A miracle: Pakistan score in Long Term Orientation goes from Zero to 50

pkfighter

A miracle: Pakistan score in Long Term Orientation goes from Zero to 50

Pakistani-culture-6D-model.png

A miracle has happened at least academically speaking.

For over 20 years, I have been teaching leadership to MBA students in Pakistans premier business schools in Islamabad (IIUI), Lahore (UMT) and Karachi (IBA, CBM, Zabist).

To teach the cultural aspect of leadership, I have been using a cultural tool developed by Geert-Hofstede, a Dutch social psychologist and the founder of comparative intercultural research.Through various stages of development, the tool is now called 6-D Model. D for dimension.One of the six dimensions is called Long Term Orientation (LTO).

The miracle is that while all these years, Pakistans score in LTO had been Zero (yes, 0), this year, it is now showing a score of 50.It may not mean anything to you. But to me, its a miracle.My alumni would remember that all these years I moaned about Pakistans lack of LTO (read this) and kept on contrasting it with China, India, US or even Bangladesh, hoping one day it will change. And it has changed now.
The Geert-Hofstede 6-D Model is in real time and interactive. Try here.

So, what has happened in the past couple of years that the Pakistan score changed from legendary Zero to a reasonably 50?
I tend to think Nawaz Sharif happened.

[Nearly all of the corporate executives and CEOs I have taught, trained or coached are Sharif-haters and PTI-loving creature. But instead of trashing Sharif and leaving the post, keeping reading.]

With Sharif, came Pakistan Vision 2025 (I was part of the first V2025 planning meeting Minister Ahsan Iqbal convened at the Planning Commission Islamabad in August 2013). See my perspective of Year 2050 Wali on Pakistan of future.
In our neighbourhood, China, for the first time crossed USA in GDP (PPP) as the worlds largest economy.

China-leads-GDP-PPP-2014.png

For its currently expensive and long 13,000km Beijing to Persian Gulf sea route, China found a shorter route replacement: A 2,000km Kashgar-Gwadar CPEC (China-Pakistan Economic Corridor). China sealed this opportunity with $46 billion investment.

China-Beijing-to-Persian-Gulf-sea-route-vs-Kashgar-Gwadar-CPEC.jpg

CPEC is a 15-year initiative to be completed in four phases and through 51 projects.
Now, this is future. This is Long Term!

With CPEC came SCO (Shanghai Cooperation Organisation). Led by China and Russia, Pakistan gained full-time membership in SCO. SCO is likely to change the destiny of the countries in the region.See our report on Chinas leader: Xi Jinping: most powerful Chinese leader since Mao Zedong

With CPEC and SCO came China-led AIIB (Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank) that is likely to challenge The World Bank.With 1.2 percent stake in AIIB, Pakistan became the founding member and the 17th largest shareholder. AIIB is going to change the rules of game in the world.
Now, this is future. This is Long Term!
How-Pakistani-culture-compares-with-China.png

To be the neighbour of the superpower that is going to change the world isnt bad, after all. How our scores compare with China on 6-D Model, above.
PS: There is still a worrying score: Zero on Indulgence. Shall we hope that it too will change over the coming 5-10 years?

Also: When Chinese Leadership style meets Pakistani: Walis Talk PPt for China Mobile/Zong strategy team

Wali Zahid is a futurist, disruptor, blogger, social media strategist, reformer, LinkedIn writer, author of iBook,Great Training in 10 Steps. He runs a #Pakistan2050 hashtag on Twitter. On walizahid.com, hes writing a series called How We Messed Up Pakistan. As CEO of SkillCity, he coaches several Fortune-500 CEOs on leadership. Hes founder of a global movement for humanizing medical education and practice. He can be reached at Twitter @walizahid.

Source

pkfighter

I thought the source is somewhat dubious, isn't it ? [hilar]

"For over 20 years, I have been teaching leadership to MBA students in Pakistan’s premier business schools in Islamabad (IIUI), Lahore (UMT) and Karachi (IBA, CBM, Zabist)."

I think that makes it credible enough to give one read

Qalandari1

"For over 20 years, I have been teaching leadership to MBA students in Pakistan’s premier business schools in Islamabad (IIUI), Lahore (UMT) and Karachi (IBA, CBM, Zabist)."

No wonder he has taught several brilliant Business management professionals working the world over :lol:

munafr

تمہارا پٹواری ہونا کافی ہے تمہاری قابلیت کا پتہ لگانے کے لئے

aimless

no offence but y he is teaching in 3 different cities ... and if he taught in IBA , he can easily teach in LUMS in lhr y UMT ( though i know UMT is not that bad either) and IIUI is not good in business

mrk123

How many months of the year this route will be closed during the winter season? And, do we really think that massive amounts of oil will be transport over land? Is it environmentally safe? With the way things are it will be a recipe of a major disaster in case of an accident.

We have had KKH for years now and what has it done for the economy of Pakistan. What is planned for this route that is considerable improvement over KKH and whats the plan to make an all-weather transport route?

