Siasat.pk Forums

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
    Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: "Look in your Mirror" - Thomas Freidman asks Muslims of the East - The Blasphemy Protests

There is no doubt that Non Muslims have killed more Muslims and are killing Muslims in many parts of the world. After 9-11 Islam bashing has become a fashion for every one. There is great "cultural and perceptual differences" in Muslim world and the West taking things differently. This needs to be addressed. Only way for greater peace will be an international legislation that no one be allowed to insult any religion and prophets. In Muslim world no one insults religions but different sects within a religion are different story. Same is true about countries, that criticizing USA does not mean criticizing Christianity, same is true for Israel and India. Muslim leadership needs to sell this point to the West that criticizing prophet Mohammad has to stop through legislation. In Pakistan people destroy own property and going for strikes; destabilize personal and country's economy.

ADVERTISING

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Re: "Look in your Mirror" - Thomas Freidman asks Muslims of the East - The Blasphemy Protests

You read his whole book? coz he applies the same concept of fat tail into human existence too and the flaws of self-sampling... Take a look

Your question on the religion of God is dogma.. He is an Atheist God.

Quote Originally Posted by guest View Post
    i think taleb would be surprised his book was read for this purpose. I think this is an overkill. the black swan has to do with distributions which do not follow the central limit theorem (known as fat tail distributions). aapko mubarak ho aapke mazhab pe, but its a very far stretch to go from theory for fat tailed distributions to belief in god.
    moreover you do not get rid of the problem of determining which one of the God's is the correct one, even if God existed on the back of a fat tailed distributiion. is it the islamic god, or the jewsih god or the buddhist god?
    "City-States trade Commerce. Nation-States trade Wars" - Seneca

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

Well all I will say is no comments. I read his book quite a while back and do not remember this part. But its a good read for a non-technical person on the idea of fat-tailed distributions. Btw Abel prize winner Srinivas Varadhan (who belongs to my village) did most of the work on these distributions.
    My own theory of God is a utilitarian one. I do not find any utility in believing in one. My life would be almost the same whether or not I believed in a God. It has no bearing whatsoever in my day to day life. It is what Gautam Buddha also told his students when they asked him about the existence of God. He said "it is a moot question". Irony of course was that one group of his followers made him into a God like figure.

Quote Originally Posted by AsifAmeer View Post
    You read his whole book? coz he applies the same concept of fat tail into human existence too and the flaws of self-sampling... Take a look

Your question on the religion of God is dogma.. He is an Atheist God.

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

[QUOTE=AsifAmeer;1033882]& @rfarooqi

Guys I dont particularly like Tom due to his economic views. But thats besides the point. What shocked me was the junk that MUSLIM SCHOLARS has said about other religions and its followers. Why would Muslims expect words of Pearls from those who their Scholars call pigs, unpure? Wait.. what exactly are we expecting from those who our Scholars have abused?

Those who made the movies are subhuman trash. I am calling them IN-response to them making the movie. And I am only calling those 3~4 guys subhumans. I am not calling ALL Christian and Jews as subhumans.

Mera sawal ye hai k jin Muftiyon ne durse mazhab k logoun ko gaaliyan dein hain, un Muftiyon to road par ghaseeta kyun nahi kiya? Kyun k ye to shaitaan hain Mufti k libaas mein. Why are they alive? @Islam4globe you wanna try a shot at my question?

Giving examples of America doing the "WRONG" is like saying 2 wrongs make it right.
    IM NOT SUPPORTING SUCH SCHOLARS AT ALL.QURAN PAK ME ALLAH TAALA NY SAF FARMAYA K :TM IN K MABOODON[gods] KO BURA BHALA NA KAHO CS PHIR YE ALLAH AUR US K RASOOL KO BURA BHALA KAHAIN GY.
    BUT I CANNOT SUPPORT SUCH WRITERS CS I BELIEVE ON THIS SAYING OF ALLAH K YE YAHOODI AUR CHRISTIANS KBI TMARY DOST NHE HO SKTY IN DILON KA NIFAQ IN KI ZUBANO SY ZIADA HY.
    QURAN PAK ME YE B IRSHAD HY K [TMAIN POHCHNY WALI HR BURAI TMARY APNY AAMAL KI WJA SY HY AUR HR BHLAI ALLAH KI REHMAT HY].DEFINITELY HMAIN JO AJ TKLEEF POHNCHI HY TOHEEN RISALAT KI WJA SY IS ME 1.HMARY APNY AMAL KA B KIRDAR HY 2.HMARY LY WARNING HY3.HMARI AZMAISH HY

5. Likes deltaforce liked this post

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

& @rfarooqi

Guys I dont particularly like Tom due to his economic views. But thats besides the point. What shocked me was the junk that MUSLIM SCHOLARS has said about other religions and its followers. Why would Muslims expect words of Pearls from those who their Scholars call pigs, unpure? Wait.. what exactly are we expecting from those who our Scholars have abused?

