Siasat.pk Forums

View RSS Feed

Arguments for pakistan's nuclear technology

Rating: 5 votes, 4.60 average.
Pakistan nuke te&#115.jpgEver since I can remember, and some of the material I have read and heard from credible sources makes me think what is the big deal with Pakistan having the technology which so many other countries do? The big deal is not very clear to me but in the process of listening and reading and arguing some facts became clear to me insofar as the critisizm against the program and preaching of many so called friends is concerned.
Before I present my arguments I must confess that I have serious doubts about people who try to twist facts and make them to look like what they are not, factually they are trying to make a fool of the other person and that is just unacceptable to me at personal or national levels.

Pakistan had contracts with French and Canadian companies in the 1960s to make Nuclear power projects for energy purposes, but under the pressure of 'friends' French and Canadians chose to back down unilateraly and thus forced Pakistan to pursue the acquisition of this technology which ofcourse was given impetus by the 1974 explosion by the indians accompanied by their heady intoxicated remarks.
No denying that many in this 'Fair' world would like to see us go down and buckle therefore we need to know our aims and reasons very clearly so that the friends in disguise can not dissway us from the right path. Lets examine the critisizm and what it is worth:

01. Pakistan has a lot of debt and we can not afford this program:
Seriously! the debt of Pakistan is more than $60 billion and we ran into this debt because of our politicians greed and incapeabilities, by this standard we do not afford the politicians. By the way how much money is spent on the program, don't know for sure but my fair guess is $2-4 billion.
02. A national debt of more than 60 billion, out of this $2-4 billion is spent on a technology which has multiple uses, defence is just one of them.
Why is the 2-4 billion sound painful to some? Energy generation, nuclear medical uses,diagnostic purposes are few other uses.
03. $2-4 billion out of$ 60 billion makes 4%-5%, now think about it for a minute. Critics are not critisizing the debt ammassed at the cost of our future generations prosperity but they are critisizing the technology which safeguards our future generations from being annhilated.
04. The 60 billion of debt has not been accounted for, our politicians have pocketed a lot of it but the critics are crying hoarse over the sum which can be accounted for, the sum spent on safeguarding the future of this nation.
05. India spends more than $30 billin on armed forces and this is the disclosed amount and in the face of that the critics are telling us that it would be good for us to roll back this program and downsize the Armed forces of Pakistan. If they can not make us go all the way they are trying to make us go half way!
06. The money spent on nuclear technology could be used to build Pakistan and for the poor.
$60 billion plus what happened to it, was that not enough to do whatever the politicians wanted to do to help the poor people? If we have not
been able to make the politicians account for this huge amount of money who are we trying to kid? Which one amongst us thinks that we are 100% sure the$ 2-4 billion would not have ended up in the pockets of the looters just as the rest of the money has?
07. Detterent effect.
Any one who has had the pleasure of reading the statement of the indian minister Mr. Manishankar at UNO last month and what he said about capturing Pakistan in 3 weeks should have no doubts about the detterent value of this technology.
08. Sense of confidence and trust.
The whole nation I am sure feels more secure knowing that it is not childs paly to mess with us and this gives all a whole new sense of confidence.
09. Satisfaction of colmpleting the project.
It is imperetive to complete what ever you start for that brings not only confidence but also a sense of trust among the team members and the nation. Completion also provides one with the ability and the tools to move forward and become more advanced. Does every one in the nation not trust the scientist who were involved in the project or do we trust these politicians who have only presented excuses for not keeping their promises.?
10. $ 2-4 billion could be used to alleviate poverty.
Every penny that we use for the poor is important and needs to be spent, at the same time who has stopped the politicians from spending whatever money they get, on whatever shemes they can, to uplift the poor? Except ofcourse their greed!
Has USA, or india been able to alleviate poverty in their respective nations? they should take a look in the mirror before giving us sermons especially the indian psuedo-intellectuals.

