West cannot defeat al-Qaeda, says UK forces chief

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-11751888

West cannot defeat al-Qaeda, says UK forces chief

_49932960_jex_867673_de27-1.jpg

General Sir David Richards tells Andrew Marr it is not possible to conquer an 'idea' such as Islamism

The West can only contain, not defeat, militant groups such as al-Qaeda, the head of the UK's armed forces has said.
General Sir David Richards, a former Nato commander in Afghanistan, said Islamist militancy would pose a threat to the UK for at least 30 years.
But he told the BBC's Andrew Marr Show a clear-cut victory over militants was not achievable.
The BBC's Frank Gardner said the comments reflect a "new realism" in UK and US counter-terrorism circles.
Our security correspondent said such an admission five years ago might have been considered outrageous and defeatist.
Gen Richards, 58, took over as chief of the defence staff last month, after a spell as head of the British army.
'Secure lives' Before he was due to lay a wreath at the Cenotaph as part of the UK's Remembrance Sunday commemorations, Gen Richards told the BBC's Andrew Marr Show it was important to get the balance of remembrance right.
"It's something we've got to be very careful about... there's a lot of dwelling on death as opposed to what those people who have died achieved in their sadly too often too brief lives, but those people have done immense things that are good and I think we need to focus a bit more on that," he said.
Britain has lost 343 soldiers in Afghanistan since 2001.
But Gen Richards told the BBC it was not possible to defeat the Taliban or al-Qaeda militarily.
"You can't. We've all said this. David Petraeus has said it, I've said it.
"The trick is the balance of things that you're doing and I say that the military are just about, you know, there.
"The biggest problem's been ensuring that the governance and all the development side can keep up with it within a time frame and these things take generations sometimes within a time frame that is acceptable to domestic, public and political opinion," he said.
He said extremist Islamism could not be eradicated as an idea.
"I don't think you can probably defeat an idea, it's something we need to battle back against as necessary, but in its milder forms why shouldn't they be allowed to have that sort of philosophy underpinning their lives.
"It's how it manifests itself that is the key and can we contain that manifestation - and quite clearly al-Qaeda is an unacceptable manifestation of it," he said.
Security lapse Shadow defence secretary Jim Murphy told the BBC Gen Richards was "right" that there was no purely military solution and said there would be "no white flag surrender moment".

_48360429_009804274-1.jpg
Gen Sir David Richards is currently head of the British army

"This is a complicated issue. It will be for the long haul. It's got to do with history.
"But I think he's right to talk about the different ways that this has got to be taken on - militarily yes but diplomatically and in a peaceful sense of nation building in Afghanistan is also important," he said.
Former British Chief of the General Staff, General Sir Richard Dannatt, agreed warfare had entered a new era and needed the support of development programmes.
"In conventional wars, you talk about winning and losing.
"What we're trying to do here is succeed sufficiently to put Afghanistan as a sufficiently stable state that can look after itself and doesn't become ungoverned space into which al-Qaeda or other terrorist groups could reoccupy," he said.
Gen Richards comments came as the Foreign Office apologised to a group of MPs after a fact-finding trip to Afghanistan and Pakistan had to be called off because of a security lapse.
Next week's visit by members of the Commons defence select committee was cancelled after an unencrypted e-mail was sent out by an embassy official in Kabul, prompting fears that the MPs' safety may have been compromised.
The Foreign Office said it would be trying to rearrange a visit for the MPs.
A Foreign Office spokesman said: "We have offered our apologies for this regrettable lapse in our procedures and have assured the committee that we will do all we can to arrange a successful visit in the future."

Re: British General Accepts Defeat

Hon Gen Sir Richards,

Now that you have to the conclusion that you can not win ideology, that is Islam, its only logical now that you accept Islam and follow it like so many other Christians. Names like Yusuf Islam, Yvonne Ridley, Mohammad Ali, Malcom X, are only few drops out of the ocean that I can think of.

Leave your comfortable position of being a General, accept Islam, come to Pak and help us. We need your expertise.

And if you dont then remember: there will be no let up in hell fire (on you) and you will have no protection (from Allah or any one else)

Oh Lord! Give the General thy light and thy right path, straight to thee

Hon Gen Sir Richards,

Leave your comfortable position of being a General, accept Islam, come to Pak and help us. We need your expertise.

[/I]

gazoo bhai...hamaary pass pehlay he bahut generals hain.....
waisay be british general afghanistan ka naam sun kar aapni patloon geelee kar daitay hain....coz of their history in last 100 years...

Hon Gen Sir Richards,

Now that you have to the conclusion that you can not win ideology, that is Islam, its only logical now that you accept Islam and follow it like so many other Christians. Names like Yusuf Islam, Yvonne Ridley, Mohammad Ali, Malcom X, are only few drops out of the ocean that I can think of.

