A hijab-wearing Muslim girl named best-dressed student at a US school

MariaAli

5591ad971c2b1.jpg

NEW YORK: A hijab-wearing Muslim of Palestinian descent has been named the best-dressed girl at a school in New Jersey state, according to a website.

Abrar Shahin, a student of Clifton High School, sports a black skirt and skinny jeans, ankle-high boots and a cropped white blazer in her yearbook photo.

Her make-up is just about perfect, capped with plum-toned lip stick, the NorthJersey.com said.
The website quoted Abrar Shahin as saying that “there are always cheerleaders who win and popular girls.
So I was very surprised it was me, being a hijabi”.
With her trendy style, Shahin, who holds a clothing-store job, has been shattering stereotypes about Muslims, but at the same time observing her religious traditions.
The “best dressed” vote also shows how acceptance has grown at one of the largest and most diverse high schools in the state.

The class of 2015, which graduated on Friday, includes many immigrants and first-generation students whose families hail from across the globe.
Out of the nearly 3,300 students at the Clifton High School, there are 52 per cent Hispanics, 35 per cent whites, eight per cent Asians and five per cent blacks.

Published in Dawn, June 30th, 2015

Bunna

Re: A hijab-wearing Muslim girl named best-dressed student at US school

ہم اسی میں خوش ہیں

ہر چیز میں اول نمبر پر

وہ ایکٹر مسلمان ہوگا

وہ کھلاڑی مسلمان ہو گیا

وہ ٹیکسی ڈرائیور امریکا میں شلوار قمیض پہنے کا کیس جیت گیا

وہ مسلمان حجاب پہن کر نوکری کرنے کا کیس جیت گیا

وہ مسلمان جسے نے نوکری ٹھکرا دی مگر حجاب نہیں اتارا

وہ دیکھو حجاب پہن کر اؤلیمپک میں دوڑ رہی ہے

وہ دیکھو حجاب پہن کر اول نمبر پر آ گئی

سب میں اول نمبر

مگر مسلمان دنیا میں جوتے کھا رہا ہے

jumbish

مگر مسلمان دنیا میں جوتے کھا رہا ہے sahi kaha bhai woh bhi gobar walay

TONIC

Look all these people from Levant countries are very beautiful specially girls from these countries, if a person is good-looking no matter what he/she wears it suits them.

Pak1stani

Hijab Girl Win Best Dressed Student

[h=1]Hijab a key part of ensemble for Clifton High's best-dressed girl[/h]
he senior class pick for best-dressed female senior at Clifton High School sports a black skirt and skinny jeans, ankle-high boots and a cropped white blazer in her yearbook photo. Her makeup is just about perfect, capped with plum-toned lipstick.
But there is one other fashion accessory that makes Abrar Shahin stand out: a black, white and blue-green patterned scarf a hijab that wraps around her head and drapes around her neck.
There are always cheerleaders who win and popular girls, so I was very surprised it was me, being a hijabi, Shahin said, using the word for a person who wears the Islamic head covering. It was a dream come true.

http://www.northjersey.com/news/hij...or-clifton-high-s-best-dressed-girl-1.1364524

ramay67

ہم اسی میں خوش ہیں

ہر چیز میں اول نمبر پر

وہ ایکٹر مسلمان ہوگا

وہ کھلاڑی مسلمان ہو گیا

وہ ٹیکسی ڈرائیور امریکا میں شلوار قمیض پہنے کا کیس جیت گیا

وہ مسلمان حجاب پہن کر نوکری کرنے کا کیس جیت گیا

وہ مسلمان جسے نے نوکری ٹھکرا دی مگر حجاب نہیں اتارا

وہ دیکھو حجاب پہن کر اؤلیمپک میں دوڑ رہی ہے

وہ دیکھو حجاب پہن کر اول نمبر پر آ گئی

سب میں اول نمبر

مگر مسلمان دنیا میں جوتے کھا رہا ہے
تو اس میں اسلام یا اسلامی احکامات کا تو کوئی قصور نہیں ہے بھائی مسلمانوں کو اس وقت جوتے پڑتے ہیں جب انہی میں سے غداراور ایمان فروش دشمن کے ساتھ مل جاتے ہیں اب یہ فیصلہ تو ہم نے اپنے گریبان میں جھانک کر کرنا ہے کہ کہیں ہم تودشمن کے پروپیگنڈہ کا شکار نہیں ہو رہے دنیا میں کہیں بھی کوئی مسلمان اچھا کام کرتا ہے تو اس سے مسلمان ہی خوش ہونگےباقی سب تو ساڑھ ہی پھانکیں گے

"We won't judge your closeness to the Almighty based on your dress, but your choice of dress itself judges your own distance from the Almighty" - Mufti Ismail Menk

Me and my roommates made a video about the proper way to wear hijab. We did this based on what we have been told by Allah in the Qur'an. Some of you may find it not modest enough and some too extreme. However, we tried our best to portray a hijab that is in between these two extremes. Yes, the sister is NOT a hijabi and she volunteered to show what most sisters portray hijab nowadays.

