Pornoholic Pakistan

pta1.gif

Supreme Court ordered PTA to ban all porn websites on the internet. But is PTA still able to stop this epidemic which has been destroying western civilization for the past 60 years and is now destroying our generation. The reason I am calling porn an epidemic is that it spreads faster and has more dangerous effects than any other disease. It destroys the minds of the young and intoxicates them so much that they will spend much of their time on the computers watching porn. And when their sexual fantasies are not fulfilled, they will turn to other sources like prostitution. In the past few years, cases of child rape and pedophilia have been alarmingly increased as reported on the media which can be attributed to adult material.
Although internet is the major source of pornographic material and banning the websites has helped a lot. But there is still more to be done. When the websites were banned all that traffic shifted to the shops and markets where pornographic material is readily available. In all major cities of Pakistan, you can find this material at all CD markets and shops, which is smuggled or downloaded from alternate sources. Then there are internet clubs which are the breeding grounds of a pornoholic generation. Internet clubs are the perfect places for people who can spend hours watching Indian /Hollywood movies and porn in total privacy. Almost all the internet clubs where porn is available admit that they are doing the wrong thing but they also say that this is the only reason why users come to their establishments.
Apart from the internet there are other sources of adult material. In the last year cable operators have introduced a digital receiver in several cities which can be purchased by them and some channels on this digital receiver are dedicated pornographic and adult content channels. Giving little higher fees than usual will unlock these channels. A few years back Indian TV channels were banned from the cable after direction of PEMRA but the content is still available on the different CD channels and the digital receivers. And our mainstream media channels are probably the biggest fans of westernized culture and would do anything to air programs and movies of Indian and western genre. Most TV channels feel proud of airing Indian movies during prime time on weekends and on holidays and advertise the time and date weeks in advance. These are the same TV channels where analysts and hosts condemn the vulgar language and dances of the stage dramas and yet they will air Bollywood movies with pride. The question that arises in my mind is that do they find anything similar between the stage dramas and the Indian movies? My local cable operator (who I have asked several times to stop the Indian movies and Indian dramas) said to me that they will have to close the business or will lose major clientele if they will stop Indian content, and they are perfectly willing to lose me as their client if I don’t want this content on my TV.
What I am seeing today is alarming and very dangerous. I have seen people who are addicted to adult material and spend 1 to 3 hours daily watching porn. I had surveyed several internet clubs during the past week and asked the owners about this. And I got some harsh replies that this is the personal matter of these people and why do I have no right to interfere in their personal lives. Programs and content available on the mainstream media are also behind exploiting sexual desires of young boys and girls. When the minds of people are bombarded with women dancing in miniskirts and smooching between boys and girls, soon they will accept this as a perfectly normal behavior. And after some time they will be doing the same thing. A very good example is India, where an estimated 50% of men and women have sex before marriage and in most areas this is considered to be normal. A few years back sex before marriage was not part of the Indian culture. And today they are even asking parents to tell their children about protection and precautions. Over the course of few years our culture has deviated from our roots and is now getting closer and closer to western and Indian culture and in my opinion if is situation prevails, pretty soon we will be facing the same problems the west is facing today.

lurker

I hope they don't ban Pornography in Pakistan. Its great. Can't believe there are men who don't like it. lol.

Altaf Lutfi

Raise a kid with daily dose of personal attention, affectionate guidance and sense of good and bad. Prove yourself to be a man of character and true muslim becoming role model for your kid. Feed him with halaal earning, provide him chances to compete fairly and your state, Pakistan should let him earn livelihood with job on merit and fair pay. Once he grows as adult, stop riding him like a donkey, give him freedom and privacy and trust him. If you have done that, a healthy and balanced human being is added to society. If that is not the case, you have no right to decide good and bad for that person. He simply does not "belong" to you or Pakistan if you both have failed to support him grow as a normal man.

lurker

I wish Pakistan produced quality pornography. When we were in college, we thought this was a largely untapped market in Pakistan. Pakistanis will go crazy to consume quality Pakistani pornography. Yeah a few bad apples will cry about it. But that will not stop it. I mean who stopped Lahore's Hira mundi? nobody.

Raise a kid with daily dose of personal attention, affectionate guidance and sense of good and bad. Prove yourself to be a man of character and true muslim becoming role model for your kid. Feed him with halaal earning, provide him chances to compete fairly and your state, Pakistan should let him earn livelihood with job on merit and fair pay. Once he grows as adult, stop riding him like a donkey, give him freedom and privacy and trust him. If you have done that, a healthy and balanced human being is added to society. If that is not the case, you have no right to decide good and bad for that person. He simply does not "belong" to you or Pakistan if you both have failed to support him grow as a normal man.

Agree. But I think personal space and privacy should be in limit according to the Islamic laws. And we should protect our children from the so called enlightened modernity which is being advertised so much on our media. Because this is the main thing that urges children to explore more and more and evidently they loose the concept of right and wrong.

