What is wrong with Pakistan Cricket?

MirzaGhalib

cover_1562481415pak-cover.jpg

What is wrong with Pakistan Cricket?
Pakistan is blessed with abundance of cricketing talent and yet the performance of the national team is not satisfactory and not consistently good. And indeed has earned a title of “Unpredictable” .
I believe the fault lies with the management (PCB).
I believe that PCB has the personnel which is not fully aware of its objective and if it is then it does not apply the right tools to achieve the objective.
I also believe that the PCB management suffers from short- termism. It wants to and attempts to fix issues in the short term and does not take a long term view of the problems and their solutions.
The classical example I can quote is to allow Mohammad Amir who brought the country in disrepute by his involvement is spot fixing, to represent the country again. Not a very good example the rest of the young and upcoming cricketers.
And then there are pure cricketing (Bat & ball) issues.
I wonder what the readers think? I would like to benefit from their views.

DoomsdayReportPakistan

Nokri baaz players, Hasad kernay walay players, apnay team-mate ki fatah sai jalnay walay players, apnay juniors ko agay nikaltay dekhnay sai jalnay walay players, kami kameen players ko raaton raat caroron rupay mil janay walay players, basically Pakistan team kai wohi masaail hain jo hamari apni qom kai masaail hai, okaat sai zyada apnay aap ko ooncha samjhna aur apnay he logo ki kamyabi sai hasad kerna

knowledge88

Silly approach by the management and Selection committee is the answer. . .

I give you one example. Since the defeat in the last world Cup England started building a team that played together for years so when their test comes to perform they were ready.

Look at Pakistan. We rested our 6 major players when Australia visited UAE to play Pakistan just before the world cup. Even the Captain Sarfraz was rested.
The idea behind this thinking is to find a magical solution. the thinking behind such logic is to find a miracle player who will help us win the world cup. Lets find another Wasim Akram who played Test Cricket without playing not many games of First class cricket.
Or lets find another Javed Minadad.
With such a hope they found Husnain .

The poor kid had just played 5 One day Internationals and had only 5 wickets in those 5 one day Internationals.

A person who had taken just 5 wickets in his whole life was chosen to represent Pakistan in the World Cup. Do you know any other team in the world whose selection committed made such a silly selection ?

There are no magics in real life. They have to find the right players and work on them for years to make them ready for the big event.
Also what is the point of spending thousands of dollars to the fitness trainers when the players cannot control their diet. Look at our captain, he was going to represent Pakistan as a captain, he earns 6 figures sum of money to play Pakistan and PPL , and still was overweight.
Can you imagine a sportsman playing a game which is comparable to Olympics turning up to represent his country as an overweight person ?
Can you imagine Usain Bolt turning up to defend his 100 meter title in Olympics and overweight ?
Usman Khawaja when he was in full form was dropped from Australian team because he had put on few kilos. Only when he lost extra kilos he was selected.
These are some of the issues but Our Cricket management
looks for short cuts as I mentioned above.

khipk

PCB and the pakistan cricket overall has the same problem which we have in other spheres, extreme non-professionalism, nepotism, lethargy and lack of vision. These problems are consistently present everywhere in Pakistan.

waqarwah81

I agree with the post at the point that majority of fault is with the PCB management, selectors.In my opinion Sarfraz is a club level player and he is the captain of our side similarly we raise too many hopes if a player played one good innings like fakar he is so inconsistent and needs to be replaced and why didn't Pakistan found a replacement for shoaib and hafeez in last 4 years,now the solution is to restrict Sarfraz to one type of cricket and give chance to Rizwan in other two forms and bring Abid in for shoaib and another talented batsman for hafeez and in bowling we should have rotation policy and develop a pool of fast bowlers and in the end I disagree with the post on that Pakistan has too much talent as I saw hardly any good batsman in PSL we just need to improve our domestic cricket by having teams from different regions and cities instead of departments as this way more people will get involved by supporting there cities and we need a very glamorous one day tournament on the lines of PSL but all played In Pakistan with national team players representing there respective cities and lastly we should made sports compulsory at school level and lots of new grounds in every city.And for the selection committee I think the best man with cricketing brain is Amir Sohail as he has best knowledge and eye for selection.

amoxil500mg

Well PCB need to find captain with right leadership qualities clearly Reillu kattah captain cant lead from front if u give world best 10 players to a looser he will bring all of them down.