I have tried to present some thoughts hoping they will help some to have a clearer understanding of what the facts are and some pointers for us to think more analyticaly and a little comparitively.
Comments , critisizm welcome.
0 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes

Updated 03-Nov-2010 at 08:01 AM by Adeel

Categories
Pakistan , Pakistan and India Issues , National Issues

Comments

An excellent article for the consumption of the ppl of Pakistan to understand the importance of higher technology not only for further advancement & developement but also as deterrence to maintain our integrity, solidarity and soveriegnity intact to survive the ill of the enemy. It is be understand modern warfare is not coneiveable without modern technology and developed arms & ammunition industry. I end my saying as: The weakness of a cavalry is an open invitation to the enemy's invasion.
    People like pervaiz hood bhai and hassan nisar must read your blog, very nicely written sister.
    Updated 01-Nov-2010 at 09:19 PM by omerkashmiri
    Quote Originally Posted by omerkashmiri
    People like pervaiz hood bhai and hassan nisar must read your blog, very nicely written brother.
    Star Gazer is a female bhai
    @Nawazish : I stand corrected, lol
    Quote Originally Posted by Nawazish
    Star Gazer is a female bhai
    What does that mean ???
    Unfortunately with a hostile neighbour like India we need minimum neuclear detterent.I guess we have no option.However,we should not make The country a ' security state' and spend more than fifty percent of our budget on Defence.Unless we have our own resources we cannot keep on borrowing or begging.We should have clear cut priorities how much we can afford to spend on Defence and how we can we make Pakistan an ecnomically viable State.
    Claimant as Nuclear power,

Aur duniya key samney bheek mangtey huwey zara si bhi sharam nahi aati.

India ko murna hai bhokey nagoun ko fatah kar key, baad main in bhookey nangey lougoun ko khilayey ga kaun,

Dear All forget it, No one have courage to look towards Pakistan, not because of their nuclear power, (I am not even sure about this fact also) however if there is such kind of thing really exist, still conditions of Pakistan and Pakistani's are so worst, no could give a second though to conquer country like this. where you have nothing except poverty or corruption, those who have power they are king, people are getting killed like there is no humanity.
    @abbasiali
    If your arguments are credible please explain the invasion of Afghanistan and Iraq?
    The argumets are not to say that someone wants to conquer us they are directed at analysis of the situation and making an effort to understand the double standards applied by the world and thus are strong enough to understand the reasons behind them.
    LOL

I don't think you read my remarks thoroughly,

I am not debating or arguing, talking ground reality, and facts. talking big things are not something very difficult, issue is whether these claims can be perform practically in real life. You can write hundred thousand things on patriotism, but do you have patriotism, Who is Pakistani in Pakistan, I don't see a single Pakistani, Yes we have punjabis, Pathans, Sindhis, Balochis, Muhajirs etc. Yes for the sack of prestigue, ew of us show off as Pakistani.

Afghanistan or Iraq or any other country, issue is not what you are trying to emphasis,

What is the benefit of having pride, when you cannot bear that pride with honor, at one hand claiming a big MUSLIM NUCLEAR power and in real, nation is beggar, Muslims are killing each other, does this Nuclear helping at all? I don't think. and this is my point, don't own something which has come to you by chance,

Take it easy.

lol
    I still fail to see what in the above mentioned writting prompted you to write about what you are!
    I have writtent about somethibg that is a fact and not fictional and what I have presesnted to all are also facts, do tell me if I am wrong or off on the facts. I have not made any claims for any thing we are not.
    As far as pakistanis are concerned they can defend themselves. As for pride, what benefit do you want from it? Pride is not a comoditty for trade or benefit, it is a character and it is always borne with honor. I can speak for my, self I am proud of some things and thats it, and many more I want improved.
    The nation is not begging it is the political leaders who are and have brought us to this point and That is one of my arguments that these politicians are not to be trusted and if they had access to the $2-4 billion which was spent on gaining technology , they would have fattened their accounts a little more.
    lol & Take it easy sir.
    Wonderful article and an eye-opener for for common Pakistanees like us. Stop electing corrupt mafias just like we are facing right now.
    The U.S. Nuclear Weapons Cost Study Project was completed in August 1998 and resulted in the book Atomic Audit: The Costs and Consequences of U.S. Nuclear Weapons Since 1940 edited by Stephen I. Schwartz. These project pages should be considered historical.

