A hint of why we suffer.

armani

Over 60% of the country's cabinet and two thirds of its federal lawmakers paid no tax last year, according to a report released by an investigative Pakistani journalist, Umar Cheema.

The report, prepared on the basis of information from the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR), reveals that President Asif Ali Zardari and 34 of the 55 cabinet members did not file a tax return in 2011, while Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar paid just 142,536 rupees (US$1,466) and 69,619 rupees as income tax.

Last year, the FBR identified 700,000 rich people who were enjoying a luxurious life but not paying tax. About 55,000 out of total identified wealthy people had been issued notices to pay taxes as they had cars, big houses and were enjoying foreign tours.

The government has taken out $13.07 billion in loans in the period from March 25, 2008 to July 1, 2012, according to the Economics Affairs Division (EAD). The country has obtained 58 different loans worth $3.81 billion from seven countries, while 167 loans amounting to $9.25 billion have been taken from eight donor agencies.

Interest payments on the country's domestic and foreign debt increased 132 billion rupees, or $1.4 billion, during the first quarter of the current fiscal year. Interest payment during the July-September period came to 312.87 billion rupees, with 299 billion rupees for domestic debt and 13 billion rupees going to service foreign debt, according to the Ministry of Finance.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/NL22Df01.html

Change your leaders or they will even sell your underwears in next 5 years.

sabir1

lets make it more easy :why we suffer??
70% of people in Pakistan don't cast vote ....can a person attempting 3 questions out of 10 can get hundred marks??

Pracha

We have arrived at a point of now or never. This mafia will leave no stone unturned in extinuishing pakistan in nex 5yrs. They have no skin in the game. Their families, wealth, and all of their interests are now outside this country.

Pure_pakistani

o baba yeh biryani ki plate ya keemay ka naan kha kr vote dene wala hujoom hai un ko kya tax returns se,aap zra dekho to yeh hujoom aaj QADRI AUR QATIL k jalsay mei bhi ponch gya,is hujoom ko kya tax returns.....

Pure_pakistani

just see how "literate"is defined in our country,majority is illiterate and dependent by this or that way on elites in our country and democracy is the govt of the people by people and for the people so i think the minority of educated and wel aware are hostages in the hands of this illiterate hujoom so for change there is a long way to go on.........

Pure_pakistani

we r using the sub standard definition of "literate person"in pakistan,see the difference

Definition of a Literate Person
A person is literate who can read and write a paragraph (3 lines) in national/regional language with comprehension.

UNESCO definition of literacy

The ability to identify, understand, interpret, create, communicate, compute and use printed and written materials associated with varying contexts.

tariisb

اقتصادی بے رخی (کمزور ٹیکسیشن) اور سیاسی بے اعتنائی (ووٹ کا بے سوچے سمجھے استعمال) نے ہی ملک کو اس مقام پر لا کھڑا کیا ہے

armani

You don't need any other enemy to chock you to death. These numbers are enough for our slow death as a nation and we are approaching our death with out even realizing it. If we don't change our leaders, coffins apnay apnay pasand kay tayyar rakhein.

IMRANKHAN1

Since the dawn of Time have these helpless mortals been ordained to prostration:
Prayer devoid of the posture of standing straight is their nature’s constant urge.

ASQR1

lets make it more easy :why we suffer??
70% of people in Pakistan don't cast vote ....can a person attempting 3 questions out of 10 can get hundred marks??

How could I go to cast vote, they threatened me and my family life. and than stuffed the ballot boxes with their fake vote.

you want me and my family to go and vote than assure me of the safety at the polling stations and afterwards.

So having said that this time I hope that you will and all likes of you who insult us be there to keep us safe while voting and than afterwards when the voting ends.