Aman KA Tamasha : Pak's T20 champs forced out of hotel in India

Pak1stani

Pak's T20 champs forced out of Chandigarh hotel over visa

In what appears to be a callous oversight by the Indian foreign ministry officials, Pakistan’s T20 team for the Champions trophy had a nightmarish experience when they were forced out of a Chandigarh hotel on Sunday.

The team, Faisalabad Wolves led by Misbah ul Haq, was asked to leave the hotel because its members were issued visas that allowed them to stay only in Mohali, where the match venue is located, and not in adjoining Chandigarh.
The team spent the night at the club house of Mohali stadium. The Indian cricket board officials were talking to the foreign ministry to find an early solution to the issue.

However, later in the day, television channels reported that the team has been granted visa for Chandigarh.
Earlier, Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) joint secretary GS Walia said, “The BCCI is already in talks with the ministry of external affairs and the home ministry and I am hopeful that the issue will be resolved at the earliest. Till then the team will be accommodated in the clubhouse. If the issue is not resolved by today evening, I think it will be sorted out on Monday for sure.”
Chandigarh-Mohali are adjoining cities and come under different jurisdiction with the former a UT and the latter falling under Punjab has lead to this confusion.
While Chandigarh has kept pace with the changing times and boasts of at least three five-star hotels, Mohali boasts of no such facilities.
In the past also whenever Mohali has hosted an ODI and or a Test match or any match of an international repute, the visa has been issued for both the cities.
Faisalabad Wolves, who might have been looking to settle down, acclimatise with the conditions and prepare for the matches ahead were left with nothing else but wait.
“I can’t say much on this; it’s out of our hands. But, I hope things will be sorted out,” said Wolves coach Naveed Anjum.
Not the first time
In 2012, former Pakistan all-rounder Azhar Mahmood also had to grapple with the visa issue. First, there was a delay in issuing the visa to Mahmood, who is also citizen of England, to play in the Indian Premier League (IPL)-5.
But after much dilly-dallying when the visa finally arrived, it gave him permission to visit only Chandigarh and Delhi. It meant that at the best he would be available to his franchisee Kings XI Punjab for just five home matches and one away match against Delhi Daredevils.
The issue was resolved only after it was taken up at the highest level by the IPL and the BCCI.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Punja...buffer&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Buffer

Bunna

بدنام نہ ہونگے تو کیا نام نہ ہوگا

ویسے بھی آج کل ہم سب کو ایسا ہی لگتا ہے کے

عزت تو آنی جانی شے ہے
انسان کومالدار ہونا چاہیے

MUmmah1

Why our players and artists die to go to India when we know they will use all tricks to humiliate them. Why PCB always request and behaves in an apologetic way with BCCI to play with us. When will we learn the lesson? I guess never, until we learn to have and display self respect. It seems we have lost everything, a very sad situation.

FlyHigh

This happens everytime but our shameless government does not care. We should close doors to these SOB's for good, and anybody who goes for any reaon need not come back.

They were not forced out. From my understanding the Pak players did not gave the authority or papers required to be in Chandigarh.

ualis

What ever, its a shame on our part to go to endia and be humiliated time and again...Thori see bhi ghairat hoti tu wapis aajatay....

Darik

India wants to isolate Pakistan in the world. This is our fault. Nawaz must have Reputed High commissioners world over. Shabaz and Nawaz don't trust any body, they always keep all the posts with them. What a shame, this is the way, they will rule 190 million poor Pakistani.

GILL123

Initially they were issued visa for Punjab only, but now India govt issued them visa for Chandigarh too. Chandigarh is union territory.

zubairRehmat

Asslam o Alaikum Yes it will happend as Indian have shown their minds as Low level. Don't bear Muslims Two Nation Theory is Proved. Hindu are not our friends. Muslims are friends each ohter but not others.

saalay maray ja rahy thy t2o khailny k liye...intehaee laalchi crickters hen hamaray yaar.. aik to minnatain kr k visay liye ab hotel se bahir nikal dia,,, aisay paison pr laaanat bhaij k wapis ajana chaye..

