Ambitious development projects in limbo as K-P faces financial crunch

1395825-finance-1493366414-123-640x480.jpg

PESHAWAR:

Amid a surge in its developmental work portfolio, the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) government once again is going through a financial crunch as the province lacks resources to fund its projects, said officials.

The provincial Annual Development Programme (ADP) for the current fiscal year was Rs161 billion but as per revised allocations, the ADP portfolio has swelled to Rs175.3 billion – a rise of Rs14.3 billion.

According to official sources, a major portion of the ADP is being used for the Swat Expressway, a multi-billion rupees project.

The allocation for roads sector has been increased from Rs11.5 billion to Rs22.8 billion while Rs20.8 billion have also been released, according to figures the finance department submitted in the K-P assembly.

Similarly, an additional allocation of Rs0.5 billion each for information and health sectors, and Rs0.3 billion each for finance and local government have been made by the K-P government for their individual developmental portfolios.

The provincial government, however, is now struggling to achieve its revenue targets set for the current fiscal year.

According to the details of the fiscal operation issued by the federal finance ministry, during the first six months of the year 2016-17, the K-P government has only received Rs7.04 billion in provincial tax receipts and Rs3.6 billion in non-tax receipts. Its target for provincial tax and non-tax receipts is Rs18.17 billion and Rs31.3 billion respectively.

With the current portfolio, the K-P government will face a shortfall of more than Rs20 billion in revenue targets, while the total budget shortfall will be over Rs50 billion, said official sources.

“Definitely it (the shortfall) will hit our development funds and we have to freeze funds for developmental projects to meet the running expenditures of the province,” an official said on condition of anonymity.

The provincial government is yet to draw a Rs12 billion loan – reflected in the budget – from domestic banks to meet its developmental portfolio along with borrowing Rs15 billion from the K-P Energy Development Fund.

The K-P Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, and his cabinet, have already been in a tug of war with the provincial finance department. Rumours about the removal of a few federal bureaucrats, including K-P’s Finance Secretary Ali Raza Bhutta and Additional Chief Secretary Azam Khan, are circulating in the Peshawar’s Civil Secretariat – the hub of provincial government machinery.

Home and Tribal Affairs Secretary Shakeel Qadir has been asked by the provincial government to replace K-P’s finance secretary but a decision on it has been delayed after the finance minister Muzaffar Said intervened, sources confirmed.

“The removal of Bhutta from the office will not end the province’s financial crunch,”
said another source quoting Said.

CM Khattak has long been pressing Bhutta to release discretionary funds and money needed for the umbrella schemes in the ADP. But the finance secretary has been resisting the move since the Supreme Court (SC) imposed a ban on discretionary funds.

During a meeting of the K-P Energy Development Fund that was held on April 10, Khattak seemed upset with Bhutta for not releasing the discretionary funds.

“Bhutta told the K-P chief minister that the province is facing a financial crisis and his department has no money,” an official, who also attended the meeting, said quoting the finance secretary.

The official added, Bhutta also informed Khattak that K-P’s Planning and Development Department should review the ADP and that if the departments surrender money then it could be given to the umbrella schemes.

The K-P government also faced financial issues last year in the wake of irrational calculations and demands.
A number of schemes from the ADP were also dropped to stabilise the province’s financial health.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/139582...nt-projects-limbo-k-p-faces-financial-crunch/

Under calculation for the projects cost,
Over Expenditures,
Leching funds from other departments,
Taking Loans for the banks,
Fighting with bureaucrats, expecting them to bend the rules to meet the need of hour.

Man it sounds soooooo familiar just like a Deja Vu

کم کرن لاگو تے پتا چلنا اے کتنے وییاں نا سو ہونا اے

Muqadas

صوبہ خیبر پختونخواہ غریب اور حکمران امیر ہوتے جارہے ہیں
نیازی کے اثاثے ایک کروڑ سے ایک سو پنتیس کروڑ ہو گئے
سپیکر اسمبلی کے اثاثے میں چالیس کروڑ کا اضافہ ہو گیا

C-hWtHwWAAErQm2.jpg

araein

C-hWtHwWAAErQm2.jpg

Imran Khan Arab pati kesey ho gaya??? Kia is ke assets increase huway heiiiiiiiiiiiinnn??? Guide me plz

araein

Under calculation for the projects cost,
Over Expenditures,
Leching funds from other departments,
Taking Loans for the banks,
Fighting with bureaucrats, expecting them to bend the rules to meet the need of hour.

Man it sounds soooooo familiar just like a Deja Vu

کم کرن لاگو تے پتا چلنا اے کتنے وییاں نا سو ہونا اے

Yaaar kaaafi din ho gay hein tum ne koi bijli ka new project nahin legaya.......

jeelu

Lol pehle ro rahah thay kp not utilising its budget ub ro rahay hein its going over budget :D aur muqadas bibi imran k asasay barhay tou fia wale phupho k ghur ki safae k lye rakhay hein hakumat nay? Karao investigation hakat tumhari hai hahaha

araein

Sirkar Kuch masroofiyt ki wajha se wat nheen de suk raha. Chand dino tuk lagaon ga koi naya project.

