ٹاک شوز کی مقبولیت کا خاتمہ

unique

کیا آپ اس راءے سے متفق ہیں کہ سیاسی ٹاک شوز اپنی مقبولیت کھو چکے ہیںاور اس کے ذمہ دار میزبان خود ہیں۔۔یہی وجہ ہے کہ تفریحی پروگرام اور ڈرامے پھر مقبول ھو رھے ھیں۔۔

http://tribune.com.pk/story/390779/modern-day-gladiators/

390779-SalmanMasoodNew-1339172608-760-640x480.jpg

The era of political talk show hosts’ unquestionable popularity is over. But is it too soon to write their obituary? Maybe, just maybe, but not entirely. The phenomenon of talk show hosts, most commonly referred to as anchors here, has peaked and now they have hit a plateau and have hit it hard. As I had written once earlier, anchors have “degenerated into populist evangelists, sensationalistic and deluded, high on self-righteous pretense” (“Television’s real wrestling”, June 22, 2010 ).

No longer can political talk show hosts sit on their high vantage point, waving flags of moral and financial righteousness, as well as that of political correctness and clobber those who do not fit into their straitjackets and world view. The same audience that used to gleefully watch and enjoy the spectacle of feuding politicians on the television screen is getting rather tired of it all. The sudden popularity of dramas on entertainment channels is a testimony to the public’s boredom with the formula that has been repeated ad nauseam on political talk shows. The shouting matches, the verbal assaults, the below-the-belt attacks, the overdose of platitudes do not cut ice any more. The audience has seen through the charade. The talk show hosts have been stripped of their venerated cloaks. They played the game of being ‘holier than thou’ for too long and that too, with unrelenting viciousness.

As they went on a mad frenzy of exposing everyone else in society, they themselves lay exposed under the microscope of a disapproving public eye. Their political affiliations are apparent, no matter how hidden or slanted they may be. There is nothing wrong in having such affiliations but they won’t do if the insistence is on appearing non-partisan and above board. Tales of financial irregularities and extracting unethical benefits haunt them as much as they haunt those belonging to other professions. The shallowness and biases of many talk show hosts have surfaced from the depths of apparent profundity. For too long they flailed on television screens against anyone and everyone. Eventually, they drowned themselves in the blare of their own sermons.

But I don’t mean to castigate everyone. There are some who still try to do justice to their jobs. However, finding a balance is difficult and this perilous tightrope-walk cannot go on endlessly. There is exasperation with the old formula of forcing the guests into a cockfight. There is now a greater yearning for real, informed analysis and dispassionate debate. The theatrics have outlived their utility. The condescending, all omniscient attitude of such hosts is turning repulsive. Rather than acting as God’s gifts to the country, they should perhaps, act as vessels through which genuine questions flow towards their guests.

Of course, a fair share of the blame lies with the audience and the participants as well. The politicians willingly made sorry spectacles of themselves. They appeared on the shows with little preparation or research. Maintaining dignity and self-respect seemed too low on their priority lists. They readily and too easily clutched at the bait thrown at them.

However, just as the audience has balked, there has been a little push back by the politicians too, in recent times. The way information minister Qamar Zaman Kaira took on Kamran Khan made headlines and was widely discussed. Few days later, Kaira rolled the steamerover Talat Hussain. What surprised me was that several journalists actually seconded Kaira’s bare-knuckled response. The response reflects the public denunciation of these stereotypical programmes and nauseating moralising by most of the anchors. ‘Can anything constructive come out of these talk shows’ is a question often asked now. There is, of course, appetite for shows that have substantive debate and valuable participation. Such programmes will continue to be watched and appreciated. But will the ‘anchors’ take on that mantle and banish pandering to the demands of marketing executives, for whom ratings matter above everything sane and sensible. Hardly a chance.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 9[SUP]th[/SUP], 2012

values

yes.I use to watch every day aapis ki bat,capital talk,OTR,Aaj Kamran khan key Saath,To the point,Lekin and some oyhers.
But now I watch Dur-E-shawar,matai-Jan -hey Too,Annie Ki ayegi Barat,Rosah Sitara,Hasbe Hall,Khabar naak etc
In talk show same questions ,same questions and same.............
NO MORE TALK SHOWS

Only a hand full journalists are left who did not benefit from Malik Riaz. I will never listen to Hamid Mir, Karan Khan, Javed Chaudhry, Najam Sethi, Mubashar Luqman, Mazhar Abbas, Asima Sherazi, Sana Bucha, Mehr Bukhari and any one who I found out got a car or plot or money or anything else of this nature.
I still have respect for Talat Hussain, Nusrat Javed, Haroon Rasheed, Hasan Nisar, Naseem Zahra, Asma Chaudhry, Shahid Maosood and few others.
Please tell me if I need to add some one in my do not listen list.
;

