A Must Read 12 Years old Article: Imran Khan warns of 'human catastrophe'

Pak1stani

Imran Khan warns of 'human catastrophe'

Imran Khan, the leader of Pakistan's Movement for Justice Party, has spoken of a sense of "helplessness" felt in his country as the war against the Taleban continues.And he said rising numbers of civilian casualties in Afghanistan would breed "hatred and anger" against the United States.

Speaking to BBC Radio WM, Mr Khan, the chairman of Tehreek-e-Insaaf, said the bombing of innocent civilians in Afghanistan was "unjust and unethical". He said he did not know how long President Pervez Musharraf could contain the demonstrations against the US bombing.

Let me tell you none of us have any idea where we are heading. "In Pakistan there's a feeling of complete helplessness, that we are no longer in control," he told the Birmingham-based radio station.

"We are held prisoners of the events in Afghanistan right now." The Pakistani cricket star turned politician said he felt the US should have resisted the temptation to take military action against the Taleban.

"Perhaps if the Americans had waited and with the pressure that had built up, we felt the Taleban was collapsing." He said: "It's very difficult to convince the people here that here is this huge superpower and here are these impoverished people, probably the most impoverished people in the world who have suffered 20 years of war.

"It's very difficult for the people not to sympathise with them against the United States." Mr Khan, who turned to politics after a personal crusade to raise money for a cancer hospital in Pakistan, said he was concerned most about the onset of winter.

"The worst thing is that the winter of Afghanistan is extremely severe and once the winter comes these people that are bombed and on the roadside as refugees, the human catastrophe is going to be immense.

"I don't think people have any idea how many people, women and children, are going to die because of the weather and because of the dislocation. "We are looking at a situation where to get one man a lot of human beings are going to be killed."

He said the tide of sympathy for the United States following the events of 11 September would begin to turn against them if civilians continued to suffer.

"Terrorism is bred when there is hatred and anger and I'm afraid that if a lot of civilians are killed there will be a lot more hatred and anger against the United States."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/1600640.stm

scholar

Nooras policy not to stop tarotrism in the country they just make fool peoples and use the same salogn used by Imran khan talk with Taliban and if not talk result is in fornt of you and I feel after Nawaz Shareef return from USA his tune must be change and he just follow the amercian policy and start miltry action against taliban

jeaybhutto

dude, please ask IK what is the limit? what do the TTP have to do to prove they wont talk to us...

I mean there must be a limit, even for Taleban khan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sabirmughal

where is Nawaz sharif PM of Pakistan and his cabinet

I feel everything now Pakistan is KPK and Imran khan

Blame them only who just came in Power less then 6 months

but people having 3 goverments 2 time strong opposition leader still silent and no one have focus on them

karella

Nooras policy not to stop tarotrism in the country they just make fool peoples and use the same salogn used by Imran khan talk with Taliban and if not talk result is in fornt of you and I feel after Nawaz Shareef return from USA his tune must be change and he just follow the amercian policy and start miltry action against taliban

Scholar Bhai, this pic will justified your post (bigsmile)

1236959_576274222419907_699510316_n.jpg

aka DURRANI

i still remember those days when musharraf sided with americans and chanted the slogan, "sab say pehlay pakistan". I was madly against this slogan, but i felt alone in all of my community of colleagues and friends...

every one was afraid of american fire power... "agar pakistan nay america ka sath na diya tou hamara bhi tora bora bana diya jaye ga", was a very common sentence spread by the then media into pakistani sheeple...

I used to say that "pakistan has comitted national crime by going against the muslim neighbour and helped americans in their crusade". and now we are seeing the fall out of that decision we made to save our country from being like tora bora... alot more has yet to happen if we, as a nation, dont repent and ask forgiveness from ALLAH Ta'aala...

Allama sahib said...

fitrat afraad say aghmaaz bhi kar leti hay, lekin....
nahi karti kabhi millat k gunahoo'n ko muaaf.....

aghmaaz = parda poshi, chashm poshi...

and our all liberal people are still trying to toe the enemy lines on so called war on terror... fight, fight and fight them harder... for how long??? fight it till the doomsday brothers... u cant reach a positive light whole in this bleak situation if u keep on following ur enemy lines... muslims are fighting muslims, battle ground is a muslim land, and casualities are also muslims on both sides.... this is the punishment of ALLAH Ta'aala on our nation...

farazah82

Now if you are posting these old articles then I must point out the fact that when America invaded Afghanistan, Musharraf supported American war.

At that time Imran Khan was in bed with Musharraf and he also supported the war.