Asad Umar rebuffs Usman Dar’s claim of $10 bn Saudi deal

اور موصوف کو یہ بھی نہیں پتا تھا کہ یہ میڈیا رپورٹ نہیں شیخ الفوادوی اور شیخ الڈاروی کی چھوڑی ہوئی بھریشوانی تھی

The minister rebuffed recent media reports that claimed Riyadh would “invest $10 billion in Pakistan,” dismissing the impression that the volume of investment had been ascertained yet.

KARACHI: Pakistan and Saudi Arabia will decide the quantum and areas of Saudi investment in a meeting with the Kingdom’s delegation to Pakistan, which is due to arrive in the country during the first week of October, said Federal Minister for Finance, Revenue and Economic Affairs, Asad Umar, speaking exclusively to Arab News.

The minister rebuffed recent media reports that claimed Riyadh would “invest $10 billion in Pakistan,” dismissing the impression that the volume of investment had been ascertained yet.

“The prime minister’s visit was meant to make agreements at the highest level with the King of Saudi Arabia and build a stronger relationship. In principle, only verbal discussions have taken place so far,” he added.

Umar noted: “We have discussed trade-related issues, foreign direct investment, visa fees, and issues faced by our laborers.”

The finance minister also dispelled the notion that Pakistan was facing a financial emergency. “Pakistan is not in an emergency situation that requires it to rush to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to seek a bailout,” he maintained.

“We have neither stopped imports nor imposed financial sanctions,” said the minister. However, he emphasized that it was important to be prudent while taking economic decisions.

“We need to take well-measured decisions. As a situation emerges, we take steps to manage it. We don’t want to take decisions in emergency.”
The staff mission of the IMF is scheduled to arrive in Pakistan on Sept. 27 to engage with the Pakistani authorities. “We are in discussion with them, but this is not to negotiate for a loan. Our purpose is to do our homework, in case we want to approach them at some stage,” the minister clarified.
Responding to a question about managing the balance of payment deficit, Umar said: “We are eliminating the root cause of this problem, and that root cause is fiscal deficit. We have done that through the recent finance bill which will reduce our cost of import.”

He said that during his visit to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, Pakistan’s prime minister discussed measures for trade enhancement and investment. “These are measures which will help fill the external financing gap,” he noted.

He also said Pakistan was constantly in touch with international commercial markets and banks for financing.
About the measures to increase the country’s exports to ease its external payment obligations, the finance minister said the issue had been discussed in detail with the Chinese.

“During the upcoming international trade exhibition, which will be attended by the prime minister as one of the chief guests in China on Nov. 4 and 5, we will discuss items line by line so that they can give us trade concessions to increase exports to China.”

“Similarly, when the Saudis will come, decisions will be made here in Pakistan about trade enhancement and investment,” he added, hoping that these steps would mitigate the balance of payments crisis.

The government is also planning to float overseas, dollar-based saving certificates for Pakistanis living abroad. The finance minister said the amount of issue would be decided at the time of floating these certificates.

“We will float them in October, but it will not be a one-time issue. We will be floating these certificates periodically for overseas Pakistanis,” said Umar.

Source
http://www.arabnews.pk/node/1376486/world

Raja Bhai they will get the money........Ghabarana nahi

فر اوئی گل ہوئی جی ---- خان جی کو نہ پومپیو کی انگیرزی سمجھ آئ نہ عربیوں کی عربی
زبانی کلامی یلہ فلوس-- یلہ فلوس" کو پیسوں کا جلوس سمجھ بیٹھے
ھن جتیاں کینوں ماریے --- خان جی نوں یا انھاں دے پڑوے فواد چودھری نوں

First Strike

Hold on hold on man --- it is not anti Pakistan news
It is the stupidity of your leadership we are discussing --- who are not aware what others are doing.