And if you dont then remember: there will be no let up in hell fire (on you) and you will have no protection (from Allah or any one else)

Why dont you first leave your comforts of Canada n go to Pak and enroll in Army to help us?

digitalzygot

BLAH BLAH BLAH...How will they defeat something which they created, there is no AL QAEDA all videos and stuff is fabricated, whenever US wants something a videos comes up/false attack reports/airline crap to keep people scared and justify their invasions, aggression and barbarism.

salaam

Hon Gen Sir Richards,

Why don't you set an example for the general and go to pakistan yourself first and help them??........ instead of prodding others while living comfortably yourself in a secular western country.

Why dont you first leave your comforts of Canada n go to Pak and enroll in Army to help us?

I am so glad that you did not use words like 'wet dream' in the reply. because if you had, I would really HAD HAD a wet dream on account of horny that I am tonight [hilar]

Why don't you set an example for the general and go to pakistan yourself first and help them??........ instead of prodding others while living comfortably yourself in a secular western country.

Ya allah

Give the general the light of Islam and give him courage and opportunity to come to Pak and help us out to root out the terrorist and confront the CIA/RAW nexus because surely you know where their agents are.

Are you jay lus?

I am so glad that you did not use words like 'wet dream' in the reply. because if you had, I would really HAD HAD a wet dream on account of horny that I am tonight [hilar]

No those words are only for those extremely ridiculous people who make ignorant comments

US CENTCOM

Re: General Sir David Richards: Military might cannot defeat al-Qaeda

ایک کہانیاں سنانے والا، جس کو سچائی سے کوئی لینا دینا نہیں، دوسروں کو نہیں یقین دلاسکتا کہ القاعدہ جیسا کچھ بھی نہیں۔ جیسا کہ جنرل رچرڈز نے کہا کیا آپ کو نہیں لگتا کہ القاعدہ کے دہشت اور نفرت پہلانے کے طور طریقے جرمنی کے نازی حکومت سے ملتے ہیں نہ کہ اسلامی احکام سے؟صرف ایسی گپیں سنانے والا ہی جنرل رچرڈز کی پوری بات دہرانے کے بجائے، صرف وہی بات استعمال میں لاتا ہے جو اس کے فائدے میں ہو اور جس سے بیان کا اصل مطلب سامنے نہیں آتا۔ نازی شدت پسندوں کے نفرت اور دہشت پہلانے والے پروپیگنڈا کو پہلے بھی بینلاقوامی اتحاد کے زریعے شکست دی جاچکی ہے ۔ ان دہشت پسند قاتلوں کوبھی اس وقت ہرایا جاسکتا ہے جب ہماری باہمی شراکت دوسرے ممالک، خاص طور پر پاکستان، کے ساتھ بڑھے۔ پاکستان کی امن و سلامتی میں ہی سب کی بھلائی ہے۔

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...p-soldier-says-al-Qaeda-cannot-be-beaten.html

کیا اس مکالمے میں کہیں بھی جنرل رچرڈز نے یہ کہا ہے کہ القاعدہ اور دیگر دہشت گرد اس علاقہ میں موجود نہیں؟ کیا انھوں نے کبھی یہ کہا کہ دہشت گردوں سے خطرے کی شدت زیادہ نہیں؟ نہیں، اس پورے مکالمے میں ایک بار بھی انھوں نے اس علاقے میں دہشت گردی کے موضوع کی شدت کو کم نہیں کیا۔ برعکس، جب ان کے الفاظ کو سیاقی معنی میں لیا جائیں تو جنرل رچرڈز نے شدت پسند دہشت گردوں کی طرف سے آنے والے خطرے کی وسعت پر زور دیا ہے۔ پھر آپ کیسے اس نتیجے پر آسکتے ہیں کہ کوئی القاعدہ گروہ ہے ہی نہیں؟ یا پھر کہ یہ سب امریکہ کے اجنٹس کا بنایا ہوا لفط ہے۔ کیا پاکستانی اور نیٹو فوجیوں کی لاشیں کافی ثبوت نہیں آپ کو القاعدہ کی موجودگی کا یقین دلانے کے لیے ؟ کیا القاعدہ کے ہاتھوں مارے گئے عام امریکی اور پاکستانی لوگوں کی لاشیں آپ کے لیے کافی نہیں؟ کیا اساما بن لادن، القاعدہ، اور طالبان ممبران نے اعتراف کرکے یہ خود ثابت نہیں کیا کہ وہ دین اور قومیت کی پروا کیے بغیر، بے گناہوں کو قتل کر رہے ہیں؟ کیا ٹیلی ویژن اور دنیا کے تمام اخباروں نے دہشت گردوں کے ارادے اور مقصد کے بارے میں ایک جیسی خبر نہیں دی؟ کیا آپ کو پاکستانی اور نیٹو فوجیوں کی جانی قربانیاں سب بناوٹی لگتی ہیں ۔ اگریہ سب خبریں جھوٹ ہیں تو پھر آپ کو خبریں کہاں سے ملتی ہیں۔ خدا ناخواستہ، ان لوگوں سے تو نہیں جنھوں نے حال ہی مسجدوں میں آپ کے مسلمان بھائیوں کو بم دھماکوں سے مار دیا؟
ہارون احمد
ڈی ای ٹی- یو۔ اس سنٹرل کمانڈ

