Ab Pakistan Ki Baari...US Weighs Military Option in Pakistan... US Threating to Pakistan

adnan78692

WASHINGTON: The U.S. military is developing plans for a unilateral attack on the Pakistani Taliban in the event of a successful terrorist strike in the United States that can be traced to them, a US newspaper reports.

Planning for a retaliatory attack was spurred by ties between alleged Times Square bomber Faisal Shahzad and elements of the Pakistani Taliban, the paper said in an article posted on its website Friday night, quoting unidentified senior military officials.

The military would focus on air and missile strikes but also could use small teams of U.S. Special Operations troops currently along the border with Afghanistan, the Post said.

Airstrikes could damage the militants' ability to launch new attacks but also might damage U.S.-Pakistani relations.

A senior U.S. official told foreign news agency that Pakistan already has been told that it has only weeks to show real progress in a crackdown against the Taliban.

5-29-2010_108282_1.gif

digitalzygot

We knew dirty US tactics, fabricating reasons and evidences isn't a problem for them. There's still time, Pakistan should quit helping US in afghanistan and let them fight their own war, we should focus on our national security. WE CAN SAVE PAKISTAN BY NOT BEING FRIENDS OF US.

jalalamardan

yar musharraf nay tu buhat pehlay kaha tha kih"sab say pehlay pakistan" laikin us ka sala bush nahi mana,and choose afghanistan first.

jimpack

There is no way Pakistan can do anything about it. You have to bend before US. If you stop cooperating with US, they will just stop giving you all important “money” that you need to survive as nation. Where is Pakistan then. Don’t joke like Zahil Hamid

Salam jalal brother.
What a humour, gotcha.. [hilar](clap)
About jimpack reply, yes it seems that they will obey as they have to fill their stomach both govt & establishment. Lets see how this camel sits.. WAMA KARO WAMA KARALLAH WALLAH O KHAIRUL MAKIREEN..

adnan78692

There is no way Pakistan can do anything about it. You have to bend before US. If you stop cooperating with US, they will just stop giving you all important “money” that you need to survive as nation. Where is Pakistan then. Don’t joke like Zahil Hamid

to kya karein unhen attack karnay dain??? wo pakistan main jahan chahein Attack karin or hum chup rahain..???
hamari qaom k jab sar pe parti hai to ye zinda rehna or survive karna b seekh leti hai... Gairat b koi cheaz hoti hai ... main hukmarano ki baat nahi kar raha ... wo to hain he begairat... i m asking about pakistani nation... and inshalah pakistani qaom fully resist karay gi... or hum inshallah kamyaab hongay...

sami

kehnay main or sochnay main or kernay main bohat farak hota hai,
laikin US aid ka kya karain nawab kom k nawab hukmaran.

ConcernedPakistani

You dont need to worry about Pakistan. Pakistanis will face the situation.

saeed khan

From US aid and IMF, WB loans awam did not ever any get benefit, only our rulers got those money and they transferred those money in their account outside Pakistan. Awam only got the burden and taxes to repay those loans.
I am sure it will be very good if USA stop aid, in this way corrupt and greedy politicians will leave politics. Then only those politicians will enter in politics who want to serve the nation.

We knew dirty US tactics, fabricating reasons and evidences isn't a problem for them. There's still time, Pakistan should quit helping US in afghanistan and let them fight their own war, we should focus on our national security. WE CAN SAVE PAKISTAN BY NOT BEING FRIENDS OF US.

Pak taliban will just increase shab khoons

US has already decided to invade, now it proves that faisel shahzad was fabricated story

NaveedAli

you dont know the ground realities and btw if US attack pakistan and we just have to stop their resupply lines and thats all they are doomed and again war is the option and if US attack pakistan all pakistanis will unite and thats the biggest disaster for US and western forces cuz they want unstability in pakistan. and for the monetary aid well being an accountant i know how these aid reach us its only in books and window dressing .. not real aid and we dont need aid as all the aid is pocketed by our politicians u should say our politicians salaries are in trouble if we refuse to help US lol

MANNO

US rehearses strikes inside Pakistan: diplomats

WASHINGTON: The US military has already completed dry exercises for a unilateral strike in Pakistan, in the event an attack on the American soil is traced to that country, diplomatic sources told Dawn on Saturday.

Also known as a dry run, this trial exercise is a rehearsal of a militarys combat skills without the use of live ammunition.

The trial run for a unilateral strike in Pakistan, however, did not involve US troops. Instead, it projected computer simulations of such an attack with an assessment of a possible counterattack and of the potential resistance US troops might face if they entered the Pakistani soil.

Diplomatic sources said the Americans had already informed Pakistan of their intention to conduct such an exercise before conducting the computer simulations.

The Bush administration had also planned live exercises close to the Pakistan border after the Mumbai attacks in November 2008 and conveyed its decision to Islamabad as well, the sources added.

This caused the-then national security adviser, Mahmud Ali Durrani, to fly to Washington for convincing the Americans that such exercises would not help the fight against terrorism. Instead, they would have weakened the nascent democratic setup in Pakistan and eroded its ability to support the US-led war.

The Americans cancelled the exercise after US military chief Admiral Mike Mullen spoke to his Pakistani counterpart Gen Ashfaq Parvez Kayani and received an assurance that Pakistan would do its best to prevent extremists from using its soil for attacking other countries.