Admiral

Long term kut khani score in next episode.

قلندری ، سیاست چھوڑ یار، آم کی خیر خبر سناؤ، سنا ہے اس بار آموں کی فصل کو بڑا نقصان ہوا ہے
اس مِیں بھی کسی پنجابی کی سازش لگتی ہے
، تا کہ قلندری آموں کی ریڑھی نہ لگا سکے

pkfighter

How many months of the year this route will be closed during the winter season? And, do we really think that massive amounts of oil will be transport over land? Is it environmentally safe? With the way things are it will be a recipe of a major disaster in case of an accident.

We have had KKH for years now and what has it done for the economy of Pakistan. What is planned for this route that is considerable improvement over KKH and whats the plan to make an all-weather transport route?

most of us are trolls here. I think these serious questions are for you to answer and educate us :)

PTMLN

Agr puppoo niazi na hotay to score aur bhi zyada hota. Yehi haal raha nawaz sharif ki leadership me to ham Pappuon ko kahen ge ke agle election me "Tea kya hoga ******"

mrk123

most of us are trolls here. I think these serious questions are for you to answer and educate us :)

I wouldn't be asking if I had the answers. I have not seen these issues discussed anywhere.

When I was growing up there was a big brouhaha when KKH was being built as to how it would transform things and the good things that it will bring for Pakistan.

Then after decades of toiling the elements and loss of hundreds if not thousands of lives they got it done but then we heard how difficult it was to keep it open
even in Summer months as it goes through some of the most inhospitable terrain in the world.

We had also heard similar stories about the RCD highway.

Anyway, lets see how this one pans out.

pkfighter

I wouldn't be asking if I had the answers. I have not seen these issues discussed anywhere.

When I was growing up there was a big brouhaha when KKH was being built as to how it would transform things and the good things that it will bring for Pakistan.

Then after decades of toiling the elements and loss of hundreds if not thousands of lives they got it done but then we heard how difficult it was to keep it open
even in Summer months as it goes through some of the most inhospitable terrain in the world.

We had also heard similar stories about the RCD highway.

Anyway, lets see how this one pans out.

let us drink this kool aid for few more years then. Without hope life gets too tough. Anyway, I never like to play the role of angry young man :)

Altaf Lutfi

یہ اتنا اھم آرٹیکل ھے کہ اس کا اردو ترجمہ ھونا چاھیے تاکہ انگریزی سے نابلد ممبران بھی مستفید ھو سکیں، ، مجھے لکھنے والے سے چند باتیں کہنی ھیں تاکہ اگلی بار جب ایک کام کی بات وہ ھمیں بتانا چاھے تو ھم بھی بندے دے پُتر بن کر سُن رھے ھوں اور وہ بھی ایک ٹُلے مار کی بجاےؑ معقول آدمی لگ رھا ھو

جب اتنا اھم مضمون مع معلومات کے پیش کیا جا رھا ھے تو اسے پاکستان فوکسڈ رھنا چاھیے تھا، لیکن جب لکھنے والا نواز شریف سے چڑنے والوں کی بات کرتا ھے اور تحریکِ انصاف والوں کو ایک "مخلوق" قرار دیتا ھے تو فورا" اس کا نقلی سلاجیت بیچنے کی کوشش کرنے والے کا نقاب کھُل جاتا ھے ۔۔ ھم جان جاتے ھیں کہ اللہ کے فضل سے یہ ایک اور نُورا ھی ھے اور یہ علم ھوتے ھی آدھے حضرات ایک نورے سے چولوں کی توقع کرتے ھوےؑ اگلے پوسٹ کا رُخ کر لیتے ھیں، اس سے مضموں کی ریڈر شپ کم رہ جاتی ھے

اب یہ معلوم ھو جانے کے بعد پڑھنے والا کافی دلچسپی اور کچھ شکوک کے ساتھ مضمون میں غوطہ زن ھوتا ھے تو مزید بہت کچھ پتا چلتا ھے، عام قاری اسے چولیں ھی کہے گا لیکن مجھے فاضل مضمون نگار کی محنت کا اعتراف ھے اس لیے چولیں نھیں، بلکہ پروپیگنڈا کہوں گا

اگر یکایک پاکستان کے بے حد اھم ملک ھو جانے کی بات کرنی ھے تو ان لایعنی باتوں کا ذکر فضول ھوگا کہ ھم شنگھایؑی تعاون تنظیم اور دیگر اداروں کے لیے اھمیت اختیار کر چکے ھیں تو یہ نواز شریف کا کارنامہ ھے، نہ تو نواز شریف نے اتنے سالوں تک قیادت کرنے کے باوجود ملک کو ایک مستحکم معاشی پالیسی دی ھے جس کو وہ ھر بار اقتدار میں آ کر آگے بڑھاتے رھے ھوں، یہ ھر بار نیا چورن لاتے ھیں، جس پروجیکٹ سے ان کا کام بنتا ھو، وہ ھو جاتا ھے، عوام کی تکلیف کیا ھے، یہ ان کا دردِ سر نھیں، جب عوام ان کا پرابلم نھیں تو ان کے باقی گھوڑے دوڑانے سے عوام کو خاک دلچسپی ھو سکتی ھے ؟