D'Invincible

سب کو پتا چل رہا ہے کہ سب بکاو مال ہیں چند کو چھوڑ کر۔ حامد میر، کامران خان اور جاوید چودھری کی بڑی مشہوری تھی مگر اب ان کے بت گر گئے ہیں

SSR_31952

Only a hand full journalists are left who did not benefit from Malik Riaz. I will never listen to Hamid Mir, Karan Khan, Javed Chaudhry, Najam Sethi, Mubashar Luqman, Mazhar Abbas, Asima Sherazi, Mehr Bukhari and any one who I found out got a car or plot or money or anything else of this nature.
I still have respect for Talat Hussain, Nusrat Javed, Haroon Rasheed, Hasan Nisar, Naseem Zahra, Asma Chaudhry, Shahid Maosood and few others.
Please tell me if I need to add some one in my do not listen list.
;

Consider Hasan Nisar, Nusrat Javed and Asma Chaudhry, may i suggest you for your "do not listen list".

I know Hasan Nisar and Nusrat both are big time sharabi but there has not been any financial corruption allegation or proof against them. Also I did not hear Asma's name any where in that matter.

InsafianPTI

what is the proof that hassAN Nissar is a sharaabi?
I know once people found him a bit off in ashow (it could be sharaab but there can be other reasons for that too) and from that people started believing him as sharaabi.I'm not saying that he is not sharaabi, all i'm saying is that just because of that incident one should not believe it, unless we see the proof.
besides him being sharaabi or not should not even be an issue, he is not a religious scholar, he is just an analyst, I agree with him on many things and don't on few issues,
I think he should not try to explain the basic islamic principles as that creates confusion about him, but still i think we should not demand him to say what we like, he is free to have his opinion on things, and many of his opinion are valid.
I know Hasan Nisar and Nusrat both are big time sharabi but there has not been any financial corruption allegation or proof against them. Also I did not hear Asma's name any where in that matter.

I know once people found him a bit off in ashow (it could be sharaab but there can be other reasons for that too) and from that people started believing him as sharaabi.I'm not saying that he is not sharaabi, all i'm saying is that just because of that incident one should not believe it, unless we see the proof.
besides him being sharaabi or not should not even be an issue, he is not a religious scholar, he is just an analyst, I agree with him on many things and don't on few issues,
I think he should not try to explain the basic islamic principles as that creates confusion about him, but still i think we should not demand him to say what we like, he is free to have his opinion on things, and many of his opinion are valid.
Trust me, I love everything Hasan Nisar says and writes. But after watching the video you mentioned above, I have no doubt in mind that he is drunkard. I saw another interview of him. He was in his living room and a bottle of shahrab was visible in the back ground. That tells some thing also. Yes, I have not seen him pour sharab in a glass and drink.

rehman1978

Look at this writer, "Kiara steam rolled Talat." I watched that show and it was other way around. And then these type of fake jouranlist have guts to tell us right from wrong!!!!!

LivePakistan

I lost my complete trust and interest in these talk shows. Literally, I was watching almost all shows at one time. Now hardly I watch any show as I found most of them are working for someone and it is vivid like a crystal being funded by someone to conduct such shows. These are dual-faced snakes and act like a sales-man rather than guiding this poor nation to the right direction. There are very few exceptions in the current lot of anchors, journalists and analysts. I hate to see their faces as they do opposite what they preach in their programs. Malik Riaz has made them exposed very badly. Who is going to trust Hamid Mir and Kamran Khan? Instead of supporting the truth, they went to protect the s-hit like Malik Riaz. Even now, some dirty anchors are protecting him being a victim in this issue. These dirty souls don't feel shame as their consciences have become corrupted and dead. Just see what Javed Chaudhry and Arashad Sharif are writing and giving opinions in the shows. That's why I call them PROSTITUTES.

tz00007

asal mey.. social media ne print or electronic media k moo pe tamaacha maar dia...

social media now stands as the "real" representative of the ppl...

electronic media has to follow social media now.. or else they r going to be history...

the good thing is these anchors are exposed...earlier ppl used to think of them as holy cows...lolz

tz00007

ive lost interest too.. now i prefer watching the ppl i admire.. like hasan nisar... and mainly i see who is the guest.. we should watch ppl who we can learn something from

i love listening to asad umar.. and of course imran khan..

tz00007

Trust me, I love everything Hasan Nisar says and writes. But after watching the video you mentioned above, I have no doubt in mind that he is drunkard. I saw another interview of him. He was in his living room and a bottle of shahrab was visible in the back ground. That tells some thing also. Yes, I have not seen him pour sharab in a glass and drink.

i dont think he is that jahil to drink in his home infront of his kids and wife.. i dont know.. but about the bottle of sharab.. can u show me the video??