M Ali Khan

calm down mard-e-momino! issue has been resolved since Chandigarh is a UNION TERRITORY and NOT a part of Punjab State!!!

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...am-Faisalabad-Wolves/articleshow/22630030.cms

Additional Chandigarh visa for Pakistani team Faisalabad Wolves

PTI | Sep 16, 2013, 06.31 PM IST

NEW DELHI: In a reversal of its stand, the Union home ministry on Monday granted visa to players of Pakistan's T20 team Faisalabad Wolves to stay in Chandigarh, a day after they were unceremoniously asked to go to Mohali after they had checked in a hotel in Chandigarh.

Players of the Faisalabad Wolves were on Sunday asked to leave the hotel in Chandigarh after they had checked in and asked to go to Mohali because their visas were marked only for that Punjab town.

A senior home ministry official said that the cricketers have applied for additional visa for Chandigarh this morning and they have been granted that.

The Pakistani team, which will play their first match in Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament on Tuesday, was initially given visa only for Mohali, located in Punjab, not far away from Chandigarh.

"We have given them visa for Mohali and Chandigarh," the official said, indicating that if the Faisalabad Wolves goes to the next round and apply for other cities, the applications would be considered accordingly.

After initial hiccups, the visa to the Pakistani team was given at the eleventh hour, apparently at the intervention of the Prime Minister's Office.

The Faisalabad team, led by Misbah-ul-Haq, was invited to play in the qualifying round of the CLT20 to be held across different cities of India from September 17 to October 6.

The Wolves would play their qualifying matches in Mohali with three other teams, Sunrisers Hyderabad (IPL team), Otago Volts (New Zealand) and Kandurata Maroons ( Sri Lanka).

The Faisalabad team's participation in the CLT20 was confirmed until the LoC issues arose and that led to tensions between the two countries.

The Sialkot Stallions, champions of Pakistan's domestic league last year, had taken part in the qualifying round of the CLT20 which was held in South Africa last year.

Asslam o Alaikum Yes it will happend as Indian have shown their minds as Low level. Don't bear Muslims Two Nation Theory is Proved. Hindu are not our friends. Muslims are friends each ohter but not others.

thank you for the boring Pakistan Studies lesson. neela water cooler aap ka hua

Indyeah

as usual idiots opened this threads to bash india. Mohali and CHD are different and if visas are issued for mohali then why drama ?

Indyeah

saalay maray ja rahy thy t2o khailny k liye...intehaee laalchi crickters hen hamaray yaar.. aik to minnatain kr k visay liye ab hotel se bahir nikal dia,,, aisay paison pr laaanat bhaij k wapis ajana chaye..

i m srsprsed abt your post since it comes from moderator.Dont let others to bash india if they have zero knowledge and pls dont fall in trap.
Mohali comes in punjab and CHD is UT.

Indyeah

lo ji hahhahahahaaa ..here comes the 2 nation theory apologist

lurker

Why our players and artists die to go to India when we know they will use all tricks to humiliate them.
Because that is where the money is. People like to earn money and the more the merrier. ;) Indian rupee is also worth more than Pakistani Rupee.

i m srsprsed abt your post since it comes from moderator.Dont let others to bash india if they have zero knowledge and pls dont fall in trap.
Mohali comes in punjab and CHD is UT.

No u didnt get me....how do u feel when representatives of ur country being treated like this in pak? they are not common people, thy are stars.. india should respect their guests.. i m not bashing india.. i m bashing pakistani greedy crickters....i remember george ferndaes ex defence minister was treated badly in US airport.. in reply indian airport authorities did the same with US citizens and i was clapping when i saw this news in NDTV .. its not only abt india.. its about every country..though it hurts pakistanis more when India does that..