India's ticking water bomb - India will be using Water as aa weapon against Pakistan unless we wake

India will be using Water as a weapon against Pakistan unless we wake up right now. We hardly hear anything on this issue in our media.

Thanks to Bilal Siddiq for making this video and sending it to us

Pathfinder

Re: India's ticking water bomb - India will be using Water as a weapon against Pakistan unless we wake up

You expect Nawaz Sharif to do something he is hell bent on giving them MFN. and eager to buy their electricity made on dams that block Pakistan water!!!

Ahmedkwt

Re: India's ticking water bomb - India will be using Water as a weapon against Pakistan unless we wake up

No time Adeel Bhai now we are busy with Musharaf and operation planning against Taliban. We have no time for focusing on external issues. They are petty issues for Nawaz Shareef. Why don't people use mineral water? For electricity people should install solar panels :)

Politcs

yes we need to wake up. Government should try to improve Pakistan's relation with all neighboring including India.

I think current government is on right track. Pakistan can not get water by force because all rivers are coming from India. Pakistan and India should work together and our relation should be like US and Canada where people can travel without Visa and both countries are getting full advantage from each other resources. Another attack on Indian Parliament will not give us anything but people like Hafiz Saeed and Sheeda Tali will just clap and jump like monkeys.

Pathfinder

yes we need to wake up. Government should try to improve Pakistan's relation with all neighboring including India.

I think current government is on right track. Pakistan can not get water by force because all rivers are coming from India. Pakistan and India should work together and our relation should be like US and Canada where people can travel without Visa and both countries are getting full advantage from each other resources. Another attack on Indian Parliament will not give us anything but people like Hafiz Saeed and Sheeda Tali will just clap and jump like monkeys.

The issue is about having enough water to survive and you are just repeating pmln manifesto. Or aman ki asha manifesto.

contra

1. India is allowed to build "Run of the River" dams on the 3 Pk rivers (Jhelum, Chenab, Indus) under the Indus Water Treaty. 2. You can google run of the river and get the information. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Run-of-the-river_hydroelectricity 3. Water is released due to heavy rain, which is what happened in 2013. These are factors beyond the control of any nation. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_North_India_floods 4. India is allowed to build dams on Ravi, Beas and Sutlej under the Indus Water Treaty. 5. To repeatedly state that India is violating the IWT, which is an outright lie, is doing a disservice to your forum members. 6. India won its case to build run of the river dams on the three Indian rivers. 7. Very disappointed with this thread.

Politcs

The issue is about having enough water to survive and you are just repeating pmln manifesto. Or aman ki asha manifesto.

what are you proposing? We have enough water to survive but internal fight between provinces is not allowing to save that water. Pakistan is loosing its case in international courts because we are wasting all water and letting it go into sea. Just 2 years back half of Pakistan was flooded but now we have no water to drink.

Where is all the water gone?

What I know is that we can not just occupy India and take control of all the rivers. If you think that we can then join Lashkar and Sheeda Tali because they have the plan to concur whole India.

Such a stupid conspiracy theory. India needs energy and there is no clause in IWT to stop making dams as long as It doesn't displace water. India will go power bankrupt and economically infeasible , if it doesn't invest in dams & stop harnessing energy. Pakistan should set up dams with India for common benefits. India can help Pakistan set up coal plants in thar or sindh!

aap agar aman aur mohabbat ki baat karenge to use samajhne ke bajaye aap ke upar indian, hindu baniya , traitor ,gaddar , taafu ******, kafir ,nura agent ,***** aur na jaane kitne bade bade shaan daar naamo se lekar gaaliya tak khana padega. aman chain ki baat karne wala musalman hi nahi ho sakta.(bigsmile)

rainbow22

It was no attack on India by Hafiz Saeed because he does not believe in Bagwan like Ajmal Qasab Hindu. Talk with TTP khawarjis and friendship with India is the biggest mistake of this government.

uetian

India's ticking water bomb - India will be using Water as a weapon against Pakistan unless we wake up

The first thing to do after waking up, is to build dams/water reservoirs on our own river system.
I did raw calculations during 2010 flood, the water wasted after sudden melt down of big glaciers, if it were stored would have proven enough for next 12-13 years (12-13 DRY years !!)

http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?p=2137227#post2137227

To ANP: a big thank you for politicizing the Kalabagh Dam, ANP voters deserve to starve to death.

I am reposting the data from above mentioned post.

A summary of how much water has been wasted (July-August 2010 floods) due to absence of water reservoirs is here:

This water was enough for 13 years of our needs, even without using water from rivers during next 13 years.

The total amount of flood water that has flowed past Sukkur barrage is 112320 Billions Liters.

The basis of calculation is data of water flow at Sukkur and Kotri barrages.