Yaaaar plz lega dooooo, aaaap jitney projects legatey hoooo itnniiiiiiiiii loadshedding bhi berh jaaaati haaaaaiiiiiiiiiii......................... Waisey is saaaal ke end tak hum log kitni MW india ko bijli export ker laein gaaaayyyyyyyy......

Can you honestly tell me that you really dont know the reason for the increase in IK's assets? or are you just paid for portraying your ignorance?

As for the OP, Rajarawal lost his sanity a few weeks ago, apparently hitting his head on one of the eggs Maryam Aurangzeb left behind. . He doesnt know better to compare apples and oranges.

What exactly does that mean, about loosing my sanity. When and what actually happened :lol:
Guess you are talking about one of the Mariums press conference thread I posted. But remind me what was apples and oranges thing.

Can you honestly tell me that you really dont know the reason for the increase in IK's assets? or are you just paid for portraying your ignorance?

As for the OP, Rajarawal lost his sanity a few weeks ago, apparently hitting his head on one of the eggs Maryam Aurangzeb left behind. . He doesnt know better to compare apples and oranges.

araein

Yaaar aaap ki beta do ke imran khan ke kon kon se assets increase huway heiiiin jo woh arab peti bun gaya haaaaiiiii... @Muqadas se pooocha haaaai woh bhi nahin beta reha / rehi... Aaaap hi beta dooooo ke Imran Khan arab patiii kesey ho gaya haaaai

Because FBR changed the way property prices are quoted in wealth statement. Previously it was based on purchase price. Now its based on market price.
Muqadas belongs to a third rate breed of patwaris who would sell their soul and lie through their teeth solely to malign others.

Hate_Nooras

Because FBR changed the way property prices are quoted in wealth statement. Previously it was based on purchase price. Now its based on market price.
Muqadas belongs to a third rate breed of patwaris who would sell their soul and lie through their teeth solely to malign others.
Stop trying to explain simple things to these dumb c*nts. Remember Nooras celebrated the fact that the criminal ******* was called the god father.

What exactly does that mean, about loosing my sanity. When and what actually happened :lol:
Guess you are talking about one of the Mariums press conference thread I posted. But remind me what was apples and oranges thing.
Also remind me how your baigarat leader is stuck to the seat of the PM after being declared a certified corrupt fraud lying thief.

Apples : Spends 33 crore from public exchequer to defend his corrupt in the Supreme court, Spends 11 billion from Public exchequer to plaster his ugly pitkar ridden face all over the media in adverts, dumps entire province budget on his jungla buses and trains in one city.

Oranges : Works with in its legally sanctioned budget on projects aimed for the betterment of the public.

But I know as a darbari dogg you are too dumb to comprehend such things

Also remind me how your baigarat leader is stuck to the seat of the PM after being declared a certified corrupt fraud lying thief.

Apples : Spends 33 crore from public exchequer to defend his corrupt in the Supreme court, Spends 11 billion from Public exchequer to plaster his ugly pitkar ridden face all over the media in adverts, dumps entire province budget on his jungla buses and trains in one city.

Oranges : Works with in its legally sanctioned budget on projects aimed for the betterment of the public.

All i heard was duz duz dhraam dhraam duz........
I had asked will bite about some previous conversation. Was not able to understand what he said.

How unfortunate, I was expecting some good arguments on the topic. Especially from you Will bite. But this was dragged into totally different direction.

No one cared to explain anything about what is mentioned in the thread. Now this thread is dead.
Oo Well, this is Awmi jamhoiya Intenetiya, nothing can be discussed about the PTI and Imran Khan leadership's actual failures. Where he fails to prove his alternate solutions which he was supposed to have. Failures where people like me stumble and start thinking what is the alternate he has in hand. When it comes to the real play the rules of the game are the same even in KPK

Chalo koi baat nhen. No need to reply to my post if you dont have anything to say on this topic.

Yaaar kaaafi din ho gay hein tum ne koi bijli ka new project nahin legaya.......

Don't worry about kpk lets just focus on Punjab chor shabaz sharif

Stop trying to explain simple things to these dumb c*nts. Remember Nooras celebrated the fact that the criminal ******* was called the god father.

Was not able to understand what he said.
Don't worry all will be explained once you explain to us the few questions raised from a very long and extensive charge sheet.

Starting with how your baigarat leader is stuck to the seat of the PM after being declared a certified corrupt fraud lying thief ? How can you justify your corrupt leader and PM spending 33 crores of Pakistans money in defending his corruption. Go ahead, we are all ears.