Analysis of Rehman Maik incident

PIND-WALA

After the videos inside the plane and both politicians being kicked out from plane , there are few things that I observed and it also raised few questions in my head, thought to share with folks on this forum.
1-All the passengers were mostly well off , rich and educated.
2- They were mostly aged and mature enough.
3- They were all angry and upset.
4- despite being angry, i did not see anyone being disrespectful or cursing.
5- Did not notice anyone saying something which is not our cultural norms, meaning they kept themselves with decency limits.

I think they were right on everything they did especially making the videos so no one can deny afterwards. Although Rehman Malik tried to paint it as a drunk guy which was clearly a lie. Lesson to be learnt from this incident is that people are waking up slowly and politicians and beauraucrats must change themselves for better or there is tough time ahead for them.
Now the questions in my mind are,
Lets say that people were not rich enough, educated enough and mature enough?
what if this incident( something like it ) were to take place on a roadside where any kind of people can show up to make it look like a crowd or a mob?
What if these people somehow had access to tools to cause damage like sticks,bricks whatever?
What if this incident was not merely about holding off a plane but about the bread and butter of certain people?

Some people might disagree but I think we are headed towards a situation where people might run down the palaces of Raiwind and Bilawal house and burn them into flames ,I hope politicians correct themselves so we dont see that day.

Omrkhan

There were some curse words in the background. And one of em was really really nasty.
Lekn Bhi Kamal hogia. I am still not out of shock. It's just a matter of time ke koi bhe
VIP Awam ko hath sahe wala pite ga.

kwan225

I would love to see that... (bigsmile)

Some people might disagree but I think we are headed towards a situation where people might run down the palaces of Raiwind and Bilawal house and burn them into flames

Night_Hawk

[h=1]Pakistan Rehman Malik: Passengers force ex-minister off plane[/h]
_77617281_ca309f7f-6fbe-48be-96af-f4219b50f513.jpg

Former Interior Minister Rehman Malik had to find another way to get to Islamabad

A group of irate passengers prevented a top Pakistani politician from boarding a flight, after they were kept on board for two hours until he arrived.

It is not clear why former Interior Minister Rehman Malik and another politician were so late to turn up.

But the passengers were so incensed a scheduled flight was kept waiting for the politicians, they forced them back.

Footage shows Mr Malik confronted by jeering passengers who shout: "You should be ashamed of yourself".

"150 passengers have been put out because of you," they continued, demanding an apology and bemoaning the state of the nation.

"We've taken it for 68 years. Are we going to take it another 68?" one is heard saying in despair.
The other politician, Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, a member of the ruling PML-N party, was also turned back by passengers.

Monday night's Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) flight from Karachi to Islamabad eventually took off without the two men.
Mr Malik, who blamed the delay on PIA on his Twitter feed, appears to remonstrate but his comments are barely audible as they are drowned out by the furious passengers.
_77189503_line976.jpg

Analysis: Nosheen Abbas, BBC Urdu, Islamabad
Pakistan's social media is ablaze with talk of VIP culture, and with anger and frustration being vented against Mr Malik.
It is all about the assumptions that VIPs have the right to hold up flights, skip queues and cause traffic jams - and the public just has to suffer.
Two years ago a report that a woman had to give birth in a car because roads had been cleared to make way for a VIP sparked anger. Some even allege that people have died on their way to hospitals because of this.
The frustration was palpable among ordinary Pakistanis I spoke to today.
"I think it is very good what happened to Rehman Malik," one person told me. Another pointed out: "Now when someone gets money they instantly hire guards to protect them - it's all just for show to get good treatment. The traffic, police, army, everyone accommodates them."
Some appeared resigned to the way the things are: "Pakistan seems like it's only made for VIPs - it's a VIP country."
_77189503_line976.jpg

Pakistanis are sharing the video on social networks and hailing the passengers who took action, and the incident has re-ignited a debate on "VIP culture" in Pakistan.
PIA told the Dawn newspaper the flight had been delayed for 90 minutes due to a technical issue and said passengers had received text messages about the delay.
The airline added that it had suspended two employees for causing a further "unnecessary delay". It insisted that it does not promote "VIP culture".
An aide to Pakistan's Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif said that on top of the technical delay of 90 minutes, the aircraft had been held up for a further 25 minutes because Mr Malik was late, AFP reports.

amber123

I would love to see that... (bigsmile)

Some people might disagree but I think we are headed towards a situation where people might run down the palaces of Raiwind and Bilawal house and burn them into flames

Laazim hai ka hum bhee dekhain gey...................This will be due to the inaction of judiciary............rather collapse of the judicial system. Have this system been active many of the issues would have been solved/settled enough to calm public unrest and emotion.

Exiled-Pakistani

Oh my God!

I just watched the video and I was humbled by the stance that people took against Malik. I sincerely thank them and salute them. These politician dogs need to be treated with utter contempt; I suggest next time use jootas to treat these fcuks. The message is clear you fcuks that we are sick and tired of you crooks.

Exiled-Pakistani

Apa 108:

To answer all your questions consider that ordinary people always follow the examples set by one class above them. It is clear from this video and and dharnas in Islamabad that the middle class is waking up. They are saying enough is enough. The underclass will follow suite insha Allah.

Power to the people!

PIND-WALA

Apa 108:

To answer all your questions consider that ordinary people always follow the examples set by one class above them. It is clear from this video and and dharnas in Islamabad that the middle class is waking up. They are saying enough is enough. The underclass will follow suite insha Allah.

Power to the people!

Yes I agree but i am confident that next time such thing happens , it will not be peaceful.

umarshehzad

"It will set the wrong precedent" is too weak an argument to ignore such arrogance and inconsiderate behavior by these so called VVIPs and VIPs.

amoxil500mg

طلوبٹ بالکل بھی اتفاق نہیں کرتا ارسطو کے دور میں یہ نہیں ہوتا تھا بکراط سقراط کے معیار پر یہ طرز عمل پورا نہیں اترتا کسی بھی سینٹر کے ساتھ یہ سلوک زیب نہیں دیتا۔
اور آخر میں ہمیں آپکی ووڈیو بالکل بھی پسند نہیں آئی۔

arafay

my 2 cents
1) pmln guy was so baigharat that he took the seat until he was eventually kicked out whereas rehamn malik didnt even enter the plane
2) pmln guy was hiding the fact that he was an mna. normally mna show off that they are man by their car number plates etc. but after seeing the public mood they afraid to tell anybody they are member bloody parliament.

closedstreet

No body is playing dirty Mr.Rehman, people are fed up with you guys. The nation is waking up for all the ills you people have inflected upon them. It takes one person to stand up for his or her rights, history is full of these brave men and women around the world. It seems that IK is being successful to awaken the young generation and to some extent the whole nation. I applaud the passengers to take the stand because they have also paid for their tickets and most likely more than the two so called VIPs. It is time that the people stand up and be counted, put an end to this dynastic politics and their corrupt so called leaders. I salute you because you stood up for your rights and refused to be pushed around by any one any more any where in Pakistan. Change is on the horizon and let us welcome it with open hearts and hands.