Since these barrages are in series, therefore only Sukkur barrage is being considered.
The average flow at Sukkur barrages was between 8Lakhh cusecs - 12Lakhh cusecs during first 20 days of August 2010 (can be checked in Express newspaper for 30.07.2010-20.08.2010). It averaged 9.15 Lakhh cusecs for the total month of August that year.

Now:
1 cusec= 28.5 Liters per second.

9.15 x 28.5= 261 Lakh (26 crore Liters per second).
and only during 24 hrs yesterday (i.e. 86400 seconds), the total water flowed out of Sukkur barrage, was :
26 x 86400 = 2246400 crores liter in just 1 day, i.e.
22464 Billions Liters of water in just one day.
multiply it with last 20 days, and you will see:
112320 Billions Liters of water has been wasted.
This would have been 660700 Liters per Pakistani.
If an average Pakistani uses water equal to an average UK citizen, i.e. 140 Liters per day, then it would have taken 13 years to use this water.

Early Indus civilization was devastated due to droughts and change of river paths, they weren't able to store the rainfall for agriculture etc.;
We are on the same track, thanks to our politicians who keep their politics alive by turning the key projects (e.g. KalaBagh Dam) into disputed matters and get votes by fooling the public.
In fact there is no need to mention these illiterate leaders; since our learned scholars also think such projects (which are necessary to save next generations) are EXPLOITATION schemes.

Zindabad4u

aur do vote heheeh kisa change hai nah .... yah woo tebdeleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ;) democracy mill ka enjoy karo Pa G's

chandbibi

Water is an important issue not only for Pakistan but for India too. Pakistanis are too ready and willing to pass on the buck for their failure on to India. But that is never going to be a solution for the water issues of pakistan. Like the poster above says the geographical area comprising Pakistan has been rendered arid due to disappearing rivers and rivers shifting course all through history. Watch this program which was posted on siasat.pk just a few days back. Although this anti- india anchor was raising the same canard as this thread tries to raise, the panelists were more realistic and have laid out the bare truth for all to see.

Nawaz Govt. is putting pressure to accept India as most fav. nation. This is sick behaviour and shows how sincere are these Indian nawaz Pithoos.

We should attack Jammu Kashmir as soon as possible and take control of our rivers. This is the only solution.

iSupportPTI

India acting as an enemy is natural - but our gov acting like an enemy of the nation is not acceptable. this nation need to realize that their rulers have sold their future to the hands of the enemy. Water will be the major most crisis for Pakistan in coming days... better start preparing now - make people realize - and build DAMS and also take back the water from India.

iSupportPTI

India is violating the Indus water treaty as the hydro drams its building on Pakistani rivers are effecting the water flow. Also it gives India the ability to create FLASH FLOODS in northen areas of Pakistan. The reason India is winning cases is because Pakistan gov is not doing any work on the situation. They are not building dams that is the reason they are unable to claim low flow of water. and reduction of electricity generation.

1. India is allowed to build "Run of the River" dams on the 3 Pk rivers (Jhelum, Chenab, Indus) under the Indus Water Treaty. 2. You can google run of the river and get the information. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Run-of-the-river_hydroelectricity 3. Water is released due to heavy rain, which is what happened in 2013. These are factors beyond the control of any nation. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_North_India_floods 4. India is allowed to build dams on Ravi, Beas and Sutlej under the Indus Water Treaty. 5. To repeatedly state that India is violating the IWT, which is an outright lie, is doing a disservice to your forum members. 6. India won its case to build run of the river dams on the three Indian rivers. 7. Very disappointed with this thread.

Nawaz Govt. is putting pressure to accept India as most fav. nation. This is sick behaviour and shows how sincere are these Indian nawaz Pithoos.

We should attack Jammu Kashmir as soon as possible and take control of our rivers. This is the only solution.

thodi dawai le lo kisi doctor ko bhi dikha lo .sehat e dimaghine ke tel ki apne sar par maalish karo theek ho jaoge.:lol::lol::lol:

Your post has no value for me. You are living under Hindoo ruling. You must follow hindoos. This is real shame.

lurker

This is not a game of pithoo gol garam. lol. Attack India and take control of "our" rivers. Hahaha. Easier said than done. A smarter move would be to
1. Have better ties with India.
2. Be less dependent on Water. (Pakistan is by far just an agricultural economy. Change this.)
3. Have stronger and better relations in the international community. This can be used as leverage to "force" India to comply with what you demand.

Reduce our dependency on Water. These are by far better goals that achieve far greater effect than even capturing Kashmir.

Joker

Your post has no value for me. You are living under Hindoo ruling. You must follow hindoos. This is real shame.

When KPK provincial assembly is going to pass resolution to built KalaBagh dam ??