PM’s tax amnesty scheme fails to attract people

Insaaf4Tyrain

1995384-image-1560885186.jpg

ISLAMABAD: Less than 250 Pakistanis have so far availed the tax amnesty scheme and paid a paltry sum of about Rs450 million in taxes despite personal appeal by Prime Minister Imran Khan through his televised address.

The dismal outcome in the past over one month has compelled the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) to keep the figures away from parliamentarians and the federal cabinet.

The cabinet and the National Assembly Standing Committee on Finance separately took up the progress on PM Imran’s black assets legalising scheme.

The FBR promised to share details with the federal cabinet next week.

Sources in the FBR told The Express Tribune that results were extremely poor and people did not respond to the personal appeal made by the premier and the campaign launched by the FBR. They said around 250 people paid about Rs450 million to the exchequer.

However, Minister of State for Revenue Hammad Azhar told The Express Tribune that he was hopeful the scheme would start getting good response from next week as he was receiving encouraging feedback from tax bars and Regional Tax Offices.

The asset legalising scheme would expire on June 30. FBR Chairman Shabbar Zaidi categorically told the National Assembly Standing Committee on Finance on Tuesday that the scheme would not be extended beyond June 30 due to the start of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) bailout programme from July.

When contacted, FBR spokesman Dr Hamid Atiq Sarwar refused to divulge outcome of the tax amnesty scheme, saying the figures had been kept confidential. But he did not give reason for keeping the results secret.

There is no legal bar to keep the outcome secret, although the FBR cannot disclose the names of beneficiaries.

On May 13, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government launched the tax amnesty scheme in an effort to encourage people to declare their hidden assets at extremely low tax rates from 1.5% to 4%. Yet, the people have not responded to the call.

The prime minister has twice gone on state media to appeal to the people to avail the tax amnesty scheme aimed at avoiding harsh action by the FBR from July.

The federal cabinet also discussed the tax amnesty scheme on Tuesday but its deliberations remained focused only on how to make it attractive for people, according to a federal minister.

It was decided that a marathon campaign would be launched to create awareness among people of the importance of the amnesty scheme.

The FBR will also make data of banking transactions available on its website to encourage people to legalise these assets.

The previous tax amnesty scheme, launched by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government, remained largely successful when over 84,000 people legalised around Rs2.4 trillion in black assets by paying Rs124 billion
in taxes.

“Generally, people tend to opt for the tax amnesty scheme in the last week,” said Zaidi, while responding to a question raised by a member of the NA standing committee.

Zaidi said the FBR had not fixed any tax collection target in the budget from the amnesty scheme. He refused to disclose results of the amnesty scheme despite being repeatedly asked by members of the committee.

However, the budget documents showed that the FBR expected total revenue of Rs4.150 trillion in the outgoing fiscal year, which was only possible if it collected at least Rs200 billion from the tax amnesty scheme. In first 11 months of FY19, the FBR collected only Rs3.31 trillion and it would need Rs850 billion in June, which was impossible.

In its internal meetings, Rs150 billion worth of revenues from the amnesty scheme came under discussion before the launch of the scheme, according to sources in the FBR.

Zaidi told the standing committee that the purpose of the scheme was to provide a transit period to those who held Benami assets. He said if the Benami asset holders did not avail the scheme, the FBR had powers to confiscate their assets and put them behind bars for seven years.

“At present, businessmen are weighing whether they should opt for the tax amnesty scheme or not,” Zaidi told the standing committee.

If people were not responding to the scheme, it meant the prime minister’s appeals had not made an impact on them, said PPP’s Dr Nafisa Shah, a member of the standing committee.

“It will take time to change the 70-year-old culture and I cannot guarantee whether everyone will be in the tax system from July,” said Zaidi while responding to a question raised by a standing committee member.

PML-N’s Sheikh Qaiser said the FBR chairman’s decision on not disclosing the provisional tax amnesty results indicated that the scheme had failed.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 19th, 2019.

Urdu speaking

Tax amnesty scheme is fraud..... first Imran Fraudiya declared illegal apartment in Grand Hyatt Islamabad of Rs 8 karoor... please I argue do not participate in this fraud scheme... I'm glad stock exchange, money changers and all markets not co operating with Imraniya khilafat all they want is back Sir Nawaz Sharif rehmatulla and Ishaq daar.... Today dollars rate 163

Glock

Tax amnesty scheme is fraud..... first Imran Fraudiya declared illegal apartment in Grand Hyatt Islamabad of Rs 8 karoor... please I argue do not participate in this fraud scheme... I'm glad stock exchange, money changers and all markets not co operating with Imraniya khilafat all they want is back Sir Nawaz Sharif rehmatulla and Ishaq daar.... Today dollars rate 163

Nauzbillah!