The American decision to once again explore the possibility of a unilateral military strike is not a threat, said a diplomatic source.

It aims at convincing Pakistanis that now is the time to uproot extremists. A failure to do so may lead to an attack on the US soil, which, in turn, could lead to an American military strike inside Pakistan.

The source explained that the Americans believed there were people in the Pakistani establishment who still sympathised with the jihadi elements.

While such people, according to this source, were no longer interested in protecting Al Qaeda or the Afghan Taliban, they still have a soft corner for Pakistani jihadi elements, particularly those who fought in Kashmir.

The Americans, however, have concluded that all such groups are linked to Al Qaeda, whether they are fighting in Kashmir or Afghanistan, and want all of them uprooted, the source added.

Diplomatic sources in Washington also observed that the decision to leak to the media the US militarys plans for a unilateral strike aimed at persuading any elements in the power structure in Islamabad to do what is needed: share more intelligence, stop insisting that there are good Taliban and bad Taliban and to get serious about uprooting all jihadi groups.

The Pakistani judiciary was also requested not to be lenient to people like Hafiz Saeed, the source added.

The US plans for a unilateral strike in Pakistan was first reported on Saturday by The Washington Post, which quoted top US military officials as saying that the Obama administration sought new options on striking Pakistan since a Pakistani-American attempted to attack New York City.

The report quoted unnamed US military officials as saying the US would only consider launching an attack in Pakistan in an extreme situation where current military action was not adequate. The CIA has been using drones to bomb Al Qaeda and Taliban hideouts in Pakistan.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect...s-strikes-inside-pakistan-diplomats-050-hh-09

well i believe they are already doing strikes in pakistan...but now they want to openly come
why they were doing covert operations was because they thought pakistan will resist open action
why they will come in now ...because they know the due to terror attacks and other pakistani people, army and govt are in such a state that they will not stop them and they can not stop them...

GOD BLESS PAKISTAN....

Now lets look at it closly.for the last year and a half, we have seen numerious attacks right across the country. Bomb blasts, suicide bombers ,guns shots and other bloodshed.Everytime an incident happens, it put Government of Pakistan and its appratus under scrutiny.There are logical debates going on right now about the incompetence of the Government of Pakistan and its institutions for secure the peace in country.The more attacks happens, the arguments gets stronger and stronger. Do you guys really think that the security forces of Pakistan are that much weak ? Or Is it a plan which is being orchestrated in Washington with the Pakistani Government and Armed forces are in bed together ? I have no doubt that if needed, these attacks and bloodshed would be stopped in no time. but is it really important ? or is it going to provide a pretext for something bigger for USA ? I have no doubt that our armed forces are totally in bed with Americans and it is only a ploy to start something even bigger than drone attacks. If God forbidden ever American attack Pakistan, you would see no response from our forces and it would be a totall chaotic situation.Bitch is on a war path.

Ammar isb

If United States wanted to attack Pakistan it would have done so eight years ago, enough with these conspiracy theories. The U.S cooperation in the war against terror is beyond any doubt as they have been assisting Pakistan to overcome the rampant religious extremism.

greywolf

If United States wanted to attack Pakistan it would have done so eight years ago, enough with these conspiracy theories. The U.S cooperation in the war against terror is beyond any doubt as they have been assisting Pakistan to overcome the rampant religious extremism.

Sorry I don't agree with your dismissal of rock solid facts as conspiracy theories. In fact, US has indeed threatened Pakistan in reference to stone age ... Hillary Clinton's statements are part of history and are on the record ... they are not hallucinations of our wildest imaginations. Osama Bin Laden is a CIA asset - even CIA has admitted. Talibans have been turned into villains from heroes without any wrongdoing. You think it is right for CIA to own assets like Osama but if an agent gets broken arrow and goes out of your fold ... the country who provides him asylum should be declared war with ? Osama Bin Laden has been doing same things against USSR and its colonies ... why so noise over 9/11 ? Just because Marriott has been blasted, should Pakistan has declared war with US because those terrorists were trained in Guantanamo Bay by CIA itself ? Come on, there are enough proofs ... you can't dismiss them just like that.

wanderer

Sorry I don't agree with your dismissal of rock solid facts as conspiracy theories. In fact, US has indeed threatened Pakistan in reference to stone age ... Hillary Clinton's statements are part of history and are on the record ... they are not hallucinations of our wildest imaginations. Osama Bin Laden is a CIA asset - even CIA has admitted. Talibans have been turned into villains from heroes without any wrongdoing. You think it is right for CIA to own assets like Osama but if an agent gets broken arrow and goes out of your fold ... the country who provides him asylum should be declared war with ? Osama Bin Laden has been doing same things against USSR and its colonies ... why so noise over 9/11 ? Just because Marriott has been blasted, should Pakistan has declared war with US because those terrorists were trained in Guantanamo Bay by CIA itself ? Come on, there are enough proofs ... you can't dismiss them just like that.

true enough, USA is just weighing the day/time when they will attack Pakistan. But first its Iran's turn... then Pakistan then Korea.. north or south doesnt matter who goes first..

ConcernedPakistani

The U.S cooperation in the war against terror is beyond any doubt as they have been assisting Pakistan to overcome the rampant religious extremism.

Yes the USA is so sincere with Pakistan. Pakistan should be so thankful to the USA for dragging Pakistan into this true and sincere ''War on Terror''. The whole Pakistani nation should thank and pray for USA every day