Siasat.pk Forums

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

In the event of a coup, will stand by army: Musharraf

NEW DELHI: Former president and chief of the All Pakistan Muslim League General Pervez Musharraf says that he is “reasonably sure” that the military will not resort to a coup but will support the army if it takes over.

“I don’t think the army intends to take over. The environment is not at all conducive for the army to do so. I think the army understands that,” Musharraf told Indian journalist Karan Thapar at CNN-IBN’s show Devil’s Advocate.

But in the event of a choice between the civilian government or the military, Musharraf categorically stated he will side with the institution that he served until he shed the uniform to become the president of Pakistan. “I’ve been an armyman and I can never imagine being against the army … I am with the army, I will stand by the army.”

Alliance with PTI

Musharraf, whose newly-found party the APML recently organised a lukewarm rally in Karachi, said he was open for an alliance with cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, but will not serve under him if elected to power.

“If they [the PTI] want an alliance, certainly I would like to have an alliance. We have to come with a third political option because the two political options presently and in the past have been tried and failed … there is a need of coalition of forces which can bring about that third political option which can deliver to Pakistan,” Musharraf, who intends to return to Pakistan from self-exile later this month, said.
    He said he was aware of people in Imran’s party who keep saying that they will not get into an alliance with him. “But they don’t have a vision, they don’t understand what they are talking about. They go into the field and lose and then (people) choose the same party. Then Pakistan suffers,” he said.
    He vehemently rejected suggestions of serving under Imran, if the alliance came to power. “I cannot serve under him. I can be outside … I cannot be serving under anyone,” the former military ruler said.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/321903/i...rmy-musharraf/

ADVERTISING

2. Dislikes sabir1 disliked this post

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: In the event of a coup, will stand by army: Musharraf

A man with HUGE ego!! He can not serve under a Pakistani, you have to be an American to be his boss.

Post Thanks / Like

he should have not come in the politics at the first place,,,,,, he got all the power and opportunity to take this nation to the next level but he failed. What he wants to do now once he will not have such power and popularity? I will hold him responsible for the current situation in the country. There had been no NRO we would have been without Zardari toola and the nation was going to have better situation then we are facing now. He is a looser

5. Likes freshnkool, Aliansari, M javed, MuslimPak liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

RASI JAAL GAI PER BAL NA GAYA.......

IMRAN KHAN K UNDER KAM NAHIEN KAROON GA! Hunh.......TERI AUQAT BHI NAHIEN HAY KEH FSc PASS BANDA AIK OXFORD GRADUATE K SAATH YA USS K UNDER KAAM KARAY......JO LOOG YEH SAMAJHTAY HAIN KEH ARMY WALAY PARHAY LIKHAY HOTAY HAIN ZARA INN K TALEEMI STANDARD JA KER DAIKHAIN ACADEMY MEIN.....
    After FSc they are selected as 2nd Lieutenant (jis ko aam zaban mein leftinant pronounce kartay hai) and then they have their own courses for higher classes and their standard is far lower than civilian education system............only thing which is emphasised is SPOKEN ENGLISH.....

Any ways, Musharaf pehlay apni seat tu jeet ley phir PTI k saath alliance ki baat karay....

7. Likes freshnkool, sabir1 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Raja Pakistani View Post

IMRAN KHAN K UNDER KAM NAHIEN KAROON GA! Hunh.......TERI AUQAT BHI NAHIEN HAY KEH FSc PASS BANDA AIK OXFORD GRADUATE K SAATH YA USS K UNDER KAAM KARAY......JO LOOG YEH SAMAJHTAY HAIN KEH ARMY WALAY PARHAY LIKHAY HOTAY HAIN ZARA INN K TALEEMI STANDARD JA KER DAIKHAIN ACADEMY MEIN.....
    After FSc they are selected as 2nd Lieutenant (jis ko aam zaban mein leftinant pronounce kartay hai) and then they have their own courses for higher classes and their standard is far lower than civilian education system............only thing which is emphasised is SPOKEN ENGLISH.....

Any ways, Musharaf pehlay apni seat tu jeet ley phir PTI k saath alliance ki baat karay....
    i disagree with you on this one

Post Thanks / Like

first let him come with the details of his assets .... Us sai bhe pahley let him clear himself from court on artical 6 and his chuck shahzad farm house case... PTI will have no alliance with a traitor so where comes the question of him serving under Kaptaan.