جن ماھرینِ معاشیات کو یہ بندہ سلطانی گواہ بنا لایا ھے کہ میاں صاحب جیسا افلاطون اللہ کا خاص تحفہ ھے، کیا ھم بذاتِ خود ان کی گورنینس کو بھگت نھیں رھے ؟ کیا ھمیں کسی باھر والے ارسطو کے سمجھانے کی ضرورت ھے، جو غریب عید پر بچوں کو کپڑے نہ دے سکنے کی وجہ سے چھُری بلند کر چکا ھے، اُسے کسی ماھر کی حاجت ھے جو اس بے چارے کو میاں صاحب کا وژن 2025 سمجھا سکے ؟

کون اُلو کا پٹھا اسے معجزہ کہے گا کہ ملک میں بجلی ھے نھیں، منصوبے منھ زبانی مکمل ھو رھے ھیں، بجٹ خسارہ بڑھتا جا رھا ھے، ترقیاتی بجٹ سکڑ رھا ھے، سروسز کو آؤٹ سورس کرتے جا رھے ھیں یعنی ریاست اپنی ذمہ داریوں سے بھاگ رھی ھے،
ایسے عالم میں غیر ملکی سرمایہ کار نوٹوں کی بوریاں لے بھی آےؑ تو ان کا کرے گا کیا ؟ نہ کارخانہ لگ سکتا ھے، نہ چل سکتا ھے
اس مضمون نگار کو مفت کا ڈھول بجاتے وقت بتانا چاھیے کہ معجزوں کی بجاے کیا ایک چھوٹی سی "معجزی" یہ ھو سکتی ھے کہ جو سینکڑوں کارخانے کراچی سے اکھاڑ کر بنگلہ دیش اور باقی ممالک میں لے جاےؑ جا چکے، ایک یونٹ ھی واپس لا کے دکھا دو ؟ اگر نھیں آیا تو یقینا" مضمون نگار نے دھتورہ پی رکھا ھے

جن عالمی اداروں سے پاکستان کے جُڑ جانے کی بات نواز شریف کی شاندار قیادت سے منسوب کی جا رھی ھے، خاص طور سے چین کے منصوبوں کی، تو حقیقت یہ ھے کہ پاکستان کا اس میں صفر کردار ھے، یہ چینی حکمتِ عملی کا ایک مرحلہ ھے جس پر عمل کے وقت اتفاق سے میاں صاحب اقتدار میں ھیں، ورنہ بات چیت اور مشاورت تو مشرف دور سے ھو رھی ھے، کیا چین نے اس عظیم پلان کے لیے ٹینڈر طلب کیے تھے جو میاں صاحب کا ٹینڈر نکل آیا ھے اور باقی دنیا منہ دیکھتی رہ گیؑی ھے ؟ جی نھیں، چین کو پاکستان سے ھو کر جانا ھی تھا، ھمارا حکمران جو بھی ھوتا

مجھے حیرت اس شاندار ماڈل پر ھے جس کو استعمال کر کے مضمون نگار نتیجے نکال رھا ھے، بے شک یہ زبردست ماڈل ھو گا اور درست معلومات ڈالنے سے نتیجے بھی ٹھیک نکالتا ھوگا لیکن ان نتیجوں کی وضاحت ایک نورا بالکل اور انداز میں کرے گا اور ایک یوروپی یا چینی ماھر الگ انداز میں، جیسا کہ ھمارے سامنے گمراہ کُن وضاحتوں کا ایک پہاڑ ان حضرت نے کھڑا کر دیا ھے

کسی ماڈل کے بغیر بھی ھم پاکستانی اپنے ملک کے حیرت انگیز جغرافیے سے سالوں سے آگاہ ھیں لیکن یہ جغرافیہ کبھی ھمارا بیڑہ غرق کرتا ھے اور کبھی موجیں کرا دیتا ھے، بیرونی حالات و واقعات کی موجیں ھمارے ساحلوں سے ٹکراتی رھیں گی اور ھم اس سے متاثر ھوتے رھیں گے، قیادت عالی دماغ ھو گی تو ھم بھی خوشحال ھوں گے، احمق ھوگی تو ڈبو دے گی لیکن جیسے کہ میں نے پہلے کہا، ایک نورا جب ان کا تجزیہ کرے گا تو وہ ھمیں بالکل نھیں بتاےؑ گا کہ جنگ یمن میں ھوتی ھے تو نواز شریف عربوں سے ناطہ توڑ لیتا ھے اور پھر جب نیلم جہلم منصوبے کے لیے ان سے ڈالر مانگتا ھے تو وہ آگے سے فحش اشارے کرتے ھیں