrears, and why they were forced to borrow?
Do you realize that despite being the source of the power, KPK residents pay the same rate as those in Punjab/Sindh/Baluchistan?
Do you realize that CPEC was always meant to incorporate smaller provinces, and the original plan was to establish economic freezones on the western route in order to encourage investors?

Arent you the least bit ashamed of comparing an impoverished, historically terrorism and crime riddled province like KPK with the affluent and cash rich Punjab?
Arent you bothered at all while comparing a 4th year CM with a 23rd year CM?

Munawarkhan

And you always flood it with your "state of art" facts this and facts that. examples this and examples that.
And quite successfully turn the topic. If you just look at the highlighted parts, you by yourself will understand what I am talking about.

I have not objected on the act of borrowing from different heads. I have objected on how you people and your leader behave when same is done by Punjab Govt.

I wanted to start the reply by bashing the KPK govt for their inefficient planning, how they could've not be in such a situation by efficient cash flow planning.

BUT

Seeing Raja's comment, I realise that it is still too early for the 'awaam' . They are happy with the road getting repaired infront of their house 6 month before election.

They can't still differentiate between, legal formal process of securing additional cash and just using funds on your own authority whenever you like from where you like.

Husaink

اے اوہی الی بے بے تے نئی جڑی چھپکلیاں تل تل کے کھلآندی ہے تے آپے وی کھاندی اے

لگدا توں اج کھوتے دے کھروڑے کھا بیٹھاں تے تینوں ہضم ہو رئے

2 quick points.
1. Hydel fund is not built solely on hydel profits. KPK govts have, over the years and decades, added a lot of cash equity into it as well.
2. In punjab, whenever SS wants to stray from the norm, he simply issues orders. In this case, the govt has gone about the right way by using legislation.
3. KPK govt borrowed from hydel fund last year as well, and paid it back.
4. Federal tax receipts in KPK are low. Federal taxation is the responsibility of FBR.
5. The taxable receipts growth rate in KPK is the higest in Pakistan. They taxed agriculture, and taxed big landlords, who had never been touched in the past. As a result, their tax receipts have grown exponentially.

Do you want to criticize them for borrowing from the hydel fund? Go ahead and do it, but compare it with something that has a par value in Punjab....not apples and oranges.

devoid feast

believe me they are not going to send them to swiss banks or nobody is buying property in londonwith it. one come to know after almost 25 years that nooras are misusing the money they borrow in the name of projects. on 60% they build/buy their property in london and with 10% they feed their loyal pets and the rest 30% is used to build bridges which meets the ground in weeks.

Hamza Khalil Janjua

پنجابی کی کہاوت ہے جتھے ساڈا نور جمال کھوتا کھرکا سب ہلال ----- پنجاب *کومت نے یہاں سے فنڈ نکال کر وہاں لگا دیے - وہاں سے نکال کر یہاں لگا دیے - یہ کر دیا وہ کر دیا
منافقت زندہ باد
Wasail ki kami? economy sedhi simth chal pari hai sb kch zabardast ho gya hai tu punjab me idhr se udhr se fund nikalna kyun zarurat? :D :D
dusri baat hydel k reserve me se law change kr borrowing ki jaa ri hai officially jis ka matlab on offical record borrower has to pay back .... punjab me kon sa law laya gya tha jo health education se katoti kr k fund nikalay ge ? aur law agr ni tha tu katoti krny k bad wapis dalay ge paisai? ....

Jahalat Zindabad!!

bisaat

PTI waale to kehte the k hum ayen ge to kashkol torh den ge

aaj inki corruption ki waja se loan lena parh rha he, bloody corrupt party

aik banda jo is corruption ko rok rha tha justice wajihuddin usko laat maar ker party se nikal dya

regards

uturninqlab

:biggthumpup:پوٹواری صاب ، راجہ صاب کی بات کا جواب دو ذاتیات پہ حملہ سے گریز کرو

araein

2 quick points.
1. Hydel fund is not built solely on hydel profits. KPK govts have, over the years and decades, added a lot of cash equity into it as well.
2. In punjab, whenever SS wants to stray from the norm, he simply issues orders. In this case, the govt has gone about the right way by using legislation.
4. Federal tax receipts in KPK are low. Federal taxation is the responsibility of FBR.
5. The taxable receipts growth rate in KPK is the higest in Pakistan. They taxed agriculture, and taxed big landlords, who had never been touched in the past. As a result, their tax receipts have grown exponentially.

Do you want to criticize them for borrowing from the hydel fund? Go ahead and do it, but compare it with something that has a par value in Punjab....not apples and oranges.

@Rajarawal111, aaaaap ko ghaaaaibbbbb hi ho gaaaayyyy, Please reply to Will_Bite with solid arguments... I hope u will not run away this time..... @Rajarawal111 ji haziiiiiiiiir hooooon

araein

:biggthumpup:پوٹواری صاب ، راجہ صاب کی بات کا جواب دو ذاتیات پہ حملہ سے گریز کرو

Raja sahab ki baaaat ka jawab Will_Bite bohat achay tareeeeqay se de dia haaaaiiiii, aaaap perh laein...... Ager aaaap ke pass will_bite ki baton ka jawab haaaai to aaaap jawab de daein.... I like to read will_bite comments... He always come with solid arguments...

araein

2 quick points.

(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap) Sir g, i like to read ur comments....