coz i ve seen empty bottles of sharab in many ppl's houses..actually the bottles used for liquor are very stylish n some ppl put them as show piece or flower pot or something else

and even vinegar have almost same bottles as sharab...

but i personally dont care abt that...becoz hasan nisar is not a politician or doznt want our vote... i just listen to him and i love the way he thinks.. n thats wat we all shud do.. listen to wat he says.. thats it..

barca

آپ کو کیسے پتا کے حسن نثار شرابی نہیں ہے ؟ اگر وہ اسلامی اسکالر نہیں بقول آپ کے تو اس کو کس نے حق دیا ہے اسلام کا مذاق اڑانے کا ؟ اپنے کام سے کام رکھے

nomishah

mein to yeh soch ker hairan hota hoon k hukmaran sara din in shows main lartay rehte hain to mulk kis waqt chalatay hain ? meri nazar main to yeh shows kabhi maqbool thay hi nahi mein aaj tak nahi daikh saka siwaye kuch one o one interviews k .

InsafianPTI

barca phir seye parho I said keh jaisay meray paas koi proof nahi keye woh drunk nahi hai, waisay aap keh paas koi proof nahi keh woh drunk hai (don't refer to that programme of his jahaan woh theekh seh bool nahi raha tha, uss terha sey bolnay ki kai wajoohaat ho sakti hein, drinking is not the only reason, taking medicine or not feeling well could also be the reason).
laikin aik baat hai he never denied it although so many people are accusing him, ya tu woh iss ko personal matter samajhta hai aur agar woh nahi bhi peeta phir bhi iss per baat nahi kerna chahta, ya phir woh waqaai peeta hai.

In both cases it is his personal matter, and not my concern, my concern is his analytical views about the Social Issues.

yes about the pure religious issues, the very basic islamic issues as he is not a scholar so maybe he should not say much on that, but then again hum kaisey kissi ko mazhaab peh baat kernay sey rock saktey hein, he is not committing blasphamy so even if I disagree with him on something I think he is free to give his opinion,

I'm educated enough barca that I know for any religious matters I should go and consult a religious scholar not hassan Nissar.
آپ کو کیسے پتا کے حسن نثار شرابی نہیں ہے ؟ اگر وہ اسلامی اسکالر نہیں بقول آپ کے تو اس کو کس نے حق دیا ہے اسلام کا مذاق اڑانے کا ؟ اپنے کام سے کام رکھے

Synikmaster

Vey true i used to watch most of the programmes but now from long time no talk shows at all mostly are lifafa journalist and some bcoz of ghatia guests i.e. Abdi, hanif har.ami, abid sheir and some others ... Only watch IK program

InsafianPTI

That bottle(my knowledge is minimum about these bottles) are you 100% sure was of sharaab?
I had seen the programme where people said in the background the bottle was of sharaab, BUT were they or are you 100% sure?
see could not tell much about that bottle, although I go in super markets full of these bottles everyday, But I can't tell by looking at a bottle from such distance that it was a sharaab bottle.

I'm not saying that ohh no he is not a sharaabi, whta I'm saying is that using those two programmes as a proof to declare him sharaabi is not right!
To me those were not good enough proofs,

Now lets say for the sake of arguement that he is sharaabi even then I only listen to his analysis, which only requires the capabilities of brain NOT character(you need that for hereafter).
Now tell me one thing we go to the world's best universities to get the best education of the world (saudis are the biggest importers of UK and US teachers in their schools and colleges etc), why do they do that?
To learn from them, all these non muslim go and teach in so called islamic country are drunkers.
But do they not have a brain, knowledge and capability to form opinion?

so my point is his drinking problem is not even associated with his profession.

If he was an islamic scholar then my response would have been different!

InsafianPTI

exactly thats what my point is,
See I have seen that programme (remember he did a show at his home with wife and girls very recent), there was a bottle in the background with dark colour, it just looked like a bottle, there was nothing clear from that as it was at distance, and it was put between decoration pieces (one may ask why would anyone put it between decoration pieces, very pathetic to think it was a sharaab bottle just from a distant view) so some sharaarti people said it was a sharaab, I never took it seriously, but seems like some people did and took it as a proof.

i dont think he is that jahil to drink in his home infront of his kids and wife.. i dont know.. but about the bottle of sharab.. can u show me the video??

coz i ve seen empty bottles of sharab in many ppl's houses..actually the bottles used for liquor are very stylish n some ppl put them as show piece or flower pot or something else

and even vinegar have almost same bottles as sharab...

but i personally dont care abt that...becoz hasan nisar is not a politician or doznt want our vote... i just listen to him and i love the way he thinks.. n thats wat we all shud do.. listen to wat he says.. thats it..