IAF tacitly admits Balakot airstrike did not go according to plan

surfer

I've been working in IT industry for over 20 years, and some projects I've worked on with Indian companies in London, like TCS and Wipro. And I've always said that they are not all that they are cracked up to be. For every one good developer I've come across, there have been 4 total duffers. On one project we actually had to send people back home cause they were useless.

This is what happends when you don't use professionals and hire cheap indian resources

IAF tacitly admits Balakot airstrike did not go according to plan

1959307-sreutersmedianet_-1556196478-228-640x480.jpg

KARACHI:
The Indian Air Force, it seems, has finally come around to tacitly admitting that its so-called ‘surgical’ airstrike on Balakot did not go according to plan.

An IAF report on ‘lessons learnt’ – covered by The Hindustan Times and other Indian news outlets – has acknowledged that changes in software made by Indian technicians to integrate new weapon systems with the Mirage 2000 aircraft used to carry out the strike ‘did not completely work’.

The report follows the Indian external affairs minister’s admission that no Pakistani citizens or military personnel were killed or injured in the action. It also appears to support the Australian Strategic Policy Institute’s assessment that the precision-guided munitions (PGMs) used in the strike were incorrectly programmed to fly precisely into their targets.

The IAF report criticised the indigenous skills IAF uses to integrate new weapons systems onto the aircraft it uses. “The Balakot experience underlines integration of new weapons with platforms should be done by the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) despite the cost involved,” The Hindustan Times quoted a senior official aware of the assessment as saying.

It admitted that that the entire weapons package carried by the IAF jets used in the airstrike ‘was not delivered’, possibly due to changes in software made to integrate new weapon systems with the jets.

“One PGM did not leave the Mirage 2000 aircraft because it is a 35-year old legacy aircraft and there was drift in the inertial navigation system,” The Indian Express quoted sources as saying. “It meant that there was a mismatch between the location seen by the PGM and the aircraft at the point of the delivery of the PGM, which led to it not being fired from the aircraft.”

The IAF report also pointed out that the IAF could have carried out better ‘weapon-to-target matching’ – the IAF used Israeli-made SPICE 2000 precision-guided penetration bombs over a fragmentation weapon, which flattens structures.

It acknowledged that weather conditions created problems for the IAF warplanes as well. The Indian Express reported that the IAF jets also carried Crystal Maze PGMs, which could not be fired because of heavy cloud cover that prevented pilots from having a line of sight over the target area. “With its backward data linkage, Crystal Maze would have provided a video image of the target being hit which would have helped IAF quell doubts about the effectiveness of its airstrike,” The Indian Express said.

ASPI, in a March 27 report, first proposed the explanation that the PGMs IAF used in Balakot could have been incorrectly programmed. “An incorrect vertical coordinate will result in the weapon missing as surely as an error in latitude or longitude,” the report said. “Such errors can occur for various reasons, including by neglecting to convert coordinates from one coordinate system, or datum, to another (a datum shift).”

The report followed another ASPI report which, along with similar reports by Medium’s DFRLabs and Reuters, used satellite and other imagery to conclusively prove that IAF warplanes failed to hit anything other than a patch of trees.

Last week, India’s External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj at a gathering in Ahmedabad, admitted that no Pakistani soldier or citizen was killed in the Balakot operation, prompting Pakistan’s military to express satisfaction that ‘ground realities’ had compelled New Delhi into revealing the ‘truth’.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1959307/1-iaf-tacitly-admits-balakot-airstrike-not-go-according-plan/

Steyn

I've been working in IT industry for over 20 years, and some projects I've worked on with Indian companies in London, like TCS and Wipro. And I've always said that they are not all that they are cracked up to be. For every one good developer I've come across, there have been 4 total duffers. On one project we actually had to send people back home cause they were useless.

This is what happends when you don't use professionals and hire cheap indian resources

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1959307/1-iaf-tacitly-admits-balakot-airstrike-not-go-according-plan/

Completely agree. The freelance market is full of these Indians.

The real competent ones cost a lot. Usually the ones from Western and European are more competent.