But your happiness is just like endians against Pakistan. Pmln and endia have the identical mindset against Pakistan, Imran Khan and Pakistan Army

rtabasum2

فر اوئی گل ہوئی جی ---- خان جی کو نہ پومپیو کی انگیرزی سمجھ آئ نہ عربیوں کی عربی
Both deserve juttian......they should keep their mouth shut until the thing transpires .........but they will get the money as China is interested in getting Saudia on board.........Trump is not happy though

luckey_iam

no doubt your pain is immense i can understand the way saudis treat imran khan and how they just get rid of noora is very much painfull for patwari as we know arabs were noora's dadi, i cant blame you but dear imran ko jo izzat milhe hai wahan noore ko to beti de kr bhe itne izaat na milhe thi

rtabasum2

It is the stupidity of your leadership we are discussing --- who are not aware what others are doing.
They are amateurs should grow thick skins like Nawaz n Zardari to take in criticism ........think long term that is five years..........

Both deserve juttian......they should keep their mouth shut until the thing transpires .........but they will get the money as China is interested in getting Saudia on board.........Trump is not happy though

Well I am compelled to talk to you of an intellectual level bhen jee. Because are different from all others.
I will like every thing good that takes place. However i am a bit confused to understand what benefit will Saudis will get from it.

Will they (Saudis) share the rent of the trucks Pakistan will get from the Chinese trade to the world
will they sell their product with Made in China mark ---- why the heck would they benefit China and what will pakistan get out of it ???
They are already utilizing China on their land --- they have just built one of the worlds larger refineries "Sinopec Refinery"

on the other hand, If Saudis investment in the energy related projects in Pakistan, why would they tuck it under CPEC and stir up American Monkey Trump

What exactly is their happening. it is all mind boggling.
Why IK and his leetrey dont have clear mind, why are they still in that "just sloganeering mode" to appease the stupid masses only.

rtabasum2

Well I am compelled to talk to you of an intellectual level bhen jee. Because are different from all others.
I will like every thing good that takes place. However i am a bit confused to understand what benefit will Saudis will get from it.

Will they (Saudis) share the rent of the trucks Pakistan will get from the Chinese trade to the world
will they sell their product with Made in China mark ---- what the heck would they benefit China and what will pakistan get out of it ???
They are already utilizing China on their land --- they have just built one of the worlds larger refineries "Sinopec Refinery"

on the other hand, If it is Saudis investment in the energy related projects in Pakistan, why would they tuck it under CPEC and stir up American Monkey Trump

Why IK and his leetrey have clear mind, why are they still in that "just sloganeering mode" to appease the stupid masses only.
They have huge market to sell oil in China plus an assurance from Pakistan that they will help them militarily in any unrest from the neighboring country.........for them 10 billion dollars is peanuts

rtabasum2

Why IK and his leetrey dont have clear mind, why are they still in that "just sloganeering mode" to appease the stupid masses only.
They are amateurs .......they think they are not gonna last more than one year......that is why they are appeasing the crowd.........as I said grow thick skin n do as please......it is Pakistan nobody gives a hoot

PMLN is against Pakistan not again PTI

یعنی اس بات کے اوپر تو لخ لعنت سے سوا اور کچھ نہیں کہا جا سکتا
ایک وقت تھا جب تمہارے لیڈر کو سی پیک کا نام تک نہیں پتا تھا -- اب تم لوگ چودھری بن رہے ہو

یاد ہے یہ دن -- ہے تو تم ہی شرم کر لو --- اس کو تو نہیں آنی جو یہ کیہ رہا ہے

They are amateurs .......they think they are not gonna last more than one year......that is why they are appeasing the crowd.........as I said grow thick skin n do as please......it is Pakistan nobody gives a hoot

???????
is there a way out.

rtabasum2

???????
is there a way out.
Read this

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/372059-afghanistan-to-join-cpec-soon-minister

They have offered Afghanistan they will build the infrastructure for them...........rail , roads etc...........a country which is using British rail tracks offering to build new one in another..........big joke......but it is not them talking but China...............all this investment n hype is because China has clear goals we are just the errand boy or Bukhshu

k.khurram

I mean ..what kind and level of stupid are you? A fed minister of finance nullified the rumors of saudi investment in the media . Where did he say "what IK said was untrue"? when did the PM say he has secured x amount of investment from saudia?