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

This rat is desperate in trying to impress army, but he does not know that most of the current generals in GHQ look at him in a "different" way now.

Post Thanks / Like

bY THE WAY ABHI TK IK BI MUSHKIL SE EK HI SEAT JEET PAYA HAI MUSHKIL SE...IS LIYE PEHLE USE JITWA LO BAAD MEIN MUSHARRAF KO MASHWARA DENA......KHLELNE KOODNE WALE SE ARMY MEIN SERVE KRNE WALA LAKH GUNA BEHTER HAI........BENEZIR BI OXFORD KI THI SO NEXT TIME USI KI PARTY KO VOTE DENA

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

He has a huge ego problem. He only serves under Americans but not under any Pakistani. Secondly in case of a coup, he will not side with the constitution of this country. I think Musharaf is not even mentally stable, else he would have learned by now that rule of law is the only way forward for Pakistan now.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by yasir1981 View Post
    bY THE WAY ABHI TK IK BI MUSHKIL SE EK HI SEAT JEET PAYA HAI MUSHKIL SE...IS LIYE PEHLE USE JITWA LO BAAD MEIN MUSHARRAF KO MASHWARA DENA......KHLELNE KOODNE WALE SE ARMY MEIN SERVE KRNE WALA LAKH GUNA BEHTER HAI........BENEZIR BI OXFORD KI THI SO NEXT TIME USI KI PARTY KO VOTE DENA
    hahaha.........Very interesting comments.

Yar, my intention is not to compare the education of Imran and Musharaf, basically I was trying to make a point that Imran's calibre is far high than Musharraf's. I don't understand why you people still fantasize army generals......

Yahya's regime dismembered Pakistan in 1971, Zia era brought KALASHNIKOV CULTURE, Mushrraf rule gave us the gift of SUICIDE CULTURE........

I PERSONALLY ABHORE MILITARY RULE BUT ONLY AYUB KHAN PUT PAKISTAN ON THE WAY OF ECONOMIC PROGRESS, BUT STILL HIS GOOD DEEDS DO NOT JUSTIFY HIS MARTIAL LAW.

IMRAN KHAN HAS INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE AND HE HAS GUTS TO BRING ALL PAKISTANI NATION UNDER ONE FLAG.............MUSHRRAF WITH HIS STUPID MOVES MADE BALOCH PEOPLE ANTI-PAKISTAN.....ARMY MEN ONLY UNDERSTAND THE LANGUAGE OF GUN....

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by anyie1 View Post
    i disagree with you on this one
    Dear fellow, if any one from your family is in army especially at commissioned rank, ask him about the course........

just flick through the outlines and contents of both courses (civilian and military course), you will find the difference......Apart from this, their examination system is monitored by themselves, this thing makes their system more vulnerable to nepotism and favouritism.....

Any how, their job is not to serve country in academic arena, so I wouldn't write more on it..........If you are interested to know the nature of civilian-military relationship, then read the story of conflict between GENERAL DOUGLAS MACARTHUR AND HARRY S. TRUMAN..........

If our politicians are incapable, it should not give clean chit to our generals to meddle with politics.........

15. Likes aasimnaveed liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

I am with Mush on this!!!!! Hell with this sham democracy or lootocracy cloacked as democracy!

Post Thanks / Like

hahaha.........Very interesting comments.

Yar, my intention is not to compare the education of Imran and Musharaf, basically I was trying to make a point that Imran's calibre is far high than Musharraf's. I don't understand why you people still fantasize army generals......

Yahya's regime dismembered Pakistan in 1971, Zia era brought KALASHNIKOV CULTURE, Mushrraf rule gave us the gift of SUICIDE CULTURE........

I PERSONALLY ABHORE MILITARY RULE BUT ONLY AYUB KHAN PUT PAKISTAN ON THE WAY OF ECONOMIC PROGRESS, BUT STILL HIS GOOD DEEDS DO NOT JUSTIFY HIS MARTIAL LAW.