Those who made the movies are subhuman trash. I am calling them IN-response to them making the movie. And I am only calling those 3~4 guys subhumans. I am not calling ALL Christian and Jews as subhumans.

Mera sawal ye hai k jin Muftiyon ne durse mazhab k logoun ko gaaliyan dein hain, un Muftiyon to road par ghaseeta kyun nahi kiya? Kyun k ye to shaitaan hain Mufti k libaas mein. Why are they alive? @Islam4globe you wanna try a shot at my question?

Giving examples of America doing the "WRONG" is like saying 2 wrongs make it right!
    ANS.I M NT SUPPORTING SUCH SCHOLARS WHO ABUSE OTHER RELIGIONS CS IN QURAN ALLAH SAYS TM IN K MABOODON[gods] KO BURA BHLA NA KAHO WRNA YE ALLAH AUR US K RASOOL KO BURA BHLA KHAIN GY ON THE OTHER SIDE I CAN NOT SUPPORT THIS WRITER CS ACCORDING TO QURAN YAHOOD AND NISARA KBI HMARY DOST NHE HO SKTYIN K DILO KA NFAQ IN KI ZUBANO SY ZIADA HY
    ALSO THEY HV EXUSE FOR THEIR EVERY ACTION BUT FOR MUSLIMS THEY ONLY KNOW THE TERM TERRORIST
    QURAN ME YE B IRSHAD HY K HMAIN JO B BURAI POHANCHTI HY WO HMARY APNY AAMAL KI WJA SY HY TO HMAI JO TKLEEF POHNCHI HY TOHEEN RISALAT KI WJA SY US ME HMARI AZMAISH HY AUR HMAIN WARNING HY K APNY AAMAL KO THEEK KR LAIN

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Taleb is from Mandelbrot's school of fractal distribution. This is a topic not covered in undergrad. I know little about its technical aspect but got a non-technical idea of its implementation.

What book u been reading lately? Share a few good ones..
    Well all I will say is no comments. I read his book quite a while back and do not remember this part. But its a good read for a non-technical person on the idea of fat-tailed distributions. Btw Abel prize winner Srinivas Varadhan (who belongs to my village) did most of the work on these distributions.
    My own theory of God is a utilitarian one. I do not find any utility in believing in one. My life would be almost the same whether or not I believed in a God. It has no bearing whatsoever in my day to day life. It is what Gautam Buddha also told his students when they asked him about the existence of God. He said "it is a moot question". Irony of course was that one group of his followers made him into a God like figure.

Intermediate
    Post Thanks / Like

not reading much nowdays. but at one time had to study about large deviation and fat tail distributions. although i know a lot more about fractals as such. its funny how ubiquitous fractals are. they are in fact also part of stochastic processes where the whole subject of finance lies. for that matter even a brownian motion is a process whose trajectory is a fractal. i would not imagine any undergrad course covering them, including an undergrad in math. these are very hard subjects, and need o wait for grad school.

Taleb is from Mandelbrot's school of fractal distribution. This is a topic not covered in undergrad. I know little about its technical aspect but got a non-technical idea of its implementation.

What book u been reading lately? Share a few good ones..

9. Thanks AsifAmeer thanked for this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Any book you'd recommend on fractals? I have taken Calc 3d, Partial Diff Eq and Lin Algebra in undergrad.

I dont believe in Academia anymore. Book from a local library for $1.5 is worth more than 2 years and $75k in the hole for an MBA

not reading much nowdays. but at one time had to study about large deviation and fat tail distributions. although i know a lot more about fractals as such. its funny how ubiquitous fractals are. they are in fact also part of stochastic processes where the whole subject of finance lies. for that matter even a brownian motion is a process whose trajectory is a fractal. i would not imagine any undergrad course covering them, including an undergrad in math. these are very hard subjects, and need o wait for grad school.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Thread Information