Nawaz Sharif "RehmatUllah" !!!!!!

You disgusting stinking patwaari sucker, are you in your bloody senses????!!!!!

Can you do any more ball-licking than this?

Sickening!!!!

ISLAMABAD: Less than 250 Pakistanis have so far availed the tax amnesty scheme and paid a paltry sum of about Rs450 million in taxes despite personal appeal by Prime Minister Imran Khan through his televised address.

The dismal outcome in the past over one month has compelled the Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) to keep the figures away from parliamentarians and the federal cabinet.

The cabinet and the National Assembly Standing Committee on Finance separately took up the progress on PM Imran’s black assets legalising scheme.

Sources in the FBR told The Express Tribune that results were extremely poor and people did not respond to the personal appeal made by the premier and the campaign launched by the FBR. They said around 250 people paid about Rs450 million to the exchequer.

However, Minister of State for Revenue Hammad Azhar told The Express Tribune that he was hopeful the scheme would start getting good response from next week as he was receiving encouraging feedback from tax bars and Regional Tax Offices.

The asset legalising scheme would expire on June 30. FBR Chairman Shabbar Zaidi categorically told the National Assembly Standing Committee on Finance on Tuesday that the scheme would not be extended beyond June 30 due to the start of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) bailout programme from July.

When contacted, FBR spokesman Dr Hamid Atiq Sarwar refused to divulge outcome of the tax amnesty scheme, saying the figures had been kept confidential. But he did not give reason for keeping the results secret.

There is no legal bar to keep the outcome secret, although the FBR cannot disclose the names of beneficiaries.

On May 13, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government launched the tax amnesty scheme in an effort to encourage people to declare their hidden assets at extremely low tax rates from 1.5% to 4%. Yet, the people have not responded to the call.

The prime minister has twice gone on state media to appeal to the people to avail the tax amnesty scheme aimed at avoiding harsh action by the FBR from July.

The federal cabinet also discussed the tax amnesty scheme on Tuesday but its deliberations remained focused only on how to make it attractive for people, according to a federal minister.

It was decided that a marathon campaign would be launched to create awareness among people of the importance of the amnesty scheme.

The FBR will also make data of banking transactions available on its website to encourage people to legalise these assets.

The previous tax amnesty scheme, launched by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government, remained largely successful when over 84,000 people legalised around Rs2.4 trillion in black assets by paying Rs124 billion
in taxes.

“Generally, people tend to opt for the tax amnesty scheme in the last week,” said Zaidi, while responding to a question raised by a member of the NA standing committee.

Zaidi said the FBR had not fixed any tax collection target in the budget from the amnesty scheme. He refused to disclose results of the amnesty scheme despite being repeatedly asked by members of the committee.

However, the budget documents showed that the FBR expected total revenue of Rs4.150 trillion in the outgoing fiscal year, which was only possible if it collected at least Rs200 billion from the tax amnesty scheme. In first 11 months of FY19, the FBR collected only Rs3.31 trillion and it would need Rs850 billion in June, which was impossible.

In its internal meetings, Rs150 billion worth of revenues from the amnesty scheme came under discussion before the launch of the scheme, according to sources in the FBR.

Zaidi told the standing committee that the purpose of the scheme was to provide a transit period to those who held Benami assets. He said if the Benami asset holders did not avail the scheme, the FBR had powers to confiscate their assets and put them behind bars for seven years.

“At present, businessmen are weighing whether they should opt for the tax amnesty scheme or not,” Zaidi told the standing committee.

If people were not responding to the scheme, it meant the prime minister’s appeals had not made an impact on them, said PPP’s Dr Nafisa Shah, a member of the standing committee.

“It will take time to change the 70-year-old culture and I cannot guarantee whether everyone will be in the tax system from July,” said Zaidi while responding to a question raised by a standing committee member.

PML-N’s Sheikh Qaiser said the FBR chairman’s decision on not disclosing the provisional tax amnesty results indicated that the scheme had failed.

MaShaAllah, excellent piece of writing but this clearly shows THAT SCHEME IS WORKING WELL & YOU GOT LOT OF MIRCHEE IN YOUR ___. Thanks for updating that it is going well.

Urdu speaking

Nauzbillah!

