وزیراعظم کے مشیر ڈاکٹر عشرت حسین کا استعفیٰ دینے کا فیصلہ

BeingPakistani

وزیراعظم کے مشیر برائے ادارہ جاتی اصلاحات ڈاکٹر عشرت حسین نے استعفی دے دیا۔

ایکسپریس نیوز کے ذرائع کے مطابق وزیراعظم عمران خان کے مشیر ڈاکٹر عشرت حسین اپنے عہدے سے مستعفی ہوگئے، وزیراعظم نے انہیں ادارہ جاتی اصلاحات کی ذمہ داری سونپی تھی تاہم کام جاری رکھنے میں رکاوٹوں کے سبب ان کے تحفظات تھے جو آج عہدے سے مستعفی ہونے کا سبب بنے۔

ذرائع کا کہنا ہے کہ ڈاکٹر عشرت حسین نے اپنا استعفی وزیراعظم کو ارسال کردیا تاہم وزیراعظم عمران خان نے ابھی تک ان کا استعفی منظور نہیں کیا۔

jet_li

Dr. Ishrat Hussain, a lot of respect for him but unfortunately he was never successful in reforming the bureaucracy.

This is an important development.

There is a dire need for a change. PM must accept his resignation and appoint someone more capable than him.

Kavalier

Dr. Ishrat Hussain, a lot of respect for him but unfortunately he was never successful in reforming the bureaucracy.

There is a dire need for a change. PM must accept his resignation and appoint someone more capable than him.
I am pretty sure, bureaucracy would never allow anyone to suggest and implement any reformations which are against their wish. The system suits the bureaucracy and they would try till end to keep it as it is.

I don't know what he has done or achieved in the last three years of being in the government?
If he has resigned then PM Imran khan should accept his resignation and find someone more suitable for the job.

Hunter_

he is the most capable, its the people stopping him to work, I know this guy to some extent so that's why I am saying this ,

Sohail Shuja

Dr. Ishrat Hussain is one gem of a person, when it comes to knowledge, vision and thinking. But, to ride this wild horse of bureaucracy, there are some additional skills required, which, unfortunately, Dr Sahab, due to his humble nature, do not have.

This mammoth of bureaucracy of Pakistan needs someone with a battering club in his hands to tame this wild beast. Otherwise, they are too much thick skinned.

I would suggest that Dr. Sahab should not resign, but IK should arrange for him a person who should be responsible for implementation of his plans/reforms.

Eyeaan

I am pretty sure, bureaucracy would never allow anyone to suggest and implement any reformations which are against their wish. The system suits the bureaucracy and they would try till end to keep it as it is.
There is no doubt about what you expressed but that were to be his challenge. He had a personal status , official position and academic vita to take up this challenge and move forward but unfortunately he has been too late or too dogmatic. I'll still wish he stays on and fights since much time is invested in him. . Wish he fights it out and avails his opportunity well.
The working of Digitization task force has also been dismal which had big names from the industry. They simply didn't deliver in spite of initial claims. Incidentally, they were also to face bureaucrats but that task force had disappointed due to their lethargy and lack of capacity and experience in spite of big names.

Everyone is missing one simple point when talking about reforming bureaucracy.

Bureaucrats (in essence the real rulers of any country) have full constitutional protection for every action they take and for each & every word they put down on the files, and those actions cannot be called into question at any forum or by anyone. This is their strength.
You strip them off, of those powers and then you are in a position to make them accountable of their actions.
How to do it? -----> Constitutional amendments... which essentially require 2/3 majority in both the houses. Otherwise... it is just making castles in the air.

The flip side of the issue is... if you strip them of their powers then how will you run the State and the government? That is where Dr. Ishrat and people of his caliber fail and are helpless in producing any meaningful results.

Its a very thin line.

Mansoor Ali Khan Shabbar Zaidi now Ishrat Hussein Next Razzak Dawood
Message very clear Merit n Justice have no role in Pakistan.
Imran Khan was saying Pakistan was having best Bureaucrats in 60s as they were selected on merits. Pakistan development was due to that bureaucracy quote in quote Imran Khan.
Now we need those who can
@ Issue Fake NIC Passport
@ issue Fake Pilot degree
@ who can do send illegally people to Europe n Japan

Sohail Shuja

Everyone is missing one simple point when talking about reforming bureaucracy.

Bureaucrats (in essence the real rulers of any country) have full constitutional protection for every action they take and for each & every word they put down on the files, and those actions cannot be called into question at any forum or by anyone. This is their strength.
You strip them off, of those powers and then you are in a position to make them accountable of their actions.
How to do it? -----> Constitutional amendments... which essentially require 2/3 majority in both the houses. Otherwise... it is just making castles in the air.

The flip side of the issue is... if you strip them of their powers then how will you run the State and the government? That is where Dr. Ishrat and people of his caliber fail and are helpless in producing any meaningful results.

Its a very thin line.
You are so very right Dr. Saab. Who is going to bell the cat? i.e who is going to get the 2/3rd majority?

The general principle of a job design works like the authority is always balanced with the responsibility, and a person is accountable for his performance on his responsibilities, given his authorities.

I agree that given the responsibilities which these bureaucrats have, they should be given ample authority to deliver on those responsibilities.

But Dr. Ishrat's work was more on organizational design and restructuring. Only in Fed, the total number of entities was reduced to 324 from 441, by mergers and reorganization. E-Governance System was introduced for speedy work. Subject specialists were appointed in ministries. Like you see our current National Security Advisor Moeed Yousuf.