I wish Pakistan produced quality pornography. When we were in college, we thought this was a largely untapped market in Pakistan. Pakistanis will go crazy to consume quality Pakistani pornography. Yeah a few bad apples will cry about it. But that will not stop it. I mean who stopped Lahore's Hira mundi? nobody.

I only feel sorry for you my friend.

zubair.maalick

main solution is early marriages ...and then shun TV out of house ...
how come it is possible for a normal human being that he/she dun get married, study with opposite gender, mix social gatherings (example: with cousins of same age ), watch movies/dramas/advertisement which provoke extra marital relations and how to beautify yourself (mainly for the opposite gender), No Islamic education in daily life ...

In short, our all daily routine build in us shameless concepts either we admit it or not. Example is our marriage functions which consist of 90% shamelessness ...

Altaf Lutfi

According to Islamic ideology about a "person" , a grown up man is not to be dictated or commandeered by an earthly entity but only by his own subservience to Quran, Hadith and Seerat-ur-Rasool ( S.AW ) and he will be examined as independent unit for his acts on the day of judgement. Islamic free space as privacy to a person is far and wide, far beyond the interruption unless his acts disturb somebody else. All this fuss about " enlightened modernity " etc is heard in Pakistan, not in any other modern muslim society like Malaysia, Indonesia, UAE etc.

Heart

I dont know what to say. Anger and Sorrow both combined together.

Just a piece of advice, if you are a Muslim. The last level of eeman according to an authentic Hadith is to atleast feel bad about a bad thing. Below that there is no eeman. Promoting something as bad as Pornography is way below that level.

main solution is early marriages ...and then shun TV out of house ...
how come it is possible for a normal human being that he/she dun get married, study with opposite gender, mix social gatherings (example: with cousins of same age ), watch movies/dramas/advertisement which provoke extra marital relations and how to beautify yourself (mainly for the opposite gender), No Islamic education in daily life ...

In short, our all daily routine build in us shameless concepts either we admit it or not. Example is our marriage functions which consist of 90% shamelessness ...

I had asked about marriage to several friends, family and other people. And almost every one said that YAAR PEHLAY JOB HO JAYE, GHAR, GAARI OR SHAADI KA KHARCHA HO JAYE TO PHIR SHADI KA SOCHEI GAY.
Marriage has been made one of the most difficult task in a person's life. First of all, Jahaiz which every parents of a young girl think about. They have to give their daughter every thing and some stupid people even demand these things. Then a typical pakistani marriage ceremony consists of several functions, MEHNDI, BARAAT, VALIMA and offcourse HONEYMOON. Altogether a single marriage may cost between 0.5 million to unlimited amount. Marriage has become one of the most difficult thing to do nowadays because of stupid demands of both men and women.

lurker

I am a victim of our society. Islam says to marry us as early as possible. But in our society marriages are delayed forever for useless reasons. I need an outlet. Pornography is good enough for people like us. It harms nobody.

I dont know what to say. Anger and Sorrow both combined together.

Just a piece of advice, if you are a Muslim. The last level of eeman according to an authentic Hadith is to atleast feel bad about a bad thing. Below that there is no eeman. Promoting something as bad as Pornography is way below that level.

I am a victim of our society. Islam says to marry us as early as possible. But in our society marriages are delayed forever for useless reasons. I need an outlet. Pornography is good enough for people like us. It harms nobody.

It harms nobody? seriously mate you need to get your facts right. There are several cases where a child has been raped by someone who was under the influence of porn. The reports had been given on the media several times. I feel pity for people whose marriages had been delayed due to stupid niches in our society but this is no reason to justify something that is wrong.

zubair.maalick

I had asked about marriage to several friends, family and other people. And almost every one said that YAAR PEHLAY JOB HO JAYE, GHAR, GAARI OR SHAADI KA KHARCHA HO JAYE TO PHIR SHADI KA SOCHEI GAY.
Marriage has been made one of the most difficult task in a person's life. First of all, Jahaiz which every parents of a young girl think about. They have to give their daughter every thing and some stupid people even demand these things. Then a typical pakistani marriage ceremony consists of several functions, MEHNDI, BARAAT, VALIMA and offcourse HONEYMOON. Altogether a single marriage may cost between 0.5 million to unlimited amount. Marriage has become one of the most difficult thing to do nowadays because of stupid demands of both men and women.

You are 100% right ...
This is a perfect example to understand our religious psychology

Being a Muslim we need to learn and change our mentality ...