Classified

Obviously they can't eliminate Al-qaeda . certainly they do not want this as Al-qaeda is a shadow organization of combined C.I.A and Moosad . Alqaeda becomes "Al-Faida " for their forces to intrude in any muslim country .
No one answer this , On bogus intel , just an intel , Bush the zionist killed more than million Iraqi innocent people , killed thousands of Afghans just because of one man ! WHAT ? for one man ? YESSS and still unable to capture him dead or alive with all the advanced high technology they have and they think now people wont question who is real terrorist ?! like we dont know dirty zionist games .....
Moderen nazi is Israel the illegitimate state of USA .
Time will come inshallah soon when muslims will take their lands back under the Flag of Army of Imam Mehdi a.s !

Obviously they can't eliminate Al-qaeda . certainly they do not want this as Al-qaeda is a shadow organization of combined C.I.A and Moosad . Alqaeda becomes "Al-Faida " for their forces to intrude in any muslim country .
No one answer this , On bogus intel , just an intel , Bush the zionist killed more than million Iraqi innocent people , killed thousands of Afghans just because of one man ! WHAT ? for one man ? YESSS and still unable to capture him dead or alive with all the advanced high technology they have and they think now people wont question who is real terrorist ?! like we dont know dirty zionist games .....
Time will come inshallah soon when muslims will take their lands back under the Flag of Army of Imam Mehdi a.s !

A million dollar answer!

This time the dude name has been changed. Perhaps Abdul Iblees has appeared in the skin of Haroon. Lol. CentCom thinks that its statements have still some worth left and it can still make us fool. Grow up CentCom, please grow Up. You are just a laughing stuff now. Treachery must have some limits.

No those words are only for those extremely ridiculous people who make ignorant comments
What is your point here dude?
Do you mean his comments are less ridiculous instead of being wise?:P Grow up man(serious), grow up(serious)! And be away from the wrath of Gazoooooooooooooooooo:angry_smile:

Very Well said brother.

Now they find Al Faida against Muslims.

But who killed the millions of people , Christian, Jews , Muslims up to now.

Was Al Qaida there in Vietnam ? Who did the holocaust ? Muslims? Who fought in WW 1 & @ . Just these non Muslim heads of the power r killing million of people without any solid reason. Spend this much mony on the betterment of humanity rather.

Haroon Sahib , Just go and capture ' Usama ' just one old and seriously sick man. U could not do it since last 10 years.

How u will defeat the whole nation. ? ? No way.

U should think only about your salary , nothing else.

Definitely, He will and we will , one day come to Pakistan.
We are busy here in Inviting people to Pakistan like this General . We will make a convoy, just wait brother.

Just leave Afganistan This country will be one of the best country in the region in the next ten year.

But I am worried about MIR JAFAR and MIR SADIQ type people. They could not defeat any Muslim, without this evil natured people.

If the General David is serious, the he should finish the terrorism created by fake country Israel , Every thing will be settled .

کیا پاکستانی اور نیٹو فوجیوں کی لاشیں کافی ثبوت نہیں آپ کو القاعدہ کی موجودگی کا یقین دلانے کے لیے ؟ کیا القاعدہ کے ہاتھوں مارے گئے عام امریکی اور پاکستانی لوگوں کی لاشیں آپ کے لیے کافی نہیں؟ کیا اساما بن لادن، القاعدہ، اور طالبان ممبران نے اعتراف کرکے یہ خود ثابت نہیں کیا کہ وہ دین اور قومیت کی پروا کیے بغیر، بے گناہوں کو قتل کر رہے ہیں؟ کیا ٹیلی ویژن اور دنیا کے تمام اخباروں نے دہشت گردوں کے ارادے اور مقصد کے بارے میں ایک جیسی خبر نہیں دی؟ کیا آپ کو پاکستانی اور نیٹو فوجیوں کی جانی قربانیاں سب بناوٹی لگتی ہیں ۔ اگریہ سب خبریں جھوٹ ہیں تو پھر آپ کو خبریں کہاں سے ملتی ہیں۔ خدا ناخواستہ، ان لوگوں سے تو نہیں جنھوں نے حال ہی مسجدوں میں آپ کے مسلمان بھائیوں کو بم دھماکوں سے مار دیا؟

The same thing Israel is doing since last 60 years. Cant u see ?

Why not we think that this is your self created discrimination.

US is innocent again, playing in the hands of Zionists and now fully captured.

But dont worry, Check the history, Zionist were finished and defeated in every time.