Imad waseem can be long term captain.. coming on number 6/7 taken game deep and twice took Pakistan to finishing game in world cup on wining when chasing no other player I have seen doing this for Pakistan lately. He has fighting spirit well spoken.

Send sarfraz hafeez and Malik home we had enough.. give imad new team groom these players in long run for T20 and next world cup.
if any of these old players stay in team they will create problems for new captain and play dirty politics.

MirzaGhalib

Silly approach by the management and Selection committee is the answer. . .

I give you one example. Since the defeat in the last world Cup England started building a team that played together for years so when their test comes to perform they were ready.

Look at Pakistan. We rested our 6 major players when Australia visited UAE to play Pakistan just before the world cup. Even the Captain Sarfraz was rested.
The idea behind this thinking is to find a magical solution. the thinking behind such logic is to find a miracle player who will help us win the world cup. Lets find another Wasim Akram who played Test Cricket without playing not many games of First class cricket.
Or lets find another Javed Minadad.
With such a hope they found Husnain .

The poor kid had just played 5 One day Internationals and had only 5 wickets in those 5 one day Internationals.

A person who had taken just 5 wickets in his whole life was chosen to represent Pakistan in the World Cup. Do you know any other team in the world whose selection committed made such a silly selection ?

There are no magics in real life. They have to find the right players and work on them for years to make them ready for the big event.
Also what is the point of spending thousands of dollars to the fitness trainers when the players cannot control their diet. Look at our captain, he was going to represent Pakistan as a captain, he earns 6 figures sum of money to play Pakistan and PPL , and still was overweight.
Can you imagine a sportsman playing a game which is comparable to Olympics turning up to represent his country as an overweight person ?
Can you imagine Usain Bolt turning up to defend his 100 meter title in Olympics and overweight ?
Usman Khawaja when he was in full form was dropped from Australian team because he had put on few kilos. Only when he lost extra kilos he was selected.
These are some of the issues but Our Cricket management
looks for short cuts as I mentioned above.
You have highlighted important issues. I feel like saying that you should be part of PCB.

nasir77

In ko lambay araam ki zaroorat hai thukay howay players hain, shopping ki zamadari bhi to in per hai, Bivi say joodi to berdasht hoti hi nahin.... e inko bivion ki khidmat kay lia chuti di jai aur nai coaches aur selection team kay under nai aur young upcoming players ko moka diya jai....

MirzaGhalib

I agree with the post at the point that majority of fault is with the PCB management, selectors.In my opinion Sarfraz is a club level player and he is the captain of our side similarly we raise too many hopes if a player played one good innings like fakar he is so inconsistent and needs to be replaced and why didn't Pakistan found a replacement for shoaib and hafeez in last 4 years,now the solution is to restrict Sarfraz to one type of cricket and give chance to Rizwan in other two forms and bring Abid in for shoaib and another talented batsman for hafeez and in bowling we should have rotation policy and develop a pool of fast bowlers and in the end I disagree with the post on that Pakistan has too much talent as I saw hardly any good batsman in PSL we just need to improve our domestic cricket by having teams from different regions and cities instead of departments as this way more people will get involved by supporting there cities and we need a very glamorous one day tournament on the lines of PSL but all played In Pakistan with national team players representing there respective cities and lastly we should made sports compulsory at school level and lots of new grounds in every city.And for the selection committee I think the best man with cricketing brain is Amir Sohail as he has best knowledge and eye for selection.

You have said things very close to my heart. But first let me clarify one thing first. When I said we have talent in abundance, I did not mean "too much", I meant, we are not short of talent.
Now, I concur Sarfaraz is no more than a club player. Watching him play, I always felt that he did not deserve a place in the side. Very first requite in my opinion for a Captain is that he should be in the side on merit. Then the next important thing for a captain is to possess a cricketing brain which Sarfaraz does not. His field placing and bowling changes said it all.
It is again job of the management to spot leadership qualities in players, identify future captain and then nurture him so that he is ready when the time comes.
Not only the first class cricket structure needs to be revamped, cricket should be cultivated at grassroots stage.
Oh, there is so much I want to say but I must stop.

MirzaGhalib

Well PCB need to find captain with right leadership qualities clearly Reillu kattah captain cant lead from front if u give world best 10 players to a looser he will bring all of them down.

Imad waseem can be long term captain.. coming on number 6/7 taken game deep and twice took Pakistan to finishing game in world cup on wining when chasing no other player I have seen doing this for Pakistan lately. He has fighting spirit well spoken.