Number of U.S. nuclear bombs lost in accidents and never recovered: 11

http://www.brookings.edu/projects/ar...eapons/50.aspx

How pathetic, and they label Pakistan as an "unstable state." That, Pakistan might not be able to secure its nuclear weapons program, and the weapons can fall into the hands of terrorists!! Well, seems like, they themselves can't protect their own. It is unbelievable because this is a documented fact!!
    Friends this is one of the reasons that we the citizens need to know the facts and analyse them for what they are. These and such truths need to be put out there for the public to be aware. It makes me happy to know that the youth particularly is now becoming more aware of the conflicting information fed to our public athink tanks so that we are better prepared for discussions with the 'Policy makers' Also the politicians and so called human rights activist who try to make fools of us will have thinner and thinner ground to walk on.
    since Pakistan has got freedom from british rule....we the pakistani nation has lost so many things not only geographically but moraly too... we have gaind less then we have lost... in all these circumstances such as unreliable unlawful and feudalistic mindset of our rulers ..i am still very happy to claim that atleast we have a nuclear capability which makes us unique infront of all those countries of the world...this country is such an unfortunate country in respect of better leadership which we havent got yet... abbasi brother there is no doubt that nuclear capability cant reduce poverty but believe me poverty can be reduced through perfect positive policies by leadership but not through compromise on nuclear assets.... today economy is abt to collapse but it doesnt means tht we should compromise on our national security...after cargill operation india was set to attack but couldnt do it just becuse of nukes...... poverty has no connection with national security..poverty can be reduced by getridding of these cults from govt.....
    Nuclear Capability is not only pakistan's proud... it is a proud of all islamic world... we have to keep it safe whatever we have to pay...we will pay..
    I am very excited today after reading that Dr. A. Khan has accepted the challenge of PM Gillani and the points no. 8 & 9 that I have presented in my writting above will speak for my correct analysis. Honestly I am humbled.
    what kind of nation we are .... how we deal with our heroes.. and how we deal with political cults.... Dr A q khan regrets on his services to pakistani nation just because of musharraf's treatment... Our history is full of Mir jafar and Mir saadiq......so still facing another Mir jaafar in shape of Zardari....lets see what he sells......
    On the subject matter of the importance of nuclear technology and its relative research facilities I think so far the best piece of writing I’ve seen on this forum and I hope that the author of this blog post in near future will also try to present her views on the urgent & dire need of implementing a social welfare base in Pakistan and would try to press on its urgency and benefits.
    Thankyou Brethawk. I am happy that readers find it useful. My intention was to inform the public at a level of analysis that is comprehensible for an ordinary individual who does not have a huge knolwdge of the issues and finds it confusing to seperate issues based on their priorities. I do not know a great deal myself therefore any corrections that are due should be posted also.
    As for implementing a social welfare system, I think we all need to pitch in with our views and ideas hoping they will work out and maybe some one in the think tanks can find them useful.
    I must thank the forum and its moderators and owner for providing this opportunity for all of us.
    Great analysis! If every Pakistani pays his/her taxes honestly to the government we shall be self-reliant in just a few years. And if every Muslim pays Zakat honestly there will be not a single poor soul in Pakistan. But the sad part is our politicians pay very little to no taxes. Even the great Nawaz Shareef paid Rs. 5000.00 as his personal tax. A billionaire whose shoes cost more than that… It is time we become accountable to this country of ours and honestly start paying our taxes each and every one of us and we will see how fast we develop. Honesty is the key word here my friends!

I can guarantee you that all these folks have businesses in the west and they would dare not cheat on their taxes there. It is only in their own country they become looters what irony!<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    good! please write more!
Siasat.pk Forums