Lets breakdown

1. biwi ka khercha -- us ki kismat ka us ko milna hai
2. job -- abhi kya aap bhuky so rhy ho, aik fard ky gher mai aany se kya ho jye ga
3. Jahaiz -- jin ky pass paisa nahi wo is ko majburi ka nam daety hain aurjin ky pass hai wo is ko gift ka naam .. I have heard many afgument even from sincere practising muslims .. "ye jahaiz nahi hamari taraf se gift hai "
4. One more to understand how far we away from true practice -- Walima insan apni hesiat ky mutabik dawat kerta hai .. means ager meri age 30 hai aur pay 30 40K Rs to yahi meri hesiat hai .. is pay mai maheeny ky kharach ky bad aap kitny bando ko dawat dy sakty ho aur kis level ki ?? abhi kya ho rha hai ?? kabhi zindage mai real islamic walima dakha hai aapny ? dulhal ka dress hi MshAllah 50K ky upper ka hota hai ..

ager koi islam ka nam ly to major argument is .. "life mai aik bar hi to shadi hoti hai" .. "ab banda khushi b enjoy na kary" .. I wonder where is Islam in our thinking ?? kiya Allah ny khishi ky moqy per khuli ijazat dy rakhi hai ??

Dulhal ko tyar ker ky uuncha stage per itha diya jata hai .. is se barh ker beghairti kya ho sakti hai .. aik oorat kisi ki izzat kisi ki gerat banany ja rhi hoti hai .. us ko tyar ker ky stage per bitha diya jata hai .. sary na mehrum dakhain us ko .. us ki khubsurti ko ... media ********* hai ..?? hum nahi ??

usi function per kuch log kam b ker rhy hoty hain jin ki apni bety betion ki shadi hony wali hoti hai .. apny aap ko us position per kabhi rakh ker soochain ... how social injustice we are doing ..... but we never look ourselves in mirror..

we are far far away from DEEN (way of life) prescribed by Allah ..

May Allah help us in understanding deen and implementing in our lives .. Ameen

lurker

Under the influence? You say as if its like alcohol. It's really harmless. Almost every man I know has consumed pornography at some stage of their lives. I'll ask my dad if he did too. Hell our mosque Imam's son had a big collection WITHIN the mosque grounds! :P hahah. All our friends have been regular consumers of pornography, nothing's wrong with us. Some of us are married and have healthy sex lives.

It harms nobody? seriously mate you need to get your facts right. There are several cases where a child has been raped by someone who was under the influence of porn. The reports had been given on the media several times. I feel pity for people whose marriages had been delayed due to stupid niches in our society but this is no reason to justify something that is wrong.

Heart

I will again give you the same advise. A bad thing remains a bad thing for whatever reason. One must at least feel bad about it rather that promoting it. Even if everyman has consumed pornography it does not make pornography a good thing. Get the facts straight.

And when someone says under the influence, it does not mean every man who is pornaholic will do harm to the society. But he can. Quran does not speak of doing Zina - it speaks of even going close to zina. Because there are chances that a person who goes close to it will fall for it. And Allah does not want even that to happen. Pornography is also getting close to Zina.

Having said all this - I can only advice. You will only accept if you want to accept. If you are however bent on denying the truth then except for Allah no one can change your views. I pray to Allah that he Guides us all. Aameen.

Under the influence? You say as if its like alcohol. It's really harmless. Almost every man I know has consumed pornography at some stage of their lives. I'll ask my dad if he did too. Hell our mosque Imam's son had a big collection WITHIN the mosque grounds! :P hahah. All our friends have been regular consumers of pornography, nothing's wrong with us. Some of us are married and have healthy sex lives.

Under the influence meant that when they are watching porn they will eventually indulge in sexual activity. If they are not married then they will go for sources which are prohibited like prostitution, exploitation etc. Men are not the only one who are into porn but there are women in this as well. Which in turn effects the society more. So why not ask the question to everyone. (no disrespect intended)

Zarii

In the case of a child abuse, I dont think porn is responsible but frustration is the main culprit. Porn can only ignite a person but it is more about the mental sickness.

lurker

In the US rape cases have dropped significantly since the 1990s. Pornography became mainstream around that time in the US and the proliferation of the internet also started. Reported rapes in the US in 1994 were 106,100. In 2011 they were 81,425. And they are continually dropping. So your insinuation that proliferation of Pornography increases Sexual violence is unfounded when you correlate it to real data.

Uski Neeyat kharab kiya ho gi
Jisne dekhay hon laakhon husn? ;)

Under the influence meant that when they are watching porn they will eventually indulge in sexual activity. If they are not married then they will go for sources which are prohibited like prostitution, exploitation etc. Men are not the only one who are into porn but there are women in this as well. Which in turn effects the society more. So why not ask the question to everyone. (no disrespect intended)

Like I said, the Sexual violence statistics do not support your claims. :) The problem of Pornography is a moral problem, not a factual problem. Hira Mundi in Lahore exists since the time of the Mughals. What pornography was there at that time to support an entire industry!? LOL. The ball is in your court.