Then Dr. Ishrat reorganized the public sector entities like PSM, PIA, Railways and automation of processes in FBR, which was a milestone achieved.

Then he was working on the Competition Commission of Pakistan, where this JKT group sabotaged him. Actually, if this was done, the monopoly of these capitalists would be ruined from our markets forever. They would've established a central commodity exchange commission, where the farmers could sale their produce directly and all the industrialists would have to buy the produce from the Central Commodity Exchange on standardized rates. You see, what it could've done to Aata, Cheeni and Ghee Mafias?

This is the real inside story, which I know, so far.

Sohail Shuja

Mansoor Ali Khan Shabbar Zaidi now Ishrat Hussein Next Razzak Dawood
Message very clear Merit n Justice have no role in Pakistan.
Imran Khan was saying Pakistan was having best Bureaucrats in 60s as they were selected on merits. Pakistan development was due to that bureaucracy quote in quote Imran Khan.
Now we need those who can
@ Issue Fake NIC Passport
@ issue Fake Pilot degree
@ who can do send illegally people to Europe n Japan
Brutally right. There was a time when they had real learned bureaucrats, but the lots inducted after 2010 are the nincompoops of the worst class. Political appointees and rajj k rishwat khor

60’s Bureaucracy was possibly best of Asia , Pakistan was emerging as Tiger of Asia due to class of bureaucracy we did had.
Best PIA Best Railway Best Industrial growth .

You are so very right Dr. Saab. Who is going to bell the cat? i.e who is going to get the 2/3rd majority?

The general principle of a job design works like the authority is always balanced with the responsibility, and a person is accountable for his performance on his responsibilities, given his authorities.

I agree that given the responsibilities which these bureaucrats have, they should be given ample authority to deliver on those responsibilities.

But Dr. Ishrat's work was more on organizational design and restructuring. Only in Fed, the total number of entities was reduced to 324 from 441, by mergers and reorganization. E-Governance System was introduced for speedy work. Subject specialists were appointed in ministries. Like you see our current National Security Advisor Moeed Yousuf.

Then Dr. Ishrat reorganized the public sector entities like PSM, PIA, Railways and automation of processes in FBR, which was a milestone achieved.

Then he was working on the Competition Commission of Pakistan, where this JKT group sabotaged him. Actually, if this was done, the monopoly of these capitalists would be ruined from our markets forever. They would've established a central commodity exchange commission, where the farmers could sale their produce directly and all the industrialists would have to buy the produce from the Central Commodity Exchange on standardized rates. You see, what it could've done to Aata, Cheeni and Ghee Mafias?

This is the real inside story, which I know, so far.
Brother Suhail: Like yourself I also admire Dr. Ishrat Hussain's standing as an academician and as a hard working honest man.
Please be aware, this is not the 1st time Dr. Sahib has worked on this issue. In the past too he worked on this thorny issue and produced a good report. Additionally, since sixties there are piles of reports lying in the store rooms of Establishment & Cabinet Divisions generated by a number of outstanding pro Pakistan professionals on bureaucracy reforms. LAAKIN masla phir wahein aa ker ruuk jata hai keh billi kay galay main ghenti kon, aur kaisay baandhay gaa?
Tareeqa khadim nay apnay pichlay comments (#09) main bata dia hai, agar kisi main itna tarappar hai tow ker lay, werna bhai jee! bus logoun ki aaien baaien shaaien suuntay jaien aur apna sur dhuuntay jaien.

But Suhail if you ask me for my personal opinion as an ex bureaucrat, without mincing any words I would say..... Pakistan needs 100% changes in the working of this out of control bureaucracy. For the good of Pakistan it's about time to leash this بے لگام giant enjoying unbridled, unfettered powers with ZERO accountability.

jet_li

Sohail Shuja

Brother Suhail: Like yourself I also admire Dr. Ishrat Hussain's standing as an academician and as a hard working honest man.
Please be aware, this is not the 1st time Dr. Sahib has worked on this issue. In the past too he worked on this thorny issue and produced a good report. Additionally, since sixties there are piles of reports lying in the store rooms of Establishment & Cabinet Divisions generated by a number of outstanding pro Pakistan professionals on bureaucracy reforms. LAAKIN masla phir wahein aa ker ruuk jata hai keh billi kay galay main ghenti kon, aur kaisay baandhay gaa?
Tareeqa khadim nay apnay pichlay comments (#09) main bata dia hai, agar kisi main itna tarappar hai tow ker lay, werna bhai jee! bus logoun ki aaien baaien shaaien suuntay jaien aur apna sur dhuuntay jaien.

But Suhail if you ask me for my personal opinion as an ex bureaucrat, without mincing any words I would say..... Pakistan needs 100% changes in the working of this out of control bureaucracy. For the good of Pakistan it's about time to leash this بے لگام giant enjoying unbridled, unfettered powers with ZERO accountability.

jet_li

Dr Bhai, I agree with you that this unbridled horse should be tamed, but again, there should be the one with that lasso hoop to get a grasp, first.

However, the progress I mentioned is not a part of any report, but the actual progress which has been achieved by the Institutional Reforms Committee

See progress report

Since 2010, I have seen that every Tom DICK and Harry had been politically appointed somewhere in the bureaucracy, which has resulted into such a buccaneer lot of public servants. This is about the Fed, the provincial side is even worse, as you can imagine.

However, as there was some backing from IMF for institutional reforms to bring down the Govt expenses, therefore, they had been able to at least work on some entities and processes. But the problem of accountability to be introduced or redefined, needs what you have already described i.e. 2/3rd majority. No doubt about it.