Nawaz Sharif "RehmatUllah" !!!!!!

You disgusting stinking patwaari sucker, are you in your bloody senses????!!!!!

Can you do any more ball-licking than this?

Sickening!!!!
You might be Baralvi that's why you don't know the meaning of Rehmatulla... Allah ki rehmat ho uspy in English God bless, In Arab countries its common to say each other....samjha bharway

Glock

You might be Baralvi that's why you don't know the meaning of Rehmatulla... Allah ki rehmat ho uspy in English God bless, In Arab countries its common to say each other....samjha bharway

Your explanation doesn't reduce the fanatics limits to which the Patwaari clan goes for this thieving lot..

Even if its a simple blessing, then still it's being wished upon the most corrupt moddashucker of this nation, you Bharway!

May I ask you how many of your dear ones do you personally address with the "Rehmatullah" on daily basis?

Seems you're another confirmed Patwaari...

Urdu speaking

Your explanation doesn't reduce the fanatics limits to which the Patwaari clan goes for this thieving lot..

Even if its a simple blessing, then still it's being wished upon the most corrupt moddashucker of this nation, you Bharway!

May I ask you how many of your dear ones do you personally address with the "Rehmatullah" on daily basis?

Seems you're another confirmed Patwaari...

It's a common phrase in Arab countries people say to each other every day because your language is not Arabic so you don't know the Qur'an as you don't read translation

Glock

It's a common phrase in Arab countries people say to each other every day because your language is not Arabic so you don't know the Qur'an as you don't read translation
It wasn't the translation that was an issue... It was the fanaticism with which you wish that translation on whom, here a Ganj sucker who should be hanged in Hathi Chowk, rather than being wished Allah's blessings, you Noora arse licker!

Don't ever try to divert the discussion with me towards nonsense points, you goddamned bharway!

umer_javed

Pay Tax for what?...........
You people are already taking tax through electricity, Gas, Water, patrol and on all government services what else you need more?????

I Can understand that like others PTI Politicians also can't run their AC 24/7 therefore they need this money to keep their ACs on 24/7.

These politicians from the past 71 years sucking our blood and now they want to suck the last drop of our blood.

Imran Khans is same like Nawaz and Zardair no difference.

Before Election No Tax, No Tax
After Election Doo Tax, Doo Tax

They are all same.

AhmadSaleem264

This is 3 phased amnesty scheme first phase is till 30th of june which I am sure will get extended after the end of first phase there is 2nd phase in which you will pay 20% contrary to 2% of first phase. The second phase will last almost a year and then there will be third phase with 40% payment. The article is biased as it is comparing the 20 day period of pti amnesty scheme with a scheme that lasted for a year.
The relaxation is till 30th after that every tax evader will be asking "mujhy q andar daala"

umer_javed

This is 3 phased amnesty scheme first phase is till 30th of june which I am sure will get extended after the end of first phase there is 2nd phase in which you will pay 20% contrary to 2% of first phase. The second phase will last almost a year and then there will be third phase with 40% payment. The article is biased as it is comparing the 20 day period of pti amnesty scheme with a scheme that lasted for a year.
The relaxation is till 30th after that every tax evader will be asking "mujhy q andar daala"
What is the return of paying tax?

Glock

Let me correct you a bit for your better understanding...

The other 2 or 3 phases of 10/20/30 or 40 percent are surcharges on your actual amount due...

It's like if your tax is estimated to be 100000 (1 lakh), and you don't pay in the first phase, then in the second you'll pay 10 percent more on that, hence 110000, in the last phase you'll be paying 140000 instead of the original 100000...it's kind of late payment surcharges, like on electricity bills, etc

Its not as you state that initially it is 2 percent, then 40 percent.... Plz don't spread wrong info...

Hate_Nooras

So the mafia want back one of their own. And that makes you happy. What a complete cuunt you are!!!!

OSP

Pooooooora article parh liya but not a single source of information lol
Writer baar baar likh raha hay kay fbr say contact kiya gya but koi comment nahi aya. To phir yeh numbers kahan say aaye bhai?
Chalo ye scheme to on the way hay, noora shareef ki scheme ka source to dey do.
Wasted my time

Samlee

MaShaAllah, excellent piece of writing but this clearly shows THAT SCHEME IS WORKING WELL & YOU GOT LOT OF MIRCHEE IN YOUR ___. Thanks for updating that it is going well.

in taxes.

No These Are Patwari Lies

Look At This More Than 1200 Have Already Availed By 1st June How Can It Be Only 250 Now