On the same note, i had positive and bad experience with Pakistani people.

kakamuna420

IT consulting or outsourcing firms like TCS, Wipro, and even the big 4 or 5 are all rag dealers.
Managers cheat big companies and sell them contracts at any costs and anything to implement. After that they hire young people and there is a chain. If you get 200 USD, the money goes through different channels with everyone taking a bite and a crazy nerd guy implementing the solution for 150USD per month.
These firms treat these developers like shit. They are even threatened them with life if they switch other jobs. On the other hand, managers working in these companies get 40-60K USD only in stock bonuses and their salaries are at a higher level of 350k USD
For IT developers, my recommendation is to work on contract and make your rates enough so that nobody could squeeze their commission out of your salary

Tyrion Lannister

my experience is same, they are dead cheap abut work quality is proportional to their rates as well. professionals know this very well that it is more of a bubble rather than a reality

khalid100

Been working in IT industry since 1996 after graducation and outside Pakistan since 2000. Currently working with one of the biggest IT companies in world, since 2007, that has offices worldwide and employees all over the world.
Best developers I've come across are from Israel, China, US and India and some Eastern European countries.
But again you get a mixture of good and bad from everywhere.

pk78601

its all about opportunities, settlement of govt and promotion of their people into foreign land and india have played well they are even selling shit and believe me it works, i have been working in freelancing since 2008 they are selling shit and people are buying it. sadly people like us suffer to maintain a position where we have to sacrifice every thing including family in pakistan but we cant live in pakistan due to no resources aur sub say bara chutiapa na govt support karti hai na kuch agar 4 paisay kamany lago to FIA ke jahil chachay pechay par jate hain. Most people who have software houses or working on freelancing they are working with third party and paying good amount of money to use their resources. but as u said i have work with thousand of indians its same stuff they are useless they are just being promoted as No1 in information technology in the world. kia kar sakte hain pakistan ka sudharna aik khwab hai pakistani becharay payapl lenay ke liye shadian karte phirtay hain :P

kakamuna420

my experience is same, they are dead cheap abut work quality is proportional to their rates as well. professionals know this very well that it is more of a bubble rather than a reality
I asked one Indian developer about the work quality and he told me "My company charge s100 dollar per hour for my work and give me 150 USD "PER MONTH". Why should I provide them quality?"

kakamuna420

The real competent ones cost a lot. Usually the ones from Western and European are more competent.

aap kya angraiz hain?

kakamuna420

Been working in IT industry since 1996 after graducation and outside Pakistan since 2000. Currently working with one of the biggest IT companies in world, since 2007, that has offices worldwide and employees all over the world.
Best developers I've come across are from Israel, China, US and India and some Eastern European countries.
But again you get a mixture of good and bad from everywhere.
what is your great definition of best developers? You missed western Europe..

kakamuna420

its all about opportunities, settlement of govt and promotion of their people into foreign land and india have played well they are even selling shit and believe me it works, i have been working in freelancing since 2008 they are selling shit and people are buying it. sadly people like us suffer to maintain a position where we have to sacrifice every thing including family in pakistan but we cant live in pakistan due to no resources aur sub say bara chutiapa na govt support karti hai na kuch agar 4 paisay kamany lago to FIA ke jahil chachay pechay par jate hain. Most people who have software houses or working on freelancing they are working with third party and paying good amount of money to use their resources. but as u said i have work with thousand of indians its same stuff they are useless they are just being promoted as No1 in information technology in the world. kia kar sakte hain pakistan ka sudharna aik khwab hai pakistani becharay payapl lenay ke liye shadian karte phirtay hain :P
Everybody has joined the IT field. IN US, there were people who were bankers, lawyers, accountants who have become front end developers by reading a book about react or javascript.
Therefore the real people who studied computer science are in the background and the field is run by pimps. We have to wait for some years like 2008 type scenario when they will all be moving to some other field and there will be breathing ground for people who understand the concept of computer programs.

iltaf

Sir, Pakistani devs are underrated. Our teams have replaced Indian teams on enterprise projects with US clients like Calimatic, https://calimatic.com/

India has a footprint in IT sector being pioneers as compared to us and that is why Goras think of India when it comes to outsourcing.

iltaf

On forums like Upwork, you can better judge by checking profiles of freelancers. We have 3 profiles there for our company with over 50,000 hours of work.

kakamuna420

Asad Umar shall be given IT ministry which desperately needs someone a lot better than Khalid Maqbool.
They should make me IT minister. I will block all whatsapp, fb and porn websites. Everybody will be forced to to watch madni channel daily and send a selfie as confirmation.. Plus, they will need to pay tax for keeping any smart phone #DeenoverDunya

iltaf

They should make me IT minister. I will block all whatsapp, fb and porn websites. Everybody will be forced to to watch madni channel daily and send a selfie as confirmation.. Plus, they will need to pay tax for keeping any smart phone #DeenoverDunya

Well said sir. Hahahaha.

surfer

All good posts, but somehow no one commented on the news in the article? ?

I'll have to make a new post...