10k students abroad at risk: HEC chief

rehman1978

6-26-2012_56081_l.jpg

ISLAMABAD: Chairman Higher Education Commission (HEC), Dr. Javaid. R. Laghari has said that scarcity of funds will adversely affect foreign scholarship programme putting 10,000 students at risk.

The chairman pointed out that the HEC took loan for the salaries of 20,000 staff members adding that only Rs 25 million have been transferred against an allocation of Rs 12 billion.

Dr. Javaid was speaking in a ceremony organized to confer degrees to the students graduated from Korean universities.

The chairman thanked the Korean government in providing opportunities to young talented Pakistani engineers for doing research work at advanced research labs and reputed Korean universities.

He stated that 45% of total HEC budget is being spent on human resource development in Pakistan.

'The scarcity of funds will adversely affect this major component especially the need based scholarships awarded to the youth belonging to remote areas of Pakistan including Balochistan, FATA, interior Sindh and Southern Punjab.'

The HEC on Tuesday conferred on degrees to the successful candidates of last two batches of MS Program Korea at the `4th Graduation Convocation' ceremony held here.

Ambassador of Republic of Korea to Pakistan, Mr. Choongjoo CHOI graced the occasion as guest of honour.

Addressing on the occasion, Executive Director HEC, Professor Dr. Sohail H. Naqvi said Korea's 95 percent higher education literacy rate, active university industrial linkages and technological developments are a role model for Pakistan.

Keeping this fact in view, 200 young Pakistani engineers were sent for pursuing their higher studies in the advanced Engineering and Technological fields at six leading south Korean universities.

This joint collaboration between Pakistan and Korean universities has been greatly helpful in creating a critical mass of highly qualified Engineering Manpower in high-tech fields and building up the capacity of Universities/Industries in Pakistan.

The Korean Ambassador to Pakistan Mr Choongjoo CHOI congratulated the young Pakistani scholars over completion of their degrees.

He also lauded the efforts of HEC for improving the standards in higher education sector of Pakistan.

He also assured continuous cooperation and support of Korean government to Pakistan especially in higher education sector. One of the scholars expressing his views termed his studies at Korean universities a successful and pleasant experience.

"It was not possible without the support of HEC and the transparent and well defined scholarship award mechanism that has enabled a large number of Pakistani youth including myself to acquire higher education at leading foreign universities. This program may be supported and continued at every cost", he added.

At the end of ceremony, the guest of honour distributed the degrees among the successful scholars recently returned from Korea.

The ceremony was attended by academicians, scholars and their parents.
http://www.thenews.com.pk/article-56081-10k-students-abroad-at-risk:-HEC-chief

Jumhurait Zindabad: system chalta rahne chaye(bigsmile)

rehman1978

Plus, 74 universites are about to be closed due to lack of funds. Teaches have not been paid for three months. 500 foreign faculty teaching in Pakistan have not been paid for three months.

Noone should disrupt this system: jumhuriat Zindabad(bigsmile)

ihsanbajwa

I am against HEC.
We are poor nation and spend our money on public needs and on poors and general education.
HEC give about 80 to 90 lack per head to get higher education.
this 80 lakh can be given to 80 person to enhance their business or basic needs.

Dengue

bhai jan tum jao matric fail hoke or hira mandi main job karo or ghar walon ko bhi karwao .. yahi tumhari okat hai .. padhna likhna hai nahi .. or phir kahte hain zardari jaise BC jahil leaders agaye .. ***** tere shakal pe .. they dont give 80 to 90 lacs .. mostly students studying on university scholarships in countries like germany sweden and other nordic countries .. and also in china korea and malaysia .. HEC just provide them with monthly stipends .. thats 800 pounds a months for europe and 1000 $ for US and for countries like china korea .. it is abt 600$ abt month ..

I am against HEC.
We are poor nation and spend our money on public needs and on poors and general education.
HEC give about 80 to 90 lack per head to get higher education.
this 80 lakh can be given to 80 person to enhance their business or basic needs.

ihsanbajwa

bhai jan tum jao matric fail hoke or hira mandi main job karo or ghar walon ko bhi karwao .. yahi tumhari okat hai .. padhna likhna hai nahi .. or phir kahte hain zardari jaise BC jahil leaders agaye .. ***** tere shakal pe .. they dont give 80 to 90 lacs .. mostly students studying on university scholarships in countries like germany sweden and other nordic countries .. and also in china korea and malaysia .. HEC just provide them with monthly stipends .. thats 800 pounds a months for europe and 1000 $ for US and for countries like china korea .. it is abt 600$ abt month ..

han yar mein hera mandee gaya thay wahan tere family say mulaqat huwee thee. Un kay bhee burhay rate thay. tumhara sara khandan burhay unchay dimagh ka hay bhaee. kuch upna bhee dimagh neecha kur our un say bhe raayat karwa ghareeb qoum per tars khaoo

ihsanbajwa

that was answer in ur language now come to the logic.
one year expence = 12000 , one year fee = around 14,000 $ Total = 26000
four years = 104,000 $ = 96,72,000 rupees
Using this rate if we spend all developement budget of country then we can get 40 to 50 thousand persons in advanced studies.

ryzvonusef

that was answer in ur language now come to the logic.
one year expence = 12000 , one year fee = around 14,000 $ Total = 26000
four years = 104,000 $ = 96,72,000 rupees
Using this rate if we spend all developement budget of country then we can get 40 to 50 thousand persons in advanced studies.

The flaw in your logic is that you presume that the money spent on education is an expense whereas in reality it is an investment, and a necessary one to boot.

You suggest that this money should be used to promote business, that might help for a little while, but soon those business will need talent to expand further, and that's where your strategy will fail.

If however you invest in education, your business will use that talent to make their own money.

Also, in Islam, it's our duty to seek out education, both earthly and divine, so there is absolutely no option of ignoring it. We MUST do it.

You want to save money, shave it off the expenses of our bureaucracy, political setup and military.

Yes, Military too, I mean look at Israel, they invest in education, and that brings in SO much money, that they can pay off their military in style.

Just my two annas.

ihsanbajwa

I think the best use of fund is increase in basic education facility , health and poverty elevation.
Here in Australia I have seen lot HEC scholar ship holder and their next aim is to get settlement in Australia or find a way to get rid of HEC requirement to serve in Pakistan. Except a very few , So in general our nation is spending 90 lakh on a person to get him settle in Australia or Europe.

ryzvonusef

I think the best use of fund is increase in basic education facility , health and poverty elevation.
Here in Australia I have seen lot HEC scholar ship holder and their next aim is to get settlement in Australia or find a way to get rid of HEC requirement to serve in Pakistan. Except a very few , So in general our nation is spending 90 lakh on a person to get him settle in Australia or Europe.

I agree with you on that, but that's a separate issue. We must do both, improve local education and sponsor capable student to study both here and abroad. It's not optional. This should be our top priority, even before defence.

As for you other point, It's true they want to escape (who can blame them!(serious)), but that's why HEC makes them and their families sign very heavy bonds. And due to this, all those PHD do get dragged back. And if they try to stay there, we contact the local police, and the Pak embassy refuses to renew the passport etc. So steps do exist.

BTW, where do you get this 90 lakh figure from? I think it's too high for expense on one person, it might be something like 20-25 lakh IMHO.

ihsanbajwa

There are lot lot scholor ships available world wide. If there is so much talent why dont they search scholorship on their own. on expence of rich nation.
Another aspect is that this money is gone totally out of our economy.
on road or school building at least half money is spend on road or building and may be rest half go in corruption. but money keep cycling in our economy.