IMRAN KHAN HAS INTERNATIONAL EXPOSURE AND HE HAS GUTS TO BRING ALL PAKISTANI NATION UNDER ONE FLAG.............MUSHRRAF WITH HIS STUPID MOVES MADE BALOCH PEOPLE ANTI-PAKISTAN.....ARMY MEN ONLY UNDERSTAND THE LANGUAGE OF GUN....
    But Army people do alot for common man........I hate this democracy which brings only jahil people to rule over educated one

Post Thanks / Like

He is out of his mind. He thinks he is still President of Pakistan

19. Likes freshnkool liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Dear fellow, if any one from your family is in army especially at commissioned rank, ask him about the course........

just flick through the outlines and contents of both courses (civilian and military course), you will find the difference......Apart from this, their examination system is monitored by themselves, this thing makes their system more vulnerable to nepotism and favouritism.....

Any how, their job is not to serve country in academic arena, so I wouldn't write more on it..........If you are interested to know the nature of civilian-military relationship, then read the story of conflict between GENERAL DOUGLAS MACARTHUR AND HARRY S. TRUMAN..........

If our politicians are incapable, it should not give clean chit to our generals to meddle with politics.........
    When Truman fired macarthar it almost created constitutional crises in USA. Moreover, Is there any comparison between Truman and Zardari or Prime Looter Giallani?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by rehman1978 View Post
    When Truman fired macarthar it almost created constitutional crises in USA. Moreover, Is there any comparison between Truman and Zardari or Prime Looter Giallani?
    Dear mate, it took centuries to make USA from sham democracy to the real one......Pakistan is passing through transitional phase................If we keep Indian example in front of us, initially Indian parliament was full of goons and dadas but they let democratic process working.....Now most of the parliamentarians are from educated class..........still some persons like Lallu Parshad are there but innear future there will be more purification....

We should also let political set up working, after some time people will elect their true representatives which will make a difference......

Post Thanks / Like

Dear mate, it took centuries to make USA from sham democracy to the real one......Pakistan is passing through transitional phase................If we keep Indian example in front of us, initially Indian parliament was full of goons and dadas but they let democratic process working.....Now most of the parliamentarians are from educated class..........still some persons like Lallu Parshad are there but innear future there will be more purification....

We should also let political set up working, after some time people will elect their true representatives which will make a difference......
    I will take Lallu Parsad over our current lot anytime: he might not be able to speak english but he had the ability to fix Indian railways. Indian democracy is just an enigma; if you want to cite examples then use South Korea, China, Singapore, Malaysia etc. India is also not living upto its upmost potentail due to currupt and inept demacracy. Why? Democracies true essense is not a constitution writen on a paper, instaed, true essnce relies on traditions which are derived from morals and ethics: this is our delima

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by rehman1978 View Post
    I will take Lallu Parsad over our current lot anytime: he might not be able to speak english but he had the ability to fix Indian railways. Indian democracy is just an enigma; if you want to cite examples then use South Korea, China, Singapore, Malaysia etc. India is also not living upto its upmost potentail due to currupt and inept demacracy. Why? Democracies true essense is not a constitution writen on a paper, instaed, true essnce relies on traditions which are derived from morals and ethics: this is our delima
    Yar, if you will ask me my favourite type of governance system then I wil vote for CHINESE TOTALITARIAN system. In which only one party is the registered and legal party.....All adults are not entitled to give their vote, only party member can give vote.........Within party elections are held and party chairman becomes chinese president and party secretaries occupy ministries of government....................For jahil nation like Pakistan, I would say that TOTALITARIANISM should be in practice but it does not seem to be viable in a society like Pakistan where there are dozens of religious parties and diversification of political views is also there to add to the fuss......If I keep in mind the feasibility and viablity of a system then democratic set up is far better than military rule.....

So far as Lallu Parshad is concerned, some day ask any Behari about his conduct in Behar! what did he do on the occasion of his daughter's marriage.....And by the way I don't consider a person JAHIL who can't speak English.........Many English who hate people on the basis of their colour, creed, country and cast are the epitome of JAHALAT.................

So far as Indian society is concerned I abhore some of their socila traditions like cast system, concept of untouchables, barbaric attitude towards non-Hindus in some parts of the country but these things are not at least part of their constitution...In case of Pakistan our constitution categorically says that no one can become HEAD OF STATE AND HEAD OF GOVERNMENT WHO IS NON-MUSLIM.....Such discrimination is not at least at state level in India......

India is not a perfect example to quote, but our system need more improvement and openness......

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

Mushraff ... Who?

Thread Information