Assange WikiLeaks thinks he's above the law: Jemima Khan

Khansaber

[h=1]Assange? He thinks he's above the law: Jemima Khan turns against fugitive Wikileaks founder[/h]

• Becomes first celebrity backer to criticise Wikileaks founder for jumping bail
  • Said she had gone from 'admiration to demoralisation' regarding the wikiLeaks site
  • Miss Khan said its supporters were expected to follow in 'cultish devotion'
  • Likened Assange to Hubbard, the founder of the Church of Scientology

Jemima Khan became the first celebrity backer of Julian Assange to publicly criticise his decision to jump bail and seek refuge in the Ecuadorian Embassy in London.

Nearly eight months after the WikiLeaks founder took up residence in the diplomatic building, Miss Khan, who put up bail money for Assange, laid bare her frustrations at his attempts to dodge extradition to Sweden where he is wanted over rape and sex assault allegations.

She gave an extraordinary insight into how Assange, whose whistleblowing website angered Washington by releasing thousands of U.S. diplomatic cables in 2010, has alienated some of his staunchest allies.

Miss Khan, 39, described how she had previously supported Assange - even after he was arrested over the claims in late 2010.
But the socialite and former wife of cricket star Imran Khan now says that his female accusers have human rights, too, and that she had gone from admiration to demoralisation on the subject of WikiLeaks.

Miss Khan, 39, described how she had previously supported Assange - even after he was arrested over the claims in late 2010.
But the socialite and former wife of cricket star Imran Khan now says that his female accusers have human rights, too, and that she had gone from admiration to demoralisation on the subject of WikiLeaks.
She said in the New Statesmen: The timing of the rape allegations and the issuing of the Interpol arrest warrant for Assange in November 2010 initially seemed suspicious to many, including me.
'They came just two days after the release of the first batch of embarrassing state department cables.
She went on: It may well be that the serious allegations of sexual assault and rape are not substantiated in court, but I have come to the conclusion that these are all matters for Swedish due process and that Assange is undermining both himself and his own transparency agenda as well as doing the US department of justice a favour by making his refusal to answer questions in Sweden into a human rights issue.
There have been three rounds in the UK courts and the UK courts have upheld the European Arrest Warrant in his name three times.
The women in question have human rights, too, and need resolution. Assanges noble cause and his wish to avoid a US court does not trump their right to be heard in a Swedish court.
I dont regret putting up bail money for Assange but I did it so that he would be released while awaiting trial, not so that he could avoid answering to the allegations.

Miss Khan, who is associate editor of the New Statesmen, said: The problem is that WikiLeaks whose mission statement was to produce . . . a more just society . . . based upon truth has been guilty of the same obfuscation and misinformation as those it sought to expose, while its supporters are expected to follow, unquestioningly, in blinkered, cultish devotion.

She said that in August last year, she tried several times to ask Assange to address points about his extradition battle which had been made by a New Statesman colleague, but he snubbed each attempt.

I was told that Assange was very busy, though I was invited to visit the Ecuadorean embassy, where he had recently taken refuge to avoid extradition, for a photo opportunity, which I declined, she said.

I have seen flashes of Assanges charm, brilliance and insightfulness but I have also seen how instantaneous rock-star status has the power to make even the most clear-headed idealist feel that they are above the law and exempt from criticism.

Ahud khan

Jamiema ko ab q kharabian nazar aa rehie hien julian assange mien ? jamiema ney julian asange ki zamanat kerwaie the aur wo us ki best friend the tu ab kiya in mien bhi breakup hu gaya?

pakistani786

My leader do, what about your leader, what about your top top leaders, un houn ne bhee phd ke hoyey hai...Now don't you worry and keep voting them, they need you. PTI ke top leaders wohey hain jo PML main small leader thay, ya PPP main small leader they... per ab woh pak saaf farishtay ho gayay hain, aur vice president wagera ban gayay hain

But your elders do.Like Mushahidullah.Don't worry Stay in Mushahidullah's School for a while and you will get your Double PhD very soon.lolz