Send sarfraz hafeez and Malik home we had enough.. give imad new team groom these players in long run for T20 and next world cup.
if any of these old players stay in team they will create problems for new captain and play dirty politics.
If I were the PCB Chairman, I will accept your proposal with one addition. I would also identify a future captain and appoint him a vice-captain now so that he could learn the technical skill from the captain and be ready to take over whenever necessary.

amoxil500mg

I see no issue nominating vice captain.. we have useless 60+ fat cows sitting in PCB too scared to do any thing keeping long term in mind.
Free Viagray Sharab moft ke yadday maro lo inn se..

If I were the PCB Chairman, I will accept your proposal with one addition. I would also identify a future captain and appoint him a vice-captain now so that he could learn the technical skill from the captain and be ready to take over whenever necessary.

Yeah the current World Cup Champions with Jofra Archer. Who played his first ODI for England in May of this year i.e less than 3 months ago.

abdulmasih

too much mullagiri and namaz on pitch is responsible for present condition of pak cricket.
game should be game

21pak.jpg

knowledge88

Yeah the current World Cup Champions with Jofra Archer. Who played his first ODI for England in May of this year i.e less than 3 months ago.

Jofra Archer in statistics is known as outlier.

I give you an example. Here is a family say Thompsons who is struggling to make ends meet. Instead of working hard and getting a job they buy a lottery ticket every week in the hope of winning that would change their life. But that has never worked. Then one day one of their friends say " Citizen X " tells them that he read in a newspaper someone named Jofra Archer has won a lottery and now he never has to work for rest of his life". After getting this news from CitizenX the father in the Thompson tells his family, " See, I told you it is possible to win a lottery and that can change someone's life. " What is the future of the Thompsons family is anybody's guess.

My friend, how many times can you tell me a team found a player who was discovered just 90 days prior to the world cup who helped them win the cup ? Do you have any other example ?

Yet Pakistani team management ONLY depends on such a player or winning a lottery. They think they will find Javed Minadad, Mushtaq Muhammad who played his first test at the age of 15. Or Wasim Akram. but that happens once in a decade. England worked hard for 4 years to build a team and in the mean team they won a lottery and got Jofra Archer. But we were not sure just few weeks before the world cup who would play in the test team.

Did you see English team which played against Pakistan prior to the world cup ? How mnay players played this world cup from this team ? Did you see Pakistani team which played against England, how many players played the World cup from that 11 ?

Comparing Jofra Archer, to Muhamad Husnain (who was chosen to represent Pakistan in the World cup). Husnain took only 5 wickets in 5 one day by giving 300 runs, Or 60 runs per wicket.

What was in Inzamam mind to choose him to play a player with 5 wickets in his life time for 300 runs to play the world cup for Pakistan ? Have you seen Jofra Archer's record prior to playing the world cup ?

I hope you understand my point. . .

Jofra Archer in statistics is known as outlier.

I give you an example. Here is a family say Thompsons who is struggling to make ends meet. Instead of working hard and getting a job they buy a lottery ticket every week in the hope of winning that would change their life. But that has never worked. Then one day one of their friends say " Citizen X " tells them that he read in a newspaper someone named Jofra Archer has won a lottery and now he never has to work rest of his life" after getting this news from CitizenX the father in the Thompson tells his family, " See, I told you it is possible to win a lottery and that can change someones life. "
My friend, how many times can you tell me a team found a player who was discovered just 90 days prior to the world cup who helped them win the cup ? Do you have any other example ?

Yet Pakistani team management only depends on winning a lottery. They think they will find Javed Minadad, Mushtaq Muhammad who played his first test at the age of 15. Or Wasim Akram. but that happens once in a decade. England worked hard 4 for years to build a team and in the mean team they won a lottery and got Jofra Archer. But we were not sure just few weeks before the world cup who would play in the test team.

Did you see English team which played against Pakistan prior to the world cup ? How mnay players played this world cup from this team ? Did you see Pakistani team which played against England, how many players played the World cup from that 11 ?

Comparing Jofra Archer, to Muhamad Husnain (who was chosen to represent Pakistan in the World cup). Husnain took only 5 wickets in 5 one day by giving 300 runs, Or 60 runs per wicket.

What was in Inzamam mind to choose him to play a player with 5 wickets in his life time for 300 runs to play the world cup for Pakistan ? Have you seen Jofra Archer's record prior to playing the world cup ?

I hope you understand my point. . .
TL:DR