Cricket World Cup final: England wrongly awarded extra run against New Zealand, says former umpire

HK Scientist

Chief Minister (5k+ posts)


England were wrongly awarded an extra run in their Cricket World Cup final victory over New Zealand, according to a former international umpire, on their way to a dramatic super-over win at Lord’s.

In the final over of regular play, Ben Stokes inadvertently deflected the ball off his bat to the boundary rope as he dived to reach the crease, turning what would have been two runs into six and playing a crucial role in equalling New Zealand’s total to force a super-over.

But the well-renowned former international umpire Simon Taufel says the on-field umpires made a “clear mistake” in awarding England six runs, rather than the correct figure of five, as the batsmen had not yet crossed for the second run when the ball was thrown. The error also meant that England’s best batsman, Stokes, retained the strike.

Taufel referred to the rather vague rule 19.8 of the MCC rulebook which states: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be:

– any runs for penalties awarded to either side
– and the allowance for the boundary
– and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act."


Source
 
Advertisement

Sher_ka_Shakari

Senator (1k+ posts)
I believe most of them did not know this rule in detail. Otherwise Williamson should have launched a very strong protest and had forced the umpires to look into the rules.
 

Complete Sense

MPA (400+ posts)
This umpire did such a big mistake..which deprived one country from winning world cup...This umpire should be dismissed for ever..NZ must lodge complaint...
 

Complete Sense

MPA (400+ posts)
The throw of the ball was actually hitting the stumps and batsman was obstructing the ball...how it is possible to give 4 runs to the batsman and not a wicket for the thrower?????
 

thinking

Chief Minister (5k+ posts)
The throw of the ball was actually hitting the stumps and batsman was obstructing the ball...how it is possible to give 4 runs to the batsman and not a wicket for the thrower?????
No.. batsman was on blind side.He didn't seeing the throw side..He just dived to save him..ball accidentally hit the bat on such angle that went for four.Its can be a single extra run.but luck was not with NZ.Due pressure of they game..they didn't protest strongly and ask the empire for review..for giving 6 runs..
 

thinking

Chief Minister (5k+ posts)
I believe most of them did not know this rule in detail. Otherwise Williamson should have launched a very strong protest and had forced the umpires to look into the rules.
I think every one knew this simple rule..But becoz of pressure match situation..even Williamson can't understand what was wrong had done..He focused on next two balls to win the match..No doubt Empires also in pressure.both gave 6 runs..Niether third empire mentioned this mistake nor NZ coach and others sitting outside the ground..sent mesg to Williamson..
 
Sponsored Link

Featured Discussions