The way we dressed her may not be the full cover and is not acceptable in Islam, but please do realize that, it was just there for us to send the message to everyone about what hijab is NOT and what hijab truly is. We just wanted to show the difference and you can tell this by the end of the video. No hate comments please. I hope the message is portrayed well. Salam

?

silentawaz

Re: "We won't judge your closeness to the Almighty based on your dress, but your choice of dress itself judges your own distance from the Almighty" - Mufti Ismail Menk

very cute she

Fiza Saeed

Abrar Shahin The Hijabi girl who won best dressed award in USA School

She is beautiful MashaAllah. =)

Wake Up Pakistan

Re: Abrar Shahin The Hijabi girl who won best dressed award in USA School

Tum loog isee pai Khush rahoo aur mazay karoo

Historian

Hijabi girl named best-dressed student at US school

[h=1]Hijabi girl named best-dressed student at US school[/h]
Jun 30, 20150 21796

NORTH JERSEY Blending traditional and modern trends to create modest style, a New Jersey Muslim has been named best-dressed female senior student, breaking down negative stereotypes of women wearing the Islamic headscarf.
Start-Up-Booster-Programme-banner-2.png

There are always cheerleaders who win and popular girls, so I was very surprised it was me, being a hijabi, Muslims student Abrar Shahin told NorthJersey.com.
It was a dream come true.
Winning the best-dressed vote at Clifton High School, Shahin aims to correct the image of Islamic fashion in the US.
The victory of Shahin, who sports a black skirt and jeans, ankle-high boots and a cropped white blazer in her yearbook photo, reflects the growing acceptance of hijab in American high schools.
Becoming the first ever veiled student to win the title, the Palestinian-descent plans to study physical therapy at Rutgers besides having a fashion company on the side.
Its such an honor to see that they are looking at us as equal and that theyre not just looking at hijab, she said.
Having clothing-store job in Paramus, boho-chic is Shahins favorite look, which she describes as laid-back and flowy, effortless and classy.
Every day is different. It depends on my mood, said Shahin who liked to pair flowing shirts over skinny jeans with chunky necklaces or bangle bracelets.
Last month, a California Muslim student was praised for making a simple and hilarious high school yearbook quote that sheds light on her Islamic hijab in a creative way.
The 17-year-old Muslim student mixed humor, religion and culture in a quote that was attached to her yearbook picture.
Only reason I wear this is to give you females a chance, the Summit High School senior wrote.
Tweeted under the nickname Fefe, the unique quote has been retweeted more than 20,000 times.
(Instagram/abrarshahin)Sense of Pride
Praising the Muslim student for her unique style, school teachers attributed her victory to her great fashion sense.
School is early, so a lot of times kids will come in sweat pants or dressed casually, Lindsey Cinque, a French teacher who is yearbook and senior class adviser, said about the early hour students must report for class.
She was always dressed up, and she definitely took a sense of pride in her fashion.
Although its not clear how many votes the Muslim girl got or whom the votes came from, the award showed that students can look beyond labels to honor someones accomplishment, Cinque said.
In a class of 800 people, its definitely a huge honor that they picked her, she said.
Islam sees hijab as an obligatory code of dress, not a religious symbol displaying ones affiliations.
Shahin was not the only Muslim student to get the award, another Muslim student Abraham Zeidan, was named the best dressed male.
Start-Up-Booster-Programme-banner-2.png

For Muslim women working in fashion business, naming a hijabi student best dressed means times are changing.
It sends the message that we are able now to set trends and be respected for what we stand for at the same time, Sonya Nasser, owner of Arabella Couture, a womens clothing store in Paterson, said.
Since the 9/11 attacks, US Muslims, estimated between 6-8 million, have complained of discrimination and stereotyping in their communities due to their Islamic attire or identities.
Additionally, a Pew Research Center study, Public Remains Conflicted Over Islam, has revealed that the majority of Americans know very little about Muslims and their faith.
A Gallup poll also found that the majority of US Muslims are patriotic and loyal to their country and are optimistic about their future.
Another Economist/YouGov poll found that a 73 percent of Americans believe that US Muslims are victims of discrimination amid recent attacks against the community.
Source: http://www.onislam.net/english/news/americas/488473-us-veiled-student-named-best-dressed-.html

- See more at: http://muslimglobalnews.com/breakin...ed-student-at-us-school/#sthash.uqkTvlCa.dpuf